40 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles V7, Folding bicycle discussion

asrul
post Jun 2 2022, 10:47 PM

1,219 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ May 9 2022, 01:49 PM)
The bicycle shops that i bought my Tern from. I chit chatted with the owner. They do sell foldies ranging from well, the affordable ones from less than RM1K to the of course RM 5K++ Tern and Dahon.

They told me that TRZ is quite a good buy, but only on the price range RM2K above. Otherwise, the rest just gives way too many problems and it's hard to deal with their suppliers and customers both.

I can understand from their POV, cause they also want less after sales issues with the products they sell. So if a brand is not reliable, of course they will tell you straight on unless your budget really cannot fit lo.
wohoo. another tern-er here!

simple upgrade for D9
11-40 casette
schwable one tyre

and croze pro for wife (she want brompton but i told her - need to consistently kayuh only then i will buy for her tongue.gif)
croze pro also had been upgraded to
11-40 casette
52T Litepro Hollow Crank
LitePro Rim

now thinking should i get brooks cambium tongue.gif

This post has been edited by asrul: Jun 2 2022, 11:02 PM
Kilohertz
post Jun 3 2022, 05:42 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jun 2 2022, 09:29 PM)
for your budget, an fnhon blast would be perfect. it's a 20-incher by the way, though you may either pick 406 or 451.

for long distance cycling, assuming the same number of tooth count and gearing between the two, relatively speaking a bigger wheel always better than a smaller wheel. 

but for portability smaller wheel is easier to carry around.

if you're going for a 16-incher then fnhon gust lor.
ok, will look into fnhon. Is there any shops around klang valley that is carrying it?

oh ya, I've also narrowed down to Pikes, 3Sixty and Acceofix because I like the design but just wondering if its worth getting it hmm.gif
Well-being P
post Jun 3 2022, 08:09 PM

Probation

Hi to all Sifus, any reliable folding bike for recommendations? Budget around 1.5k. Looking for one that is suitable for senior citizen and easy to maintain. Thank you for your advice.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 5 2022, 01:38 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

today saw fnhon gang gathering, majority are fnhon blast with 451 disc brake wheelset...lol

minority: fnhon blast v brake, fnhon tornado, fnhon gust, fnhon freedom, fnhon monsoon 18" frame with 20" wheelset.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Jun 5 2022, 10:03 PM
engseng
post Jun 7 2022, 06:11 PM

1,981 posts

They all prefer to use disc brake with their fnhon bicycles?
azamunekurone
post Jun 8 2022, 08:10 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Jun 7 2022, 06:11 PM)
They all prefer to use disc brake with their fnhon bicycles?
i think due to good braking when using carbon rims.

also i do notice their using single chainring (bigger) and big ratio mtb casette.

i would prefer closed ratio setup, double chainring and c/vbrake. but its all about personal preference.
ultimate93
post Jun 19 2022, 11:37 PM

271 posts

hi guys... any recommendation for guy 90kg, 178cm? budget 2k +
I'm looking at camp pikes, any better suggestion?
easy to carry will be my first priority smile.gif
Thanks Sifu
azamunekurone
post Jun 28 2022, 05:59 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(ultimate93 @ Jun 19 2022, 11:37 PM)
hi guys... any recommendation for guy 90kg, 178cm? budget 2k +
I'm looking at camp pikes, any better suggestion?
easy to carry will be my first priority smile.gif
Thanks Sifu
pikes are ok, few tweaks to make ur comfortable and easy on the hill. but worry less, ride more
Bonchi
post Jun 29 2022, 01:06 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

Came across one brand called mint/sunrimoon which is a brompton knockoff but uses conventional road bike external 9 speed gears and comes equipped with disk brakes.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 29 2022, 12:43 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jun 29 2022, 01:06 AM)
Came across one brand called mint/sunrimoon which is a brompton knockoff but uses conventional road bike external 9 speed gears and comes equipped with disk brakes.
doesn't fold as neat.

can't adjust pedal after fold.

easy chain stuck if not fold properly.

disk brake add on weight.

if want a trifold bike with external gearing, currently best solution will be custom built with aceoffix frame with silverock 5-7 speed wheelset plus ltwoo derailleur for trifold.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 29 2022, 12:53 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

if die die want external gearing trifold with conventional derailleur, can have a look on crius and leggero.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Jun 30 2022, 12:49 PM
Bonchi
post Jun 29 2022, 02:03 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 29 2022, 12:43 PM)
doesn't fold as neat.

can't adjust pedal after fold.

easy chain stuck if not fold properly.

disk brake add on weight.

if want a trifold bike with external gearing, currently best solution will be custom built with aceoffix frame with silverock 5-7 speed wheelset plus ltwoo derailleur for trifold.
Using one, doesnt fold as neat but unfolded alot nicer to cycle than original.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 29 2022, 02:42 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jun 29 2022, 02:03 PM)
Using one, doesnt fold as neat but unfolded alot nicer to cycle than original.
internal hub does have its own advantage when comes to urban commuting where it allows to shift while not pedaling, quite handy when riding in stop and go traffic in the city.

BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 29 2022, 02:49 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

for ori brompton, if you opt for 6 speed variant, i advise you to choose 50T chainring option.

for 44T chainring
3+ gear will be a bit too heavy for flat
3- gear will be a bit not enough speed for flat

for 50T chainring
3- gear will be be just nice speed for flat
2+ gear will be santai ride gear

for pikes and 3sixty, just change 15T cog to 19T cog will do.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Jun 29 2022, 02:59 PM
Bonchi
post Jun 29 2022, 07:30 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 29 2022, 02:42 PM)
internal hub does have its own advantage when comes to urban commuting where it allows to shift while not pedaling, quite handy when riding in stop and go traffic in the city.
But slow. I take this fake brompton with 9 speed and chase other roadbikes at 30km/h lol
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 29 2022, 09:03 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jun 29 2022, 07:30 PM)
But slow. I take this fake brompton with 9 speed and chase other roadbikes at 30km/h lol
as long you enjoy it laugh.gif

all foldies have their own characteristics, that's why we have N+1 number of bikes laugh.gif

to be honest, i am interested to have the crius trifold so that i can share the wheelset with my other 16" bikes. but too bad i hate the crius logo is painted to the frame, not a removeable sticker.

Bonchi
post Jun 29 2022, 09:08 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 29 2022, 09:03 PM)
as long you enjoy it laugh.gif

all foldies have their own characteristics, that's why we have N+1 number of bikes laugh.gif

to be honest, i am interested to have the crius trifold so that i can share the wheelset with my other 16" bikes. but too bad i hate the crius logo is painted to the frame, not a removeable sticker.
Haha i tried the brompton, too slow so end up deciding on this.

End up store room jer anyways cuz its purpose is to accompany wife on her weight loss journey through cycling (have a pair of matching bikes). After only a month she malas and i went back to my running lol.
BOTAK_WAI
post Jun 29 2022, 09:16 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jun 29 2022, 09:08 PM)
Haha i tried the brompton, too slow so end up deciding on this.

End up store room jer anyways cuz its purpose is to accompany wife on her weight loss journey through cycling (have a pair of matching bikes). After only a month she malas and i went back to my running lol.
cycling to lose weight not a good idea.

it does help cardio and leg muscle, but tummy still there…hahahahaha
vhs1
post Jun 29 2022, 10:28 PM

2,828 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 29 2022, 09:16 PM)

He he... Mine getting bigger
Bonchi
post Jun 29 2022, 10:40 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jun 29 2022, 09:16 PM)

Can wan... try cycle 40km or roughly 1 hour+ 4 times a week n see.

40 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:06 AM