QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 30 2022, 12:53 AM)
Owned 2 contis before. No more. Life is too short to be wasted in workshops and waiting for tow trucks.
glad you got out of it..the proton x50 looks so tempting.. christmas present possibly?
W212 E300 Bluetec owners come in
Jan 30 2022, 12:54 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,021 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Jan 30 2022, 12:58 AM
156 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
So conclusion is no conti is worth pursuing if it is more than 5 years old with no warranty? None at alll?
Jan 30 2022, 12:59 AM
1,021 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Jan 30 2022, 01:00 AM
837 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Malaysia |
Im driving E300 Bluetec, so far no problem for me personally, but the battery some member got kena, others issue such as gearbox or suspension no issue for me.. tbh its a sweet ride
Jan 30 2022, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Jan 30 2022, 12:59 AM) Then it is a no for me. Had a GTI. Fantastic car to drive. Love it to bits the drive. But fk, every 3-4 months I kid you not, a light comes on. If you’re lucky it’s just a speed sensor. But luck almost always runs out eventually. I had ABS module, intake manifold, coil, crankshaft position and few more that I don’t even know existed. Only thing that didn’t/hasn’t break was the DSG |
Jan 30 2022, 01:09 AM
4 posts Joined: Oct 2019 |
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 29 2022, 06:08 PM) Valid points there. The E300/400 doesn't come with airmatic, so its fine. Gearbox, most likely the conductor plate will fail, turbo hose will bocor, bushes are wear and tear parts so its expected. ABS speed sensor is a common issue with contis, incl VW. It's not just airmatic, which is a massively annoying and expensive mess, but also typical absorber seals, but of course it's a lot cheaper to deal with than air suspension.I don't see myself downsizing from my current Camry, 3er or C class is out of the equation. Alternatively, i'm looking at Mark X and GS250 - but they just lack the power that contis can offer My current pain in the ass is a S400h, and I feel it's just in time for the 6 year itch, and already 2022 log has a week in the workshop for 20k. I like how the old Honda had the same issue, and was in & out in 2 days for 3k. But apples and oranges. Other than that I'd say a 528i or a 530i - sure not as powerful, but a F10 of a similar age is a bit cheaper and a pre-LCI 530i isn't much more. I've not had issues with either, just a matter of taking care of them a bit. But BMWs may not be your cup of tea. So bottom line is avoid the bluetec, and if you can pay to play, E400. Having a good mechanic you can rely on is of course a big key to this. |
Jan 30 2022, 03:22 AM
109 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
QUOTE(God Grid @ Jan 29 2022, 06:46 PM) Why sell expensive product for high price when you can sell cheap product for high price?Also, service center is owned by them, so... This post has been edited by djtong: Jan 30 2022, 03:25 AM |
Jan 30 2022, 03:47 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Just get Lexus
Jan 30 2022, 08:41 AM
848 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Jan 30 2022, 09:35 AM
2,553 posts Joined: May 2013 From: Joined: Jan 2001 |
QUOTE(bigmac999 @ Jan 29 2022, 06:30 PM) E400 is a total different league to a E300 blue tech lmao Yes indeed. Light mods could easily reach 400hp, very tempting indeed. But I doubt the handling is good enough to handle such power in its stock formE400 is a total sleeper with that same twin turbo M276 just like in a w213 E43 Between these definitely the E400 unless you’re looking for a car that saves fuel than it’s the E300 In the meantime, I managed to stumble upon the A6 FL 3.0 TFSI. Not sure how reliable and how whiny the supercharger in practice. QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Jan 29 2022, 08:06 PM) Yes indeed, C43 E43 engine haha just without the snappy 9G-TRONIC |
Jan 30 2022, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 29 2022, 10:52 PM) Oof. But then VW stuff are relatively well sorted out nowadays. So many specialist offering services at competitive pricing. Unlike 5-7 years ago QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Jan 29 2022, 10:58 PM) Ori one simpan at home, put taobao sourced one on the wheels. QUOTE(froz3nnoob @ Jan 30 2022, 01:00 AM) Im driving E300 Bluetec, so far no problem for me personally, but the battery some member got kena, others issue such as gearbox or suspension no issue for me.. tbh its a sweet ride Mind sharing how did the members solve the battery issue? To me, gearbox is a known issue - just spend money and solve. Take it as a wear and tear part. Suspension, it’s a design flaw also can spend money on BC adjustables to fix it. |
Jan 30 2022, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 01:07 AM) Then it is a no for me. Had a GTI. Fantastic car to drive. Love it to bits the drive. But fk, every 3-4 months I kid you not, a light comes on. If you’re lucky it’s just a speed sensor. But luck almost always runs out eventually. I had ABS module, intake manifold, coil, crankshaft position and few more that I don’t even know existed. Only thing that didn’t/hasn’t break was the DSG Hey, at least it tells you what broke lol. Try driving a Range Rover. Sounded like a mk5 to meQUOTE(RL5959 @ Jan 30 2022, 01:09 AM) It's not just airmatic, which is a massively annoying and expensive mess, but also typical absorber seals, but of course it's a lot cheaper to deal with than air suspension. Wow RM20k for absorber related issues?My current pain in the ass is a S400h, and I feel it's just in time for the 6 year itch, and already 2022 log has a week in the workshop for 20k. I like how the old Honda had the same issue, and was in & out in 2 days for 3k. But apples and oranges. Other than that I'd say a 528i or a 530i - sure not as powerful, but a F10 of a similar age is a bit cheaper and a pre-LCI 530i isn't much more. I've not had issues with either, just a matter of taking care of them a bit. But BMWs may not be your cup of tea. So bottom line is avoid the bluetec, and if you can pay to play, E400. Having a good mechanic you can rely on is of course a big key to this. Oh yes. Was looking at F01/02 before deciding between the two W212s. Airsus compressor is also a nightmare to deal with. 528i, I like how the thing handles. But power delivery isn’t up to my expectations. Did consider the pre-LCI 535i but wasn’t keen on UK spec cars. If not, I feel that the 520d is a safe bet, if power isn’t a priority. Your thoughts? QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 30 2022, 03:47 AM) Am looking at the GS250. It has a better sound system, it’s more comfortable than the W212 and arguably better cabin insulation. But then, it’s just a 2.5 V6 NA. But yes, will prefer a Lexus V6 NA over any 4cyl BMW F10This post has been edited by ((Xa))0102: Jan 30 2022, 09:48 AM |
Jan 30 2022, 11:25 AM
35 posts Joined: Aug 2021 |
Jan 30 2022, 11:47 AM
1,344 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
There's one conti that is as affordable and as lasting as other brands.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jan 30 2022, 11:48 AM
87 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
There’s a reason the said model, in your pic, is now selling at a price of cheaper then a high spec honda city.
Low 80k if pandai nego, might dip to 70s K if you trade in(but the 2nd hand owner sure upcar your trade price already, so same jer). My advice? With that budget, just get a honda city or altis/accord and avoid any problems which would render you transportless |
Jan 30 2022, 11:53 AM
253 posts Joined: Jul 2021 |
Mazda 6 2.5 2017-2018 ?
Jan 30 2022, 12:00 PM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 30 2022, 09:46 AM) Am looking at the GS250. It has a better sound system, it’s more comfortable than the W212 and arguably better cabin insulation. But then, it’s just a 2.5 V6 NA. But yes, will prefer a Lexus V6 NA over any 4cyl BMW F10 |
Jan 30 2022, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Jan 30 2022, 09:46 AM) I can only imagine if it was a Rover. That’s one easy way for me to get back to B40 lol. It was an mk6. VW isn’t that expensive to fix with OEMs aplenty thankfully. But it’s freaking annoying to have things that you’ve never heard of breaking before, starts breaking. Some even repetitively. I’ve replaced accelerator pedals, dog mounts, dsg linkage and quite a few others. All these required me to get it on a flatbed. and cosmetics like the roof lining, door panel leather sagging like some kind of Botox job gone wrong, soft touch panels that became sticky tapes. I absolutely agree contis drive better than Japanese on most days but I just can’t deal with shit potentially breaking every other day. |
Jan 30 2022, 12:49 PM
932 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Many folks said get lexus, but do note lexus parts ain't cheap like yr typical Toyota. If a lexus costs 400k++ brand new, yr parts won't be 100k++ kind of range. You just have to be prepared to pay. If you are hardworking and source your parts individually, you may save a bit instead of letting foreman ketuk u.
At the end of the day, is your money. How u spend it, its your own joy and suffering. Why bother what other thinks. Moreover, you may expand yr friends network if you are active in the car group. Who knows, you may meet another jho low there....ha! |
Jan 30 2022, 01:27 PM
863 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Jan 30 2022, 12:59 AM) QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 30 2022, 01:07 AM) Then it is a no for me. Had a GTI. Fantastic car to drive. Love it to bits the drive. But fk, every 3-4 months I kid you not, a light comes on. If you’re lucky it’s just a speed sensor. But luck almost always runs out eventually. I had ABS module, intake manifold, coil, crankshaft position and few more that I don’t even know existed. Only thing that didn’t/hasn’t break was the DSG passion must include if you like to work on your own cars, mechanically inclined. lots of youtube videos of amdk working on euro cars DIY. |
| Change to: | 0.0222sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:49 AM |