Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 3 2007, 10:19 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Dec 3 2007, 10:09 AM)
I don't really bother about giving them to eat eggs cuz it's already in the mix and they will always clean their bowl of mix wink.gif

About piggyback riding, I think your female is still young and sees your male as an adult, so she does it. Eventually she will stop when she is big enough. Nothing you can about it.

Yes, what the site has explained is true. No two gliders are alike, some can be picky, some not and some are extremely picky. It all draws down to how we tackle it. It is important not to always give in as we know they need the right balanced diet.

Try feeding them the same thing 2-3 days in a row will eventually work.

Don't be put off if they don't eat something you prepared for them. They might not have the interest that night or two but will probably finish it all up the next time you try. It's all about understanding your suggies smile.gif
Hmm, I don't think oyster mushroom is something I would give them personally... Don't think it'll do them any good.

Yeah, the name sugar glider is derived from their liking of sugary and sweet things, so how can they resist it smile.gif

I for one love to make sure that their food is of something sweet(except for the mealworm ofcourse...) I make sure the fruits are sweet enough, the mix is sweet enough, even the vege I love to give them is the sweet peas tongue.gif

And yes, I am guilty for over indulging my suggies with mealworm tongue.gif I just can't turn down those hungry plea faces tongue.gif And despite all that, they're not as fat as I want them to be tongue.gif Hahaha... *Kids, don't try this at home*
Which would "you" prefer to eat, bunga raya OR bunya taik ayam tongue.gif

How was your traveling with your suggie? She okay?

-----

Had a so-so wonderful weekend. Had gotten some time to let Iggy roam around free and this time cautiously let Luna out to(which I end up looking for her and found her near the large vase as she would not stay on the curtain or come to me like Iggy does shakehead.gif )

Iggy is a good boy but naughty and cheeky at the same time rolleyes.gif I dunno what I'd do without him biggrin.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
KP
I gave my gliders a very ripe Kiwi. They love it. Also, I realize my gliders know the difference of quality oranges hahahah.... this time got hold of oranges which are not so juicy, they didn't touch 1 piece also.... so I substitute with carrots. Later gonna find some bunga raya for them hehehehe.

Iggy, he must be a darling already after neutering. He still got scent mark?

My gliders are funny. You know your cage set? Well, Kiah likes to sleep and hide in the tunnel, while Kapi hogs the sleeping pouch. But sometimes they will both cuddle in the sleeping pouch. Then at night, they annoy me by jumping on the hammock on and off.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 3 2007, 11:16 AM

12,047 posts

Yar... the seeds were everywhere hahhaha.... the kiwi was soft and squishy, so it is over ripe. Sweet so they like LOL.

Wah, I find it hard to take a pic of the cage stuff, all hide inside. Dark dark, can't see loh, especially the tunnel. The hammock, they only do the jumping about when I'm asleep....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 3 2007, 10:04 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 3 2007, 10:01 PM)
A FUN RIDE

Wahh.... now I'm tempted to visit your place hahaha.... what other pets do you have lah?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 5 2007, 12:58 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 4 2007, 09:38 AM)
What i know is sugar gliders can contract aflatoxicosis, ingestion of the aflatoxins, by eating crickets who have been fed contaminated corn or feeds.

Added on December 4, 2007, 7:13 pm

Haha, you are most welcomed to be my honored guest. But there's really nothing remarkable aboout my pets.. i have some fishes, bird, marsupials, chelonians, rodents..

During my badminton game yesterday, my friends noticed that i was scratching my hands. Both hands were marked with red rashes. They asked me why.
Then today, another friend asked me what were those scratches on my hand.

Do you guys have these scratches and rashes associated with gliders? Just want to know.
Still a lot of pets hahah.

Oh, my hands are scared with scratches..... some from my gliders, some from a civet cat that I worked with when at the Sunway zoo.... people think I harm myself LOL.

Added on December 5, 2007, 1:00 am
QUOTE(hackerzx @ Dec 4 2007, 11:54 PM)
ya..long journey..tired oso..huhu..

anyone see enchanted movie? lol ~ wanna tame my sg like the chipmunk in movie haha..so cute oso XD
LOL, that chipmunk is computer generated wan hahahah. But cute.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 5 2007, 01:00 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 6 2007, 08:55 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(misa @ Dec 6 2007, 09:02 AM)
Yup! That sounds like BabyBoy alright. They're very smart indeed.  tongue.gif  I'll need to get more mix from you one of these days. Hee hee. I will SMS you.
Yah.... gliders are smart and they can learn from mistakes and experience. But they won't do tricks like a dog hahahah....

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 6 2007, 09:08 AM)
i found a way to halau the small lalat...saw it in a site...forgot where already..

:- is to pour a little dark cider vinegar, red wine, or beer into the bottom of a jar. Then cover it with plastic wrap, securing with a rubber band and poke 6 - 10 fruit fly sized holes in it. The fruit flies climb in but can't get back out..

maybe u guys can try.... smile.gif
That's not halau, that is tangkap. It is quite disgusting if you leave the beer overnight..... I tried before, it really attracts the flies but you will find them laying eggs inside.... then if never clean properly, all the maggots swim in the beer LOL....

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Dec 6 2007, 06:45 PM)
All training or bonding takes time, never heard of training a dominant one will be harder.

If force grooming shows dominance, then my Iggy is just that, but he's the sweetest suggie I've ever had.

Yes, Yakult is okay, but very little amount only, I give mine sometimes too smile.gif

Crickets you hold and give to them, not leave in a bowl or in the cage, ofcourse it will run away. Unless you put it to sleep first by putting it in the freezer for a few mins, they will sleep almost immediately.

I think 2-3 crickets is already filling enough.

About gut loading, no need a statement from the web, I have already mentioned about it in the diet section in the 1st page. Gut loading also has been discussed several times, try looking it up.

KP
I think very scared and timid gliders would be slightly more challenging to bond coz we need to earn their trust.... The older glider would always groom the others, family tree lah.

I hold the crickets and feed them too. I think my gliders take about 5 to 6 crickets eat hahahh... they just love them. I gutload with sawi, spinach and dogfood. You can used canned dogfood, mix it with calcium powder... or I think Reanne's way is make the dogfood into powder, then mix with water till mushy then add calcium into the mix. The crickets would eat it, have enough calcium and then sure glider would get all the nutrition.

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 6 2007, 06:51 PM)
I use a forcep to snap the live crickets into a transparent plastic container with a perforated lid, those sold in aquarium shop, and then i put the gliders in. Save time on catching one by one for them.
The thought of disjointing their legs is rather displeasing.

Crickets have low calcium phophorus ratio. that's why additional calcium supplement is to be added to the sugar glider's diet. Why need to add to the crickets' diet instead?
I gut load my cricket with carrots and greens, source of vitamin. But haven't tried with the bunga raya, this flower has a high Ca/Ph ratio. It's the staple food for my tortoise.
Mine eat the legs like we take chicken drumsticks hahahah.... but then for my leopard gecko hatchlings, I have to use a pair of scissors to cut the head and all the legs away, just feed them headless and legless bodies....

Added on December 6, 2007, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(misa @ Dec 6 2007, 08:49 PM)
Just to add to the list of fruits you can give to a glider.

Persimmon. My dad gave my glider some a few days ago and it's turned out to be a fast favorite with BabyBoy.

I've also given him apricots, nectarine, passion fruit, and strawberries from time to time.

As for veggies, I used to only feed him with frozen vegetables which I microwave before serving. But these days, I give him fresh carrots, cauliflower (boiled), cucumber (without skin), pumpkin, tofu (steamed), tomato, watercress (boiled).

I tend to serve him with a variety of different stuff everyday just so he doesn't get bored. Before feeding your glider with whatever fruit/vegetable you have though, be sure to Google it up to make sure that it's safe for your glider to eat.

<3
Yah, most gliders like persimmons. Mine like ciku too.... Today I can't believe I spent RM8.90 on 2 large Honey Jambu Air and 6 little Cherries.... sigh.... so expensive...

Oh.... soya base products aren't good for gliders.... so I think you should stop giving tofu. I actually bookmarked an article on soy base products and what it does to gliders... but now it has been removed... sigh.... I'll see if I can get hold of it again.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 6 2007, 09:02 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 7 2007, 12:53 AM

12,047 posts

Yah, it is safe like say carrots, peas, veggie... no problem. Unsafe to give them uncooked meats.... unsafe to give any sort of beans.... but some veggies need to be cooked to gain the optimum nutrition out like broccoli, collard greens.... just to name a few.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 7 2007, 09:58 AM

12,047 posts

Some websites said ok.... but then when I read that article, then I only know what is the cause.... it said that soy had away of not absorbing properly, also not letting calcium get adsorbed too.... aiyah, I really forgot what it said.... why why they take it off? LOL.....

Like avacado also..... so.... since all these infos are not 100% correct, I think better not feed. Gliders are still very new to the pet industry, so we are always still learning about gliders.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 10 2007, 03:27 PM

12,047 posts

HAhah... Ah pit sleep on the wheel. SO cute.

Actually, I personally feel the silent wheel is too small for gliders. I did see 1 glider run on the silent wheel, damn funny looking and clumsy.

I gave my gliders Cherries.... damn, so expensive but to see them eat the cherries.... sigh, worth the money lah hahahah.

I'm thinking of building a larger cage but that would mean keeping it outdoors coz large aviary.... still thinking....

Added on December 10, 2007, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 9 2007, 04:51 AM)
guys...

i bought 3 playing stuff (the stuff yg gantung2 for birds, very colorful wan)..

issit okay ? issit safe ? coz the stuff is very colorful and the tali2 all also

colorful...scared they chew or something...takut the stuff is toxicated....
Bird toys are safe and non-toxic.... is is ok lah. Mine likes to gantung gantung on their toys to eat hahahaah.

QUOTE(dai86 @ Dec 10 2007, 01:23 AM)
wah... already long time didn't come and post here. how are you guys doing?
currently my Fatty seems knowing to ask food from me. haha... everytime when i clean the bottom of the cage (i did it everyday), she will jump out from her hidding (in the house, coconut shell or plastic pot) and wait me at the cage's door and she will grab on the cage like unable to wait me feed her. haha... is so funny....... every of my friend who had not seen her for about a year say she is FAT... like always. haha....
the male one is still a problem to me. huh... unable to tame him.. so sad... what can i do? he is now about 1 years old... huh.... but luckily they won't fight. but few weeks back they do fight for once, and my Fatty are a little injured on her neck (some skin peel out. she get some botak on her fur) but they never did any fight again after that. dunno what happen....
uhhu... so long didn't chat here, any special things happen?
You just need more time alone with the male to slowly tame him. It is possible to tame adults, just it takes lots of time.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 10 2007, 03:29 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 10 2007, 04:09 PM

12,047 posts

You read back.... we talked about this too many times already.....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 11 2007, 11:51 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Kenny83 @ Dec 11 2007, 02:11 PM)
I think i need to prepare separate feeding station.Thank for info!

Another question, can i provide them hamter vitamin drop for them cos i cant repti-vit?
Hamster vitamin.... please provide what brand?

Some vitamins are sold are plain useless.... so far I can only say LM farms is ok but then becareful of the expiry date. Try and not get local brands like Bengy, it has no benefit. Even Delikate is not so good....

QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Dec 11 2007, 05:36 PM)
heeee.  icon_rolleyes.gif

female, male

male

are they too young?  sad.gif

icon_question.gif
Welcome welcome
Ah, not too young lah so do not worry.

They got eat the mix and smoothie?

Added on December 11, 2007, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(kyin @ Dec 10 2007, 10:53 PM)
i m afraid of my sg, even it is small, but i never handle pet's before.. so useless la me T^T
how to be brave enough to hold them.. aikz =.=
i jsut bought it 2 days.. still afraid of it.. haha.
my sg is just 10 month blush.gif
10 months old? Is it tame and from a good breeder? Coz if you got it from a supplier or petshop, then I won't blame you for being scared of it.... coz untame adults.... 10 months already sexually mature for your info.... so can be considered sub-adult.... they can be difficult to handle and are not for beginners at all.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 11 2007, 11:54 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 12 2007, 12:56 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Dec 12 2007, 12:52 AM)
When adopting pairs, can we adopt both at the same time or seperately? Which option is better?

I'm thinking 2 females.
You can do it in the same time.... but for me, personally lah.... I find that you get better bonding results if you buy them in a separate time. Buy 1 and bond with it for a month, then later get a 2nd one and bond with the 2nd one more than the 1st, then once the 2nd joey is bonded well to you, then you can live happily with tame gliders.... but getting 2 at once is not bad.... just that you must make sure you have separate bonding time for both. Just more work at once lah....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 13 2007, 01:28 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Dec 12 2007, 02:10 AM)
hun, my male glider suddenly likes to bite.
u know he likes to sleep kat my cl*****e.
he bit my errrr. u know what.  shocking.gif  n he wouldn't let go of it.
then i screamed like a lunatic. held him, n he bit my finger n hand. cis.
before this ok.  cry.gif

hamster vitamin also acceptable ah?
didn't knw about dat.  wink.gif
Bite your ..... shakehead.gif
Normal if fingers but your..... LOL.... I can't help laughing.... sorry ah.

Normally gliders like to chew and bite their favourite tree... it can be signs of marking too. But for young joeys, it is normally associated with food.

QUOTE(kyin @ Dec 12 2007, 11:55 AM)
10 month old is sub adult? then how to get a younger 1? n how many month are consider old? after 3 month?
Wah.... you simply bought a glider without reading up? risky.... risky also coz you are a newbie..... do read up.

QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Dec 12 2007, 03:26 PM)
i assume, my male suggie is a pervert. sweat.gif

sweat.gif

Added on December 12, 2007, 4:24 pmnail trimming: which nail not to trim? ive read this article n it says do not trim their grooming nail. n i have no idea which one is their grooming nail?  unsure.gif

Added on December 12, 2007, 4:31 pmslurpee(male)
The grooming nail is the ones on the back legs. You tengok... there will be 2 nails that are very close to each other, like almost stuck together. That is the grooming nail. Do not cut that.

QUOTE(hackerzx @ Dec 12 2007, 09:07 PM)
lollypop back ~

Apa Lollypop makan? Pear? Apple?

Hahaha... sudah besar but still joey looking.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 13 2007, 02:41 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Dec 13 2007, 01:46 AM)
not just u who wouldn't stop laughing. my younger sister also laughed at me.  blush.gif
now pon still sengal2 that part.  sweat.gif

hah? that finger ah??
uh ohhh  blink.gif
i trimmed it d other day. but very skit lah.

Added on December 13, 2007, 1:49 amowh yah, hun..
i've read a few of ur previous posts.
feeding ur suggies sweet peas. well, i bought some, but im unsure of it's feeding directions. boil it first? or just bg lidat.
LOL.... pity you lah.... your glider really bully you.

Anyway, the grooming nail will grow back so it's ok. Next time no need to trim it.

Sweet peas.... it is better you boil it for 2 to 3 minutes.... then you remove the skin of the pea (if the frozen kind) and give your glider to eat.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 13 2007, 11:58 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Dec 13 2007, 10:07 AM)
Slurpee = Pervert... tongue.gif

Hahaha laugh.gif

OMG!!! Is your cage the cage I think it is???

How big is it? Where did you get it?
Hmm, seems like nowadays punya glider don't grow up much eih??

Seems like mine are all giants...
I give my suggies raw sweet peas smile.gif More crunchier and naturally sweet wink.gif

I cut/slice the sweet peas smaller, like about 1cm per piece for them to easily grab and munch away.

Sometimes I mix with some chopped carrots so that the greens are more colorful and yummy looking tongue.gif

Hahaha...

-----

Okay peeps...

When are we going to do a gathering again??

I think the last time I asked Hun said somewhere before or after Christmas... Ooo Hun... When ooo??

Thinking we could do a gathering to meet the old suggie owners and newbies, give out some informational talk/discussion and mebbe include a small sales counter brows.gif

If the attendance feedback is good, I could call a reporter to do a coverage brows.gif

What say everybody???

KP
Yah.... yours are huge hahahah.... but then growth I would say could be diet and also the age of separation from the mother.....

Oh, last night, I blended sweet potato leaves with spinach and carrots.... it was a damn ugly brown green coloured puree.... and you know what? This morning their bowl is clean!!!!! Hahahah.... I didn't give anything else but a teaspoon of that puree last night and now all gone. So, a new way for me into introducing veggies into their diet hahahah.

About the gathering..... I dunno where to have another gathering LOL..... Was thinking do just for gliders lah, how about it? Or want another BBQ? We can do it after new year as well. For me December is tight if wanna do a big gathering like last time heheheh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 13 2007, 08:52 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(tleilaxu @ Dec 13 2007, 08:21 PM)
some pics to share.. thumbup.gif one male 1 female..
Wah... congratz! Damn cuties hahahah..... so you keeping them? tongue.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 13 2007, 09:28 PM

12,047 posts

It is quite safe to keep outdoors provided you use a good cage and make sure it is safe and secure. Make sure no predators like wild cats and so on.

My parents do not like them indoors.... they say smelly but I think they are not used to it.... anyway, to respect them, I'm keeping my gliders at the car porch. Daily interaction keeps them tame and bonded. So far no problem and no cats coz my dogs guard them hahahah....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 14 2007, 08:27 PM

12,047 posts

So nice you guys can bring pets to work hahahah.... luckily I can do that at the college I go to hahahah.

Anyway, the last gathering had alot of planning. It was a great BBQ and very comfortable. We can do that again since Reanne's friend doesn't mind us having another BBQ party there.

But it would be great if we can do it at a place that is easy to travel to... See how lah, plan now, only next year can have hahahah.... got lots to get ready.

Gerbil owners also asking when will we have the next small animal gathering.... maybe do a combine small animal gathering again.... see how it goes.

About the nails thing, I get loads of scratches.... from every pet I have.... people think I abuse myself I LOL...

Added on December 14, 2007, 8:30 pmDiarrhea.... well, the one thing is to cut on the fruits and mealworms and whatever glider mix is given. Then feed some raw or cooked pumpkin and cooked sweet potato.... somehow this works for some diarrhea cases.... as diarrhea dehydrates the body, you have to purchase 100+, shake out the CO2 until the drink is flat with no bubbles, then dilute it to 1:1 water.... you can also use Gatorade, which is better.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Dec 14 2007, 08:30 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 16 2007, 10:12 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Dec 15 2007, 12:22 PM)
I'm not sure whether my gliders put on weigh or not, but ironically, my mealworms are the ones who put on weight and have grown significantly after much gut loading.
They are now "fat" worms. haha

Added on December 15, 2007, 12:32 pm
I SHOW MY TUMMY AND YOU SCRATCH IT..

When he was a baby, i started to train him every night to lie still for belly massaging.
And now, he will put up a lazy pose and the white tummy every night.
Hahaha... cute glider. Look at that belly.

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Dec 15 2007, 04:49 PM)
i went to mid valley pet wonderland..and i saw they sell a glider for 488.. and have 50% discount, so the price around rm244... i dont know either its a joey or adult..but i pity that glider..it sleep in a hamster size house.and only got a piece of stick lying on the floor,and a water bottle..if i have the money like you guys, sure i already buy that glider..very sad looking at it..he was sleeping in the hamster-size house.and no toys to play wit..aihhh kesian
Those are not joeys.... the joeys all sold, and they cost more. 50% are adults... poor things have been there for a year.... so now year end sale, the slash the price to make it more attractive to buyers.... pity the gliders there. They are so stressed out from all the bright lights, constant finger tapping from naughty or curious people....

PW do not care much for their health. A diet of catfood and apples....

QUOTE(slurpee_slushee @ Dec 15 2007, 05:47 PM)
yes. i was thinking she is still young. i hand feed her mealworm, hun's mix everynight.
then i'll put a bowl of fruits. but she's active when i'm off to bed. she wakes up in the evening. run here n there. jump jump. at night my suggies sleep. weird.
how eh?
im worried sick.

i train my male glider to do that oso. heee.
Just give her more. She will gain weight soon. You can give some yogurt too. Change to crickets and see how.

QUOTE(hackerzx @ Dec 15 2007, 08:22 PM)
i think my sg oso more than 5 month right hun? still small2 n cute lol ~ how to grow big beside feed worms lol ~
Yah.... yours small... could be diet.... you never get my mix also LOL.... what have you been feeding lah?

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Dec 15 2007, 10:37 PM)
Hmm, i just wonder 1 thing, nowadays feel Ah Pit's poo poo become soft already, sometime feed watermelon, papaya also like that, but now like become softer than last time....

Need to check for few day is it like that, are you guys sugar glider got happen like this before ?
Suspect the fruits..... soft is ok, as long not poo watery. If watery means diarrhea already.

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Dec 16 2007, 07:38 AM)
guys..wat is sweet potato in bm ar?

wanna get it lah....

my abu n ally still dun wan to eat worms...

hmmm
I also dunno what it is called but I saw on TV yesterday it is called ubi keledek....

Then keladi is what? Tapioca?
Then what is yam in Malay? Hahahah.... I forgot my malay studies already....

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Dec 16 2007, 08:24 PM)
annyone here having problem with little ants (not the biting type one,this one very small and seems harmless)? i'm in night shift so have to leave the fruits inside the cage early since i had to go out around 6pm.
Ants.... what you can do is apply some cooking oil on the legs of your cage..... ants can't climb the oil.... or apply vinegar.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 16 2007, 10:34 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Dec 16 2007, 10:23 PM)
Hey, I went to 1 Utama today. I visited the Jusco Home centre and saw that they're selling sugar gliders. They're selling females for RM 350. All of them are about 3 inches to 3 and the half inches without tail. They're selling another sugar glider for RM 120.

The condition is pitiful... They're put in a 'glass cubicle' with no climbing  toys or surface. Just a couple of logs around the bottom. The light was glaring and only cat food was fed... All the poor suggies were trying to squeeze under the log which was the only shade available from the harsh lighting... Couldn't even get sleep... The poor poor things... Sobs...
Pitiful.... RM350 and RM120 is cheap.... but then imagine what kinda health problems will they get? A staple diet of catfood can cause kidney failure later on.

Glass tanks.... pity pity.... all is for show, the welfare of the animals are never taken seriously.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Dec 17 2007, 12:08 AM

12,047 posts

Pity those joeys.... sigh....

Anyway, for skinny gliders, you should feed more protein. I would say crickets would give more protein than mealworms.... takes time to introduce crickets to them lah heheheh....

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0640sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:17 PM