24 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia Nokia E51, Wi-Fi for totally business-oriented

katopunk
post Jan 16 2008, 08:31 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

HOI!!!!! why this phone is not popular???? so little people using it meh?

in penang i've asked several shops they don't even know what is E51 model. if the shop got also. they said the sale very "cold". i found a shop got sell CLS ap set which carries 15months warranty for RM960.

ahhh... my xphone2 is dying. i'm looking high low for a windows mobile smartphone but it seems like nothing come close to this E51. price and feature.

i've put my hands on this mobile. it's very solid and feature packed! i guess i'm gonna migrate to symbian. godammit.

rich8833, i guess you can't listen to radio using bluetooth handsfree. as of what i know, most mobile phone requires a wired handsfree earphone to on the radio. it's because of the wire act as an antenna.

slingwish, i asked one of the salesman. that fella said the phone can only charge very little bit when you plug it on a computer usb for data transfer. LOL i'm very doubtful of his knowledge. hahaha... maybe you can check for us. see whether the battery percentage got go up or not when you plug on the usb.
pigcat
post Jan 16 2008, 11:59 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(katopunk @ Jan 16 2008, 08:31 PM)
HOI!!!!! why this phone is not popular???? so little people using it meh?

in penang i've asked several shops they don't even know what is E51 model. if the shop got also. they said the sale very "cold". i found a shop got sell CLS ap set which carries 15months warranty for RM960.

ahhh... my xphone2 is dying. i'm looking high low for a windows mobile smartphone but it seems like nothing come close to this E51. price and feature.

i've put my hands on this mobile. it's very solid and feature packed! i guess i'm gonna migrate to symbian. godammit.

rich8833, i guess you can't listen to radio using bluetooth handsfree. as of what i know, most mobile phone requires a wired handsfree earphone to on the radio. it's because of the wire act as an antenna.

slingwish, i asked one of the salesman. that fella said the phone can only charge very little bit when you plug it on a computer usb for data transfer. LOL i'm very doubtful of his knowledge. hahaha...  maybe you can check for us. see whether the battery percentage got go up or not when you plug on the usb.
E series normally very "cold door" one lah. sweat.gif Like my E70 so useful but so little people talk about it. sweat.gif

Maybe E61i and E90 is more popular maybe because of the size lol. Nevertheless, E51 is one hell of a great device, I wanted to buy for my father but he said he kinda fedup with smartphones, try to convince him that this phone has very good features and no more slow like old nokias la but he wanted a simple phone enough.

Still, if I want a small and powerful business phone this is definitely the one to get.
mydelsol
post Jan 17 2008, 05:44 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

Hi Guys/Gals,

Im torn between the E51 and Ipaq 512, as both has what i want. So problem is, which one should i get?
Advises are welcomed... rclxms.gif
katopunk
post Jan 17 2008, 08:18 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

bro delsol,

actually i'm searching for a windows mobile also. cause i'm using windows mobile currently. reluctant to switch to S60 but after i've come to this E51. nothing from the windows mobile smartphone comes close to the feature and price of an E51. see the comparison.

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...6&idPhone1=1900
Eoma
post Jan 18 2008, 01:09 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

E51 users !

Let's share essential apps to make this neat little device even better.

Currently I have/or have tried/want to know:

1. Google Maps
2. Yahoo Go! (will not install, sent an e-mail to Yahoo tech support, they said to check back often as they add new phones regularly)
3. Any freeware notepad app better than the included one ? With the default notepad app, I can't seem to move down a line. Need to press space many times for it to go down to the next line.
4. Any recommended media players ? Haven't played around with audio/video playback yet, but I think for my simple needs, the inc Realplayer should be "ok".
5. Any app to display the battery in percentages ?

Will list/request more as i play around.

p/s: How long does the battery last typically for you ? I get about 3 days with normal wifi/calls usage.
katopunk
post Jan 18 2008, 09:01 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

i just got my phone today, mixed feeling, not biasa with s60. as i'm using windows. maybe i'll take sometime to master the phone. but the thing i'm satisfied about it is the solidness of the phone.

i've been searching for softwares. there is this website that i came across with when i'm searching E51 forums. alot of good stuff there.

http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=177

Added on January 18, 2008, 9:03 pmeoma,

i found a software. i haven't install it yet. maybe you like to take a look at it. http://www.patrickfrei.ch/phonetinfo/

This post has been edited by katopunk: Jan 18 2008, 09:03 PM
mydelsol
post Jan 19 2008, 12:44 AM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

katopunk -

Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. rclxms.gif
rich8833
post Jan 19 2008, 09:00 AM

Look at my stars!
2,194 posts

3. Any freeware notepad app better than the included one ? With the default notepad app, I can't seem to move down a line. Need to press space many times for it to go down to the next line.

Yes, u can go down the line....just press 0 (zero) 3 times.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by rich8833: Jan 19 2008, 09:43 AM
katopunk
post Jan 19 2008, 09:13 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

anybody here is a windows mobile user last time? i'm sure you know what i'm talking about.

i'm miss the search contact style at my windows mobile.
you just have to type the contact's name using t9 style (like sms dictionary like that) on the front page/ desktop. then the name will come out. that one very useful.

is there any s60 3rd party software that is similar to that?

Added on January 20, 2008, 5:01 amorite!

i found a discussion thread about it and a solution also. checkout this thread.
http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php...96&page=1&pp=15

This post has been edited by katopunk: Jan 20 2008, 05:01 AM
Eoma
post Jan 23 2008, 10:06 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(katopunk @ Jan 18 2008, 09:01 PM)
i just got my phone today, mixed feeling, not biasa with s60. as i'm using windows. maybe i'll take sometime to master the phone. but the thing i'm satisfied about it is the solidness of the phone.

i've been searching for softwares. there is this website that i came across with when i'm searching E51 forums. alot of good stuff there. 

http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=177

Added on January 18, 2008, 9:03 pmeoma,

i found a software. i haven't install it yet. maybe you like to take a look at it. http://www.patrickfrei.ch/phonetinfo/
Hei thx katopunk ! PhonetInfo works great. Neat little app. thumbup.gif

Just transferred some stuff to the phone last night, Painfully slow ! (800KB/s to phone mem, a Toshiba 1GB mSD) Is it meant to be this slow ? I just used the data transfer mode, although later I used Nokia PC Site, about the same oso. ANything I'm doing wrong ? Also seems to take a lot of power, from almost full (2 bars missing) to 2 bars left !.
mydelsol
post Jan 23 2008, 11:17 AM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

Am getting this next week, scouted around the lowest price i got was
RM1200/- Avaxx set....any other good deals or freebies to look out for?
amfslash
post Jan 26 2008, 03:32 PM

18 posts

Hi i'm new here...

Just got my E51, and also my brother did as well.. it's such a powerful phone. I can do anything that my previous O2 Zinc could do, but faster and in a much more compact platform. this is my first symbian phone, and my first nokia for at least 6 years. the interface is comparable or maybe a bit faster than my w850i, which has been a key point of phones for me. I hate the lag of motorola and nokias of the old.

so far the wifi and 3g connections have been impressive, very stable. voice call quality a step up from the O2, and the slim form factor is very well appreciated compared to the O2 of course.

installed office suite (document editor) as well some games e.g. need for speed, tower bloxx etc. just to test the functionality of the system.

i will post further long term review of the phone, as well as input from my brother.

katopunk
post Jan 26 2008, 10:30 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jan 23 2008, 10:06 AM)
Hei thx katopunk ! PhonetInfo works great. Neat little app.  thumbup.gif 

Just transferred some stuff to the phone last night, Painfully slow ! (800KB/s to phone mem, a Toshiba 1GB mSD) Is it meant to be this slow ? I just used the data transfer mode, although later I used Nokia PC Site, about the same oso. ANything I'm doing wrong ? Also seems to take a lot of power, from almost full (2 bars missing) to 2 bars left !.
Hmmm.. I'm not sure about it. Still waiting for my 4gb to come. Hopefully will reach this monday. For me if i were to transfer large capacity of files i'll use the card reader. Much more faster i believe.
QUOTE(mydelsol @ Jan 23 2008, 11:17 AM)
Am getting this next week, scouted around the lowest price i got was
RM1200/- Avaxx set....any other good deals or freebies to look out for?
Bro, csl ap set now priced at rm980. 15months warranty summore. More worth it. Service center at major cities in malaysia.
pukarix
post Jan 28 2008, 01:53 AM

1,053 posts

hey guys...i m currently a 6300 user...i m interested in dis phone...

1.is it true dat symbian phones are slow(loading wise) compared to d normal phone..i know 6300 suits me..no lag watsoeva..what about this phone...

2.wat about battery life..in reality how long would it last? heavy sms user...

3.full charge takes about 2 hours?

4.for me the wifi capability is a bonus for me.how about viewing websites?everything is displayed?

thanks in advance...
Eoma
post Jan 28 2008, 09:53 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

1. The E51 performance is pretty zippy thanks to it's speedy 369Mhz CPU.
2. 3-4 days for me. A bit of wifi, mp3s, average sms & calls.
3. Haven't timed it yet, but I'd say around that.
4. Should be able to display most websites with no issues (LY.net works fine smile.gif )
mydelsol
post Jan 28 2008, 04:14 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

What a surprise from my wife, she went ahead and bought it for me blush.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
as my early birthday present rclxm9.gif Its now day one of using the phone and so far cant say
much cuz haven't had the time to utilize the full potential as yet , but am planning so soon.

Keep you all posted

p/s it came with a FOC 2gb card, screen protector, and a "chapalang" phone holder(put around the belt)

This post has been edited by mydelsol: Jan 28 2008, 06:16 PM
silent9z
post Jan 28 2008, 05:40 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Jan 28 2008, 04:14 PM)
What a surprise from my wife, she went ahead and bought it for me blush.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
as my early birthday present rclxm9.gif Its now day one of using the phone and so far cant say
much cuz haven't had the time to utilize the full potential as yet , but am planning so soon.

Keep you all posted

p/s it came with a FOC 1gb card, screen protector, and a "chapalang" phone holder(put around the belt)
Congratulate to ur new toy~ rclxms.gif i'm wondering wat price u get for it and where? ori set?

considering about it too drool.gif drool.gif
mydelsol
post Jan 28 2008, 06:17 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(silent9z @ Jan 28 2008, 05:40 PM)
Congratulate to ur new toy~  rclxms.gif i'm wondering wat price u get for it and where? ori set?

considering about it too  drool.gif  drool.gif
on the price i hve NO idea as my wife bought it blush.gif as a present...but its Avaxx set....and 2gb card!
katopunk
post Jan 28 2008, 09:30 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

yes. Indeed. So far no problem in viewing any sites known to me. Even i can access maybank2u and do transaction.
mydelsol
post Jan 29 2008, 03:10 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

OK day 2 of owning this phone....besides the superb functions.....lightness and superb fast connection
speeds...i hve no complaints...BUT......sound quality via ringing tone is a bit low...any one knows how
to increase it?...am using an mp3 song as my ring tone....sadly cant here it when calls come in even though
its at high ring tone...another thing....seems like my speakers like "crackling".....hhmm...anyone?

24 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:42 PM