39 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

How to identify Fake/Counterfeit KF94 mask?

andrekua2
post Sep 1 2021, 10:55 PM

13,489 posts

Amy Neutrovis KF94 users here? Can you check your packaging?

I just noticed that I had 2 different packaging after buying from 2 different sellers on Lazada.

On the left, just arrived from smart care pharmacy, packaging is not glossy. On the right is from mdes supplies, packaging is glossy on both sides. Both are manufactured in June which make it suspicious the difference in packaging. Box looks the same though. I still haven't open up the non glossy one to check if there's any difference. Will wait tomorrow when wife wants to wear.

She had used the glossy packaging ones from mdes, and since I tried out respack for the first time, I had the chance to compare both. I think neutrovis is very slightly thicker, had longer adjustable bar for nose, but the biggest difference is the inner of the mask. The surface on neutrovis feels smoother, compared to the respack which had many tiny fibers, like those normal mask. I can see that my wife acne has improved after wearing Neutrovis for few days.

mochicake
post Sep 2 2021, 08:42 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Sep 1 2021, 10:55 PM)

Amy Neutrovis KF94 users here? Can you check your packaging?

I just noticed that I had 2 different packaging after buying from 2 different sellers on Lazada.

On the left, just arrived from smart care pharmacy, packaging is not glossy. On the right is from mdes supplies, packaging is glossy on both sides. Both are manufactured in June which make it suspicious the difference in packaging. Box looks the same though. I still haven't open up the non glossy one to check if there's any difference. Will wait tomorrow when wife wants to wear.

She had used the glossy packaging ones from mdes, and since I tried out respack for the first time, I had the chance to compare both. I think neutrovis is very slightly thicker, had longer adjustable bar for nose, but the biggest difference is the inner of the mask. The surface on neutrovis feels smoother, compared to the respack which had many tiny fibers, like those normal mask. I can see that my wife acne has improved after wearing Neutrovis for few days.
Why didn’t you buy from Neutrovis official? Then no doubt. Mine pink color also June manufactured date glossy. Most pink come from Neutrovis official Lazada and few from Watson’s (less than 5). Both packaging mine seem same.

Update - i open all box. The matte with Neutrovis visible on mask is new packaging, cause the blue is new color. Purchased from Lazada official store last week. All the pink is glossy. Black 1 box is the new packaging bought at same time with blue and pink.

This post has been edited by mochicake: Sep 2 2021, 09:04 AM
andrekua2
post Sep 2 2021, 09:17 AM

13,489 posts

QUOTE(mochicake @ Sep 2 2021, 08:42 AM)
Why didn’t you buy from Neutrovis official? Then no doubt. Mine pink color also June manufactured date glossy. Most pink come from Neutrovis official Lazada and few from Watson’s (less than 5). Both packaging mine seem same.

Update - i open all box. The matte with Neutrovis visible on mask is new packaging, cause the blue is new color. Purchased from Lazada official store last week. All the pink is glossy. Black 1 box is the new packaging bought at same time with blue and pink.

Just confirmed matte is probably the new packaging to reduce cost or whatever. My brother bought 2 pink from caring pharmacy and it is matte.
nickxas
post Sep 2 2021, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Sep 1 2021, 10:42 PM)
You know... at some point its going to be cheaper to just get an elastomeric respirator.

https://shopee.com.my/3M-6200-RESPIRATOR-3M...9305&position=3

The benefit is that you don't even need to change the filters very often (stuff that gets stuck on the outer layer will just stay there), just wash the inner plastic part.

https://intjem.biomedcentral.com/articles/1...245-020-00296-8
aiyo, that 3m respirator is counterfeit lah shakehead.gif
mochicake
post Sep 2 2021, 09:44 AM

258 posts

QUOTE(nickxas @ Sep 2 2021, 09:30 AM)
Ya so cheap with wrong filters also. With voucher can get from 3M 6200 with 7093 filters and wipes for about 80-90.

But think half mask respirator bit overkill to wear. Proper N95 is fine.

This post has been edited by mochicake: Sep 2 2021, 09:46 AM
mushigen
post Sep 2 2021, 09:48 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Sep 1 2021, 10:42 PM)
You know... at some point its going to be cheaper to just get an elastomeric respirator.

https://shopee.com.my/3M-6200-RESPIRATOR-3M...9305&position=3

The benefit is that you don't even need to change the filters very often (stuff that gets stuck on the outer layer will just stay there), just wash the inner plastic part.

https://intjem.biomedcentral.com/articles/1...245-020-00296-8
This is not advisable if you have not undergone fit test conducted by qualified trainer. The respirator has sizes and you need to know your size before using it.
beeMay
post Sep 2 2021, 09:56 AM

Dr
647 posts

i have been using the cheapo KF94 mask it says the brand is SUPMEDI
the layer seems pretty thin but it fits the face well and i find it a bit difficult to breathe using that
Tachikoma
post Sep 2 2021, 12:18 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

QUOTE(nickxas @ Sep 2 2021, 09:30 AM)
How do you tell if its counterfeit?

To be honest it feels pretty nice, seals well and everything (they gave me a half mask for free)
muncheno
post Sep 2 2021, 12:20 PM

736 posts

For me, if I will need to check the masks then I will do this:-

1) blow candle test
2) water test
3) Cut to see number of layers against product claimed.
4) Burn test to check if the layers make out of cotton or paper, it should make with hydrophobic materials (normally out of plastic).

5) For N95/KF94/KN95, I will also check how easy to breath and if the mask expand or contracting when breathe in/out to check for good sealing.

Additionally info I'm known here, the packaging should not have FDA symbols as this prohibited by FDA. The packaging for medical device should also containing - manufacturer address, lot not, manufacturing date & exp date, perhaps also claimed tested standard, GB or ISO, etc

This post has been edited by muncheno: Sep 2 2021, 12:36 PM
imbibug
post Sep 2 2021, 12:54 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(Lushtree @ Sep 1 2021, 03:13 PM)
Actually is quite simply to identify the real KF94 facemask, if the mask is not approved by KFDA or made in Korea, technically it not KF94 mask!

Another tips is KF94 mask should have print out the manufacturer name and the address at the back of the enveloper.

There are some Chinese manufacturers of KF94 who may not bother with KFDA certification and only FDA/CE. I think they are still good.
mochicake
post Sep 2 2021, 01:09 PM

258 posts

Sorry Respack but shipping so slow, cancelled Shopee order. Maybe if go pharmacy see box will grab one to try. Seems reviews say they are a bit thin? And too large for smaller faces.

Someone in kopitiam thread mentioned wiicare (which is in FDA and MDA). They have official store on shopee. Got these instead - in white, from parkcitypharmacy shop. Maybe this will be the best fit for hubby's huge face as it says "large". The mask reviewer in US says it fits like LG airwasher kf94 good for large face but those are RM10 each if buy from LG official.

https://shopee.com.my/WIICARE-KF94-FACE-MAS...1137.5357855592

Update - ordered wiicare last night, today show up already. the masks all the writing in korean and say "made in korea" expiry 2023. Tomorrow get hubby to try.

Info about wiicare

This post has been edited by mochicake: Sep 2 2021, 01:59 PM
imbibug
post Sep 2 2021, 01:12 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 2 2021, 09:48 AM)
This is not advisable if you have not undergone fit test conducted by qualified trainer. The respirator has sizes and you need to know your size before using it.
Do you know if the 3M 8210 mask filter is strictly a single use item only because its filter media relies more electrostatic charge?
mochicake
post Sep 2 2021, 01:26 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 2 2021, 01:12 PM)
Do you know if the 3M 8210 mask filter is strictly a single use item only because its filter media relies more electrostatic charge?
Most people now use one time and throw. Back in 2020 when there was shortage people even medical professionals re-used it and it was perfectly fine even with their high usage. They layer surgical mask on top which is thrown away daily, put n95 in paper bag every day and rotate between however many n95 they had usually letting it air out in bag for 5-7 days. So if someone cannot afford to throw n95s every day, they may be able to get away with doing that process.
imbibug
post Sep 2 2021, 02:08 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(mochicake @ Sep 2 2021, 01:26 PM)
Most people now use one time and throw. Back in 2020 when there was shortage people even medical professionals re-used it and it was perfectly fine even with their high usage. They layer surgical mask on top which is thrown away daily, put n95 in paper bag every day and rotate between however many n95 they had usually letting it air out in bag for 5-7 days. So if someone cannot afford to throw n95s every day, they may be able to get away with doing that process.
What I want to know if is if the filter media on the 8210 is less dense compared to KN95/KF94 and relies more on electrostatic charge to trap particles.
mochicake
post Sep 2 2021, 02:10 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 2 2021, 02:08 PM)
What I want to know if is if the filter media on the 8210 is less dense compared to KN95/KF94 and relies more on electrostatic charge to trap particles.
On the box it does state for single shift use only.
mushigen
post Sep 2 2021, 02:22 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 2 2021, 01:12 PM)
Imo the issue is with hygiene and virus. Surface contamination issue aside, there is no way for end users to determine if the filter layer is saturated with virus or has lost its electrostatic properties.

In usage during haze time (or dusty environment), users can smell the haze or dust if the respirator stops performing optimally, or will suffer breathing difficulty if the filter layer is saturated with dust. Both of these serve as indicator of the time to change respirator. With virus, one cannot tell if either of the above has happened.

Besides, a dirty respirator used in dusty environment can be easily spotted. Not so a respirator "dirtied" by virus.

So, to reuse or not strictly depends on user's risk tolerance. Just my 2 sen.
mushigen
post Sep 2 2021, 02:27 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 2 2021, 02:08 PM)
This is somewhat true for 3M 9501+ (kn95). There are a total of 3 layers, compared to 4/5 layers for non-3M type. The middle layer doesn't look like melt blown plastic, more like the 3M aircon filter insert that we can buy to put on our home aircon.

Let me check my 3M 9105 vflex (N95) once I have the opportunity.

As for the 8210, I don't have it now but it's more difficult to breathe in 8210 compared to 9105 vflex.
Lushtree
post Sep 2 2021, 02:32 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Sep 2 2021, 12:54 PM)
There are some Chinese manufacturers of KF94 who may not bother with KFDA certification and only FDA/CE. I think they are still good.
Maybe, maybe not. who know? many KN95 are claimed by the China manufactures are good, but still failed...

Personally, I will put my money on the real KFDA and Korean made KF94.
nickxas
post Sep 2 2021, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Sep 2 2021, 12:18 PM)
How do you tell if its counterfeit?

To be honest it feels pretty nice, seals well and everything (they gave me a half mask for free)
it is well known that there are a lot of counterfeit 3m respirators on the market even before the pandemic.

1st, the price is too low

2nd, there is no safe guard code

3rd. the packaging seal is not right

there should be a lot more points to prove that is counterfeit but the above 3 are enough.

PalakOtakHang
post Sep 3 2021, 05:15 AM

144 posts

Bought and tested Cofoe KN95. Cofoe seems like a reputable China company as it is a huge pharmaceutical company producing other medical-related products too.

Tests conducted:
1) Water leakage - Pass
2) Inflammable - Pass

Didn't try to blow candle. As I breathe, the mask contracted up and down.
4 ply - cut open checked

Review: Quite small maybe because my face is quite big and wide. Despite that, the ear loops didn't break off at all.

Can someone buy and test? It is sold on Shopee for 5pcs per pack, each pcs is sealed individually. RM1 per pcs only.

39 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:47 AM