Advice needed : Altis 1.8, Subaru XV, Proton x70, Mazda CX-5, Civic 2022

zero5177
post Nov 13 2021, 11:50 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Nov 13 2021, 09:50 AM)
in a way i was not so fond to SUV back then, but again i told myself why not just go test them out then only decide
cross is quite long queue, cross hybrid i was told that it will be ckd already and the price is slightly above budget already
my wife was saying the cabin size is not impressive for xv, however xv gave me one of the best driving feeling among those i tested
XV not small in term of cabin size, it was built based on C-Segment platform like the Imprezza,
I don't think Myvi space can come anywhere close compared with XV, Don't just look at the leg space available,
Myvi look spacious because they have really short seat that can't support your thigh sufficiently which is not comfortable for long distance ride.
Zot
post Nov 15 2021, 08:27 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 12 2021, 09:29 PM)
u meter read or actual calculate after refuel
Meter read. The meter is not fixed calculation. It varies according to current driving condition. In MyVi can look at CFC (Continuous Fuel Consumption) reading keep changing all the time. When you refuel, the estimated distance will based on your last filled FC if you reset the reading.

I'd say the calculation is correct. I've been comparing meter and actual refill at same gas station and even same pump until automatic stop. It was about the same. Different pump will give difference in amount about RM1~2.

I filled up the gas at same station in the morning and reset everything to zero and drive at constant speed. Comparing many trips., the results were pretty much the same.

ktek
post Nov 15 2021, 09:53 AM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Nov 13 2021, 11:50 PM)
XV not small in term of cabin size, it was built based on C-Segment platform like the Imprezza,
I don't think Myvi space can come anywhere close compared with XV, Don't just look at the leg space available,
Myvi look spacious because they have really short seat that can't support your thigh sufficiently which is not comfortable for long distance ride.
can u teach us how to judge cabin size from inside and outside
ikut segment??
zero5177
post Nov 15 2021, 10:20 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 15 2021, 09:53 AM)
can u teach us how to judge cabin size from inside and outside
ikut segment??
Bring a measuring tape, number don't lie.
TSdarude87
post Nov 16 2021, 09:15 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hmm, i'll probably go test out cx-5, at the same time thinking to wait and try the brand new civic by next year or not
littlefire
post Nov 16 2021, 09:19 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Nov 16 2021, 10:15 AM)
hmm, i'll probably go test out cx-5, at the same time thinking to wait and try the brand new civic by next year or not
Just go out and test drive all the cars you listed and decide.

BTW Xv2 facelift with Eyesight safety system is going to come soon.
BL98
post Nov 17 2021, 09:10 PM

743 posts

X70. Best bang for buck
hazremi
post Nov 18 2021, 10:30 AM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Nov 12 2021, 04:55 PM)
i'm looking to buy a new car, i shortlisted these few cars

Altis 1.8, Subaru XV, Proton x70, Mazda CX-5, and Civic 2022. I've test drove most, except for CX-5(mid-spec, high spec way above my budget already) and Civic 2022.

My requirements are fairly simple, I need space for family (not big, currently 3 adults, and maybe 1 kid in the future), daily work commuting of about 30km per trip, and some outstation traveling for holiday (this is before pandemic, so probably will resume this after pandemic is eased).

What I am looking at for this new car

1. reliability, this is why a pre-owned passat did not get shortlisted even though a pre-owned is somewhere 120k
2. good driving experience on highway, I'm currently driving a myvi 1.5 and i really hate the feeling on highway when traveling even at 130km/h, so my new car i'm expecting it to be firm and stable at those speed with good nvh, i've tested City and Vios and both doesn't satisfy me for this, this is why i am looking at Seg C, or even Seg D.
3. fuel consumption, i know i can't compare this with my current myvi, but i don't want a fuel guzzler at the end of the day that creates a hole in my pocket.
appreciate any comments and suggestions.
3. Exclude X70 from your list if you want good FC. that thing is heavy as shit
SUSBillCollector
post Nov 20 2021, 03:01 AM

818 posts

Altis 1.8, Subaru XV, Proton x70, Mazda CX-5, and Civic 2022. I've test drove most, except for CX-5(mid-spec, high spec way above my budget already) and Civic 2022.

My requirements are fairly simple, I need space for family (not big, currently 3 adults, and maybe 1 kid in the future), daily work commuting of about 30km per trip, and some outstation traveling for holiday (this is before pandemic, so probably will resume this after pandemic is eased).

1. reliability, this is why a pre-owned passat did not get shortlisted even though a pre-owned is somewhere 120k
2. good driving experience on highway, I'm currently driving a myvi 1.5 and i really hate the feeling on highway when traveling even at 130km/h, so my new car i'm expecting it to be firm and stable at those speed with good nvh, i've tested City and Vios and both doesn't satisfy me for this, this is why i am looking at Seg C, or even Seg D.
3. fuel consumption, i know i can't compare this with my current myvi, but i don't want a fuel guzzler at the end of the day that creates a hole in my pocket.
The Cx5 is a fairly good choice and vast majority on the road are 2.0l GLS versions anyway. The good one is the diesel but it’s probably out of your budget.

3 adults? Assuming the one that sits at the back most often isn’t too tall or big on size then a sedan suits your needs.

I’d suggest you wait for the 2022 Honda HRV instead.

Eternalgl0ry
post Nov 20 2021, 11:02 PM

463 posts

Subaru XV high ground clearance and AWD really amazed me. Sad thing is that malaysia subaru is very selfish to bring in the eyesight model

If they bring in 3 years ago. It will sell so popular like other countries like singapore , japan and taiwan

The AWD is no joke. Very stable at highspeed cruising at rainy day ( test drove on a rainy day 120km/h )

Mileage was pretty good despite being a 100% AWD. If other car brands use AWD confirm eat fuel like crazy like PX70 and mazda cx 5

And also it is probably one of the best small suv / crossover you can buy. If malaysia bring in the updated model with eyesight ( suzuki jimny can never steal its spotlight like never ever unless you are into 4x4 modification with 1/5 star ancap rating )

--------------------------------------

Exclude Poton X70 if you want good FC. Either X50 or X70 eats fuel like monster truck

One full tank barely 400km and estimate always below than that amount during city or mix
. Even going 100% highway barely above 450-500km

I admit that the stuffs are best bang for buck but when it comes to FC , relability , parts and QC. Those are different story

---------------------------------------------------

Mazda CX5 was my choice during the facelift and malaysia introduce the 2.2D model

If you plan to get a CX5 . AVOID 2.5 if you travel in cities more than highway same problem with X70
But their reliabity , parts and QC are way better than Poton

As for the other two sedans. Meh if you drive a real crossover/SUV ... you will never ever consider a sedan ever unless its a performance variant

This post has been edited by Eternalgl0ry: Nov 20 2021, 11:11 PM
TSdarude87
post Nov 23 2021, 12:06 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Nov 20 2021, 03:01 AM)
The Cx5 is a fairly good choice and vast majority on the road are 2.0l GLS versions anyway. The good one is the diesel but it’s probably out of your budget.

3 adults? Assuming the one that sits at the back most often isn’t too tall or big on size then a sedan suits your needs.

I’d suggest you wait for the 2022 Honda HRV instead.
the 1 sits at the back is an old man, body size just average asian man.
HRV 2022 is based on which model from overseas? maybe i can look at some pic and features 1st

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Nov 20 2021, 11:02 PM)
Subaru XV high ground clearance and AWD really amazed me. Sad thing is that malaysia subaru is very selfish to bring in the eyesight model

If they bring in 3 years ago. It will sell so popular like other countries like singapore , japan and taiwan

The AWD is no joke. Very stable at highspeed cruising at rainy day ( test drove on a rainy day 120km/h ) 

Mileage was pretty good despite being a 100% AWD. If other car brands use AWD confirm  eat fuel like crazy like PX70 and mazda cx 5

And also it is probably one of the best small suv / crossover you can buy. If malaysia bring in the updated model with eyesight ( suzuki jimny can never steal its spotlight like never ever unless you are into 4x4 modification with 1/5 star ancap rating )

--------------------------------------

Exclude Poton X70 if you want good FC. Either X50 or X70 eats fuel like monster truck

One full tank barely 400km  and estimate always below than that amount during city or mix
. Even going 100% highway barely above 450-500km
I admit that the stuffs are best bang for buck but when it comes to FC , relability , parts and QC. Those are different story

---------------------------------------------------

Mazda CX5 was my choice during the facelift and malaysia introduce the 2.2D model

If you plan to get a CX5 . AVOID 2.5 if you travel in cities more than highway same problem with X70
But their reliabity , parts and QC are way better than Poton
As for the other two sedans. Meh if you drive a real crossover/SUV ... you will never ever consider a sedan ever unless its a performance variant
After test driving most of the shortlisted cars, indeed XV gave me one of the best driving feeling. My only concern with it is the fuel consumption and the spare parts availability due to not as common as other jap made.
CX5 i have yet to test drive, but i see a lot of good comments about it, but looking at the price gap between the mid spec and high spec, other than sensors and what not, i wonder if it affects the overall driving experience

SUSBillCollector
post Nov 23 2021, 12:22 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Nov 23 2021, 12:06 PM)
HRV 2022 is based on which model from overseas? maybe i can look at some pic and features 1st
After test driving most of the shortlisted cars, indeed XV gave me one of the best driving feeling. My only concern with it is the fuel consumption and the spare parts availability due to not as common as other jap made.
CX5 i have yet to test drive, but i see a lot of good comments about it, but looking at the price gap between the mid spec and high spec, other than sensors and what not, i wonder if it affects the overall driving experience
2022 HRV is an all new model that will replace the existing HRV, already launched in JDM and EDM, also recently launched in Thailand. Shouldn’t be too long before it’s launched here.

Thrust
post Nov 23 2021, 12:24 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Altis.
Racerx
post Nov 23 2021, 11:00 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

The new Civic has gotten rave reviews overseas, and the interior is said to be close to Mazda 3 level [though not sure if this will translate to local Honda CKD cars]. Might have to wait quite a bit for it to launch locally though.

littlefire
post Nov 24 2021, 08:53 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Nov 23 2021, 01:06 PM)
Subaru spare part is a lot nowadays.
You just need to know who & which spare part shop to go to, online platform like Shopee, Lazada, taobao also can get nowadays for those normal spare part items. In KL, Jalan Ipoh the big spare part suppliers like e-Vanli, See Soon (mostly older Subaru models), Auto Sommet can provide online payment and postal shipment nowadays even you are not nearby. I from Penang also can direct buy from them and ship to me the next day using pos laju or J&T, even my hometown Nibong Tebal small spare part shop also can get normal wear&tear items like oil/air filter/bearing/bush easily. Is not that damn rare nowadays due to previous CKD effort for Xv & Forester locally and with Toyota GT86/Subaru BRZ influence people start to gain more confidence and bring in more performance parts which is compatible with Xv & Forester (Example performance brake pads/rotor, etc). Once you knew as Subarist, you will know if there is a will there's a way. Aftermarket choice is damn way more options compare to Mazda if you really go deeper in term of modification route. rolleyes.gif

Regarding fuel consumption, is all depends on how & where you drive.
If drive moderately we got member getting average around 7~8L/100km for highway driving, while city driving around 8~10L/100km.
I drive the older gen Xv for almost 6 years mix driving around highway & city also can get around average 8~9L/100km easily.
FYI i pump Ron95 from BHP/Petronas only & newer gen Xv2 with direct injection engine should be even more fuel efficient.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Nov 24 2021, 10:32 AM
littlefire
post Nov 24 2021, 08:57 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Nov 21 2021, 12:02 AM)

Mileage was pretty good despite being a 100% AWD. If other car brands use AWD confirm  eat fuel like crazy like PX70 and mazda cx 5

FYI, Xv2 facelift with eyesight is coming soon. It is going to launch in Thailand next month, Malaysia market will follow soon.
I believe paultan website got the article lately.

https://paul***.org/2021/11/23/2022-subaru-...-from-malaysia/

*** - fill in the tan

This post has been edited by littlefire: Nov 24 2021, 08:58 AM
TSdarude87
post Nov 24 2021, 10:01 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Nov 23 2021, 11:00 PM)
The new Civic has gotten rave reviews overseas, and the interior is said to be close to Mazda 3 level [though not sure if this will translate to local Honda CKD cars]. Might have to wait quite a bit for it to launch locally though.
yea man, i saw the images of interior, looks elegant imo. However i heard many stories about honda ckd quality for the past few years which kinda worries me.

QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 24 2021, 08:53 AM)
Subaru spare part is a lot nowadays.
You just need to know who & which spare part shop to go to, online platform like Shopee, Lazada, taobao also can get nowadays for those normal spare part items. In KL, Jalan Ipoh the big spare part suppliers like e-Vanli, See Soon (mostly older Subaru models), Auto Sommet can provide online payment and postal shipment nowadays even you are not nearby. I from Penang also can direct buy from them and ship to me the next day using pos laju or J&T, even my hometown Nibong Tebal small spare spare shop also can get normal wear&tear items like oil filter/air filter/bearing/bush easily. Is not that damn rare nowadays due to previous CKD effort for Xv & Forester locally and with Toyota GT86/Subaru BRZ influence people start to gain more confidence and bring in more performance parts which is compatible with Xv & Forester (Example performance brake pads/rotor, etc). Once you knew as Subarist, you will know if there is a will there's a way. Aftermarket choice is damn way more options compare to Mazda if you really go deeper in term of modification route.  rolleyes.gif

Regarding fuel consumption, is all depends on how & where you drive.
If drive moderately we got member getting average around 7~8L/100km for highway driving, while city driving around 8~10L/100km.
I drive the older gen Xv for almost 6 years mix driving around highway & city also can get around average 8~9L/100km easily.
FYI i pump Ron95 from BHP/Petronas only & newer gen Xv2 with direct injection engine should be even more fuel efficient.
good insight there, at least now i know its not as scarce as many would thought. My daily route for work is all about traffic jam, so i wonder how does it fare when its in such situation
slaveone
post Nov 24 2021, 10:11 AM

1,231 posts

the XV was fun to drive. but boot space is way too small.

think the CX-5 tick most of your boxes.
littlefire
post Nov 24 2021, 10:20 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Nov 24 2021, 11:11 AM)
the XV was fun to drive. but boot space is way too small.

think the CX-5 tick most of your boxes.
Yup. If not mistaken Mazda previously pit the CX-3 & CX-30 against the Xv (Similar category) and both of the space especially the rear passenger is not that great (Same as CX-5). You gain more boot space, but rear passenger space sacrifice. Sure got some pro & con, depending on how the engineers/designers want to give.

If want to compare to CX-5 the new SK Forester should be the same category. SK Forester gain a lot more space nowadays.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Nov 24 2021, 10:23 AM
SUSMr Mercedes
post Nov 24 2021, 10:48 AM

424 posts

For me it's between the Altis, X70 and CX-5.

leaned slightly towards the X70 (price and equipment) and Altis (TNGA platform, prefer it's looks over the Civic, bullet proof reliability).

As for the civic 2022, will need to look at it's specs before deciding. Not a fan of it's rear mho.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:18 PM