11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

W212 E300 Bluetec owners come in

froz3nnoob
post Jan 30 2022, 04:30 PM

Defeat is not the worst of failures. Not to have tried is the tr
837 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 30 2022, 10:41 AM)
Oof. But then VW stuff are relatively well sorted out nowadays. So many specialist offering services at competitive pricing. Unlike 5-7 years ago
Ori one simpan at home, put taobao sourced one on the wheels.
Mind sharing how did the members solve the battery issue? To me, gearbox is a known issue - just spend money and solve. Take it as a wear and tear part. Suspension, it’s a design flaw also can spend money on BC adjustables to fix it.
I was offer by mercedes to have my E300 AMG suspension change to another type which is way higher and won't scratch the car belly, for the battery issue, currently mercedes do offer extended warranty up to 10 years for the hybrid battery for a thousand only.. which u can have a piece of mind
toos99
post Jan 30 2022, 04:46 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 30 2022, 03:51 PM)
same here. were you in ZTH before bro?
Yea bro. I think I go back even before bro Tom started ZTH. My era was feilo vtec, batu tiga and of course, Centre point BU Friday nights smile.gif
DM52
post Jan 30 2022, 05:00 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jan 30 2022, 01:30 PM)
its a pity we dont have lease car system like overseas. where you basicaly rent the car for 2-3 years under warranty and then return the car to dealer. that would be the most hassle free way to experience the driving pleasure of conti without having to suffer the maintenance headache.
people who buy used conti, most likely already have a second/third car (invariably a more reliable brand). the conti can be used as toy car. ofc got ppl like chuaboy who dont have any other car and take loan buy 7yo bmw, these ppl asking for it.
QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 01:45 PM)
Love this if it happens. Don’t mind not owning the car at the end of the day. At least I’d get to enjoy it right out of the showroom.
mercedez, volvo got liao. but due to very high car price in malaysia, rental rate also become very high.

its basically much more expensive than buying through installment. if someone cant afford mercedes through installment, renting they for sure cant afford. its like phrase, conti car if u cant afford new, u cant afford 2nd hand too.

but got someone from pauline.org, which is hafriz shah who had rent from mercedes. first is mercedes c300 for 3 years from 2016 to 2019, then c200 coupe from 2019 to 2022.

its very fun to rent a car provided u are real rich. can always change into newer car without hassle. but it is much more expensive than u buy installment and sell for yourself. they charged very very premium for that *hassle free* experience.

This post has been edited by DM52: Jan 30 2022, 05:01 PM
toos99
post Jan 30 2022, 05:03 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 30 2022, 03:23 PM)
your bonnet cable snapped already or not?

years of owning conti and jdm cars, this is the first time I encountered with this
No but I’ll tell you what did though. The fuel cover.

This post has been edited by toos99: Feb 10 2022, 12:06 AM
toos99
post Jan 30 2022, 05:08 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Jan 30 2022, 05:00 PM)
mercedez, volvo got liao. but due to very high car price in malaysia, rental rate also become very high.

its basically much more expensive than buying through installment. if someone cant afford mercedes through installment, renting they for sure cant afford. its like phrase, conti car if u cant afford new, u cant afford 2nd hand too.

but got someone from pauline.org, which is hafriz shah who had rent from mercedes. first is mercedes c300 for 3 years from 2016 to 2019, then c200 coupe from 2019 to 2022.

its very fun to rent a car provided u are real rich. can always change into newer car without hassle. but it is much more expensive than u buy installment and sell for yourself. they charged very very premium for that *hassle free* experience.
I didn’t know that. Thanks for sharing. I did hear about some agility financing with MB but didn’t bother any further. Just glanced through the final number and figured it is just as expensive.

Yeah, the costs don’t make sense for now. If I had an expat package that covers transportation, housing, etc, I’ll go for this without batting an eyelid. But if own money, very finite if I may add, then sorry, I can’t afford or willing to part with it I’ll admit.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 30 2022, 05:08 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 04:46 PM)
Yea bro. I think I go back even before bro Tom started ZTH. My era was feilo vtec, batu tiga and of course, Centre point BU Friday nights smile.gif
old school buddies lah ini... cool2.gif

those were the good old days

DS51
post Jan 30 2022, 05:10 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 30 2022, 03:40 PM)
actually got. like lease2go

but u judge it by yourself lah whether it is worth it or not

meanwhile in UK

for me, car is still an asset. will opt for 4 years loan and after loan finish, will think whether want to keep or trade in newer car.

this rent definitely for someone rich. after 3 years, just return the car. definitely this fella got 3/4 cars in their garage.
DS51
post Jan 30 2022, 05:12 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 05:08 PM)
I didn’t know that. Thanks for sharing. I did hear about some agility financing with MB but didn’t bother any further. Just glanced through the final number and figured it is just as expensive.

Yeah, the costs don’t make sense for now. If I had an expat package that covers transportation, housing, etc, I’ll go for this without batting an eyelid. But if own money, very finite if I may add, then sorry, I can’t afford or willing to part with it I’ll admit.
at first, I tot, is like cheap like in overseas. but meh. I tot this rate ar, only millionaire can afford in malaysia. lol.
toos99
post Jan 30 2022, 05:15 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 30 2022, 05:08 PM)
old school buddies lah ini...  cool2.gif

those were the good old days

Go to see old timers in /k bro. Haha. Now old already come here to read sarcastic comments or troll people. Some are really hilarious I love it.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 30 2022, 05:20 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 05:03 PM)
No but I’ll tell you what did though. The fuel cover. Not the string that holds the petrol cap, that’s negligible but the cover itself on the outside. That’s 1.2.K (or something) not including paint job.
you mean this?

what happened to the fuel cover?

toos99
post Jan 30 2022, 05:24 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 30 2022, 05:20 PM)
you mean this?

what happened to the fuel cover?
You see the hinge? That’s plastic. Overtime, it deteriorated and broke I guess. VWs, at least the one I had don’t have alarm when you lock. So you hear the solenoids quite clearly. Without the cover, the solenoid was exceptionally louder so I went and take a look and…
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 30 2022, 05:24 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 05:15 PM)
Go to see old timers in /k bro. Haha. Now old already come here to read sarcastic comments or troll people. Some are really hilarious I love it.
same here biggrin.gif

too bad we dont have these kind of things anymore here

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Jan 30 2022, 05:30 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 30 2022, 05:32 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 05:24 PM)
You see the hinge? That’s plastic. Overtime, it deteriorated and broke I guess. VWs, at least the one I had don’t have alarm when you lock. So you hear the solenoids quite clearly. Without the cover, the solenoid was exceptionally louder so I went and take a look and…
topkek VW! that's another level of planned obsolescence already! and rm1.2K for a set!
TS((Xa))0102
post Jan 30 2022, 10:55 PM

兩支湯匙         一個碗
2,553 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 30 2022, 12:00 PM)
Had a lexus gs300 (grs190) company car last time. Smooth engine but very lazy to accelerate. Feel like the passat b7 1.8 engine can easily beat it acceleration wise.
Yup, coming from a Camry I can totally relate the laziness. Even the brakes is tuned for comfort - absolutely no linearity. Despite Lexus typically are twin pots calipers.

Perhaps I should consider a Passat B8, its relatively newer and comparatively less problematic than BBA.

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 12:27 PM)
I can only imagine if it was a Rover. That’s one easy way for me to get back to B40 lol. It was an mk6.

VW isn’t that expensive to fix with OEMs aplenty thankfully. But it’s freaking annoying to have things that you’ve never heard of breaking before, starts breaking. Some even repetitively. I’ve replaced accelerator pedals, dog mounts, dsg linkage and quite a few others. All these required me to get it on a flatbed. and cosmetics like the roof lining, door panel leather sagging like some kind of Botox job gone wrong, soft touch panels that became sticky tapes.

I absolutely agree contis drive better than Japanese on most days but I just can’t deal with shit potentially breaking every other day.
Yup, prices are way much cheaper than 5-7 years ago. Can source from China/Taobao if you don't mind waiting. I had a relative who sourced an entire EA888 from China at half the price even after paying tax. And yes, the sticky door handle really irritating.

QUOTE(gtfan @ Jan 30 2022, 12:49 PM)
Many folks said get lexus, but do note lexus parts ain't cheap like yr typical Toyota. If a lexus costs 400k++ brand new, yr parts won't be 100k++ kind of range. You just have to be prepared to pay. If you are hardworking and source your parts individually, you may save a bit instead of letting foreman ketuk u.

At the end of the day, is your money. How u spend it, its your own joy and suffering. Why bother what other thinks.

Moreover, you may expand yr friends network if you are active in the car group. Who knows, you may meet another jho low there....ha!
Depends actually. Engine and drivetrain parts are usually shared amongst JDM (e.g. Estima, Alphards). But yes, the wear and tear parts - e.g. mountings, tie rods, steering rack ends will defo cost 3-4x of a Toyota.

I don't really care what other thinks imho, I just want to make sure I made a sound decision instead of buying out of impulse.

But driving BBA does up one's image regardless whether if its a RM80k E300 Bluetec or a RM100k poverty pack E200 or a RM150k E400
TS((Xa))0102
post Jan 30 2022, 11:11 PM

兩支湯匙         一個碗
2,553 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jan 30 2022, 01:42 PM)
been following this guys journey to fix his airmatic on his amg cl65. the look on his face as he thought he finally fix it but failed (before finally succeeding at the 5-6th time was damn pitiful). but I doubt any workshop locally will have the patience and determination he did to troubleshoot the issue.

Ahh this is painful to watch. Given that i've considered getting F01/02 and W221, reading user reports on various forums overseas and Singapore is just very painful to read.

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 01:48 PM)
I’ve spent so much time and money on cars from wiralution to ek to GTI and R I just can’t do it anymore. Spent so much of my younger days squatting at Jaafa, Jian hang to watch them weld exhausts and intercoolers.

Still remember I used to try and replace the capacitors in my GSR 5508 ECU out of passion as you’ve put it. Of course, I screwed up the entire thing and had to get a new one lol.

Now? I just can’t make time for this shit no more. Unless I strike a lottery or crypto goes up a few 1000% more, I have to dedicate whatever time I have to make money.

Edit: or 3308. I’m so old now I can’t remember anymore
ECU got 7377, 5663, and 3308, so I guess is 3308 for you.

QUOTE(bigmac999 @ Jan 30 2022, 03:57 PM)
weird enough the 3.0 TFSI is actually one of the more reliable Audi engines compared to their 4 cylinder cars

as for the W212 E400, the chassis definitely handles good enough for the power, that said however is in highway driving, this is not a car to carve corners in, the steering is too light and vague for that purpose
Woah, then I guess the A6 3.0 TFSi is a no brainer? S4 engine in an A6 body sounds like a total win. But yea, heaps of nightmare from the EA888, although Gen 3 did solve a lot of the issues.

The main purpose of me buying such a high power car is that, I foresee myself doing a lot of high speed highway driving. Like JB-KL that kind. My current Camry is doing the job perfectly fine but I needed something faster. A Bluetec will defo save me heaps of money in the long run but it just lacks the fun and potentially time sitting in a workshop. If I were to carve corners, I would be buying a F10 LCI or early G30 instead.

After spending the most of my Sunday afternoon scrolling thru carlist, i've pretty much shortlisted the following

W212 E400
A6 3.0 TFSI FL
Passat B8 2.0 380 TSi
BMW F10 520d

QUOTE(froz3nnoob @ Jan 30 2022, 04:30 PM)
I was offer by mercedes to have my E300 AMG suspension change to another type which is way higher and won't scratch the car belly, for the battery issue, currently mercedes do offer extended warranty up to 10 years for the hybrid battery for a thousand only.. which u can have a piece of mind
Yup, they did offer this for free back then right? Extended warranty wise, I believe most of the W212 E300s have their warranties expiring soon (in about a year's time, in 2023) therefore the peace of mind won't last forever smile.gif

This post has been edited by ((Xa))0102: Jan 30 2022, 11:12 PM
TS((Xa))0102
post Jan 30 2022, 11:16 PM

兩支湯匙         一個碗
2,553 posts

QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 05:03 PM)
No but I’ll tell you what did though. The fuel cover. Not the string that holds the petrol cap, that’s negligible but the cover itself on the outside. That’s 1.2.K (or something) not including paint job.
No wonder so owners replace carbon fiber ones, maybe their stock fuel lid cap broke too
BL98
post Jan 30 2022, 11:23 PM

743 posts

Luxury car should be top notch in quality. Just go ahead with E300 or E400.
SUSMr Mercedes
post Jan 30 2022, 11:40 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 30 2022, 11:11 PM)

After spending the most of my Sunday afternoon scrolling thru carlist, i've pretty much shortlisted the following

W212 E400
A6 3.0 TFSI FL
Passat B8 2.0 380 TSi
BMW F10 520d
While most of them seem to compete in the same segment (Luxury Executive sedans) with the exception of the passat, there should be a great difference in terms of price range of the vehicles mentioned.
Mooneyes
post Jan 30 2022, 11:46 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

E63 all the way
toos99
post Jan 31 2022, 12:00 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 30 2022, 10:55 PM)
But driving BBA does up one's image regardless whether if its a RM80k E300 Bluetec or a RM100k poverty pack E200 or a RM150k E400
How did your relative register the block?

This post has been edited by toos99: Feb 10 2022, 12:07 AM

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:42 AM