9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

TSPennywise
post Sep 21 2007, 10:48 PM

5,796 posts

Rare or not rare, it does NOT look silver at all to me. It looks like a brown silky. Regardless, I'm no kaki terrier but rather white dog kaki and preferably small dogs.

Brown and black dogs are not my type except for selected few.
TSPennywise
post Sep 22 2007, 02:39 AM

5,796 posts

zeist,
You are not weak and there's not such thing as getting pwned here at Pets Wonderland. It's not Dota! We are all learning from each other so please dont feel discouraged.

If you can find the pict, please show it to me but thing I dont like about Silky is when they are young, extremely adorable and active but when it grows older, the fur is like super long making Silky look super-draggy.
TSPennywise
post Sep 23 2007, 07:32 AM

5,796 posts

I just started the transition to Acana, so far Casper seems to like the smell and taste a lot. He will quickly finish his food. Based on dogfoodanalysis, the contents from Acana is not that great and some are quite negative - now already thinking of a new brand even when I just started opening this pack.

Maybe next time, I will give either Innova, Evanger or Canidae a try. Apparently, from a couple of reviews I read, it seems to be that dogfoodanalysis.com is quite biased. For example, when Acana include chicken fat - it will write about "Research in Purdue University say chicken fat this and that" but it didnt write that for Canidae (i think) when they uses that. It's the same damn thing!!

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Sep 23 2007, 07:43 AM
TSPennywise
post Sep 23 2007, 06:18 PM

5,796 posts

I would think that Canidae is better than Acana now. I thought opposite previously but then I generally dont like dog food which labels "For all life stages."

Anyway, Casper poo doesnt smell badly BUT, it turns yellowish. I am not sure if I should continue but I will give it a few days more. The day he poo-ed yellowish and greenish is also the day I took him marathon into the hills - maybe that exercise did something to his system.

I will monitor a few days more before deciding on anything drastic.

Anyone of you who is feeding Acana realized that your dog poo aint brown / black anymore?
TSPennywise
post Sep 23 2007, 11:45 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 23 2007, 07:24 PM)
perhaps he ate grass, that's why poo is green? i too had an aversion to all lifestages food, but on hindsight i think it was a mistake... contents not that much difference between puppy and adult formula, esp for smaller breeds?
No la, he didnt eat grass. I watch him very closely wan and he would not dare to. Hahaha... The all life stages dogfood, I really cant comment because I dont know much about it but there is something in it that bothers me so I avoid it always.

QUOTE(won @ Sep 23 2007, 07:53 PM)
I am not feeding my GR arcana, but I do noticed when he is on CN - his poo is yellowish but when he is on orijen, nutriedge and innova - the poo turn brownish. CN kibbles is more yellowish in colour as compared to the other kibbles which are brownish in colour, probably that causes the poo to change colour as well?  hmm.gif
Oic, thanks for the feedback. I will give California Natural a try but never seen kibbles which are yellowish. Acana is from the makers of Orijen, so I thought they should be about the same... ?
TSPennywise
post Sep 24 2007, 06:16 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(nicwise @ Sep 24 2007, 12:03 AM)
I think they did write the same thing for Canidae as well.

Check it out here:
http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...oduct=2&cat=all

I may also start my dog on Canidae soon because I think he is losing interest in Pinnacle.
Ok, I think its my mistake but I dont think they wrote that for all the brands that have chicken fats as content. For example: Innova Evo.

QUOTE(jtl @ Sep 24 2007, 12:04 AM)
The rationale for all life stage food is based on the premise that dogs in the wild do not choose food for puppies and adults. Therefore, they eat the same thing - the quantity is just different.

I am neither for nor against all life stage kibble - I am merely explaining the rationale behind it.
Ok, make sense also la - in the wild, they dont pick their food like that but could it be the people who create food knows whats better for them, shinier coat? protect teeth? Possible ah?

Added on September 24, 2007, 7:06 amI woke up at 6.00am because Casper woke me up. He was sleeping in a tub in my room.

At 6.30am, I brought him out for his morning walk. I come to realize his poo is still greenish ever since Acana came into the picture. This is even with the regular transition of changing dog food. But due to poor light at so early hours, I am not sure but I know the poo is shiny which means wet.

I will monitor more closely in the evening poo.

Anyone here feeding Acana has the same findings? Hun, you feed your boxer Acana, right?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Sep 24 2007, 07:06 AM
TSPennywise
post Oct 16 2007, 12:44 AM

5,796 posts

Lazy to go through the thread from previous pages but I think Digitral / Syrian wrote one where the bottom of the pack is filled with worms, right? Which dog-food brand was that again?

I just wanna make sure I avoid that. Right now, I am feeding Casper Acana for Adult Small Breed and Moonie eats Nutri-Edge Stage 1. I want to switch to Blackwood puppy for Moonie and Canidae for Casper.
TSPennywise
post Oct 16 2007, 10:23 AM

5,796 posts

Yes, dogs love their kibble wet and soggy. Even Casper is the same, today official 1 year old, always very choosy with his food but when add water, he will whallop!
TSPennywise
post Oct 16 2007, 01:41 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Syrian @ Oct 16 2007, 11:48 AM)
hmmm ... definitely not me .. hahaha.  I've neva experience such a thing laugh.gif
Ya ... hun mentioned before.  If u add water, the taste of the kibbles will be nicer and stronger.  But i dun wan to add water to his kibbles for him.  Why?
1.  His beard will be dirty.
2.  His mouth will stink.
3.  Easier for tartar build-up.
4.  Poops will be softer - difficult to pick up.

So, i wanna try out a range of kibbles until i found one which suits him and also best, it is economical but good one.  If worse to come, then I'll jz switch to orijen (kinda expensive though).  Between Nutro and NutriEdge, which taste is nicer and have stronger smell ??  Hepy doesn't like BW and EP anymore @@.  The Eagle Pack is new!! I jz bought and he only ate it once.  The petshop recommended me to get gravy, which i won't.  I will not add any flavourings to his kibbles nor give him any wet food.  I dun support those stuffs tongue.gif.
Actually, smelling stronger doesnt mean its more appetizing for our dogs. I am not sure about Hepy but for Casper, both Acana and Orijen (same manufacturer, same smell, just different protein content) smells so strong that Casper has problem eating them. Orijen gave Casper rashes due to the high protein content. I always think that protein for dogs are like for humans. If you eat protein powder and dont go to gym, you will get a lot of pimples and of course, protein left unprocessed, turns to fat. So, if your dog is indoor, not too active, high protein content is not advisable but that's through my own experience la. You can give it a try.

I too would like to switch to Blackwood next cause its easily available in the town I live in, Klang. If I wanna get Acana / Orijen / Canidae, I have to go to SS2 to buy them as most pet shop has never even heard of them. Eaglepack can be found in Klang too but Casper never like it since the first bag a few months back.

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Oct 16 2007, 11:58 AM)
I think nutriedge has nicer smell than others, and the taste is better i think. But as u know lah, nicer and stronger smell = smelly poop lah, haha..........
I too already had tried so many kibbles liao, besides orijen and nutriedge(the 1st kibbles being fed to FIFI), but yet result still the same.........problem can be solved by adding water into it  doh.gif
Now dun bother lah, just give her Acana Puppy Small breed. Plan to feed once a day, confirm makan one, hungry lah.
Yes, Casper had Orijen and Moonie is now eating Nutri-Edge Stage 1. I think Nutri-Edge is just so-so. The smell is not as strong as Acana / Orijen and the protein is 30% but I feel the ingredients are not that great, so as soon as I finish this bag, I will feed Moonie Blackwood puppy.

QUOTE(Syrian @ Oct 16 2007, 12:01 PM)
Hahah .. yaya .. i know.  Stronger taste will result in smellier poops too laugh.gif.  That's why i still prefer BW and Eagle Pack but he doesn't wanna eat. Sometimes he eat, but sometimes he's like a bull @@. 

Acana taste nice or not ??? Much economical than Orijen.   Orijen would be my last choice.  Might check out NutriEdge.  Btwn, whr did u get all those sample packs ??  I wanna get a sample pack of nutriEdge first before buying a big pack.
Acana for Adult Small Breed is ~RM35 from SS2's Seapark Pet Supplies. Orijen is about RM10 more expensive. Not all brands got sample pack ler, Syrian. You can try Canidae also as I read the review is pretty good and I went through the ingredients, not bad - somemore it comes in a box!

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Oct 16 2007, 12:09 PM)
nutriedge no sample lah..........i get nutro choice, acana, EP, Canidae sample pack from a small grooming shop at Kuchai lama.
The acana small breed puppy looks nice, kibbles size is the smallest i think. But for FIFI, still the same lah..........
If not mistaken Mikey's mommy still got Acana Puppy, u can get from her as she wanna switch back to BW.
Oooo... I am looking for Canidae sample!! I think Nutri-Edge kibbles are really small too, slightly smaller than Blackwood puppy so its very easy to eat. Acana small breed puppy, never see before.

QUOTE(madmoz @ Oct 16 2007, 12:09 PM)
How's Nutriedge? Haven't heard much about it... one of my furkids did win a whole pack in a dress up competition a year ago but used it as a treat instead...

All I know is that they 'sponsor' or are 'endorsed by' a lot of the Malaysian champion breeders which is not neccesarily a good thing and that their redemption program is (to me anyways) unethical as they offer a puppy as the highest tier redemption.

Marketing aside, how's the food?
I think Nutri-Edge is just so-so the ingredients and all. I doubt it's as good as Blackwood but I had to feed it to Moonie due to that's the breeder food and she is still sick. If you want, can let your furkid eat for fun, that's it. There are better food out there in the market than Nutri-Edge.

QUOTE(Syrian @ Oct 16 2007, 12:25 PM)
ya, i also wanna know how's the food like ...

btwn, wud's da difference btwn innova and innova evo ??
Innova is a ~26% protein range. Innova Evo is ~40% protein range. Just like madmoz wrote,
Innova = Acana
Innova Evo = Orijen
If I am not mistaken, Innova Evo has been in the market much longer than Orijen had. In fact, I believe Evo was the first dog kibble that starts with 40% protein but please remember that this 40% does not apply to every dog. Later when they have too much energy and no place to release, they will gila barking and running around cause of too much energy or else these protein will turn into fats.

QUOTE(madmoz @ Oct 16 2007, 12:26 PM)
same as the difference between arijen and acana if i'm not mistaken
Yeap, I believe you're right.

QUOTE(Syrian @ Oct 16 2007, 12:28 PM)
so, they're equally good ?? I only see Innova in petshops and not innova evo laugh.gif.  That's why i'm asking.  But acana and orijen, if u see da internet rating, orijen is 6 stars whereas acana is only 3 stars laugh.gif
Innova Evo is in a yellow bag, sealed with an external plastic bag. Usually, most Innova packing is like that, cause their bag is made of paper, I think can masuk angin. Yea, but then you cannot be too dependent on the internet ratings too. Sometimes, they give a bad remark on a certain brand but the same ingredient is in other brand but they dont give the same negative remarks.

I suggest you know the ingredients yourself, so you know what you put into your doggy stomach. Things like beet root and chicken fats preserved with vitamin E, etc are usually encouraged to be avoided but many dog food contain all these.

QUOTE(madmoz @ Oct 16 2007, 12:41 PM)
innova evo is also 40% protein

Added on October 16, 2007, 12:42 pmiirc it smells kinda good and the kibbles are tiny, got a sample pack a long long time ago.
Yea, I think Evo > Orijen but seems like the dogfoodreview.com website prefer Orijen. I have never opened a bag of Evo before but the normal Innova (red bag) smells pretty alright.

Added on October 16, 2007, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Oct 16 2007, 01:28 PM)
Aiyah, the internet rating is mainly as a guide. You do not need to follow it. Each dog has different needs. Now my boxer changed food to Back To Basics.... looking at the ingredients, Acana is better but then B2B doesn't give my Boxer red skin..... but my lab and CKCS eat Acana ok.... Summore B2B won't be my choice of dogfood since it contains loads of corn as filler....

So it depends lah. Nutro choice can be good for certain dogs but it wasn't good for mine, shed alot hahhah.... so I stay away from Nutro....

If given a choice, Acana is much better than Nutro too.

Innova and Innova Evo.... well, 1 is a super premium and another is a holistic.

Eagle Pack also the same, they got super premium and Holistic.

Yesterday I saw a new type of dogfood, I forgot the name.... but it is in a light brown bag, fully organic ingredients and the protein % and fat % is not bad, average... but the price.... I think it was something like RM120 something for only 6.8kg.... crazy price for such a little amount.... Orijen 7kg already Rm96.

If you still dunno which food to use, get sample packs.... Then try them as treats for your dog and see the reaction.

If you dog is choosy, then just ignore it. Chelsea was very very choosy till I trained her that if she don't eat, no food for 1 day.... now she licks her bowl clean. If I forget to feed her in the morning on time, she would bark at me.

NutriEdge, well, it really made my dog put on weight. The taste is so far appetizing for dogs lah. The brand is considered holistic but then not the high end kind, the ingredients to me was ok ok only. Nothing much to jump about. Right now they are being quite commercialized.... I think it did effect the quality of the food.... their sample packs are the 1kg bags.... less than Rm20 1 bag if I remember correctly. Poop smelly but it did give nice results in my dogs till I changed food coz found better brands that suit them better.
Agree with you Hun. Nutri-Edge is written Hollistic on the bag but the ingredients is so-so only. There are other better brands out there.

About the organic dogfood you are talking about. I've seen it too and part of the money is donate to some organization for cancer or for dogs, I forgot. I was thinking about that but not sure if it would be suitable for Casper. As for Moonie, right now she is stuck with Nutri-Edge until she gets better.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Oct 16 2007, 01:44 PM
TSPennywise
post Oct 16 2007, 02:35 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Oct 16 2007, 02:01 PM)
actually i think so-so means good lah. so-so = not allergic, no diarhea, no rashes, no skin problem, then ok loh.........
The main concern is how deep is our wallet lah, haha........
One comment on BW from me, so-so also (means ok lah), but poop alot, haha...........
Actually i've found one way lah. Get a so-so brand kibbles, not too expensive, maybe +/- Rm40 per 3kg, then plus with some supplement, would be better.
Now i'm having Vitaplus fish-oil capsule. I get the 300 capsule big bottle from watson during promotion, price forgot. Anyway its cheaper than fish oil for dogs lah.
The fishoil capsule i also got makan daily, good for heart. Then I'll give FIFI 3 tablets per week. just poke a hole, then squeeze on the kibbles. I prefer squeeze directly into her mouth, coz she will dirty her face easily, and the fishy smell will stay on her fur for the whole week.
Actually, many dog kibbles are below RM40 if you go for Super Premium / Hollistic. If you go for Orijen, then it will be extra RM5. I think Evo is even more expensive as Innova Puppy (red bag) already cost RM50.

I am feeding Bark Fish Oil, everyday one capsule for Casper and havent start with Moonie yet. Casper will just eat it with his kibbles like it's nothing.

I think Blackwood is a better brand than Nutri-Edge and many others. For Blackwood, just feed a little is enough as I think it packs a punch despite the small kibble, I was told that their contents were more compact, hence no need to feed so much.

So have you decided on which brand to go with?
TSPennywise
post Oct 16 2007, 03:01 PM

5,796 posts

Just becareful with the Orijen high protein content, it is not suitable for all dogs. Yes, I never fed Blackwood before until I got Moonie last Thursday, I feed her Nutriedge (breeder's food) + Blackwood puppy + milk powder, she had diarrhea. So I cut off the Blackwood and milk powder totally until she gets better first.

Thanks for the confirmation, I will look for Blackwood once Casper's food run out.
TSPennywise
post Oct 17 2007, 06:34 AM

5,796 posts

Yang,

No offense taken. Dont worry about the discussion thing nor do you have to double check your post just to ensure you dont hurt anybody. Everybody in here is friendly enough to learn and deal with things.

I know it is not entirely Orijen fault because I also know that Westie are more prone to skin diseases, its stated even in dogbreedinfo.com. I get what you're trying to prove here (chance to increase sales right? hehehehe) but then how do you justify that if our dogs eat 40% protein and dont exercise much, these protein are stored in the body, not burnt out and turn into fats.

I mean same theory applies to a bodybuilder who eats protein whey and then dont workout, right? They get pimples like dogs get rashes. The protein within their system also turn into fats and this generally applies for dogs as well, true?

I'd like to listen to your explanation in regards to the statement above cause that's what I believe to be true unless you can explain otherwise. I am open for discussion so I hope you are too. I know you're Orijen supporter but I am sure people would want some truth in it. Lai laiii... educate ur frens!

Lastly, (I sold worth thousands of Orijen) So now we know how rich you are, they are going to rob your Maltese, I am going to rob your wallet!! Hahaha!!
TSPennywise
post Oct 17 2007, 07:40 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Oct 17 2007, 03:23 PM)
Yah, i was worry too, but dont seems to be a problem they will get used to it. The reason is for Orijen or perhaps any other dog food that main ingredients are real meat, it is very fulling. If a dog food consist mostly fillers, we are just filling a dog's stomach without any real nutrients in there, just make the stomach full but come out as poo poo, no point right?
But then, doesnt this also partly see how much your dog's body can absorb? Often, I am told dont overfeed the dog, be it brand-X or Orijen because whatever they eat, they poo. Everything is highly dependent on their digestive system abilities.

QUOTE(White Palace @ Oct 17 2007, 03:36 PM)
LOL! Then later pennywise will tease me again say me got better biz liao, HAHAHA!

Anyway, I do not simply push a product but yet, it is from my point of view. So do feel free to do more research on your part too!
Ooooo... I'm not going to tease you liao, I am going to rob you. Didnt see my previous post meh? People are concerned about your Maltese, I just want to carry your wallet for you.
TSPennywise
post Oct 22 2007, 01:48 AM

5,796 posts

Today, I went to Seapark Pet Supplies to get dogfood for Casper. I saw they have something new again this time.

I bought d*** Van Patten's Natural Balance. For more information: http://www.naturalbalanceinc.com/dogformulas/UltDog.html for RM34 (forgot how many kilos but less than 3kg)
TSPennywise
post Oct 24 2007, 11:22 PM

5,796 posts

What do you think about all life-stages dog food ah? I am against it but recently, I bought a bag of D|ck Van Patten's Natural Balance. Newly brought in by the SS2 Seapark Pet Supplies.

Seems pretty ok for Casper but I never feed Moonie with it. Madmoz posted some puppy and adult dog food differences. While others think it's fine. I'd like to know majority opinion on all life stages dog food, is it ok? Or it's not?
TSPennywise
post Oct 27 2007, 01:41 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Oct 26 2007, 10:00 AM)
if not mistaken the preservative is vitamin E, which is better than the artificial one rite???
I think you are talking about the preservative for chicken fats in most dog food. It's written there all the time but now I forgot the scientific name.
TSPennywise
post Oct 28 2007, 02:05 AM

5,796 posts

Yea, you can give them EPO but then not too much. I dont know why but I was told not too much. As always, moderation is key.
TSPennywise
post Oct 28 2007, 03:03 PM

5,796 posts

Usually I'll just throw in the whole sack without cutting them open. Mine's not EPO though, its just regular fish oil.
TSPennywise
post Oct 28 2007, 11:24 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(blessedfin @ Oct 28 2007, 09:31 PM)
did u guys mix kibbles with milk for puppies????
Yes I do but Casper is ok with milk but Moonie is not. Every time milk is added, she gets diarrhea... dog milk.
TSPennywise
post Oct 29 2007, 02:20 AM

5,796 posts

Last time I feed Casper milk until ~8 months!! Then only I found out should stop around 3 months!! All the extra protein!!

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0717sec    0.49    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:07 PM