9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Dog Kibbles (Discussion), Which brand do you feed your furkid?

TSPennywise
post Sep 12 2007, 02:20 PM

5,796 posts

My gf also said to me that too much protein will not only turn into fats but someday lead to cancer too... I dunno how to prove her sentence but I believe her cause she studied pharmacy last time.
TSPennywise
post Sep 13 2007, 10:49 AM

5,796 posts

WAh liao eh... Innova is RM50 for 2 or 2.5kg also I think expensive liao... This RC even MOREEEEE expensive?! HAH?!
TSPennywise
post Sep 13 2007, 06:44 PM

5,796 posts

Orijen will give Casper skin problems again. Blackwood I dont really like. I'd go for Acana since it's made by the same people who do Orijen but lower in protein.
TSPennywise
post Sep 13 2007, 11:00 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 13 2007, 06:46 PM)
why not try solid gold?
It's not easily available and it's expensive.

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Sep 13 2007, 07:24 PM)
solid gold is oso expensive larh.
How expensive is it actually?

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 13 2007, 07:32 PM)
hmm... true. but it worked like a charm for me kids, how old is casper?
Casper is turning 1 year old on 16 Oct 2008.

QUOTE(Miss VPN @ Sep 13 2007, 07:56 PM)
How much is consider expensive for dog  Kibbles?
I think anything above RM45 for 2.5kg is expensive?? Orijen is like the best dog food based on most votes and that's like RM45 for 2.5kg. Anything more expensive is considered expensive.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 13 2007, 08:11 PM)
Solid Gold expensive hahahah.... but it is worth a try... so far I am quite happy with Orijen, my dog is fit, no overweight problems since she is an indoor dog, eats twice a day too.

Acana is ok too. My bigger dogs eat like pigs, so Orijen would burn a big hole with 2 big eaters, they also take 2 meals a day.

It's always better to go for Holistic dogfood if you compare the price, is really not much difference from some super premium food.
Yea, I am thinking of Acana because its produce by the same ppl who made ORijen.

QUOTE(won @ Sep 13 2007, 08:44 PM)
Solid gold is >RM200 for a 15kg bag (puppy food). 
Haven't try it before though, but my cousin is feeding his rottie this.
RM200?! Wah liao eh... expensive but then can eat many months if its for Casper.

QUOTE(simchi @ Sep 13 2007, 08:50 PM)
Fala consumes 14kg of Orijen a month . more than I spend myself on food for a month . Never heard of Solid Gold though .
... What dog is Fala? Macam like quite a lot nia.

QUOTE(babymiki @ Sep 13 2007, 10:06 PM)
will too much protein harm a dog ah?
I'm not too sure but perhaps Hun can enlighten us?

I only know that protein for dogs and protein for human who goes to gym is the same. If you eat a lot of protein and work out, you will be very fit. This applies to dogs and gym go-ers. But if you eat a lot of protein and yet stay indoor and dont workout, then everything will turn into fats.

I also read somewhere that too much protein may harm the liver or kidney, forgotten. Moreover, protein is sort of like 'heaty', thats why you see gym go-er eat a lot of protein, become very fit but also got a lot of pimples. They can overcome by drinkings lots of water and eat lots of fruits. But how often our furkid eat fruits? Dog do not know "oh it's heaty, drink more water..." Hence, this leads to skin problem for sensitive skin dogs like my Westie.

How it lead to cancer, I am not sure but if it's coming from my gf, I think can believe kuaaa... at least for myself la. =) Hehehe... No choice, if I dont believe my wife, who will, right? She may be right or may not be right but she studied pharmacies and she love dogs, so I am sure she has her explanation.
TSPennywise
post Sep 13 2007, 11:33 PM

5,796 posts

Thanks for your clarification Hun! Yes, I forgot that dogs in the wild hunt for meat too and they come from the wolf family-tree. True true...

Dogs can eat strawberry and banana or not ah? WHat fruits are considered harmful for dogs?
TSPennywise
post Sep 14 2007, 02:30 PM

5,796 posts

Those nestle yogurt, are they safe for dogs? Too sweet?
TSPennywise
post Sep 15 2007, 01:20 AM

5,796 posts

Tomorrow going to get my first pack of Acana from Seapark Pet Supplies and also a finger-tooth brush.
TSPennywise
post Sep 15 2007, 01:54 AM

5,796 posts

Thanks guys, this is because Acana is from the makers of Orijen - so decided to give it a try. Nowadays, I feed dog kibbles with Inu canned food. Casper finish up his meals very quickly. The Inu canned food is only RM3.50 but much bigger than Caesar and can last me more than a week when I feed him twice a day. Cheap and useful.
TSPennywise
post Sep 16 2007, 12:54 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Digitral @ Sep 15 2007, 01:29 PM)
Caesar really xpensive ...and small somemmore  nod.gif
heheh ya should give Casper a try with this Acana dog food brand
sea park supplies got sell Acana also ya ?

Added on September 15, 2007, 1:31 pm

hahha....found poopoo stick between jack2 teeth a?
Jack2 always eat poo wan a?
Dunno they have Acana or not. Wanted to go today but then got late and got dinner, so tomorrow only going.
TSPennywise
post Sep 16 2007, 11:52 AM

5,796 posts

Apparently they got Acana, the aunty told me they only stock up Acana last week.

Orijen at Seapark Pet Supplies is priced at RM46 price tag but the aunty can give you better price, I think RM42 like that only.

Orijen and Acana packaging same because from the same manufacturer in Canada.

Yes, there's something called Evanger - Pheasant or Chicken flavor.

TSPennywise
post Sep 16 2007, 04:41 PM

5,796 posts

Hun,
Seapark Pet Supplies memang got sell Evanger quite long liao. I think it's about RM40+ for 3kg - they come in Chicken and brown rice or Pheasant and brown rice.

Digitral,
The aunty told me that they only start taking Acana last week! I buy for adult small breed (white pack) is RM35 for 3kg.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Sep 16 2007, 04:42 PM
TSPennywise
post Sep 16 2007, 04:51 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 16 2007, 04:47 PM)
No wonder I never see before.... I have never been to Seapark hahaah....
Oh I see, gold color packet wan Evanger.
TSPennywise
post Sep 16 2007, 05:05 PM

5,796 posts

I think Evanger kibbles should be quite alright but Casper never like Eaglepack or Evanger so much - always never finish.

However, I was told that Evanger canned food is just as it's shown on the packaging. If it's true, then it would make an amazing gift for my Casper's birthday.
TSPennywise
post Sep 16 2007, 07:00 PM

5,796 posts

Why you bold herring oil, flaxseed and garlic? Are these bad for dogs in Acana? I just bought a 3kg bag.
TSPennywise
post Sep 16 2007, 10:44 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Sep 16 2007, 07:02 PM)
dats good for dogs whick eukanuba doesnt hv..
flaxseed oil r expensive..fish oil..garlic is essential in barf 2 complete a dog's meal.

don worry da pennywise..
Ok, then I'm relieved. I thought I made the wrong choices as though it was highlighted as a warning. Thanks a lot for clarifying.

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Sep 16 2007, 09:18 PM)
Acana is much more natural, well, the ingredients do tell.
Okies, should be good then, from the makers of Orijen!!
TSPennywise
post Sep 17 2007, 08:08 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Sep 17 2007, 01:28 AM)
Congrats, finally u have chosen one. Thats the great thing abt forum. Do share with us how u find Acana is alrite?
Hahaha... yeap yeap, good thing got place to discuss with you guys or else I sure headache liao. My Acana havent open as I still have some Innova left. I'll write in after he starts eating Acana.
TSPennywise
post Sep 17 2007, 11:34 AM

5,796 posts

Wont be so soon cause still got his old food left. Last time I mix Orijen with Innova, still left a bit at the bottom of the tong, want to clear it first.

I think I will only be able to post up a review next week or so.
TSPennywise
post Sep 17 2007, 02:29 PM

5,796 posts

Casper also same like Siu Kat but even worst with Eaglepack, rather die type if fed Eaglepack!
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:15 AM

5,796 posts

Acana smell exactly like Orijen - the smell is very strong!
TSPennywise
post Sep 19 2007, 12:23 AM

5,796 posts

I am not sure about the same ingredients part but same manufacturer la. Acana has lower percentage of protein which I think is more suitable for small dogs.

Indeed Orijen is damn good but look at what the reviewer at dogfoodanalysis.com says, "High protein may not be suitable for puppies." Even though it's only stated as puppies, how do you define puppies? 1 year? 10 months? 6 months?

So basically I have the mentality that the sentence actually meant "High protein may not be suitable for small dogs." because of digestion issue and also much dependent on the activeness or inactiveness be it indoor or outdoor.

I think Acana's 28% protein is very good already.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0599sec    0.65    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:27 PM