4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

AMD triple-core, if dual arent enough n quad overkill

The Scent LYN
post Sep 18 2007, 05:39 PM

387 posts

We dun really need this IMHO. A slighty cheaper quad core proc in a month or so will do.
ikanayam
post Sep 18 2007, 06:04 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(The Scent LYN @ Sep 18 2007, 04:39 AM)
We dun really need this IMHO. A slighty cheaper quad core proc in a month or  so will do.
It is a weird product surely, but AMD probably needs it at this point. Even a single cutdown core should help quite a bit with yield, unless it is really bad. Intel is likely to slash their quad core prices even lower if needed, so AMD may have to position this vs the dual cores in terms of price.
fiqir
post Sep 18 2007, 06:27 PM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

doesn't look intertesting wink.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 18 2007, 06:36 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 18 2007, 05:14 PM)
There is already a cheaper quaddie than the Q6600. Do you know that the Xeon X3210 is actually using LGA775 package? brows.gif

Check it out: Neoseeker: X3210 Xeon Core 2 Quad: Overclocking Monster in Sheep's Clothing!  wink.gif

Sooner or later, the quad prices will come down even further with Phenom and Penryn on the horizon wink.gif
On NCIX it's ~950 ringgits, that's precisely where the cheapest 6600 batches retail for now. wink.gif
And 20% less at stock, not really what the general consumer's buying.

What I'm implying is that AMD *can* afford to price these low (even possibly C2D low) and clock them 10%+ higher than a relative C2D.
Single threaded performance it should win (extra clocks), multi threaded performance it would win (3 vs 2 + K10 does look happier on core scaling)

The X3 isn't targeting the C2Q market- it's locking on to the E4300-6850s we buy today.

(Note: 3 cores > 2 cores in promotion, OEMs might actually snatch these chips faster than the retail channel would)

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 18 2007, 06:37 PM
intune
post Sep 18 2007, 06:48 PM

LOWYAT 1ST MALAYSIA 2nD
879 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 18 2007, 05:14 PM)
There is already a cheaper quaddie than the Q6600. Do you know that the Xeon X3210 is actually using LGA775 package? brows.gif

Check it out: Neoseeker: X3210 Xeon Core 2 Quad: Overclocking Monster in Sheep's Clothing!  wink.gif

Sooner or later, the quad prices will come down even further with Phenom and Penryn on the horizon wink.gif
wicked news drool.gif

The Scent LYN
post Sep 18 2007, 06:50 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Sep 18 2007, 06:04 PM)
It is a weird product surely, but AMD probably needs it at this point. Even a single cutdown core should help quite a bit with yield, unless it is really bad. Intel is likely to slash their quad core prices even lower if needed, so AMD may have to position this vs the dual cores in terms of price.
Humm yeah. If its price is almost the same with Intel's dual core proc then that would be great.
komag
post Sep 18 2007, 07:00 PM

300 posts

Intel Wants Triple Core Processors Too

This post has been edited by komag: Sep 18 2007, 07:02 PM
tapirus
post Sep 18 2007, 07:12 PM

(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮ a�tE(R)isk
1,237 posts

this triple-core=AM3???it based on what platform???
omara86
post Sep 18 2007, 07:12 PM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Sep 18 2007, 03:28 PM)
Hehe,why you say so?Any documents or benchmark from internal? brows.gif
he he he... my assumption is based on "didnt read deep enough"... i thought that tri core is native tri core.... never thought of disabled core... juz disregard my previous statement
stone13
post Sep 18 2007, 08:16 PM

272 posts

can wait to see this amd 3 core perform
lex
post Sep 18 2007, 09:19 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 18 2007, 06:36 PM)
On NCIX it's ~950 ringgits, that's precisely where the cheapest 6600 batches retail for now. wink.gif
Hmmmm.... Did you check Lowyat's own price lists? According to our retail price here its about RM899 only! (e.g Compuzone price list) hmm.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 18 2007, 06:36 PM)
The X3 isn't targeting the C2Q market- it's locking on to the E4300-6850s we buy today.
(Note: 3 cores > 2 cores in promotion, OEMs might actually snatch these chips faster than the retail channel would)
Ahem! The E6850 and Q6600 are about the same price. If the tri-core is targetting low end to mid range dual core segment, that makes sense... However the manufacturing cost of the "tri-core" is much higher than dual cores due to the die size (which is actually quad core die size). My guess is AMD is trying to get some leverage in this part of the market, rather than reducing them to just "dual cores".... I can hear the words "Buy 2 Get 1 Free!" brows.gif

On the yields issues, here's an interesting find (from AMD's own slides), see the "Defect densities below 0.5mm^2"....

And according to this http://smithsonianchips.si.edu/ice/cd/CEICM/SECTION3.pdf ..theoretically Barcelona's huge 283mm^2 dies have only less than 30% yields. The other 70% are considered defective and that's quite a big amount, definitely big enough for AMD to start the 3-core product line. nod.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 18 2007, 09:49 PM
X.E.D
post Sep 18 2007, 10:49 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 18 2007, 09:19 PM)
Hmmmm.... Did you check Lowyat's own price lists? According to our retail price here its about RM899 only!  (e.g Compuzone price list) hmm.gif

Ahem! The E6850 and Q6600 are about the same price. If the tri-core is targetting low end to mid range dual core segment, that makes sense... However the manufacturing cost of the "tri-core" is much higher than dual cores due to the die size (which is actually quad core die size). My guess is AMD is trying to get some leverage in this part of the market, rather than reducing them to just "dual cores".... I can hear the words "Buy 2 Get 1 Free!"  brows.gif

On the yields issues, here's an interesting find (from AMD's own slides), see the "Defect densities below 0.5mm^2"....

And according to this http://smithsonianchips.si.edu/ice/cd/CEICM/SECTION3.pdf ..theoretically Barcelona's huge 283mm^2 dies have only less than 30% yields. The other 70% are considered defective and that's quite a big amount, definitely big enough for AMD to start the 3-core product line. nod.gif
30% theoratically- but there are a lot of 'buts' I think. laugh.gif
1- AMD should be taking the Intel Core approach to all its CPUs- all the same model, bin and cut. This would equate to much higher yields than 30% even on the fully functional QC units on the long term, and hidden cost savings in getting a unified chip to all SKUs. Once 65 matures to AMD's sweet spot (their later steppings are quite good, evidenced by their 90 work) they won't have that much of a problem competing.

2- It should improve by time- getting unified (I don't know if Kuma is even native dual or cut-down quad) might also get clocks to competitive speeds, even in dual/tri cut-down scenarios. If AMD can get production of 3.2Gigas (B2 Max, B3 is currently unknown) before Q2 ends, kudos to 'em.

3- C2Qs are only made cheaper nowadays because Core manufacturing is already rather mature at the 65 level, plus the retooling to 45 CMOS they would have no incentive to price that high for even the base chip (Note the Q6700 is still there for margin suckers lol)

ps: Shanghai could make it considerably smaller (<200?), if they get hi-k dielectrics they'd be on even ground with Penryn clock wise. (Yet the fact that AMD's collab with IBM on SiGe on 65 might indicate that they're delaying it.)

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Sep 18 2007, 10:49 PM
lex
post Sep 18 2007, 11:26 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 18 2007, 10:49 PM)
1- AMD should be taking the Intel Core approach to all its CPUs- all the same model, bin and cut. This would equate to much higher yields than 30% even on the fully functional QC units on the long term, and hidden cost savings in getting a unified chip to all SKUs.
Mario Rivas once said "If I could do something different, I wish we would have immediately done a MCM - two dual cores and call it a quad-core," (see The Register: AMD praying 'Barcelona' makes up for four-core mistake) rolleyes.gif

Once 65 matures to AMD's sweet spot (their later steppings are quite good, evidenced by their 90 work) they won't have that much of a problem competing.
Have you wondered why AMD's fastest dual cores (like the 3.2GHz X2 6400+) are still on 90nm, and the highest clocked 65nm dual core is 2.6Ghz only? AMD hasn't hit the 65nm sweetspot yet and still have a long long way to go. wink.gif

2- It should improve by time- getting unified (I don't know if Kuma is even native dual or cut-down quad) might also get clocks to competitive speeds, even in dual/tri cut-down scenarios. If AMD can get production of 3.2Gigas (B2 Max, B3 is currently unknown) before Q2 ends, kudos to 'em.
So far we have only seen 2GHz, even the announced release is 2GHz. And the 2.5GHz Anandtech had seems to be overclocked. So the 3.2GHz figure still looks a long way far off. 2.5Ghz to 2.6GHz looks more likely, IF they can reach "maturity" like their dual cores. That's a big "IF"... icon_rolleyes.gif

3- C2Qs are only made cheaper nowadays because Core manufacturing is already rather mature at the 65 level, plus the retooling to 45 CMOS they would have no incentive to price that high for even the base chip (Note the Q6700 is still there for margin suckers lol)
Intel's 65nm matured very quickly, as did Intel's 45nm (as seen from the 3.33GHz Penryn showing at Beijing IDF). cool2.gif

IMHO I think AMD should abandon SOI, just look at all the delays and "technical glitches" (as quoted by Hector Ruiz recently). Intel once warned AMD about going 65nm on SOI (e.g. "floating body effects"), and if I'm not mistaken AMD's "65nm" isn't exactly ideal shrink. cool.gif

ps: Shanghai could make it considerably smaller (<200?), if they get hi-k dielectrics they'd be on even ground with Penryn clock wise. (Yet the fact that AMD's collab with IBM on SiGe on 65 might indicate that they're delaying it.)
So far we have not seen any working 45nm prototypes from either AMD or IBM, just announcements, PR statements and wafer fashion show. Sorry for being harsh, I am a "show me the beef" guy. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by lex: Sep 18 2007, 11:34 PM
X.E.D
post Sep 19 2007, 12:05 AM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 18 2007, 11:26 PM)
Mario Rivas once said "If I could do something different, I wish we would have immediately done a MCM - two dual cores and call it a quad-core," (see The Register: AMD praying 'Barcelona' makes up for four-core mistake) rolleyes.gif

Have you wondered why AMD's fastest dual cores (like the 3.2GHz X2 6400+) are still on 90nm, and the highest clocked 65nm dual core is 2.6Ghz only? AMD hasn't hit the 65nm sweetspot yet and still have a long long way to go. wink.gif

So far we have only seen 2GHz, even the announced release is 2GHz. And the 2.5GHz Anandtech had seems to be overclocked. So the 3.2GHz figure still looks a long way far off. 2.5Ghz to 2.6GHz looks more likely, IF they can reach "maturity" like their dual cores. That's a big "IF"... icon_rolleyes.gif

Intel's 65nm matured very quickly, as did Intel's 45nm (as seen from the 3.33GHz Penryn showing at Beijing IDF). cool2.gif 

IMHO I think AMD should abandon SOI, just look at all the delays and "technical glitches" (as quoted by Hector Ruiz recently). Intel once warned AMD about going 65nm on SOI (e.g. "floating body effects"), and if I'm not mistaken AMD's "65nm" isn't exactly ideal shrink. cool.gif

So far we have not seen any working 45nm prototypes from either AMD or IBM, just announcements, PR statements and wafer fashion show. Sorry for being harsh, I am a "show me the beef" guy. hmm.gif
I hate quoting and unquoting so I'll reply in whole lol.
Mario was referencing to the delay of Barcey more than the currently disproportionate performance ad/cost disadvantages. Dual Kuma would be a good proposition, but that would just make them play the manufacturing game once more- and lose. And servers won't like it (Everyone hated 4X4 v1, face it tongue.gif)

So far we've seen B0 at 1.6, B1 at 1.9,2.0 and 2.5 (a clock it's not supposed to run at), B2 maxes out at 3.2 and 3.4 for quad/duals respectively (cherry picked you may argue, but this is the first production stepping, want to compare- compare it to the first X2s. The 3.33Ghz Yorkfield by all means might be too.)

AMD did NOT tape out Brisbane >2.6 (though OCs to 3+Ghz was quite feasible) because it's useless then- Intel counters with higher clocks/price drop, your ASPs dive, your next chip is held on an even higher clock bar to compete with. They went for IPC first, and IMO the only feasible solution.

45 is solely a roadmap thing- they should have taped it out by Q4 if it were to happen. AMD might go SiGe on K10 (10.5 too) and for Bulldozer, revert back to CMOS- since "ATI" chips are still using that, Fusion might be easier to do.
ikanayam
post Sep 19 2007, 12:08 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 18 2007, 09:49 AM)
30% theoratically- but there are a lot of 'buts' I think. laugh.gif
1- AMD should be taking the Intel Core approach to all its CPUs- all the same model, bin and cut. This would equate to much higher yields than 30% even on the fully functional QC units on the long term, and hidden cost savings in getting a unified chip to all SKUs. Once 65 matures to AMD's sweet spot (their later steppings are quite good, evidenced by their 90 work) they won't have that much of a problem competing.

They will not have high-k ready before 32nm.

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 18 2007, 10:26 AM)

AMD's 65nm transition looks to be like intel's 90nm transition. It does seem to have caused them quite a bit of problems. Leakage seems to be a big pproblem.

Added on September 19, 2007, 12:12 am
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 18 2007, 11:05 AM)
AMD did NOT tape out Brisbane >2.6 (though OCs to 3+Ghz was quite feasible) because it's useless then- Intel counters with higher clocks/price drop, your ASPs dive, your next chip is held on an even higher clock bar to compete with. They went for IPC first, and IMO the only feasible solution.
Seems to me like the problem was more of leakage at higher voltages/clocks. That's why they could not get the clocks up too high on the 65nm shrink. It would have worked (as evidenced by 3+ghz overclocks), but exceeded the thermal budgets.

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Sep 19 2007, 12:12 AM
Mindsoul
post Sep 19 2007, 01:43 AM

feel pity to Amd remember when their outperform with 64bit and dual core they sell their proc very expensive then when Intel Launch Core 2 Duo all Amd Proc were Left Behind and Amd starting to reduce the Price like nobody so moral of the story dont sell Proc very expensive till can easily outperform by other brand
arjuna_mfna
post Sep 19 2007, 02:37 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

intel also plan to into 3 core proc, could the price cheaper then current quad core... hope so

btw could new amd proc capable fight with inte core proc?
battousai_yiting
post Sep 19 2007, 03:04 PM

705 posts

hmmm interesting news you have there

arjuna_mfma

who knows in the old days AMD could win Intel but lately it seems they are fighting an uphill battle
temptation1314
post Sep 19 2007, 04:04 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(battousai_yiting @ Sep 19 2007, 03:04 PM)
hmmm interesting news you have there

arjuna_mfma

who knows in the old days AMD could win Intel but lately it seems they are fighting an uphill battle
First quater next year will be their first battle tongue.gif

Btw, upcoming Phenoms and Penryn are not bad. But a 3 core are confusing me laugh.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Sep 19 2007, 04:26 PM

5,366 posts

Do tricores able to find their place in next year? With now, the cheapest Q6600 price possible is RM800, i think in next year by Q2 it should drop to around RM500 or lesser. Next year could be a year where the Quaddies start to kick in massive magnitude.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0208sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:45 PM