29 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Bogleheads Local Chapter [Malaysia Edisi]

TSalexkos
post Feb 8 2022, 04:23 PM, updated 4 months ago

2,275 posts

Hello all, I'd like to gauge interest among Lowyat forumers if there are any secret fans or disciples of Bogleheads in Bolehland smile.gif I did a quick search on forum and found some traces here and there, but there's never a unified thread. I think it's about time, what do you think? blush.gif

Bogleheads is a group of community named after John Bogle, the first index fund founder in 1970s which had since made tremendous impact to personal and institutional investing. Typically known as passive investing, popular instruments on index include Standard & Poor 500, Dow Jones 30, and our Bolehland has our very own indexed KLCI (Kuala Lumpur Composite Index) too.

Why index?

What makes one a Bogleheads?

Oh, does that mean if I hoot Bursa means I cannot become a Bogleheads?

How do I join the Bogleheads community?

So, got ppl support ka?

This post has been edited by alexkos: Feb 9 2022, 02:14 PM
SUSCoolStoryWriter
post Feb 8 2022, 06:34 PM

241 posts

I am not a hardcore fan but I am a supporter of the idea. It's simple, and easy to understand. I hope this movement will also help anyone especially the younger generation to start investing and achieve financial security.

If they are afraid of complicated financial instruments, just follow Bogle and invest in the index! Over time it will only go up.

This post has been edited by CoolStoryWriter: Feb 8 2022, 06:34 PM
cklimm
post Feb 8 2022, 08:09 PM

2,337 posts

The 25x, passive investing, reminds me of FIRE movement
jutamind
post Feb 8 2022, 09:02 PM

2,429 posts

I think we need more cost effective platforms to invest in ETFs to make index investing more prominent
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 8 2022, 09:50 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Happy to support, but I'd imagine the thread will either be very quiet (due to most investor leaning towards short term performance chasing from what I can tell) or random discussion on what exactly is Bogleism biggrin.gif

For starters, I disagree with TS Alex's definition of Bogleheads, That section felt like it come from a Financially Independent, Retire Early thread.

The core idea behind Bogleheads IMO is leaning towards a few core investing principle:

1. Don't time the market. Invest as soon as you can.

2. Diversify with a low cost broad index fund.

3. Stay the course.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 8 2022, 10:00 PM
TSalexkos
post Feb 8 2022, 11:32 PM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 8 2022, 09:50 PM)
Happy to support, but I'd imagine the thread will either be very quiet (due to most investor leaning towards short term performance chasing from what I can tell) or random discussion on what exactly is Bogleism biggrin.gif

For starters, I disagree with TS Alex's definition of Bogleheads, That section felt like it come from a Financially Independent, Retire Early thread.

The core idea behind Bogleheads IMO is leaning towards a few core investing principle:

1. Don't time the market. Invest as soon as you can.

2. Diversify with a low cost broad index fund.

3. Stay the course.
hehe, true Bogleheads spotted. TS fake version kena tangkap basah biggrin.gif

welcome on board! If we have enough regular members, we can do local chapter like they do in the US and other parts of the world too icon_rolleyes.gif

I hope someone told me about Bogleheads investing philosophy right after I started working.
Cubalagi
post Feb 9 2022, 11:15 AM

4,485 posts

I also support

I'm not a Bogle head as I am more active,, but I do use passive instruments (ETF) a lot. My portfolio has more % in ETFs compared to stocks or mutual funds.

Eddx
post Feb 9 2022, 11:20 AM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

Always wanted to buy into ETFs, but i am just not disciplined enough and chasing short term growth for capital gain then re-invest..but i am not good in timing

guess i should learn from here
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 9 2022, 01:36 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Feb 8 2022, 11:32 PM)
hehe, true Bogleheads spotted. TS fake version kena tangkap basah  biggrin.gif

welcome on board! If we have enough regular members, we can do local chapter like they do in the US and other parts of the world too  icon_rolleyes.gif

I hope someone told me about Bogleheads investing philosophy right after I started working.
Haha I got lucky and I got exposed to JL Collin's Simple Path to Wealth within half a year of me starting working, and quickly led myself to Bogleism after that. My biggest loss pre-Bogleism was 1k down the drain on Bursa, which I kept the money there to remind myself to never repeat this dumb mistake. Now just waiting for a true 30-50% crash to verify my conviction - I'd rather do that while young instead of 5 days into my retirement sad.gif

My personal thanks to TS Alex too - your thread on CSPX/Irish-domiciled SP500 has lead to lots of great information and helped me towards buying VWRA - and the linked PDF "If you can" was one of the first things I've read early. In a way you contributed much to my investment journey.

Now with this initiative, hopefully in a few months we can be recognized as a local chapter properly as TS suggested. For those not sure what it is: https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Bogleheads%..._local_chapters

Hoshiyuu
post Feb 9 2022, 01:40 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Feb 9 2022, 11:15 AM)
I also support

I'm not a Bogle head as I am more active,, but I do use passive instruments (ETF) a lot. My portfolio has more % in ETFs compared to stocks or mutual funds.
Confession time, I am a mudblood boglehead too tongue.gif

My broad index fund is at the moment 75% of my portfolio, 17% factor tilted US&International small-cap-value ETF, and 8% play money to satisfy my occasional non-boglehead urges biggrin.gif

I want to think my core portfolio (92%) is almost bogle-halal though! Plus I have managed to stay the course, with no change to portfolio assets and their allocation so far.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 9 2022, 01:42 PM
DragonReine
post Feb 9 2022, 01:41 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

👍 My funds are very limited and parked in places I don't really want to pull away from, but I personally support this philosophy even though I can't directly apply it. If only I knew about this in my 20s rather than now well into middle age!
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 9 2022, 01:47 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 9 2022, 01:41 PM)
👍 My funds are very limited and parked in places I don't really want to pull away from, but I personally support this philosophy even though I can't directly apply it. If only I knew about this in my 20s rather than now well into middle age!
It's never too late! thumbup.gif

There is a certain satisfaction of leaving money in places you don't want to pull away from, but focusing your deposit elsewhere where you have determined it's the right place you want your money to be in long term, and slowly seeing your "mistake" become smaller and smaller in your portfolio overtime.

Really reinforces your mentality to help with staying the course too!

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 9 2022, 01:47 PM
honsiong
post Feb 9 2022, 01:48 PM

3,182 posts

Not a pure boglehead, but have substantial holding of VXUS and some in VWRA too.

Since bogleheads mostly recommend the 3 fund portfolio, there really isn't much to talk about.

So instead, we find cheap brokers and cheapest way to move monies around can?
DragonReine
post Feb 9 2022, 02:01 PM

2,610 posts

I'm curious about cheap brokers too, and what's the preferred broker for y'all who do invest in Bogle suggested portfolio
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 9 2022, 02:02 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 9 2022, 01:48 PM)
Not a pure boglehead, but have substantial holding of VXUS and some in VWRA too.

Since bogleheads mostly recommend the 3 fund portfolio, there really isn't much to talk about.

So instead, we find cheap brokers and cheapest way to move monies around can?
Since we are mostly Malaysians we don't even get to talk about roth backdoors, tax efficient accounts and 401ks.... We really do only have portfolio allocation and cheap brokers to talk about.

Wanna argue about how much bonds to have without disclosing information about our age and investment horizon? Can easily inflate the pages count of the thread! tongue.gif
honsiong
post Feb 9 2022, 02:04 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 9 2022, 02:01 PM)
I'm curious about cheap brokers too, and what's the preferred broker for y'all who do invest in Bogle suggested portfolio
IBKR macam winning.

But I opened Futu Moomoo and CIMB Prosperus, too lazy to switch after that.

I like Futu a lot, very friendly to use.
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 9 2022, 02:07 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 9 2022, 02:01 PM)
Interactive Brokers for me, about 2USD per trade. I make a deposit every month so thats 2USD gone minimum, but I'm ready to pay an extra lunch every month just to be more "correlated" to the market so to say tongue.gif

You can cut down on FX cost by either using Wise to do MYR->USD directly (use to be highly not recommended, but people have reported good things about doing it via Wise Multi Currency Account) - or do something sillier like... buy RM1000 of stock on margin via IBKR (paying 1.58% p.a. margin loan fees), but deposit RM1000 into Versa/Stashaway Simple (~2% p.a. returns), every time your margin ratio reach ~1.25 (never higher than that), withdraw your MMF fully and one shot remit to CIMB-SG -> free deposit into IBKR -> convert to USD at the best FX rate possible, 2USD fee.

0.42% p.a. of discount on FX and transaction cost!

Please don't actually do this, I have not evaluated the additional FX risk introduced to this investment flow and the maximum possible fallout just to save LITERALLY less than 2 USD every few months

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 9 2022, 02:12 PM
DragonReine
post Feb 9 2022, 02:20 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 9 2022, 02:07 PM)
Interactive Brokers for me, about 2USD per trade. I make a deposit every month so thats 2USD gone minimum, but I'm ready to pay an extra lunch every month just to be more "correlated" to the market so to say  tongue.gif

You can cut down on FX cost by either using Wise to do MYR->USD directly (use to be highly not recommended, but people have reported good things about doing it via Wise Multi Currency Account) - or do something sillier like... buy RM1000 of stock on margin via IBKR (paying 1.58% p.a. margin loan fees), but deposit RM1000 into Versa/Stashaway Simple (~2% p.a. returns), every time your margin ratio reach ~1.25 (never higher than that), withdraw your MMF fully and one shot remit to CIMB-SG -> free deposit into IBKR -> convert to USD at the best FX rate possible, 2USD fee.

0.42% p.a. of discount on FX and transaction cost!

Please don't actually do this, I have not evaluated the additional FX risk introduced to this investment flow and the maximum possible fallout just to save LITERALLY less than 2 USD every few months
🤣🤣🙏 this one some galaxy brain thinking Haha but still useful to know! thank you!
Pewufod
post Feb 9 2022, 09:05 PM

1,536 posts

i am actually thinking of building a syfe port with

CSPX
QQQ
VWRA

any comments ?
tradingGo
post Feb 9 2022, 10:17 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Feb 9 2022, 09:05 PM)
i am actually thinking of building a syfe port with

CSPX
QQQ
VWRA

any comments ?
CSPX and QQQ are mostly US, no?

and VWRA has less US but with the other 2, still US mostly.

29 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:25 PM