6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

I am stuck, a failure looking for advices

cintamani83
post Aug 25 2021, 08:43 PM

177 posts

if your coding skills is coding for hp you got bright future, if coding in PC also ok but you have to convince the employer if no qualification. Try to take some Google certification. Is free.

https://grow.google/certificates/#?modal_active=none
sapusapu
post Aug 26 2021, 10:08 AM

146 posts

F&B business is alot harder to start than you think. I entered into F&B earlier of the year and quitted after just a month (partly due to MCO also) and burn all my investments. For those who are thinking to start a biznes, I don't recommend you to foray into F&B unless you have strong backing or proven recipe. Covid & MCO just made things even worse. Think twice
Avex
post Aug 26 2021, 12:32 PM

570 posts

IT companies look for at least a degree then only with those certs. Fundamentals are inportant. For your case, best to start a business
sweet_pez
post Aug 26 2021, 01:56 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(JasonObvious @ Aug 22 2021, 05:51 PM)

Hi TS, basically even if your wife has any wrongdoing, first off cool your head and manage your temper. Physical violence is always wrong. If things are not working, send her away to her parent's place or elsewhere. Sometimes best to remove the source of your anger so that you can calm down and think.

Secondly it's obvious you're not into hard labour/ physical work ie. opening stall. That's entirely fine and understandable. At least you eliminated 1 area where it's not within your consideration. Now, instead of Hawker, what about Food Delivery business? It requires 0 rental, and you only spend on the bare necessity of ingredients, packaging, petrol (delivery). Additionally put aside some $ to run ads.

Third, yes it's great that you have some savings with you to weed out the potentially difficult storm. Part of the money would be good for you to invest in part time studying (Diploma/ Degree) while you freelance or work part time. There's still income that's rolling in to help with living expenses and you still can earn your Diploma/ Degree albeit it takes longer (since it's not full time studies).

There's unlimited alternative path you can take, it's all dependent on you though. Remember, there's no right or wrong. Each decision you make opens up a new chapter in life.

QUOTE(taga @ Aug 25 2021, 08:09 PM)
Pls dont hit ur wife if you want stay in good term with ur children when ur old.
Even if someone has no child, it's still wrong to hit their spouse. The main point here should be to condemn violence of any kind.
kamfoo
post Aug 26 2021, 02:10 PM

847 posts

Stay positive
kluseng
post Aug 26 2021, 03:26 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Aug 25 2021, 06:41 PM)
Hi Viole, can you elaborate more on the career in industrial control system?

I do have some basic programming skills. VBA and developed a simple website. Looking for a career switch now.

Is wireman certificate refering to Single Phase Wireman (PW1) from the Energy Commission?

A PW1 wireman certificate has nothing to do with industrial control and automation. It is for building wiring and authorize you to sign as a tester for such wiring.

kluseng
post Aug 26 2021, 03:33 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(suikod3n @ Aug 25 2021, 04:20 PM)
Option 2.

Investments. With your 150k starting fund, with the right strategy you can easily earn 3-5% monthly. if put in 100k, 3%-5% already 3k-5k monthly lol.

However, with investments. There's a risk factor involved however seems feasible seeing your starting capital is quite good.

What sort of investment can net you 3% - 5% a month or 36% to 60% a year? Be realistic, with such returns who needs to work? This is in the realm of a get rich quick scheme where you will probably lose everything.

The_Rock
post Aug 27 2021, 09:21 AM

451 posts

Well wasted the youth time due to dadikasi.
Lesson to learn in life. Go for basic work to learn the meaning of the life.
If wife not supportive during this time. No use to have her around. Must be gold digger when meet you and marry you. Only true love stays with you even hard or good time.
Deacon29 P
post Aug 27 2021, 10:35 AM

Probation

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Aug 27 2021, 09:21 AM)
If wife not supportive during this time. No use to have her around. Must be gold digger when meet you and marry you. Only true love stays with you even hard or good time.
What is the meaning of life?
Tina91
post Aug 27 2021, 11:00 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Aug 27 2021, 09:21 AM)
That's a lot of assumption you make over there.

I not sure if his wife a gold digger or not, but hitting your own wife physically is a huge no for any marriage.

And how you know she did not provide support to ts?
What if she already provide but just that TS him self did not realize?

Real man will man up and bite the bullet, instead of blaming his failure cause by his own wife.

This post has been edited by Tina91: Aug 27 2021, 11:12 AM
ericangtzeann
post Aug 28 2021, 09:50 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(sapusapu @ Aug 25 2021, 01:48 PM)
I saw a quote on FB yesterday:

"You're worried that after you completed the 3-year university course, you'll already be 33 years old.
But if you don't take the course, you'll still be 33 years old after 3 years."

I believe education is the only way out of your current situation and I don't think now is too late for you to start. Mostly importantly is to identify what skill to learn and in industry you want to work for in the future.
TS, this is the only advise u gotto take. Don't listen to nonsense like degree is useless. U need it in life, and most people will look at it.

U already tried startups, managed to get 150k, now time is up. Get back to the white collar world.
SUSDezs
post Aug 28 2021, 09:59 AM

623 posts

Yo man, IT is in huge demand now esp even if its just basic technician stuff - even without formal education, your experience will more than make up for it i.e. networking etc and infrastructure will do. Msia is chock full of old unker aunty businesses being forced to pivot to having an online presence, even simple things like FB page etc also ada...

You just need to package your knowlegde into a product that can be sold to them, or if you just want a stable job, there are plenty of openings in the sector, Maxis Fibre guy told me headcount tak cukup, friend naik 2 steps in logistics company, they also IT driven, tech team there he told me tengah mengamuk headcount tak cukup also to keep up...

Gosok your resume, show that u know ur networking stuff, no need programming as core also can, dbase management should be part and partcel of managing a gaming server. Opportunities are there once you start searching hard enough, and don't put any expectations and youll be fine. If burger flipper can survive in covid, why not a guy with exeperience?

Getting education/trianing on the side is your bonus, but just get ur work together. Ayam just have a IT degree, doing role that normally expects master ppl with Ts. Difference is most Ts. can't deal with retards, management and hoomans.

Forgot to add: 150K savings will generate you some duit kesian if it is in an investment vehicle. Not great, but still better than sitting around in cash/FD form. But yela tu, read up before cari pasal.

This post has been edited by Dezs: Aug 28 2021, 10:02 AM
ListenToTheWind
post Aug 28 2021, 10:07 AM

453 posts

Yes, its true. Whole bunch of SMEs more than willing to pay some cash as long as you get their problem rectify. Simple2 problem such as "My printer wont print", "I dont know why I cannot access my share folder this morning".
Go out there build your network and contact. As long as your attitude is good, humble, quick to solve their simple problem, you will survive or maybe build a small fortune. Once you solve their first problem and the boss grown rely on you, they will keep coming back to you for more.
Pugface
post Aug 28 2021, 11:12 AM

522 posts

guys, you are wasting your wisdom with this person.

this guy hasnt come online since he posted thread that day.
he never respond properly and obviously not here to learn and be better.
he just hopes for validation and ideas that suits 100% of his situation. there arent enough display of initiation from him bcos if he is serious, he would be asking so much follow questions from the advices provided here by sifus.

TS is just a lazy ass wife beater
TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 29 2021, 04:32 AM

Probation

Hi, i just came back as i am afraid to even read the response that i will get in this thread.

Thank you all for your knowledges, advices, kindness. I read every single of the post, some post also helped me a lot. I will update my status.

I used to disbelief about depression, now i know how it feels. I feel extremely sad, like the end of the world every morning after i wake up everyday.

I feel i could die anytime if something trigger me, i must salute my brain still managed to keep me alive until now. I don't have any energy or motivation to do anything. I also completely lost interest in gaming. I try to get back to gaming to cure my depression, but i can't even get myself to game more than 10 minutes.

For your information, i am not a hot-tempered person, the only time which i would get mad is when someone is doing something really out of the world repetitively. I asked her to understand the situation which we are in, asked for her help to improve the situation, she would still tik tok all day and refuse to provide any support. This has been ongoing for several months.

I know very well in advance that it is wrong to abuse my wife, i just couldn't control myself as i feel like i am only few step from attempting suicide at that point. I spoke to my wife, apologized, and i told her it is okay for her to leave me as i felt like a complete failure. But shes willing to give me a last chance. She also took the initiative to improve our situation by selling women apparels online.

I refuse to visit therapist, it is not cheap and won't solve my problem entirely, i am trying to save every cent i have.

Some of you asked how i have 150k saving, my mom used to give me allowance every month to my piggy bank. I don't pay for anything other than my gaming expenses. Is 150k a lot? Maybe at age 29 its decent amount, i thought most 30+ worker will have 1xxk~ saving easily, maybe not cash saving but most should have some kind of investment like house mortgage or businesses.

For people who say they are failure compare to me, you are not, at all. You have education, you have working experience, or at least decent businesses. Me, my saving is not sustainable, no education, no working experience.

Right now, i am trying to help to get my wife's business to at least cover our living expenses and with some saving. Hopefully that will cure my depression, which i believe is the biggest problem for me right now.

After that i would start to self learn some on demand IT skills then i try to apply job, while looking for oppoturnity to setup some small business. And if i managed to get hired at the field i desired, i go for part-time study.

I would like to stay away from being a programmer, i don't want to die from overworking, serious. My dream is to be a pilot, i dropped that idea completely as i know my health is not in good condition.

Can someone share updated knowledge, for Malaysia market, which IT field is on demand and doesn't require intensive coding? Except Network, Security, DBA, Cloud(aws,azure,google).

Maybe can suggest me which field i should get in base on my experience below.

My beginner knowledge in IT, all in web linux, game customization handle by other people, for windows i can handle most normal user usage. Shame, i put in spoiler.

Thanks!

QUOTE(Enjoise @ Aug 23 2021, 12:44 AM)
150k savings better off than those with degrees
hawker is good idea, but is your food good?
QUOTE(ishouldntcare123 @ Aug 23 2021, 04:39 AM)
Have you consider setting up ghost kitchen since you have hawker experience? Many in my housing area that are impected by pandemic doing various business through whatsapp groups, selling breakfast, lunch, selling veggies & fruits, sell farm fresh milk, Starbucks like coffees, kueh, fresh fish from Sekincan, sell plants & gardening supplies.. you name it. If around your housing area, you can deliver yourself, charge for delivery fees. If too far, you can find runner to deliver.
QUOTE(electron @ Aug 25 2021, 09:43 AM)
Do you like cooking? How much variety of food can you do?
How big is the population catchment around your area?
Based on that, an option is to do delivery based food service and if things go well, then you can consider setting up shop later when things gets better.
Then apply your coding and automation skills into your workflow for publicity (video, FB, etc) and efficiency (how you plan out your task, process, or even some tooling to help with your cooking)
You can set a goal or challenge to yourself - how to cook and sell more, better, faster, with less manual effort by leveraging on your skills and passion
RE:all - I myself don't cook, so i don't know how far i can go in this field. Imagine cooking good food, people satisfy and i can make money, win-win. I may give this a try by first cooking at home after i recover from being sick.

ishouldntcare123, Didn't know such whatsapp group exist, where can i find them?

electron, I think automation won't help much in this situation, better manual. Summore engineering need go to school.

Thank you for the ideas!

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 23 2021, 12:44 AM)
dont give up. if its me, i wouldn't return to study. at least for now. maybe like you said, try hawker business. but please don't spend too much for the modal. try start small and take it from there.

and please don't give the excuse of wife not supporting to abuse her. i bet you would also blame her if she left you.

i am interested to know what you are working as now? and your working experience.
I don't have working experience, currently help my wife to promote her small business.

QUOTE(xCM @ Aug 23 2021, 12:46 AM)
Please learn good virtues. Never hit your wife. Are you a hot tempered person?
No, i am not.
TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 29 2021, 04:34 AM

Probation

QUOTE(potatobanana @ Aug 23 2021, 12:48 AM)
Firstly, congratulation for saving up for the rainy days and not having debt!

Not many people are well off as this.

It seems like you are just temporarily lost of direction, it is normal and it is part of life.

I'm almost the same age but having debt yet jobless at the moment, my savings if not even half as yours.
Anyhow I decided to take a break just to reposition my direction.

I would say, there are never "bad economy", it's just "bad industry".
Considering you are already in the IT field with some skillset available, take it step by step. This is a good way to start.
Bro, i wish to be in your position, have working experience, means everything can still easily turnaround. I don't have.

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Aug 23 2021, 01:00 AM)
Are you interested in esports? Not as a player of course. Tournament manager etc.
Got lobang bro? WFH? If it doesn't cause you much inconvenient maybe you can PM me the detail. Please only do it in your freetime. However i am not sure i will commit as i think those job easily replacable by volunteers.

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Aug 23 2021, 02:25 AM)
Dont give up. Understand that the current pandemic poses a challenge to all and everyone is going through a tough time.

You are still young. Maybe you can try to go for any intern jobs in coding or web design.

One thing that my ex-boss taught me is this. Even if it's not your passion, do it until you get the next breakthrough. Dont have to leap but baby step.

if you want to start a business, dont just dump all ur money. Do market research and find out whats is the current trend. You can always start selling on lazada or if you want to cook and sell, try it. No harm.  As always Youtube is available, learn how to market via google AdSense or Facebook ads.

My key point is never to stop learning. If Higher education is expensive, invest on certs and also hone your skills via the youtube channel. Take a subject of your interest and complete it.. People now need experience more than a degree (of course it is important, do it when u have time and money)

Please please don't ever think about suicidal thoughts. Think of your kids, They need you.

For anger, do yoga. Calm yourself. Whenever you feel angry, walk away, drink cold water and calm down. Never ever hit your wife. She is the closest family you have, Work things out and compromise. Put your egos away, (especially these Alpha male egos), treat her as an equal partner in life. She is probably going through a tough time which you might not be aware ya.
So hang on ya. Everything will be all right. Mix with positive people and find something to keep you occupied. Dont ever give up because your loved ones are not giving up on you.
I think my skill still not enough even for intern, but if i proceed to learn, i think i can pick up at at least okay speed.

Yeah, my passion is not in coding, at least not coding for other people. Can't say myself is a coder. I just copy paste and make changes.

Thanks for your advice on business, i already understood most of the thing you mention. But I need a good product to produce within my ability which is limited, or network of suppliers which i don't have.

It is not that i want to think about suicide, it is one of the option. I have wife and a kid, honestly, this is the only reason why i can still type here.

Thank you for the encouragement.

QUOTE(viole @ Aug 23 2021, 09:32 AM)
If your passion is in automation, do not fear hard labor, and you have basic coding sense, you might want to explore the world of industrial control system.

You can code simple logical instruction to automate industrial process, and there is hard labor involved building and wiring the panel or the skid itself.

Simple course like wire man certification and guidance from senior is enough. You can use that cert to do house wiring as well.

Do not aim for stable paycheck. Aim for freelancing and commission.
I am on serious depression, of course if i could i wan't to opt for something that have less chance to repeat this situation again.

Is that a entry level job? After have cert can apply? Career prospect? Can you give keyword for this job so i can research a bit on jobstreet?

If that job can lead me to being able to create machine like farm maintainer even better.

Thanks!

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Aug 23 2021, 10:43 AM)
What you work as first TS?
No work.
TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 29 2021, 04:35 AM

Probation

QUOTE(tyrionlannister99 @ Aug 25 2021, 09:11 AM)
Bro, I feel you. This is not the end. Hawker is a good start. Nowadays got Foodpanda grab so I think should be ok .
My self also just closed down a carwash so now looking into selling food items as well.
Let's hope that we can see the light shine as bright again!

QUOTE(cockerish @ Aug 25 2021, 09:27 AM)
If you keen with security ( which is booming right now ) suggest take on courses like cissp etc....and land a job in a small company and build your experience......degree is still something desired by most large companies nevertheless...do something part time and focus on it security.....that's probably the best advice I can give you based on your problem statement
"cissp" can get intern/entry level technical job without uni cert? Not those pc support job, more advance like server networking, security etc.

QUOTE(-i7- @ Aug 25 2021, 04:50 PM)
Wada... 150k in hand u still pening ka..

Me age 48 being push to the brink in a f&b company which i work for 20 years. Due to my ciput 5k salary i kene drill like no end of world. End up i make a stupid mistake at that time somehow im not regretting by 24hr resign cannot tahan till i  accident due to stress and burnout so before i accident again
And add another titanium plate in my body or worst meet my maker. I quit.

Now jual sambal geprek padubeb,
Karipap gorgon la..
Cornjuz la
Fund by ilestari money.

It give meaning and hope for me.
Business not easy but it keep me thinking and going.. also
Challenge myself.

150k u can do lot of thing if you start thinking fast instead of wondering why this happen.

Dont be like me 48year old nobody want to hire even you have 20years of experience and expertise.

Nowaday people dont buy on experience due to covid. Better hire young and fresh can pay cheap save company alot.

If have high pay staff or old high pay staff company will try reduce.

Stay strong remember you shit only stink syahdu to you..
But other people shit stink you cannot bare theirs suffering.
So keep positive mind start small business grow your CV..

Yours truly
Mrteddyfoodshop 2021
Nice shop bro, really happy for you able to find your direction after quiting your job! You make your own product and sell right?

What do you work as in f&b previously?

QUOTE(Tina91 @ Aug 25 2021, 05:02 PM)
How can some one with 150K consider as failure?

If you mean failure as a husband then yes,since you hit your wife.
Because i no education, no working experience, bad soft skill. Unable to contribute to the family.

QUOTE(chrommed @ Aug 25 2021, 06:56 PM)
seems that your issue now is to get stable income monthly. getting a job might be hard given your limited skills (no offense) and pandemic happening now.

might i suggest you to get some trading skills. forex or stock markets. once you got the hang of it, you could try proprietary trading. google it up.
This i think need to spend a lot of time to get good right? Will google regardless, thanks!
yeezai
post Aug 29 2021, 05:06 AM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

I guess you’re too demanding , try to survive in the real world .Get a job whether you like it or not since you have a family to take care of .Be a responsible person and don’t hit your wife .
KennyKB
post Aug 29 2021, 11:42 AM

1,765 posts

TS, you should seek treatment for your depression. Forget about saving money on this; it should be your first priority. Depression saps your motivation and initiative and robs you of hope. Curing your depression will set the foundation for you to rise again. One of the signs of depression is that you don't take pleasure in activities which gave you pleasure before like gaming.

viole
post Aug 29 2021, 12:09 PM

KFC Lover
840 posts

QUOTE(JasonObvious @ Aug 29 2021, 04:34 AM)
Bro, i wish to be in your position, have working experience, means everything can still easily turnaround. I don't have.
Got lobang bro? WFH? If it doesn't cause you much inconvenient maybe you can PM me the detail. Please only do it in your freetime. However i am not sure i will commit as i think those job easily replacable by volunteers.
I think my skill still not enough even for intern, but if i proceed to learn, i think i can pick up at at least okay speed.

Yeah, my passion is not in coding, at least not coding for other people. Can't say myself is a coder. I just copy paste and make changes.

Thanks for your advice on business, i already understood most of the thing you mention. But I need a good product to produce within my ability which is limited, or network of suppliers which i don't have.

It is not that i want to think about suicide, it is one of the option. I have wife and a kid, honestly, this is the only reason why i can still type here.

Thank you for the encouragement.
I am on serious depression, of course if i could i wan't to opt for something that have less chance to repeat this situation again.

Is that a entry level job? After have cert can apply? Career prospect? Can you give keyword for this job so i can research a bit on jobstreet?

If that job can lead me to being able to create machine like farm maintainer even better.

Thanks!
No work.
Try to find PLC in jobstreet.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0379sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:12 AM