iPod The iPod Touch Discussion Thread, All About iPod Touch

zc_squash
post Oct 29 2007, 01:18 PM

1,149 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Oct 29 2007, 01:21 AM)
lol.....iphone and ipod touch using crystal glass unscratces le... brows.gif
i know it is very scratch-resistant but it is NOT scratch-proof.
Endless9930
post Oct 29 2007, 01:25 PM

757 posts

............There is nothing Scratch-proof .....

Unless you tell them to use diamond??
dragna
post Oct 29 2007, 02:48 PM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Oct 29 2007, 01:21 AM)
lol.....iphone and ipod touch using crystal glass unscratces le... brows.gif
I got a way to make it all the speculation of "scratch proof" go away flex.gif thumbup.gif
lil twist
post Oct 29 2007, 04:38 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

i tot ipod touch n iphone different surface le??? unsure.gif
friends
post Oct 29 2007, 05:11 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

is iPod Touch must use headphone to listen ?
Can it be listened without using headphone ?

What else other cool features in iPod Touch ?
I may plan to get one...
SUSMike3300
post Oct 29 2007, 05:24 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Oct 29 2007, 05:11 PM)
is iPod Touch must use headphone to listen ?
Can it be listened without using headphone ?

What else other cool features in iPod Touch ?
I may plan to get one...
Yeah, you can connect to external speaker. No speaker built in.

Check http://www.apple.com/ipodtouch for more cool features you might wanna check out. Safari is the killer app in there!
friends
post Oct 29 2007, 09:41 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(trafox10 @ Oct 15 2007, 06:18 PM)
here are the instruction for jailbreaking yr Ipod:

go to this link: http://www.ipodtouchfans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1954
and dl the installer for jailbreaker.

then follow the instructions here:

1) first, go 2 http://jailbreak.toc2rta.com to crash yr safari browser.

2) run jailbreak.bat from the installer, when it starts , just press enter to start.

3) after a min or so, it'll prompt u 2 restart yr touch. Do it and press enter key to
continue.

4) let jailbreak do its stuff.then restart yr ipod twice(turn off
,turn on,turn off,turn on.)

5) press enter again and enter your IPOD ip add when asked (wait for the wifi to come on after turning on yr touch b4 entering yr ip add).

6) when the whole installation finishes,the command prompt will shut down by itself.restart yr touch and you should see a "install" app on yr screen. Click it and install the program u want. u can go to the install app and then go to source, tab on refresh and install the community source..after that go to "install" and u should see alot of programs to install..!
If u wanna have iphone apps, click on the youtube link of this link:
http://www.ipodtouchfans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2025
I think your steps shown here are actually SAME as this YouTube video !! Check it out.......
quite clear instructions given in YouTube video !! Rocks.....

JailBreak IPod Touch on Windows Platform (Easiest Way)

Also... check this out Multi-Apps for Multi-iPod Touch at Apps for iPod Touch !

This post has been edited by friends: Oct 29 2007, 09:56 PM
abang brother
post Oct 29 2007, 09:51 PM

4,967 posts

Guys, may i ask what is Jail break?
friends
post Oct 29 2007, 09:57 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Oct 29 2007, 09:51 PM)
Guys, may i ask what is Jail break?
JailBreak = Hack (sort of) or modify the original one ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
abang brother
post Oct 29 2007, 10:22 PM

4,967 posts

As in, put more App(s), items and more>?
zc_squash
post Oct 30 2007, 12:24 AM

1,149 posts

Juz gave the chrome back a spidey touch

dragna
post Oct 30 2007, 03:17 AM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Oct 30 2007, 12:24 AM)

Is that a skin? selfmade? ohmy.gif
zc_squash
post Oct 30 2007, 03:37 AM

1,149 posts

I know the battery indicator is an estimation of how much the battery power is left, but this is insane! It shows me that the battery is full and barely 5 minutes into video it popped out warning telling me less than 20% of battery power left! It doesn't happen always. As far as i could remember, it had happen to me twice. That annoys me enough. I charge my touch using a USB charger but i don't think that is a problem, or is it?

Btw, any of you guys left ur touch charge overnight? As far as i'm concern, modern batteries (lithium-based) don't overcharge. It will just stop charging itself when it is fully charged. Correct me if i'm dreadfully wrong here.
dragna
post Oct 30 2007, 03:48 AM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Oct 30 2007, 03:37 AM)
I know the battery indicator is an estimation of how much the battery power is left, but this is insane! It shows me that the battery is full and barely 5 minutes into video it popped out warning telling me less than 20% of battery power left! It doesn't happen always. As far as i could remember, it had happen to me twice. That annoys me enough. I charge my touch using a USB charger but i don't think that is a problem, or is it?

Btw, any of you guys left ur touch charge overnight? As far as i'm concern, modern batteries (lithium-based) don't overcharge. It will just stop charging itself when it is fully charged. Correct me if i'm dreadfully wrong here.
I leave mine on charging while i'm in bed and plug it out before i leave the house in the morning, so far no problem occured as mentioned above.
davidmak
post Oct 30 2007, 08:11 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Yes modern batteries with all the safeguards in place do not usually overcharge their batteries. One thing to note is that battery do not always reaches 100% (as in physical 100% tip top, filled to the brim). Most charging circuits uses a constant voltage and constant current method. It'll usually take 1-2hours to charge a lithium battery to more than 85%. This is the time where the charging circuits and battery is very hot. From there to more than 95%, it'll take a longer time because as the battery voltage increases, it'll lower the amount of current to it. You don't want to overcharge it. What happens here is that the charging circuit will constant trickle charge it with small amounts energy until it reaches a level the engineers are satisfied with. Of course they must be satisfied with the time it takes too. Once the battery is full, it'll implement a negative dBV cutoff (depending on implementation). Some will cutoff when it hits an overshot in temperature as safety measure. The battery indicator is just an estimation and a level perceived by the firmware of the device.

The problem are lithium batteries' characteristics. Lithium batteries cannot be over-discharged and overcharged. Meaning, you do not treat it like a NiCD of the olden days. You do not discharge it until empty before charging it. And also you do not charge it for extended periods of time. But this is usually taken care of because the charging controller will prevent this from happening. But you do not want to run the charging circuits extended period of time too. You'll want to prevent it from being overused so that it'll do its job.

So there's a trade off here and there. For me, I'll pick the charge anytime, disconnect when finished approach. Hope this helps you.

I cannot say your device is defective as I do not know. But I'll do a complete restore and run it stock for a few days just to monitor the level of drain before concluding anything.

David.

lil twist
post Oct 30 2007, 09:12 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Oct 30 2007, 12:24 AM)

mind sharing how or where u do it?? notworthy.gif
zc_squash
post Oct 30 2007, 01:08 PM

1,149 posts

Thank you for your detailed explanation. I don't think it is a battery problem but rather some "bug" appear in the firmware battery estimation. I'll have to run the battery test to find out. Thank you again smile.gif

Added on October 30, 2007, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(dragna @ Oct 29 2007, 02:48 PM)
I got a way to make it all the speculation of "scratch proof" go away  flex.gif  thumbup.gif
like i said, the glass front is not scratch-proof, it just has got a very high resistant to scratches but there are still some confused souls who wouldn't believe so please show us your 'way' to erase off such speculation biggrin.gif

Added on October 30, 2007, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(lil twist @ Oct 30 2007, 09:12 AM)
mind sharing how or where u do it?? notworthy.gif
any skinz-wrapping stores? I got that design myself though. Well i DIDN'T design it, it is from the Spidey 3.

Added on October 30, 2007, 1:17 pm
QUOTE(friends @ Oct 29 2007, 09:41 PM)
I think your steps shown here are actually SAME as this YouTube video !! Check it out.......
quite clear instructions given in YouTube video !! Rocks.....

JailBreak IPod Touch on Windows Platform (Easiest Way)

Also... check this out Multi-Apps for Multi-iPod Touch at Apps for iPod Touch !
I have included an even easier way to jailbreak the touch in my guide. It was out for awhile already but just found out cuz i don't follow the jailbreaking news anymore since mine is already jailbroken. Just happen to read about it last nite. The new way is completely fool-proof, i feel.

This post has been edited by zc_squash: Oct 30 2007, 04:45 PM
chenster
post Oct 30 2007, 03:49 PM

1,451 posts

alamak..
remember my touch have this stucked pixel but then it was OK in the end?
now it came up again! dumb stupid stucked pixel!
Charlton
post Oct 30 2007, 04:46 PM

316 posts

I'm not sure whether this is due to problems on the battery itself. My previous unit of touch (which I returned and get a new one due to unresponsive screen) has the same problem. Even though I just put my touch to 'sleep' in the day, by evening the battery indicates it only has about 30% left. Mind you that I have everything disable (no wifi...no music playing...no video playing.....just put it to sleep).

My new touch does not seem to experience such problem. If I left my touch with 90% battery during morning, the battery indicator would still show the same when I return home in the evening after work. My new touch also has longer battery life compared to my previous. Now it can play music up to 20 hrs as oppose to the old one which barely made 13 hrs.
zc_squash
post Oct 30 2007, 07:11 PM

1,149 posts

i think i would seriously run a battery test to have a peace of mind

126 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:03 AM