Nokia Nokia E51, Wi-Fi for totally business-oriented

Eoma
post Dec 7 2007, 03:33 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Dec 7 2007, 09:12 AM)
E65 is not plasticky at all. The battery cover's rubbery texture makes the phone feel very solid when holding in the hand.

The 6120c on the other hand is very plasticky.

But yeah I went to Nokia The Curve and actually held the actual unit of the E51. The metal casing really is solid, and feels good. smile.gif

Too bad they only had the black version.
Oh noes! ANy idea when they'll have the chrome/silver version ?
sonyclie77
post Dec 7 2007, 07:53 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(leenux @ Dec 7 2007, 01:52 PM)
silver or black preferable? black looks solid but silver more to executive look hmm.gif

some reviews:

1. GSMArena.com
2. AllAboutSymbian.com
3. Mobile-Review.com

questions:
1. can i jst turn on wifi @ starbucks and surf away for free?
2. is it practical to apply transparent skin to prevent scratches and marks?
3. what colour u prefer - silver/black?
1. It's free. Just get the password from the counter.
2. It's up to individual preference. I prefer my phones to be in its original state, ie, without any wrappings / crystal casing. smile.gif
3. Definitely the chrome / silver version. I've seen the Black in real life, held it, but still prefer the chrome silver version.

QUOTE(Eoma @ Dec 7 2007, 03:33 PM)
Oh noes! ANy idea when they'll have the chrome/silver version ?
No idea. Even the staff there couldn't give me an answer on this.
amp
post Dec 8 2007, 01:20 AM

106 posts

if only the phone has 3g/video call..
shame that nokia doesn't want to include these basic feature for this current era
TSkhun_khun
post Dec 9 2007, 01:06 AM

Past is history, Today is gift, Future is mystery.
1,698 posts

QUOTE(rich8833 @ Dec 7 2007, 02:12 PM)
everything else it good except got no flash, no second camera for video call viewing and no gps..

good buy anyway.. tongue.gif
any shop in one utama selling ?  ori set....
this mostly for businesses purpose so dun hope too much. icon_rolleyes.gif
Buffalo Soldier
post Dec 12 2007, 11:22 PM

444 posts

hi everyone,

i'm a long time "lurker", this is my first post after some months of silence smile.gif really like this phone. someone said earlier it's available at Nokia The Curve? Gonna check it out there.

But so far after looking at the pics at various review sites... I think this is the next nokia phone i'm gonna buy. I really love the whole "functionality over bling-bling" philosophy.

The only thing that's making me hesitate right now is whether it wil work with Ubuntu or any other GNU/Linux.

This post has been edited by Buffalo Soldier: Dec 12 2007, 11:23 PM
mydelsol
post Dec 13 2007, 01:50 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

hhmm NO one can reply me (page 2)...please....
rich8833
post Dec 21 2007, 02:59 PM

Look at my stars!
2,194 posts

dun know y it is so difficult to on and off the e51.... sad.gif

got to press really hard..maybe they can improve on this...or maybe i still cannot catch the right angle to press.. tongue.gif

still trying to set it up...jus got wlan, 3g, wap, mms, sms, bluetooth, usb connection to pc suite working...still
dunno what is 'set up internet tel' ???? and how to set up voip????

anyone can help....

one more...where can i download games for this e51 model...seem it does not work with maxis.net ...

Added on December 28, 2007, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(rich8833 @ Dec 21 2007, 02:59 PM)
dun know y it is so difficult to on and off the e51.... sad.gif

got to press really hard..maybe they can improve on this...or maybe i still cannot catch the right angle to press.. tongue.gif
still trying to set it up...jus got wlan, 3g, wap, mms, sms, bluetooth, usb connection to pc suite working...still
dunno what is 'set up internet tel' ????  and how to set up voip????

anyone can help....
one more...where can i download games for this e51 model...seem it does not work with maxis.net ...
Now got problem...how to delete the useless email addresses that was setup wrongly?

suppose to be imap but it will always show pop3.....dunno why... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by rich8833: Dec 28 2007, 03:42 PM
slingswish
post Dec 30 2007, 03:23 AM

560 posts

the side button are so hard to press and the camera shutter sound can't be turned off -.-" any idea how to turn it off ?

the good thing i like is the mini usb and wifi =D and it's not slide becoz slide phone when u have problem wit the screen to change the ribbon may cost u 100? LOL
niel
post Dec 31 2007, 12:50 PM

321 posts

hi all owners, you all have a black version? i have heard someone got the black paint peeled off after couple weeks of ownership with care. so far any such problem?
jutamind
post Dec 31 2007, 04:26 PM

2,429 posts

can you charge using mini usb port with the cable provided? i mean charge using laptop/pc

QUOTE(slingswish @ Dec 30 2007, 03:23 AM)
the side button are so hard to press and the camera shutter sound can't be turned off -.-" any idea how to turn it off ? 

the good thing i like is the mini usb and wifi =D and it's not slide becoz slide phone when u have problem wit the screen to change the ribbon may cost u 100? LOL
rich8833
post Jan 4 2008, 07:09 PM

Look at my stars!
2,194 posts

Now got problem...how to delete the useless email addresses that was setup wrongly?

suppose to be imap but it will always show pop3.....dunno why...
So, finally got my answer after some hard knocks..and I wish to share it with u all...

so, if u still have a programs/ files / data inside ur nokia e51 which u cannot remove even u set to factory setting...

goto to nokia website and download the firmware of this phone into ur PC/notebook...then plug in ur usb cable..

install the new firmware..

OH b4 that, pls backup all ur important data first!

It will takes about 15 to 20 minutes to be fully installed...so make sure ur phone is fully charged and ur notebook is on AC power...Do not pull out ur USB cable even the display show it is disconnected..

Wait till it shows installation is completed..then u may pull out.

Wah La ! now u have a phone as u just brought it... rclxm9.gif

now, u hv to restore back ur data back to the phone..

but I noticed that i lost all my downloaded games ... cry.gif

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yes, I got the black steel version too...so far so good..maybe i hv not drop it yet... tongue.gif

Eoma
post Jan 5 2008, 09:10 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

I went around KL looking for the Chrome version with no luck sad.gif
All the shops had were the Black and Rose versions. Aieeeeeeeee. Anyone know where to get the Chrome one ?
pigcat
post Jan 5 2008, 09:52 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

I'm looking forward to get this one for my father. His phone really old and sot sot already...

How do you guys find the reliability of the speaker phone? Also keypad hard to press or something? How long the battery will last if average 1 hour talk per day?

Thanks in advance hope you guys can answer my question... notworthy.gif
leenux
post Jan 6 2008, 11:26 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jan 5 2008, 09:10 PM)
I went around KL looking for the Chrome version  with no luck sad.gif
All the shops had were the Black and Rose versions. Aieeeeeeeee. Anyone know where to get the Chrome one ?
think they anticipated the chrome ver will be the best seller for e-series range la.. so release later. btw, you managed to locate rose ver? where you seen it cos so far i've seen only black. nod.gif
Eoma
post Jan 6 2008, 11:57 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

QUOTE(leenux @ Jan 6 2008, 11:26 AM)
think they anticipated the chrome ver will be the best seller for e-series range la.. so release later. btw, you managed to locate rose ver? where you seen it cos so far i've seen only black. nod.gif
KLCC, BB Plaza and Low Yat Nokia stores carry the Rose model. RM1399.

Naked-Snake
post Jan 6 2008, 06:48 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(slingswish @ Dec 30 2007, 03:23 AM)

any other bad things on that phone?

thanks tongue.gif notworthy.gif
rich8833
post Jan 7 2008, 05:48 PM

Look at my stars!
2,194 posts

i can't think of anything bad....only no touch screen, no flash, no 2nd camera for video call, i wish it has 3.2MP camera, now is only 2MP..that is fine. cannot off camera shutter sound..

but u got wlan, can serve net, do skype call, do chat, nokia map that shows most of the road name in klang valley, check mails, games, wheather forcast, world time, appt, radio, video camera, MP3, notes, can open word, excel, ppt,pdf files, can read ebook, realplayer, bluetooth, i think it got one of the fastest processor too.

Eoma
post Jan 11 2008, 06:11 PM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

Finally caved in and bought a Black Steel E51 (Avaxx) . smile.gif

Don't know if I got ripped off, but I got it for RM1399 + 1 GB Toshiba mSD. Paid using CC (no surcharge).
Gonna transfer my contacts (any fast way to transfer from Windows Mobile to Symbian ?). Any help appreciated. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Eoma: Jan 11 2008, 06:11 PM
slingswish
post Jan 13 2008, 11:32 PM

560 posts

you can't charged the phone tru usb ...i don't know whether is good or not ..hehe.. becoz i don see any problem with it .
rich8833
post Jan 15 2008, 02:30 PM

Look at my stars!
2,194 posts

hi all users,

any one using the bluetooth handfree (the clip type) with this nokia e51?

i want to get one. any one can recommend a good and reliable brand and model...and where to get it...and how much it cost?

can i listen to radio using this bluetooth handfree ?

the original is just too long and come with two earphones..always get entangled when want to answer call during driving..

good day.. biggrin.gif

24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:36 AM