Nokia Nokia E51, Wi-Fi for totally business-oriented

katopunk
post Jan 16 2008, 08:31 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

HOI!!!!! why this phone is not popular???? so little people using it meh?

in penang i've asked several shops they don't even know what is E51 model. if the shop got also. they said the sale very "cold". i found a shop got sell CLS ap set which carries 15months warranty for RM960.

ahhh... my xphone2 is dying. i'm looking high low for a windows mobile smartphone but it seems like nothing come close to this E51. price and feature.

i've put my hands on this mobile. it's very solid and feature packed! i guess i'm gonna migrate to symbian. godammit.

rich8833, i guess you can't listen to radio using bluetooth handsfree. as of what i know, most mobile phone requires a wired handsfree earphone to on the radio. it's because of the wire act as an antenna.

slingwish, i asked one of the salesman. that fella said the phone can only charge very little bit when you plug it on a computer usb for data transfer. LOL i'm very doubtful of his knowledge. hahaha... maybe you can check for us. see whether the battery percentage got go up or not when you plug on the usb.
katopunk
post Jan 17 2008, 08:18 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

bro delsol,

actually i'm searching for a windows mobile also. cause i'm using windows mobile currently. reluctant to switch to S60 but after i've come to this E51. nothing from the windows mobile smartphone comes close to the feature and price of an E51. see the comparison.

http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...6&idPhone1=1900
katopunk
post Jan 18 2008, 09:01 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

i just got my phone today, mixed feeling, not biasa with s60. as i'm using windows. maybe i'll take sometime to master the phone. but the thing i'm satisfied about it is the solidness of the phone.

i've been searching for softwares. there is this website that i came across with when i'm searching E51 forums. alot of good stuff there.

http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=177

Added on January 18, 2008, 9:03 pmeoma,

i found a software. i haven't install it yet. maybe you like to take a look at it. http://www.patrickfrei.ch/phonetinfo/

This post has been edited by katopunk: Jan 18 2008, 09:03 PM
katopunk
post Jan 19 2008, 09:13 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

anybody here is a windows mobile user last time? i'm sure you know what i'm talking about.

i'm miss the search contact style at my windows mobile.
you just have to type the contact's name using t9 style (like sms dictionary like that) on the front page/ desktop. then the name will come out. that one very useful.

is there any s60 3rd party software that is similar to that?

Added on January 20, 2008, 5:01 amorite!

i found a discussion thread about it and a solution also. checkout this thread.
http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php...96&page=1&pp=15

This post has been edited by katopunk: Jan 20 2008, 05:01 AM
katopunk
post Jan 26 2008, 10:30 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jan 23 2008, 10:06 AM)
Hei thx katopunk ! PhonetInfo works great. Neat little app.  thumbup.gif 

Just transferred some stuff to the phone last night, Painfully slow ! (800KB/s to phone mem, a Toshiba 1GB mSD) Is it meant to be this slow ? I just used the data transfer mode, although later I used Nokia PC Site, about the same oso. ANything I'm doing wrong ? Also seems to take a lot of power, from almost full (2 bars missing) to 2 bars left !.
Hmmm.. I'm not sure about it. Still waiting for my 4gb to come. Hopefully will reach this monday. For me if i were to transfer large capacity of files i'll use the card reader. Much more faster i believe.
QUOTE(mydelsol @ Jan 23 2008, 11:17 AM)
Am getting this next week, scouted around the lowest price i got was
RM1200/- Avaxx set....any other good deals or freebies to look out for?
Bro, csl ap set now priced at rm980. 15months warranty summore. More worth it. Service center at major cities in malaysia.
katopunk
post Jan 28 2008, 09:30 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

yes. Indeed. So far no problem in viewing any sites known to me. Even i can access maybank2u and do transaction.
katopunk
post Jan 29 2008, 04:10 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

remind you 1st, this is not n series phone. so don't espect much from the media playback quality. i don't have any problem with the volume. it's sufficient for me. maybe the mp3 song that you used isn't suitable to be a ringtone. that's why you can hear is sometimes. try something like daft punk's song. i bet you can hear it. hahahaha...

about the crackling sound i think you increase the volume beyond the speaker capability. that's why crackling gsound. perhaps you can lower down the volume for the ring tone.

katopunk
post Jan 30 2008, 10:25 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

lets share some nice programs. what's yours?

here's some of my must have programs. some programs you have to sign it yourself. it's a little bit pain in the ass.

handy taskman (task killer and etc)
fexplorer (file explorer, i find it better than y-browser)
conversation (threaded style of sms)
emtube (youtube)
resco photo viewer (e51 gallery sucks!)
skyequikey (search contacts and programs using t9 from main page)
nokia device status (you can get it from nokia website)
google map mobile
windows live messenger (you can get it from nokia website)
coreplayer (media player for all shitz. mp3, flac, divx, xvid, wma, and etc)

hint:

price for ori is about rm1250 and for ap is rm980.
katopunk
post Jan 30 2008, 06:11 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

internet phone. is a very pain in the ass process setup. you have to register for a SIP account. go to www.voipstunt.com or www.fring.com

most voip provider gives free calls to landline. you have to pay for mobile. another thing is, you gotta have credit in your account. before you have phone for free.
katopunk
post Feb 4 2008, 02:10 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

omfg!

original zitron set only cost rm1280 if you can haggle down the price.
4gb original sandisk from vector digital only cost RM100.
katopunk
post Feb 4 2008, 02:51 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

nahh.. i'm not saying that you get conned. i'm pointing out that you can get a better deal. but since you are happy and the shop is happy. it's a win win situation right? hahaha. =)
katopunk
post Feb 4 2008, 03:27 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

see my post #88

This post has been edited by katopunk: Feb 4 2008, 03:28 AM
katopunk
post Feb 28 2008, 06:35 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

QUOTE(plim_123 @ Feb 20 2008, 03:16 PM)
RM980 for AP set ? Which shop ?
from uncle BDL la... he's selling. good and trustworthy seller. I got mine from also.
katopunk
post Mar 16 2008, 04:11 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

the copper color looks elegant and classy. seriously, believe me. as last time i wanted to take the black color, but the black or silver no stock. thus i opt for the copper color. now i've no regrets over the copper color.
katopunk
post Mar 25 2008, 02:14 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

well, there are few hiccups with E51. i've heard of bad grounding. got hissing sound when u talking on the phone if you didn't touch the metal part. which means the batt cover.

another one is silent autorestart. you don't even know the phone will autorestart. this is not really a problem. i've experience it once b4.
katopunk
post Sep 20 2008, 03:35 AM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

have anyone experience intermittent mute problem?

like when you called someone up, they can't hear what you are saying. but you can hear them clearly. so i need to cancel the call then dial again.

another thing is, if you notice. the old nokia map which comes with early batch of e51 has more pin point places in the maps. eg, restaurant and etc. try search for mungo jerry.

when i updated to the new one nokia map 2. and i install the maps using map loader. the new maps sucks. lesser details. don't have mungo jerry. kanina!!~!

0.0355sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:11 AM