QUOTE(alexkos @ May 10 2025, 09:29 AM)
Got 10-15 minutes to spare? Fill a Google Form investing survey and stand a chance to win Grab voucher 
DoneBut I don’t have active income and your form assumes everyone is still working.
Bogleheads Local Chapter [Malaysia Edisi]
May 11 2025, 08:52 AM
1,362 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
QUOTE(alexkos @ May 10 2025, 09:29 AM) Got 10-15 minutes to spare? Fill a Google Form investing survey and stand a chance to win Grab voucher DoneBut I don’t have active income and your form assumes everyone is still working. |
May 11 2025, 09:55 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,275 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(batman1172 @ May 11 2025, 08:52 AM) yes i've been thinking how income (or maintaining a stable income) can have direct effect toward asset allocation (AA), as well as how should one stay invested in the market. For retiree, income matters lesser as net worth takes care of it.too bad most economic theory has this smooth assumption that one will stay productive in the workforce from 25 to 65, and this assumption breeds unrealistic economic policy. Just look at our 35 year house loan which prompts me to a question: how do the Bogleheads stay invested in periods of great uncertainty when both equity selldown meets unemployment, and that one needs to tap into more emergency fund when most investments are underwater? This post has been edited by alexkos: May 11 2025, 09:56 AM |
May 12 2025, 11:45 AM
1,362 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
QUOTE(alexkos @ May 11 2025, 09:55 AM) yes i've been thinking how income (or maintaining a stable income) can have direct effect toward asset allocation (AA), as well as how should one stay invested in the market. For retiree, income matters lesser as net worth takes care of it. Malaysians have EPF which acts as a bond. Use it. Having 30 years of emergency fund gives stability and having zero debt and paid off house helps. I live on dividends from ETFs and rent so volatility doesn’t matter. Key is asset diversification. too bad most economic theory has this smooth assumption that one will stay productive in the workforce from 25 to 65, and this assumption breeds unrealistic economic policy. Just look at our 35 year house loan which prompts me to a question: how do the Bogleheads stay invested in periods of great uncertainty when both equity selldown meets unemployment, and that one needs to tap into more emergency fund when most investments are underwater? Risk is the difference here. I and retired. I have no active income. Therefore I have no ability to take risk. And since I have enough, there is no need to take risk. |
May 12 2025, 01:07 PM
4,485 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(alexkos @ May 11 2025, 09:55 AM) which prompts me to a question: how do the Bogleheads stay invested in periods of great uncertainty when both equity selldown meets unemployment, and that one needs to tap into more emergency fund when most investments are underwater? |
May 12 2025, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ May 12 2025, 01:07 PM) Need to have an allocation to riskless asset which can be drawn down if necessary. If before retire could be FD, Asx. After retired can be epf. alright, so it's like 5 years of living expense as FD. Because this is different from the usual 3-6mo emergency fund. Something like that? |
May 13 2025, 11:38 AM
4,485 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(alexkos @ May 12 2025, 09:34 PM) alright, so it's like 5 years of living expense as FD. Because this is different from the usual 3-6mo emergency fund. Something like that? Depends on age, risk profile etc. and ones asset allocation.U need cash since you dont want to be selling your risk assets in a recession to fund your expenses. Ideally u want to be buying risk assets at that time. If 55 and beyond, EPF is there and as good as cash. |
Jul 1 2025, 04:34 PM
sp500 is at all time high (again
anytime thinking to bail and cash out? |
Jul 1 2025, 09:40 PM
1,210 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
bogleheads ma~ just chilling...
my investment horizon easily 20 more years away, cash out now more likely to lose money in the long run anyway ^^ |
Jul 2 2025, 08:03 AM
843 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
hi im looking to join the boglehead community ty
Aug 13 2025, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Jul 2 2025, 08:03 AM) you're already here it's getting quiet here because passive investors, you know la, no need to watch market 24/7 ultra special limited time paid research survey (study led by yours truly) for MY passive investors only » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « together we will make S&P 500 huat again |
Aug 14 2025, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 13 2025, 02:36 PM) you're already here wao how much for lifetime subscription.. actually I wanted to join a chat group hahait's getting quiet here because passive investors, you know la, no need to watch market 24/7 ultra special limited time paid research survey (study led by yours truly) for MY passive investors only » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « together we will make S&P 500 huat again |
Aug 14 2025, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Aug 14 2025, 02:23 PM) hehe, i've been wanting to have a "local chapter" for our bolehland, like how it's encouraged by the Bogleheads.But it appears that most passive investors are really passive until.... hehe anyway thank you for expressing your interest maybe you can share your journey on how you get to know about Bogleheads, and how does your investing philosophy looks like / changed over the years |
Aug 15 2025, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 14 2025, 02:44 PM) hehe, i've been wanting to have a "local chapter" for our bolehland, like how it's encouraged by the Bogleheads. I am a mushroom begineer only but I just want some kind of guidance and some insights.But it appears that most passive investors are really passive until.... hehe anyway thank you for expressing your interest maybe you can share your journey on how you get to know about Bogleheads, and how does your investing philosophy looks like / changed over the years i go low risk for now like asm and epf |
Aug 15 2025, 11:10 PM
123 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Aug 15 2025, 10:42 PM) I am a mushroom begineer only but I just want some kind of guidance and some insights. Take a look at Little Book Of Common Sense Investing by John Bogle. Books is a great way to learn.i go low risk for now like asm and epf yungkit14 liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:13 AM |