Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V3

stevenlee
post Nov 15 2007, 09:19 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 15 2007, 08:10 PM)
the system shared(took) the gpu memory.. lol.. laugh.gif
he must be using the 2nd generation 8800gts with turbo chace laugh.gif must be some error with the driver i suspect
cstkl1
post Nov 15 2007, 09:54 PM

6,799 posts

for 8800gt users on DX10 crysis
run 400 bus speed minimum at 3.2 min C2D will do
4gigs of rams... ( U really need this)
Most ppl performance on crysis is bad cause running on 2 gigs on vista which is pure stupidity. The game on 64bit takes up to 2.2gigs worth of ram at times and windows takes up to 1.2gigs.. total ram usage when i was gaming was at 3.4gigs...

for 1680x1080
set everything on Very high
change post processing and shadow to high
That would do..
enjoy 30-40fps..
run ure 8800gt at 700/1750/2000.

tested on my friends rig...
when i get home i will be playing it at this setting also..kekeke...

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Nov 15 2007, 09:55 PM
Aura
post Nov 15 2007, 10:05 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 15 2007, 09:54 PM)
Most ppl performance on crysis is bad cause running on 2 gigs on vista which is pure stupidity. The game on 64bit takes up to 2.2gigs worth of ram at times and windows takes up to 1.2gigs.. total ram usage when i was gaming was at 3.4gigs...

for 1680x1080
That would do..
enjoy 30-40fps..

That's nice...and it's not SLI?? single card setup i presume... hmm.gif

WOW!!! Then i can really push to the max.... rclxms.gif
choyster
post Nov 15 2007, 10:18 PM

1,802 posts

for 1680x1080
That would do..
enjoy 30-40fps..

what is your opinion on 1400*900 resolution with only 2gb ram and running at Xp
ryudox
post Nov 15 2007, 10:36 PM

~~ ConVict ~~
732 posts

for 1680x1080
That would do..
enjoy 30-40fps..

Wah...4 gig? i'm running 1gig only in vista..and run crysis demo...8800GTS...damn lag...
hafiez
post Nov 15 2007, 10:46 PM

2,980 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 15 2007, 04:35 PM)
Maaaaaaaaaaaan..............Crysis is MAD! At 2560x1600, Medium gfx settings, still a very unpleasant experience at about 30FPS according to FRAPS. I ran it with the Q6600 at 3.0ghz, 8800GTX SLI at stock speeds. It eats ram for lunch too. My Logitech G15 LCD is showing 85-90% ram usage all the time! Madness!

Looks like I'll wait for the patch that promises even more performance b4 I really get into the game just in case it's a game save breaking patch like Stalker last time. Hopefully the patch n a slight OC on the rig will allow me to play it at least at about 40-50FPS n I'll be a happy camper.
izzit that bad? i just plan to play crysis because of its graphics. i didnt know that it eat a lot of system resource. damn.
Aura
post Nov 15 2007, 11:31 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 15 2007, 05:49 PM)
Tri SLI is only for the 8800Ultra/GTX.
Ya, so far it is for GTX/Ultra.... But I stumbled across an article on the net saying that 8800GT will be supporting Tri SLI as said by NVIDIA....

Here's the link to the article -> http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/video/display..._Executive.html

Whether it's true or not, onli time can tell........

If 8800GT supports Tri SLI, then I'll b picking up the 780i or 790i mobo and try Tri SLI since I can't afford higher end cards like 2/3 GTXs...
stevenlee
post Nov 15 2007, 11:41 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 15 2007, 11:31 PM)
Ya, so far it is for GTX/Ultra.... But I stumbled across an article on the net saying that 8800GT will be supporting Tri SLI as said by NVIDIA....

Here's the link to the article -> http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/video/display..._Executive.html

Whether it's true or not, onli time can tell........

If 8800GT supports Tri SLI, then I'll b picking up the 780i or 790i mobo and try Tri SLI since I can't afford higher end cards like 2/3 GTXs...
i think the new release of 8800gt cos current 8800gt does not have 2 sli bridge on each card...
Aura
post Nov 15 2007, 11:57 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Nov 15 2007, 11:41 PM)
i think the new release of 8800gt cos current 8800gt does not have 2 sli bridge on each card...
I dunno..... I've been looking through some forums saying that Tri SLI for 8800GT may not need a bridge.... If they do need a bridge, they might come up with Tri SLI connector for single finger cards.... Well, hav to wait n c for now....
stevenlee
post Nov 16 2007, 06:38 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ Nov 15 2007, 11:57 PM)
I dunno..... I've been looking through some forums saying that Tri SLI for 8800GT may not need a bridge.... If they do need a bridge, they might come up with Tri SLI connector for single finger cards.... Well, hav to wait n c for now....
oh ic... now we are on the way to tri sli vs cross fire x ......
8tvt
post Nov 16 2007, 10:23 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Nov 16 2007, 06:38 AM)
oh ic... now we are on the way to tri sli vs cross fire x ......
by that time.. we talking about 9 series.. sweat.gif
kianweic
post Nov 16 2007, 10:44 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

How do u guys run 4gb of Ram in WinXP or Vista in 32 bit mode?

I had 4gb of ram but it shows as 3.5 gig Ram in the OS. Only possible with DDR2?

I thought only 64bit version of windows will be able to utilized all more than 4gb of ram.
Aura
post Nov 16 2007, 10:52 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 16 2007, 10:44 AM)
How do u guys run 4gb of Ram in WinXP or Vista in 32 bit mode?

I had 4gb of ram but it shows as 3.5 gig Ram in the OS. Only possible with DDR2?

I thought only 64bit version of windows will be able to utilized all more than 4gb of ram.
I dun think 32bit can run 4GB.... Only 64bit will be able to run fully 4GB.... No matter DDR, DDR2 or DDR3, u will not be able to run 4GB in 32bit environment... If u really wanna use 4GB, then u should install 64bit OS... I'm running on one now.... Dun worry about software compatibility coz if the software cannot support 64bit, then it wil be installed as 32bit software so u may still use it....

Is there any websites claiming u can do so with 32bit??? Mind sharing?? wink.gif

This post has been edited by Aura: Nov 16 2007, 10:54 AM
kianweic
post Nov 16 2007, 10:58 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 15 2007, 05:32 PM)
Haiyoooo U dont seem to get the point with SLI. Most of the time it's for the fellas who want to game at highest resolutions n settings. For that, there's no other way but to use 2 of the very best cards available at the time. And this means buying 2 top end cards at the same time. That takes the "card not available anymore" thingy out of the equation.

Ur point is only valid if ur talking about SLI being pointless for low end cards. For gaming at high resos n settings, there's no alternative but to SLI 2 of the top cards. Going SLI with 2 low end cards is indeed a waste of money as it will get whooped by a single top end card.
Hmmm, so to spend another 100% of wattage for a 50-60% of performance is justified?

And to further heat up all your cpu components at the same time to 50-60c?

Due to the hot components in ur computer will definitely heat your room up so the aircon has to be pushing more cool air, hence even higher electric bills.

There are no right or wrong answer, just arguement from different perspective. Your perspective is mainly based on performance at higher resolution, which by no means wrong. However, mine is based on both dollar value, environmental values and also presevation or looking after of electronic components in the computer which is a wider scope of topics.
Aura
post Nov 16 2007, 11:57 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 16 2007, 10:58 AM)
Hmmm, so to spend another 100% of wattage for a 50-60% of performance is justified?

And to further heat up all your cpu components at the same time to 50-60c?

Due to the hot components in ur computer will definitely heat your room up so the aircon has to be pushing more cool air, hence even higher electric bills.

There are no right or wrong answer, just arguement from different perspective. Your perspective is mainly based on performance at higher resolution, which by no means wrong. However, mine is based on both dollar value, environmental values and also presevation or looking after of electronic components in the computer which is a wider scope of topics.
No offence dude.... SLI is affordable thesedays especially with the release of 8800GT... Makes gamers that hav lesser budget to have better gaming experience... Nowadays all are multi already... Multi GPUs, Multi CPUs, RAID, Dual Channel and so forth... I believe that SLI and Crossfire will be our answer to have better performance in upcoming game titles... It's quite simple... For example, given a task/mission/assignment, do u think that 1 man show is better or a few ppl better?? Obviously, the more ppl working on sumthing the better and faster it is... As an old saying goes, "2 heads is better than 1".... It's the same principle that SLI and Crossfire, also Dual Core and Quad Core processors are applied here....

SLI/Crossfire is using the concept where load distribution is shared among 2 cards instead of putting major load in 1 card, hence increase performance and decreaases bottlenecks as much as possible.... That is why the company makes multi CPU processors.... Same concept also being applied here.... Using SLI doesn't mean that u really need 2 powerful GCs... Actually, 8800GT is considered mid-range if u check at SLI-zone.... The so-called "mid-range" cards for us is the 8600 cards whereas, in official SLI-zone is just under the category of entry-level only.....

Last time I still remember using SLI setup in a very hot room to play games and the computer still runs fine... I also don't have much money to buy the stuff that I want but I always keep finding solutions to overcome it... Now I found that my PC's power supply won't be enuf to use 8800GT SLI, so my solution is get another PSU, which costs me roughly RM100 and run dual PSUs instead of buying a better PSU at RM400 - 500.... So options are around u and it's up to u to make the right decisions.....

Anyway, it's just my opinion... If I've offended u in anyway, I apologize.... icon_rolleyes.gif
Holyboyz
post Nov 16 2007, 12:03 PM

421 posts

Hey i posted this on the hardware questions area no 1 helped me out....and cuz the 7 series thread is dead so i thought i could ask for some help here..

Ok i just noticed that my driver is out of date so i wanted to uninstall it and install a new 1....i went to control panel and uninstall anything to do with Nvidia drivers>>reboot>>>installed 169.09>>reboot check and its still the Forceware 69.09 driver.so i went to http://www.overclock.net/faqs/12466-info-n...ning-guide.html

and followed the instructions there to properly uninstall my driver.used NFR(Nasty file remover) to find all drivers that a normal uninstall will not detect and deleted everything....when i rescanned for unwanted drivers i came to a "nv4_disp.dll NVIDIA Compatible Windows 2000 Display driver v6.14.10.5673" that i cant delete no matter how many times i scanned and tried to delete it...so i ignored it and reboot my PC install Forceware 169.09>>reboot>>>and scan my driver version with Everest and this is what i got

HELP!!! how do i properly do it!!!

PS:sry for this posting this 3 times on diff treads and posting in the wrong area but this prob is driving me nuts
Aura
post Nov 16 2007, 12:16 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(Holyboyz @ Nov 16 2007, 12:03 PM)
Hey i posted this on the hardware questions area no 1 helped me out....and cuz the 7 series thread is dead so i thought i could ask for some help here..

Ok i just noticed that my driver is out of date so i wanted to uninstall it and install a new 1....i went to control panel and uninstall anything to do with Nvidia drivers>>reboot>>>installed 169.09>>reboot check and its still the Forceware 69.09 driver.so i went to http://www.overclock.net/faqs/12466-info-n...ning-guide.html

and followed the instructions there to properly uninstall my driver.used NFR(Nasty file remover) to find all drivers that a normal uninstall will not detect and deleted everything....when i rescanned for unwanted drivers i came to a "nv4_disp.dll NVIDIA Compatible Windows 2000 Display driver v6.14.10.5673" that i cant delete no matter how many times i scanned and tried to delete it...so i ignored it and reboot my PC install Forceware 169.09>>reboot>>>and scan my driver version with Everest and this is what i got

HELP!!! how do i properly do it!!!

PS:sry for this posting this 3 times on diff treads and posting in the wrong area but this prob is driving me nuts
The solution is simple... Get Driver Cleaner (google for it) and use that software to uninstall ur drivers... Then apply the newest driver.... Happy gaming!!! laugh.gif
Holyboyz
post Nov 16 2007, 12:32 PM

421 posts

i did get a driver cleaner from overclocked.net its called NFR(nasty file remover) scanned deleted everything but still dint work....can recommend any better ones?

Added on November 16, 2007, 12:43 pmjust googled for Driver cleaner pRo will give it shot

This post has been edited by Holyboyz: Nov 16 2007, 12:43 PM
ianho
post Nov 16 2007, 09:46 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Ahhhhhhhhhh, I'm so happy now. I just realised there's a bug in Crysis which caused me to get only about 30FPS at 2560x1600, Medium settings. It's because I started the game at 2560x1600, High setings. Once u start at that setting, it doesnt matter how low u go on the gfx settings after that. U can even drop it to 1680x1050 n the FPS stays at about 30FPS average.

The way to do it is to exit the gme completely b4 changign the gfx settings. After I did that n set it to 2560x1600, Medium settings, my framerates shot up to a lovely 50-60FPS. Now, I'm really happy as it's totally smooth at that level. Even when there's lotsa fella running around at the beach the frames fluctuate between 35-60FPS but there's no perceivable lag. Just nice smooth frames. Hopefully the patch in 2 weeks will improve things a lot more so that I can go u a notch to High settings and get smooth framerates like I'm getting at Medium now.

Crysis at 2560x1600, Medium settings, 50-60FPS average= HEAVEN!

SO, remember guys, if u need to change gfx settings in Crysis, make sure u exit the game completely. Restart the game all over n then oni change ur gfx settings.

This post has been edited by ianho: Nov 16 2007, 09:48 PM
TSHyde`fK
post Nov 16 2007, 09:48 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Eh, try high and very high see how it performs.

You mean, after set the gfx setting, have to exit first then start the game again?

EDIT : Oh, exit game, change the settings and play right away?

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Nov 16 2007, 09:50 PM

60 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0396sec    1.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:08 AM