celciuz
post Apr 16 2023, 06:40 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(eyesee @ Apr 16 2023, 10:40 AM)
Update
Green screen for HDMI again this morning.

Experimented a bit
Astro connected to hdmi. Astro on green screen, off the normal no input screen. Meaning hdmi input getting green screen android interface no problem.

Go to app/home screen and back to hdmi still green screen.

Try starting a streaming app. No problem
Exit the app and the hdmi back to normal. No need to reboot.
😮 I just only initiated the updates for both my A80 units 😅 so far a few times on off seems ok so far.
celciuz
post Jun 17 2023, 07:04 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 16 2023, 10:28 PM)
how much u get ur A80J?
RM 8400 ish if not mistaken before the coins and all.
celciuz
post Jun 18 2023, 01:32 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 17 2023, 10:07 PM)
Ya. I guess it is worth it still rite since the latest model 55-inch now is almost rm11k.
Yes, 55” OLED 👍🏻 will makan all the rest in the market and you get XR processor.

Downside if the room is very bright or have windows… 😅 will suffer a bit.
celciuz
post Jun 25 2023, 02:53 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Jun 25 2023, 02:35 PM)

Sony is having a promo now.

55X85L for RM4943, plus a RM500 TnG voucher.

Is it a good buy?
Older OLED 55” if you can stretch your budget. XR processor and OLED goodness 😁

QUOTE(senscents @ Jun 17 2023, 07:35 PM)
HN = Rm4,875 for Bravia A80J 55-inch.
celciuz
post Jun 29 2023, 09:43 AM

14,033 posts

Anyone here uses Sony TV with HomeKit? I tried connecting, scanned but got error on my phone. While the TV has been connected tsk. Tried resetting the TV, still same.

celciuz
post Jun 29 2023, 11:00 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 29 2023, 10:12 AM)
I can.

I remember it worked before, not why it doesn’t now. I’ll try rebooting my ATV 4K perhaps.
celciuz
post Jul 5 2023, 05:03 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Jul 5 2023, 03:32 PM)
Interesting. More reason to buy a Sony TV.

I hope it able to handle a 70GB Remux 4K movie.
It does, no problem whistling.gif well at least on Plex client la.
celciuz
post Jul 5 2023, 06:32 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 5 2023, 06:24 PM)
Did not try but 20GB++ movie file works for me.
Up to 80Mbps bitrate no issue 😁 haven’t tried higher yet.
celciuz
post Jul 6 2023, 12:43 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 6 2023, 10:08 AM)
rm4,999 (brand new and not demo set) with free gifts. now i could not find anywhere is selling this at this price anymore. even it is, likely that it is a demo set and not brand new set especially if u are buying from sony resellers.

i find the price is ok since latest model A80L 55-inch is selling at XR-55A80L
RM 9,843 which i will not spend such money for a brand new tv.

OLED now the price is ex. comparing to a cheapest lowest end sony model of LED tv, it will cost at least 4 times the price of it to buy the OLED one. but the experience is totally different level. OLED can make you feel like you are in cinema which is something that LED cannot.

so i am totally happy that i spent rm4999 to buy a sony 55-inch OLED tv, instead of rm2999 for the 65-inch LED (lowest end model x75 which i was considering previously). no regret. haha.

i do not watch news channel like CNA etc. mostly movies played from usb thumbdrive or youtube. so i do not worry so much about burn-in problem. even it is. given that i am getting the tv at rm4999, i will not feel so heart pain haha.
laugh.gif cinema is about the size... OLED is no where close to that tongue.gif.

I have a JVC NX5 projected on 130", vs my 77" and 65" OLED... cannot match la.
celciuz
post Jul 6 2023, 03:51 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 6 2023, 01:09 PM)
size is big but quality wise actually OLED beats cinema. dun forget that in cinema u are watching a projection from projector only.
Yeah… so when you said “like cinema”… the OLED is better PQ. Only good thing about cinema is the size hence immersion.
celciuz
post Jul 6 2023, 07:01 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 6 2023, 06:30 PM)
As stated in the intro page, it is way better than projector in normal cinema. Same as oled tv at home (except minus off size).
Yes, no projector can fight with the absolute black of OLED.
celciuz
post Jul 7 2023, 09:16 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 6 2023, 07:33 PM)
Yeah. Indeed. I switched from very low end Sony lcd tv to Sony oled tv now. It is a day and nite difference that I can never go back to lcd/led anymore.

Now I enjoy so much in watching the movie on my tv. Hahahaaha. It feel even better at home Becos I have my Marshall speakers as the sound output plus my getha bed to lie on. Wow. Super nice experience. Hahahaha.

Comparing to GSC the getha luxe one, I only lack someone to serve the food only hahaha.
As long you're happy with it thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jul 6 2023, 08:27 PM)
Well, it's still perfect for SDR contents viewing though.  tongue.gif
laugh.gif bright enough for me, running low lamp mode and even can close up some of the iris. Fully blackout room helps tongue.gif. But yeah, however blackout it is, the black is never black like OLED. But than again... with OLED I can't get the size, nor have my LCR speakers placed behind the screen.

Pros and cons lor, but I do have the Sony 77" A80K in my bedroom, sound system is Q Acoustics 3010i LR and 3090Ci Center... with 2 ceiling speakers (configured to top middle) powered by Denon X3700H and a cute little QB12 subwoofer biggrin.gif.

Perfectly fine for TV series binge (don't wanna be sacrificing my projector bulb life for these tv series).

This post has been edited by celciuz: Jul 7 2023, 09:17 AM
celciuz
post Jul 8 2023, 11:24 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 8 2023, 10:11 AM)
for those of you who own a sony OLED tv, do u guys turn on the pixel shifting function?
Yes, default turned on.
celciuz
post Jul 8 2023, 11:33 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 8 2023, 11:28 AM)
ic. ok. i also keep it on.

besides, it seems like the idle tv power off does not really work.

i use usb-drive to play the video. after video finished playing, the tv also just stay there and it is not power off automatically. why is it?
Never used/tested that feature, I always turn it off after watching 🤣
celciuz
post Jul 8 2023, 11:36 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 8 2023, 11:34 AM)
ic. that's the good practice. haha.

i always watch it by lying on my bed, so often i fell asleep while watching.
damn. then the tv displays same content for hours.  sad.gif
worry that it will have burn-in problem.
😆 ahh yes the comfy bed problem. I kena once, slept then it continued playing a few episode 😅 started at 1, wake up it was at 3 or 4 hahaha.
celciuz
post Jul 8 2023, 11:49 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jul 8 2023, 11:43 AM)
Nice setup you have there, cant imagine having a 77" OLED in my master room. lol
When it was still not cluttered up 😆 77” is the biggest I could fit there… originally I bought a 65” too small haha… went to view several 85” including the miniled but still preferred the OLED.

celciuz
post Jul 8 2023, 12:00 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jul 8 2023, 11:58 AM)
Very nice and clean setup.  tongue.gif  What's the room size for this 77" and the viewing distance?

I will definitely upgrade to a 77" when I move to a bigger house, but definitely for the living room and not the bedroom lol.  sweat.gif
This one is I think 14-15 feet… actually 77” is too small 😅

My other room is a 130” at 10feet. That’s nice.
celciuz
post Jul 8 2023, 04:16 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jul 8 2023, 03:55 PM)
What’s the height between the center of the tv to the floor?
Uhh, I don’t remember… cause I adjusted it based on the 1/3 bottom is eye level from seating at bed height.
celciuz
post Jul 11 2023, 03:37 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jul 11 2023, 03:24 PM)
Nah they are still top even in HDR. Only applies to their miniLED and high end OLEDs though

Their XR FALD model (X90L) is still very good actually, this year model is actually a signifcant improvement from last year K model. Just the pricing issue which is typical Sony
Sony typically gives big discount too, so best to wait for that biggrin.gif.
celciuz
post Jul 11 2023, 09:33 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 11 2023, 09:23 PM)
how come u can change ur sony OLED within warranty but LG could not? LG has shorter warranty period?

my 32-inch sony super old tv bought in 2010 has a line prob after i did not use it for a while which last year april i just use it again, but suprisingly the line disappeared or to the extend that i could not notice automatically. not sure why though. tongue.gif

OLED tv seriously is still very ex. 55-inch is still selling at rm9843 which is quite hard to swallow.  tongue.gif

Buy last year model... I did my 65" A80J back in 2021 for RM8500-ish.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0700sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:19 PM