AMD triple-core, if dual arent enough n quad overkill

Aoshi_88
post Sep 21 2007, 12:32 PM

Talking isn't difficult. Speaking is.
4,670 posts

Hey yeah...i was wondering the same thing to. Dual-core, Quad-core, Sex-Core, Octa-Core etc etc....
charge-n-go
post Sep 21 2007, 02:26 PM

4,060 posts

haha, sex-core --> one of the cores are dedicated for xxx processing, lol. btw, I have reliable sources that future generation CPU core doesnt not follow power of 2 (2, 4, 8, 16 etc...) Let's see how they will name 6 cores tongue.gif
linkinstreet
post Sep 21 2007, 04:42 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

they might use it you know. It's mathematically correct.
X.E.D
post Sep 21 2007, 05:44 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Sep 21 2007, 10:01 AM)
Venom sounds like Phenom...
Ah he's going to doublespeak on the whole B1/BA/B2 stepping again...
Nope cache is pretty low power compared to other parts of the CPU.
Yes, because TDP is tiered for servers. Go above 65 a little bit and boom, you're at 89/90.
Go above 90 (for Xeons), and Kaboom, 125. That's what the highend Penryn Xeon looks like (125W TDP, but a very practical guess should be <100W)

Just by a stepping Q6600 went from 105 to 95 (consumer markets normally don't use tiered TDPs as they don't need that buffered luxury that much) and I guess it's pretty tight around that too- older QXs, I don't know their stepping revs, but 130W (even a "loose" 110W) is a lot.

We only have Opteron TDPs. AMD could pull an Intel, get the consumer tri-cores at 75W or a non-standard rating just to make it look lower/closer to the real TDP it has (definitely more than 65W in high clocks, they can bin, squeeze BE chips, but that's out of the matter).

Iit's not like AMD's faultless too. They should have prioritized Barcelona more than Brisbane for 65 (it was nary a stopgap) but in the end, OEMs talk louder than anyone, and they do like cooler chips.

@Aoshi_88
Sex cores need ultimate protection. Pedal to the metal just ain't gonna work. laugh.gif
Butter? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 21 2007, 05:46 PM
lex
post Sep 21 2007, 05:52 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2007, 06:42 AM)
B3 -> G0. What exactly happened to the thermals... I dunno. tongue.gif
Now.. never mind the G0 (which you obviously pulled out of thin air)... BUT when did B3 appear? hmm.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2007, 06:42 AM)
Truth is, you're basing the whole future of a chip on a preproduction stepping. If you need to voltmod to 2.5, that's pretty bad and reeks of B1 (when B2 can run off air, you'd ROFL at such a big voltmod for 2.5 if it were)
That's funny ya know because all the review units provided (and configured by AMD) are mostly B1s. Even the demo unit here in Japan is also B1? See http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/akiba/hotli...celonademo.html

Some benches of that demo PC here: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpo...30&postcount=48

So where are the B2 and the final production BA steppings? Are they available now or only begining of November (which is when Dell and HP announce shipments of Barcelona based servers)? hmm.gif

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Sep 21 2007, 09:17 AM)
So explain what your hint at G0 was about. We are interested to see what exactly you are thinking.
And you are basing the whole future of a chip on rumors relating to a new stepping. I'm not sure your arguments are more credible.
Errr... This is the first time I heard of the (fantasy) G0 stepping. laugh.gif

Added on September 21, 2007, 6:07 pm
Agreed, my BSmeter alarm was at a all time high there. doh.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2007, 05:44 PM)
Just by a stepping Q6600 went from 105 to 95 (consumer markets normally don't use tiered TDPs as they don't need that buffered luxury that much) and I guess it's pretty tight around that too- older QXs, I don't know their stepping revs, but 130W (even a "loose" 110W) is a lot.

We only have Opteron TDPs. AMD could pull an Intel, get the consumer tri-cores at 75W or a non-standard rating just to make it look lower/closer to the real TDP it has (definitely more than 65W in high clocks, they can bin, squeeze BE chips, but that's out of the matter).
Do you realize that Intel had a very mature 65nm process compared to AMD? That is why they can bring down that TDP. whistling.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2007, 05:44 PM)
Iit's not like AMD's faultless too. They should have prioritized Barcelona more than Brisbane for 65 (it was nary a stopgap) but in the end, OEMs talk louder than anyone, and they do like cooler chips.
I disagree. OEMs like cheaper chips not cooler ones. They also want highly sell-able ("attractive" and cheap) brows.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 21 2007, 06:07 PM
Skylinestar
post Sep 21 2007, 06:08 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Sep 21 2007, 02:26 PM)
Let's see how they will name 6 cores tongue.gif
HEX-core
hardcore & sexy edition
ikanayam
post Sep 21 2007, 06:41 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 20 2007, 11:29 PM)
Okay, this is just a hypotethical question, and a bit off topic. If (and it's a big "if") they double the triple core and make a 6 core processor, will it be called a "sex core"?
I'd hit that.

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Sep 21 2007, 01:26 AM)
haha, sex-core --> one of the cores are dedicated for xxx processing, lol. btw, I have reliable sources that future generation CPU core doesnt not follow power of 2 (2, 4, 8, 16 etc...) Let's see how they will name 6 cores tongue.gif
They'll almost certainly go by model numbers if there are going to be so many different configs. But then again marketing departments are... marketing departments.

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2007, 04:44 AM)
Yes, because TDP is tiered for servers. Go above 65 a little bit and boom, you're at 89/90.
Go above 90 (for Xeons), and Kaboom, 125. That's what the highend Penryn Xeon looks like (125W TDP, but a very practical guess should be <100W)

@Aoshi_88
Sex cores need ultimate protection. Pedal to the metal just ain't gonna work. laugh.gif
Butter? tongue.gif
Do you know why the TDP is like that these days? Why they don't have a specific TDP for each SKU?
X.E.D
post Sep 21 2007, 06:43 PM

1,955 posts

lex, if the Core 2 Quad didn't have a G0, I'm seriously thinking about your google skills. laugh.gif

You're also assuming that AMD's 65nm isn't mature, while they've produced 65nm chips for a year already. yawn.gif
With 90nm they cut TDP tremendously months after release of the X2. AMD generally starts rougher, Intel starts more polished because after all, they ARE Chipzilla.

AMD might not want to bite what it can't chew. B2 for now is for the AM2+ Phenoms and upcoming newer Opterons 2/8300s. Coming November (earliest) so we have 2 more months to moan.

I think B1 and BA might be a BIOS flash away (microcode fixing the errata), but call that a conservative guess. Both of these chips are essentially the same, they won't clock higher.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 21 2007, 06:55 PM
Aoshi_88
post Sep 21 2007, 08:04 PM

4,670 posts

I'm starting to get lost. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
lex
post Sep 21 2007, 08:45 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Sep 21 2007, 06:08 PM)
hardcore & sexy edition
"Hardcore" would catch on quickly.. brows.gif

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Sep 21 2007, 08:04 PM)
I'm starting to get lost. laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Me too... rclxub.gif Quoted for reference....

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2007, 06:43 PM)
lex, if the Core 2 Quad didn't have a G0, I'm seriously thinking about your google skills. laugh.gif
I see... I thought you were referring to unreleased Barcelona steppings? Next time, be more specific... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 21 2007, 06:43 PM)
AMD might not want to bite what it can't chew. B2 for now is for the AM2+ Phenoms and upcoming newer Opterons 2/8300s. Coming November (earliest) so we have 2 more months to moan.
The we have to wait and see, rather than trying to jump to (way off) conclusions on those Barcelonas, Phenoms and tri-cores. wink.gif

nelienuxe_sara
post Sep 22 2007, 03:10 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

hey... phenoms wont use am2 socket rite?
should be on am2+????
i want to upgrade my gc,mobo,proc...
so all my cpu suing high end stuff haha
Aoshi_88
post Sep 22 2007, 09:19 AM

4,670 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 21 2007, 08:45 PM)
Me too... rclxub.gif  Quoted for reference....
Network Engineering FTW... Too bad i didn't take EEE for my degree. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 22 2007, 02:39 PM

1,955 posts

You know, that comparison really felt like the gap between the Marines... and everything else in the Army. laugh.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Sep 22 2007, 06:41 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Sep 22 2007, 04:10 AM)
hey... phenoms wont use am2 socket rite?
should be on am2+????
i want to upgrade my gc,mobo,proc...
so all my cpu suing high end stuff haha
i don think it will use same socket... and i also won say AM2+... sweat.gif

i think it will be optimized for ATI chipset based mobos... so bye bye nForce and the rest... hmm.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 22 2007, 07:58 PM

1,955 posts

AM2+ CPU can be slot into AM2 sockets.

However, you will have 2 issues (quite confirmed I think)
1. Lack of HT3.0. This might be instrumental, as how the K10 uses the L3 victim cache and the extra latency, HTT speeds might matter.

2. This one is more crucial- your memory controller speed. For mobos without Split power plane (AM2+) support, your IMC will run *even* more slower than the CPU (it already does in K10, by 100-200Mhz). Might affect performance for all it's worth.

To be honest, the new RD790 mobos should be good and hopefully, also cheap (single card versions FTW). It should be the easiest chipset for AMD overclocking period. (Not like it wasn't easy using ClockGen anyway/ laugh.gif)
soulfly
post Sep 22 2007, 08:07 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

AM2+ is more like new specification or standard. Regarding the socket design, it's identical to AM2 and backward compatible.
isaac00
post Sep 22 2007, 08:30 PM

QUOTE(charge-n-go @ Sep 21 2007, 02:26 PM)
I don't think they will come out with 6 cores... Maybe they will jump straight to 8... but anyway, I was shock to when AMD has a 3 cores processor... I am more interested how will they name 5 cores than... but... will there be a 5 cores processor? blink.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 23 2007, 12:02 AM

1,955 posts

When you do MCMs they better be symmetrical.

So on 4-core die, the only other possibility would be sex.
nelienuxe_sara
post Sep 23 2007, 12:23 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(isaac00 @ Sep 22 2007, 08:30 PM)
I don't think they will come out with 6 cores... Maybe they will jump straight to 8... but anyway, I was shock to when AMD has a 3 cores processor... I am more interested how will they name 5 cores than... but... will there be a 5 cores processor?  blink.gif
why not
since amd dare to make 3 core
cheaper than quad core

haha
maybe i just change my mobo then

currently use chap lang one
so simply sell it to other ppl
or give it to my bro
and get a brand new rd790
a high end 1

Added on September 23, 2007, 12:33 am

wrong section... haha

Added on September 23, 2007, 12:34 am

oso wrong topic 1 haha

This post has been edited by nelienuxe_sara: Sep 24 2007, 04:45 AM
ikanayam
post Sep 23 2007, 02:08 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Sep 22 2007, 05:41 AM)
i don think it will use same socket... and i also won say AM2+... sweat.gif

i think it will be optimized for ATI chipset based mobos... so bye bye nForce and the rest... hmm.gif
It's just the bus interface, it's kind of hard to pull any seekrit tricks since if someone else has your bus license, they will have the full specifications to your bus.

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 22 2007, 06:58 AM)
AM2+ CPU can be slot into AM2 sockets.

However, you will have 2 issues (quite confirmed I think)
1. Lack of HT3.0. This might be instrumental, as how the K10 uses the L3 victim cache and the extra latency, HTT speeds might matter.

2. This one is more crucial- your memory controller speed. For mobos without Split power plane (AM2+) support, your IMC will run *even* more slower than the CPU (it already does in K10, by 100-200Mhz). Might affect performance for all it's worth.
To be honest, the new RD790 mobos should be good and hopefully, also cheap (single card versions FTW). It should be the easiest chipset for AMD overclocking period. (Not like it wasn't easy using ClockGen anyway/ laugh.gif)
1. For single chip configs, the HTT speed will probably not be an issue because there is no coherency traffic to worry about. The memory controller is integrated, so all memory traffic goes through there. HTT only handles I/O, and it's probably not a bottleneck even in the majority of cases.

2. I don't think a 1600MHz -> 1800MHz memory controller will make that much of a difference. Especially when your base memory clocks are much much lower than that.

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 22 2007, 11:02 AM)
When you do MCMs they better be symmetrical.

So on 4-core die, the only other possibility would be sex.
They really don't have to be symmetrical, especially if you want to maximize yields on many many core dies in the future.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0159sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:08 PM