Total Votes: 391
Guests cannot vote 

9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:13 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 12:04 AM)
I did a Bachelors in Accounting & Finance (finished top 1%), now just finished one of the professional accounting exams (not naming here because I'm easily doxxed).
I even won an award for one of their papers. Am working in Big 4 now. I usually score in top 5 percentile for most exams I take.

I'd say that ICAEW is much more difficult than ACCA.
I know someone who is taking ACCA now after failing several ICAEW papers.
I would say that ACCA is only tough because many Tom, Dick and Harry enroll in it for the money.

Engineering math is much tougher than normal math.
I took Further Math during A-level but mechanics was too difficult for me to comprehend.
Dropped it in the end.

Meanwhile, I picked up Accountancy during A-level with ease despite coming from pure science background.
Still managed to win 2 awards from Cambridge.
This

To this day, I have nightmares of having to go for my Eng Maths exam tomorrow and knowing nothing

Or any of my EM Theory Exams

The scars it gave me makes me still remember some of the equations, constants and laws.

Still i give ACCA students their props. My wifes got her ACCA. She does shit in her field that I would struggle too
jayraptor
post Jun 6 2021, 12:14 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Pop The Bubbles @ Jun 5 2021, 08:51 PM)
Engineering background can take up acca easily.
Yes but then no. ACCA has more headache formula to remember for some while engineering are mostly tangible with some electronics. Female & those love sitting in office go ACCA. For engineering, if you're in MY, have to check which field engineering first coz some fields like automotive would land yourself in blue collar salary range.
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:15 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 5 2021, 11:44 PM)
Because engineering in Malaysia isn’t really engineering. More like tech support and sales and project mgmt.
Engineering is kinda like the Nights Watch from GoT, a thankless job most of the time.

You want fame. glory. riches, bitches, get something else. Odds are you do something great no one knows or cares. You make ppl's life easier but they wont know you're there.

Of course some fields does bring in the money but these days with the proliferation of grads its becoming the outlier.
Sone Shin
post Jun 6 2021, 12:18 AM

255 posts

I stupid, so end up become engineer. sad.gif
diffyhelman2
post Jun 6 2021, 12:21 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 12:04 AM)

Engineering math is much tougher than normal math.
I took Further Math during A-level but mechanics was too difficult for me to comprehend.
Dropped it in the end.

If you think mechanics is difficult wait till you encounter fluid dynamics or electromagnetic theory.

This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Jun 6 2021, 12:21 AM
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:26 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 6 2021, 12:15 AM)
Engineering is kinda like the Nights Watch from GoT, a thankless job most of the time.

You want fame. glory. riches, bitches, get something else. Odds are you do something great no one knows or cares. You make ppl's life easier but they wont know you're there.

Of course some fields does bring in the money but these days with the proliferation of grads its becoming the outlier.
I wasted my 20s studying engineering, thought it paid off when I managed to graduate with Dean Commendation List from a top major Australian university which placed me in better position than even Yeo Bee Yin back then.

Came back to Malaysia to find a job closer to my parents and my first starting salary was just slightly above RM3k? doh.gif

Competition is intense and STEM demand in Malaysia is low.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:21 AM)
If you think mechanics is difficult wait till you encounter fluid dynamics or electromagnetic theory.
Actually all the struggles and hardship learning those calculations they're rarely utilized in the real working world.

Even my senior colleagues who are brilliant staff engineers in the Silicon Valley admitted that what you learned in school rarely gets utilized on the job.
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:26 AM)
I wasted my 20s studying engineering, thought it paid off when I managed to graduate with Dean Commendation List from a top major Australian university which placed me in better position than even Yeo Bee Yin back then.

Came back to Malaysia to find a job closer to my parents and my first starting salary was just slightly above RM3k? doh.gif 

I got First Class but it was a local U.

I attended Management Trainee interviews for a few PLCs and GLCs but didnt cut it, settled for a job that paid 1,700 in 2000. It was stiff back then even with a limited pool. I can only imagine now

But hey you got offered more than 3K thats nearly twice mine hahah

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM)
Actually all the struggles and hardship learning those calculations they're rarely utilized in the real working world.

Even my senior colleagues who are brilliant staff engineers in the Silicon Valley admitted that what you learned in school rarely gets utilized on the job.
Actually i think what you learn, the tough stuff do serve a purpose. Its to weed out students without the aptitude for engineering from taking up or graduating from it. Harsh but look where we are now. Too few jobs for too many engineers

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jun 6 2021, 12:32 AM
diffyhelman2
post Jun 6 2021, 12:32 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM)

Yeah. But it’s a filter. And kind of a point of pride and masochism for those who are good at it. Unless you are going to pursue academia in one of those scientific fields, then it is really relevant. For most normal jobs, no need.

SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:33 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jun 6 2021, 12:11 AM)
Are you sure it's accounting? Maybe bookkeeping like double entries or Introduction to Accounting whereby just prepare balance sheet and P/L?
Real accounting is more complex than that but still not as complex as engineering.
Yeah probably basic accounting, I admit totally forgot most of the advanced calculations I learnt back in university already today.

It's totally very different approach once you get into the working world. Kinda wasted if you asked me.
Starbucki
post Jun 6 2021, 12:34 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:26 AM)

Out of all the engineering graduates that I know over the years, 95% of them are now doing something totally unrelated e.g. sales, websites, grab and some jobless. None of them had a sterling career despite having more than 20 years of working experience. The same can be said of the remaining 5%.

On the other hand, those who did accounting or even some general shit like business, are the high flyers.
metalfire
post Jun 6 2021, 12:35 AM

1,309 posts

take the money all in crypto, by the time your friends finish graduate, you already millionaire.
metalfire
post Jun 6 2021, 12:36 AM

1,309 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 6 2021, 12:34 AM)
Out of all the engineering graduates that I know over the years, 95% of them are now doing something totally unrelated e.g. sales, websites, grab and some jobless. None of them had a sterling career despite having more than 20 years of working experience. The same can be said of the remaining 5%.

On the other hand, those who did accounting or even some general shit like business, are the high flyers.
unker do what wan can goyang tulur everyday in /k... come give newbie here some life lessons to follow. thumbup.gif
SUSCandy12
post Jun 6 2021, 12:36 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 6 2021, 12:30 AM)
I got First Class but it was a local U.

I attended Management Trainee interviews for a few PLCs and GLCs but didnt cut it, settled for a job that paid 1,700 in 2000. It was stiff back then even with a limited pool. I can only imagine now

But hey you got offered more than 3K thats nearly twice mine hahah
Actually i think what you learn, the tough stuff do serve a purpose. Its to weed out students without the aptitude for engineering from taking up or graduating from it. Harsh but look where we are now. Too few jobs for too many engineers
I admit! If you were to ask me to solve those questions back during my engineering course time now I barely can remember anything out of it unless I undergo a refresher course. laugh.gif
holypredator
post Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

I'm surprise... no one even ask... what kind of engineering degree are we talking about here..

seems like a lot of people don't even know what are they even talking about...

Aerospace engineering and electrical engineering are hard...

Mechanical engineering... environmental engineering... etc. these are easy as hell degrees.... especially if it is not caltec/standford level.... their final year project is just rehash of shit already exist... farking degree mill jer
oe_kintaro
post Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM

2,222 posts

Engineering: e = π = 3 😏
Assume air resistance is negligible.

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Jun 6 2021, 12:38 AM
diffyhelman2
post Jun 6 2021, 12:38 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Jun 6 2021, 12:34 AM)

Perhaps it’s not just the course? For eg, ppl here who are book smart but kayu ppl gravitate towards the engineering course. The not book smart but good eq end up in acct. hence you see the biz and acct grads high flyers.
Starbucki

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Jun 6 2021, 12:36 AM)
unker do what wan can goyang tulur everyday in /k... come give newbie here some life lessons to follow.  thumbup.gif
brows.gif brows.gif

you ask wrong person for advice la mapren

unker keje goyang tulur and keybod only
SUSCandy12

1,878 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM)
I'm surprise... no one even ask... what kind of engineering degree are we talking about here..

Mechanical engineering... environmental engineering... etc. these are easy as hell degrees.... especially if it is not caltec/standford level.... their final year project is just rehash of shit already exist... farking degree mill jer
Microelectronics E&E.

I don't know how I went into Optronics from there. doh.gif
9m2w
post Jun 6 2021, 12:39 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Jun 6 2021, 12:37 AM)

Im kinda surprised with some of the name of the subjects dropped here and there you couldn't figure out what the degrees were. Man of your talents

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:09 AM