I am stuck, a failure looking for advices

TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 22 2021, 05:51 PM, updated 5y ago

Probation

I am 29 years old, married with one child. Education only SPM level without relevant working experiences.

I am here trying to source for any light in my world of darkness although i know i screw up and don’t deserve pitiness.

I was feeling suicidal frequently and started to be physical abusive toward my wife. Wife isn’t supporting enough and isn’t reliable during my tough time, even destroyed much hope of survival for me. I might also end up a single father soon without career and education. Everyday i hope that i would’nt wake up from my sleep.

My family business had been shut down since a years ago and my dad is now a bankrupt. I spend my entire 20s playing games which made me now a introvert. I do have some basic experience in web coding, managing servers, server security as i own a private game server.

However, i do not have passion in coding. I think it is boring and i can’t do it longterm, server security may still interest me but i am not very sure on that and I do have interest in automation machine such as those in manufacture factory.

Luckily, i still have around 150k of savings without debt.

I understand that i can start simple business such as hawker stall, as i do not fear hard labour. But i am a lot more interested in having a stable paycheck monthly. I also can’t do sales as i can’t speak fluently.

The question is, if i were to go back to study, can anyone suggest some of the university courses that can help me to have high chance to secure a job, and have still have a bright career prospect at the age of 34?

Given the fact that i wasted my 20s and the current economy situation, should i just give up the idea of studying and venture into basic business like hawker instead, since i know for a fact that most if not all the employer will just toss the resume of a 34yr freshman without working experience into the trashcan.

Or can anyone suggest me some of alternative path that i can take at the age of 29? I am very lost here and would greatly appreciate if any of you could share some knowledge to help me.

Thank you very much in advance Mr/Mrs.
TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 29 2021, 04:32 AM

Probation

Hi, i just came back as i am afraid to even read the response that i will get in this thread.

Thank you all for your knowledges, advices, kindness. I read every single of the post, some post also helped me a lot. I will update my status.

I used to disbelief about depression, now i know how it feels. I feel extremely sad, like the end of the world every morning after i wake up everyday.

I feel i could die anytime if something trigger me, i must salute my brain still managed to keep me alive until now. I don't have any energy or motivation to do anything. I also completely lost interest in gaming. I try to get back to gaming to cure my depression, but i can't even get myself to game more than 10 minutes.

For your information, i am not a hot-tempered person, the only time which i would get mad is when someone is doing something really out of the world repetitively. I asked her to understand the situation which we are in, asked for her help to improve the situation, she would still tik tok all day and refuse to provide any support. This has been ongoing for several months.

I know very well in advance that it is wrong to abuse my wife, i just couldn't control myself as i feel like i am only few step from attempting suicide at that point. I spoke to my wife, apologized, and i told her it is okay for her to leave me as i felt like a complete failure. But shes willing to give me a last chance. She also took the initiative to improve our situation by selling women apparels online.

I refuse to visit therapist, it is not cheap and won't solve my problem entirely, i am trying to save every cent i have.

Some of you asked how i have 150k saving, my mom used to give me allowance every month to my piggy bank. I don't pay for anything other than my gaming expenses. Is 150k a lot? Maybe at age 29 its decent amount, i thought most 30+ worker will have 1xxk~ saving easily, maybe not cash saving but most should have some kind of investment like house mortgage or businesses.

For people who say they are failure compare to me, you are not, at all. You have education, you have working experience, or at least decent businesses. Me, my saving is not sustainable, no education, no working experience.

Right now, i am trying to help to get my wife's business to at least cover our living expenses and with some saving. Hopefully that will cure my depression, which i believe is the biggest problem for me right now.

After that i would start to self learn some on demand IT skills then i try to apply job, while looking for oppoturnity to setup some small business. And if i managed to get hired at the field i desired, i go for part-time study.

I would like to stay away from being a programmer, i don't want to die from overworking, serious. My dream is to be a pilot, i dropped that idea completely as i know my health is not in good condition.

Can someone share updated knowledge, for Malaysia market, which IT field is on demand and doesn't require intensive coding? Except Network, Security, DBA, Cloud(aws,azure,google).

Maybe can suggest me which field i should get in base on my experience below.

My beginner knowledge in IT, all in web linux, game customization handle by other people, for windows i can handle most normal user usage. Shame, i put in spoiler.

Thanks!

QUOTE(Enjoise @ Aug 23 2021, 12:44 AM)
150k savings better off than those with degrees
hawker is good idea, but is your food good?
QUOTE(ishouldntcare123 @ Aug 23 2021, 04:39 AM)
Have you consider setting up ghost kitchen since you have hawker experience? Many in my housing area that are impected by pandemic doing various business through whatsapp groups, selling breakfast, lunch, selling veggies & fruits, sell farm fresh milk, Starbucks like coffees, kueh, fresh fish from Sekincan, sell plants & gardening supplies.. you name it. If around your housing area, you can deliver yourself, charge for delivery fees. If too far, you can find runner to deliver.
QUOTE(electron @ Aug 25 2021, 09:43 AM)
Do you like cooking? How much variety of food can you do?
How big is the population catchment around your area?
Based on that, an option is to do delivery based food service and if things go well, then you can consider setting up shop later when things gets better.
Then apply your coding and automation skills into your workflow for publicity (video, FB, etc) and efficiency (how you plan out your task, process, or even some tooling to help with your cooking)
You can set a goal or challenge to yourself - how to cook and sell more, better, faster, with less manual effort by leveraging on your skills and passion
RE:all - I myself don't cook, so i don't know how far i can go in this field. Imagine cooking good food, people satisfy and i can make money, win-win. I may give this a try by first cooking at home after i recover from being sick.

ishouldntcare123, Didn't know such whatsapp group exist, where can i find them?

electron, I think automation won't help much in this situation, better manual. Summore engineering need go to school.

Thank you for the ideas!

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Aug 23 2021, 12:44 AM)
dont give up. if its me, i wouldn't return to study. at least for now. maybe like you said, try hawker business. but please don't spend too much for the modal. try start small and take it from there.

and please don't give the excuse of wife not supporting to abuse her. i bet you would also blame her if she left you.

i am interested to know what you are working as now? and your working experience.
I don't have working experience, currently help my wife to promote her small business.

QUOTE(xCM @ Aug 23 2021, 12:46 AM)
Please learn good virtues. Never hit your wife. Are you a hot tempered person?
No, i am not.
TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 29 2021, 04:34 AM

Probation

QUOTE(potatobanana @ Aug 23 2021, 12:48 AM)
Firstly, congratulation for saving up for the rainy days and not having debt!

Not many people are well off as this.

It seems like you are just temporarily lost of direction, it is normal and it is part of life.

I'm almost the same age but having debt yet jobless at the moment, my savings if not even half as yours.
Anyhow I decided to take a break just to reposition my direction.

I would say, there are never "bad economy", it's just "bad industry".
Considering you are already in the IT field with some skillset available, take it step by step. This is a good way to start.
Bro, i wish to be in your position, have working experience, means everything can still easily turnaround. I don't have.

QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Aug 23 2021, 01:00 AM)
Are you interested in esports? Not as a player of course. Tournament manager etc.
Got lobang bro? WFH? If it doesn't cause you much inconvenient maybe you can PM me the detail. Please only do it in your freetime. However i am not sure i will commit as i think those job easily replacable by volunteers.

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Aug 23 2021, 02:25 AM)
Dont give up. Understand that the current pandemic poses a challenge to all and everyone is going through a tough time.

You are still young. Maybe you can try to go for any intern jobs in coding or web design.

One thing that my ex-boss taught me is this. Even if it's not your passion, do it until you get the next breakthrough. Dont have to leap but baby step.

if you want to start a business, dont just dump all ur money. Do market research and find out whats is the current trend. You can always start selling on lazada or if you want to cook and sell, try it. No harm.  As always Youtube is available, learn how to market via google AdSense or Facebook ads.

My key point is never to stop learning. If Higher education is expensive, invest on certs and also hone your skills via the youtube channel. Take a subject of your interest and complete it.. People now need experience more than a degree (of course it is important, do it when u have time and money)

Please please don't ever think about suicidal thoughts. Think of your kids, They need you.

For anger, do yoga. Calm yourself. Whenever you feel angry, walk away, drink cold water and calm down. Never ever hit your wife. She is the closest family you have, Work things out and compromise. Put your egos away, (especially these Alpha male egos), treat her as an equal partner in life. She is probably going through a tough time which you might not be aware ya.
So hang on ya. Everything will be all right. Mix with positive people and find something to keep you occupied. Dont ever give up because your loved ones are not giving up on you.
I think my skill still not enough even for intern, but if i proceed to learn, i think i can pick up at at least okay speed.

Yeah, my passion is not in coding, at least not coding for other people. Can't say myself is a coder. I just copy paste and make changes.

Thanks for your advice on business, i already understood most of the thing you mention. But I need a good product to produce within my ability which is limited, or network of suppliers which i don't have.

It is not that i want to think about suicide, it is one of the option. I have wife and a kid, honestly, this is the only reason why i can still type here.

Thank you for the encouragement.

QUOTE(viole @ Aug 23 2021, 09:32 AM)
If your passion is in automation, do not fear hard labor, and you have basic coding sense, you might want to explore the world of industrial control system.

You can code simple logical instruction to automate industrial process, and there is hard labor involved building and wiring the panel or the skid itself.

Simple course like wire man certification and guidance from senior is enough. You can use that cert to do house wiring as well.

Do not aim for stable paycheck. Aim for freelancing and commission.
I am on serious depression, of course if i could i wan't to opt for something that have less chance to repeat this situation again.

Is that a entry level job? After have cert can apply? Career prospect? Can you give keyword for this job so i can research a bit on jobstreet?

If that job can lead me to being able to create machine like farm maintainer even better.

Thanks!

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Aug 23 2021, 10:43 AM)
What you work as first TS?
No work.
TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 29 2021, 04:35 AM

Probation

QUOTE(tyrionlannister99 @ Aug 25 2021, 09:11 AM)
Bro, I feel you. This is not the end. Hawker is a good start. Nowadays got Foodpanda grab so I think should be ok .
My self also just closed down a carwash so now looking into selling food items as well.
Let's hope that we can see the light shine as bright again!

QUOTE(cockerish @ Aug 25 2021, 09:27 AM)
If you keen with security ( which is booming right now ) suggest take on courses like cissp etc....and land a job in a small company and build your experience......degree is still something desired by most large companies nevertheless...do something part time and focus on it security.....that's probably the best advice I can give you based on your problem statement
"cissp" can get intern/entry level technical job without uni cert? Not those pc support job, more advance like server networking, security etc.

QUOTE(-i7- @ Aug 25 2021, 04:50 PM)
Wada... 150k in hand u still pening ka..

Me age 48 being push to the brink in a f&b company which i work for 20 years. Due to my ciput 5k salary i kene drill like no end of world. End up i make a stupid mistake at that time somehow im not regretting by 24hr resign cannot tahan till i  accident due to stress and burnout so before i accident again
And add another titanium plate in my body or worst meet my maker. I quit.

Now jual sambal geprek padubeb,
Karipap gorgon la..
Cornjuz la
Fund by ilestari money.

It give meaning and hope for me.
Business not easy but it keep me thinking and going.. also
Challenge myself.

150k u can do lot of thing if you start thinking fast instead of wondering why this happen.

Dont be like me 48year old nobody want to hire even you have 20years of experience and expertise.

Nowaday people dont buy on experience due to covid. Better hire young and fresh can pay cheap save company alot.

If have high pay staff or old high pay staff company will try reduce.

Stay strong remember you shit only stink syahdu to you..
But other people shit stink you cannot bare theirs suffering.
So keep positive mind start small business grow your CV..

Yours truly
Mrteddyfoodshop 2021
Nice shop bro, really happy for you able to find your direction after quiting your job! You make your own product and sell right?

What do you work as in f&b previously?

QUOTE(Tina91 @ Aug 25 2021, 05:02 PM)
How can some one with 150K consider as failure?

If you mean failure as a husband then yes,since you hit your wife.
Because i no education, no working experience, bad soft skill. Unable to contribute to the family.

QUOTE(chrommed @ Aug 25 2021, 06:56 PM)
seems that your issue now is to get stable income monthly. getting a job might be hard given your limited skills (no offense) and pandemic happening now.

might i suggest you to get some trading skills. forex or stock markets. once you got the hang of it, you could try proprietary trading. google it up.
This i think need to spend a lot of time to get good right? Will google regardless, thanks!
TSJasonObvious P
post Aug 30 2021, 11:44 PM

Probation

Shot, i can reply 3 times per day only, quote too much also look really messy, i apologize if some question/concern remain unanswered, but i read every single post.

Currently i felt slightly better due to have some sort of direction already. I realize it is useless if i push myself too far, zero productivity. I am just gonna do it step by step, as some advised here, and i need to get back to at least light gaming. Next time, fail or not, at least i've tried.

Apart from helping my wife's business, i am thinking to develop some IT project from scratch, project that can possibly make some money, with industry sought skills. I need to speed up in improving my skills as i am already late, if i work full-time now even just job like MCD, i believe i won't have enough time or energy to improve my skills fast enough, worst is if stuck in routine job.

I've searched a lot on job websites, scary. Full stack, proficiency in PHP etc paid 3-6K, i don't know what they expect but those skill set description looks like senior-expert level which should worth a lot more than the salary they advertised.

I will be having some question about working in IT, once i research most that i can, i will PM some bros in this thread who seem to work in IT field. I hope you would provide some guidance for me in your free time.

QUOTE(Syuz @ Aug 29 2021, 11:22 PM)
Getting help for depression is not hard in Malaysia. Most people didn't know that the gov has departments and centres for this particular issue. TS, search up your nearest MENTARI clinic in your state and walk in to ask for an appointment. Tell them straight up that you're suicidal. They are trained to handle cases like this. If there's no MENTARI clinic near you, go to your nearest clinic and tell them you need to see a doctor due to your mental health. Ask the Dr to make a referral letter to the nearest hospital psychiatrist department. A hospital will accept you for weekly/monthly checkup and counselling once you have a referal letter. No need to save face, pick up the courage and straight up tell them you're suicidal. They will handle it. All this cost RM5 per session.
Bro i feel better now, i try to get back on my feet without having to resort to that, thank you for the information!

QUOTE(Tina91 @ Aug 29 2021, 11:59 PM)
BULLSHXT.

no education, bad soft skill, and self feeling bad for unable to contribute to your family IS NOT A GOOD REASON for you to hit your wife, or hurting others.
I HOPE YOU REALISE THIS.
there are ton of people out there with no proper education or low income, but they still treat their wife nicely and able to build a happy family.
no softskill? learn it, instead of keep on using it as an excuse.

ROOT CAUSE IS YOU YOURSELF. so DO NOT use these reason as an excuse for hitting your wife, you freaking dimwit.

at this point im DAME GLAD your wife is leaving you.
And since no one know when a person like you able to fix himself, gratz to your wife for leaving this miserable person.
hopefully judge will help her get at least half of what you have, or a proper amount as compensation.

are you facing the following? :
# extreme mod swing: suddenly feel very happy and suddenly very sad
# will feel very "high" or super happy suddenly for long period of time
# denial in self mistake, keep using depression to justify your negative action
# always over confident with yourself, but never really realize that yourself is the issue.
# having sleep issue, or feel like your self no need sleep.
# extremely impulsive, example suddenly hit your wife due to your urge.

if yes, then most likely you bipolar disorder.
before you go out and find job , go to a psychiatrist for advice.
FIX YOUR SELF 1st, so that you do not bring problem to the others.
Hi, i didn't make any excuse to hit my wife, if you read my reply previously i know exactly it is wrong to hit my wife under any circumstance.

My wife don't leave me, she is giving me a chance.

I didn't feel anything you mention other than being positive sometime, while it is short-lived.

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 30 2021, 12:48 AM)
This is like your car engine got problem, but you go change tyres.

You will end up losing more money if you don't address your core issues. It may be expensive, but its the only path that will ensure you can make more and keep what you make in the long run.
Thank you for the concern bro, i read also your previous reply and i understand. I really don't want to resort to that, i actually feel better now my wife started to be more understanding and i have some sort of direction and realize some hope, she really do things that out of this world for months even after non-stop lecturing to understand the situation that we are in. Still it is wrong to hit my wife under any circumstance and i will not make excuse on that.

QUOTE(Mrsaitama @ Aug 30 2021, 01:46 AM)
With that knowledge u can easily apply executive level for linux engineer. Just try and accept any amount of money they offered 1st,then after getting hired for 6 months, if they didnt give payrise search another opportunity.
Maybe my wording make you misunderstood, my knowledge in those thing is beginner level. Job site entry-level description already looks scary, some sought skill like VMware, windows server, really pening, don't think can learn it while doing my project, while things like cloud still can purposely make use of it.

Actually i am not sure what the industry expect for things like "experienced/proficiency/familiarity" would you mind to describe a little on this? Thanks!

QUOTE(corad @ Aug 30 2021, 08:57 PM)
First things first, in your situation education "level" doesn't matter anymore. From your posts, your English is fine, perfect even. Just on that trait alone, you'll be able to get a job in Digital Marketing. Every company needs a Digital Marketer nowadays ... post a few times on Facebook / Twitter / Insta 3 times a week and it's an easy steady RM1.2k / month. They can't pay you less since it's minimum wage.

Or start a gig on Fiverr (not sure if linking is allowed, so Google it). Yes there are people actually looking to set up Private Gaming Servers and you get paid for helping them !

And if you really need that confidence boost in having a "education", take a few 1 day / 1 week courses on coursera.org. Need a cert from Google / Cisco ? Take the course and it's yours.

The main thing is, don't worry about hard work or work being hard. I can assure you being a hawker is much harder work than a programmer. Programmer you have flexibility on when you do your work, if you're a hawker ... no chance of even a toilet break if customer is waiting.

Make the most of what you know. And get started on something, don't get paralyzed by analyzing.

See those links above ? Google them now. Fiverr ($$$) Coursera (certs).
Yes, i want to stop being paralyzed by analyzing, still i will want to analyze before i start. Currently plan to start a IT project, still collecting industry sought skill list and see which skill i can apply in my project.

Those job, even MCD will consume much of my time and energy. I want to up skill and look for better paid job with better career prospect. Better even if i can find business opportunity with my project/new skills.
TSJasonObvious P
post Nov 22 2021, 01:20 AM

Probation

Hi guys, just some update here.

Currently I am at the lowest point of my life, this girl will really kill, and destroy my life entirely, zero chance of recovery, if I were to let her exist in my life once again.

It is, EXTREMELY,,,,EXTREMELY TOXIC kind of girl.

Slight chance I have, if I make this person no longer exist in my life once and for all.

I already tried my very best to educate her countless times.

Today, I make her to fuck off. From my life. At a place that nobody can find me, apps, phone off.

The kid miss his mom, but I had to fake my smile to tell him everything is okay.

Currently my plan is to pursuit diploma, try my luck to get a job, and pursuit part time degree.

Ageism is rampant in IT that I know, but I will not go wash dish just to stay alive.

I would like to at least give myself one last push.

Only motivation to kept me alive is my son.

If god does exist, I hope I will be blessed for a chance to be truly alive again.

Intake deadline latest is by tomorrow I guess, I hope university will permit a few days, or a week of late admission as I really need sometime to set myself completely ready for the challenge, it is gonna be real tough.

0.0221sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:00 PM