Military Thread V28

darth5zaft
post Oct 4 2021, 02:37 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 4 2021, 02:13 PM)
it is a paid content. not going to post it here.

rest of the article is about how old the tunisian F-5 is, also regarding USA, F-16, T-6 texan, Gripens, etc.

www.africaintelligence.com/north-africa_business/2021/09/06/tunis-grounds-plan-to-buy-second-hand-kuwaiti-f-18s,109689100-art
In which plan does a 3rd batch of LCA happen?
Sharing is caring you know.
IP law is still not enforce here, well until we sign on the CPTPP.😶

This post has been edited by darth5zaft: Oct 4 2021, 02:37 PM
darth5zaft
post Oct 4 2021, 04:18 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 4 2021, 02:39 PM)
with someone who slanders me? giving away free something that I paid for?

sorry, no.
Lol.
Humour meter rosak already.

On serious note: maybe you should pay for Geopolitics & economic publication as well.

No one buy gunboats for the sake of gunboat nor because gunboat are cool. Nor are buying gunboat to defend against other nor attack one another. these day & age with SJWism run high & the existence of globalization. Most won't be going to do real state vs state war. No one wants to give others reason for sanction. Even china not going to do that. They are not going to even invade Taiwan.

Just look at how fucked up china are when they self imposed sanction on Australian coal. Australia baited them, CCP bite and now CCP run out of power. Their citizens are annoyed & they become the laughing stock of the world.

But People still buy gunboat. And gunboat are to do one thing and that's is gunboat diplomacy, and thus gunboat are an economic tools. And military are mostly for postering 1st. It's the stick you weild to get an upper hand in diplomacy. Because no one really want to go to war really. But it's there if it does indeed goes that's way

You need to understood what china want,what MY want,what US want, what are the jobs of military in the modern day that is the problem. China understand her self interest is not aligned with all her First chain island neighbors. So it's is all about using intimidation to enforce subjegation and we are resisting subjegation because it's not in our best economic interest. We are upper middle income like they are, going to them mean we would stay forever poor.

You however think that china are really going to invade us, so quick hide behind the hills and do gurella warfare, bend the knees be nice to them don't be too aggressive. Which is true but ONLY if china want to invade us. Which they don't. So Doing what you want is doing them a favor rather than deterrence. That's exactly what they wanted. Subjegation.

darth5zaft
post Oct 4 2021, 04:40 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Oct 4 2021, 02:16 PM)
If Malaysia get Kuwait hornets, wonder will it affect the number of LCA jets being acquired
Depend on how much hornet they get i guess.

Original Cap55 called for 3 squadrons of LCA & 2 squadron of MRCA. DWF only say they interested in filling out the remaining 10 hornet.
AF usually wanted 18 jet per squadron.So around 54 LCA.

But If the AF do acquired all 28 hornet. Then there enough for 2 squadron. A good hint of thats is the recent AF chief interview where he stated the reactivation of former MIG squadron & acquisition of 18 LCA this RMK & 18 more LCA the next RMK. afterwards in RMK 14 they started the acquisition of MRCA .

If they did that. Then the likely outcome is 2 squadron of LCA & 3 squadrons of MRCA.

Of course the money to upgrade the hornet do need to comes out of somewhere. So the quality of LCA may also be reduced. The BVr requirements may not be a priority anymore.
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 12:05 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 4 2021, 04:58 PM)
This is what I want, with existing level of budgets.

up to 2040

TLDM
8 Gowind 111m 3100 tonnes frigate
4 Type 31e 138m 6000 tonnes frigate
6 Scorpenes
6 large UUVs
24 alexLMS 55m
2 replenishment tanker 158m
2 MRSS 209.8m based on FSG4100
3 OSV

MMEA
6 Tun Fatimah class 83m 1890 tonnes OPV
6 Kedah class 91m 1850 tonnes OPV
6 Korean 140m 4000 tonnes OPV
3 OSV
38 PC 40m-70m including NGPC, LMS68, PZ etc.
48 PC 25m

isn't my want a much more better deterrance???
anyway...
"24 Buah Helikopter Baru Untuk Ganti “Nuri” – Panglima TUDM - Defence Security Asia" https://defencesecurityasia.com/tudm-helikopter-nuri-ganti/

12 new helicopter RMK13 2026-2030
12 new helicopter RMK14 2031-2035

And immediately these new helicopters are going to be obsolete compared to new FVL that is going to be operational mid 2030s. The FVL performance target are speeds of 230 kn (260 mph; 430 km/h), carry up to 12 troops, operate in "high-hot" conditions at altitudes of 6,000 ft (1,800 m) and temperatures of 95 °F (35 °C), and have a combat radius of 263 mi (424 km) with an overall unrefueled range of 527 mi (848 km). The speed and range target for FVL are basically 2x of the current helicopters, of which blackhawks are the benchmark.

https://verticalmag.com/news/still-valor-vs...-flraa-program/
IMHO

1)Scorpene are extremely expensive. And its build with french weapon in mind, retrofitted to fit weapon we want increase the cost further. French engineering is full of custom made part that make building & maintaining is extremely expensive without much in term of reliability. They are excellent designers but horrible engineers.

The likelihood that German, sweeden & Korean sailang french offering something cheaper while also promising local assembly is really high. The navy Chief said 2 submarine would be procure by 2030-2040. 2040 is when the Scorpene start retiring. They can order more afterwards. So commonalities with Scorpene isn't really needed. I like 6 but 4 is the more realistic number.

2) The LCS as it is is already expensive and would be terbengkalai until 2023, Since details design on the changes that TUDM want won't end until end of 2022. Doubt gomen going to order more. The navy wanted 6 because the other 3 ASW platforms is the MRSS itself.

3) type 31 are build with backwards compatibility to it's original vessels. so adding Absalon ASW equipment is possible without much cost of intergration i guess. Type 31 being design to operate with type 26 do make it a compelling buy to MY due to FPDA. A worthwhile replacement to the Kedah. Would love 6, but the most likely number is 3.

4) large UUV isn't really much a thing right now. We are not rich & competent enough to do R&D. If EU or US ever get one ready to use, why not,

5)OSV as in Ocean Station Vessel? If that according to CG is freaking expensive to run. More cost effective to run a mothership said them.

If it's offshores service vessels then like i said before. Jabatan laut has it.money are tight, why bothered owning it when you can just called jabatan laut? Money may be better utilize by buying thing they really need. They are short of ship to do their main tasks afterall

6) tanker depend entirely on hibah from Petronas. Infact I think even the MRTT would be a hibah from AirAsia x. They have some A330 that's nearing the end of it's feasibility as low cost passanger jet. Most of the time such jet are sold for cheap to freight companies. AirAsia in itself owed the gomen lots of debt on airport fee and taxes.

7) if i have to guess japan would get the MRSS contract. They want to export military equipment but at the same time it's illegal under their own constitution. MRSS is one of those ship that Japan can sell. RMN had request a MRSS for decades and only now did gov give a firm date of 2024. The only major difference between then & now is Jap entry into MRSS contest.

Japan also subsidies other countries purchase by giving really low interest rate well below that of inflation. I think Philippines get 0.1% rate with 10 year deferment for their OPV. Would be great if CG buy Japanese ship by loan though. I mean u get ship fast due to loan and it's subsidies by Japan. Because indirectly it safeguard supplies of 70% of their energy & food.

MRSS requirements in itself is really weird, it's seem like a halfway point of ASW carrier like Hyuga class and osumi class LPD. There's are ship like that but most are double the displacement that RMN can afford.

The japs do have a design that can fit RMN requirements.

https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/31145...g-marine-forces

Fit in the essm like the Hyuga and it's a competent kinda warship i guess.

8) your LMS in size are better suited for CG. CG would fight tooth & nail to get a monopoly of it. And high likelihood gov going to agree with them.

9) if helo is locally assemble doubt you get 12 per RMK. It would make more sense to drag it out production for as long as possible to maintain jobs & talent. Currently they rent of from LTAT. For gov it's just keluar poket kanan ,masuk poket kiri.

Like i said the American helo aren't going to be fully operational until 2040.Those FVL is 20 years away while Helo live span is 30 years old. really doubt american would allowed local assembly, its really technologically advanced than what the rest of the world have.

Let say if H160M is choosen. It's really not that bad.Like i said, it's the EU version of FVL and it's available soon & can be CKD, But it got full combat abilities ready and with composite body, can be made stealth too.

It's an incomplete X3 afterall.the longer you wait the more upgrade you get. The X3 with it speed & range make it a very ideal platforms for maritime warfare also for Petronas use. just that without the fly by wire complete, they can't install lift wing like bell fara nor forward propeller like Boeing FVL.

10) the likelihood of duplication of CG & RMN ship would not happen no matter how much both agency wrote it in their masterplan. Despite different ministry both operate under the national security council and senior minister of defense. If let say we need 18 large ship, and if RMN get 12, then CG can only get 6.

11) the gov already said they wanted to do economic of scale and harmonizing ship between CG & RMN. While RMN need to harmonize weapon with AF & TD. If you want type 31 for RMN, you get Absalon in it's support ship form for CG. if you get tun Fatimah for CG you get a sigma for RMN. If AF use Amraam, RMN has to use ESSM. That's what reducing the military footprint is all about. We could not go around and have setis in some ship, tacticos in some ship, mica in navy, amraam for AF, some sensor is manwha, some other from Thales. It's need to be standardized to safe cost, it's also need to use the same weapon as our main allies, you know to make procuring missiles easier in time of need.

This increase efficiency in staffing & competency of maintainece while buying us lots of deterrence due to limitless supply ammo shared from willing allies. It's also there to make TD job of networking share situational awareness things easier

12) reducing military footprint also mean if get hibah hornets, the LCA would likely be T7. When hornet retired, weapon, facilities & technicians would move to T7. The T7 would then replace the hornet while F35 is the additions in AF capabilities. T7 need to be able to at least in the future be the wingman for the F35.

The budget are there, there's no need to rewrite it. IF politicians don't interfere in ATM acquisition. Just look at gempita, it's cost twice as much as other 8x8. It's effect the acquisition timeline greatly as thing that supposed to be acquire last RMK, get push to this RMK, or they try to push hibah SPH to TD which would effect their maintenance budget. Or how the ghost of Kedah Hurts the lcS

Personally i think the current apple in gov eyes is the AF. So doubt navy budget going to go bigger going forward. While warship are scary, warplane are scarier. Missiles & submarine are scariest. So for navy to continue received huge funding, selling the idea of finding sub & shooting stuff from the sky is what they need.

Hbah hornet is a great quick fix for politicians going into election need. Just like how Aussie need to get rid of the unpopular french sub as they also headed into election.

Ordering LCA alone doesn't look right in most of our citizens eyes. It's not the kind of reply to a pencerobohan that they want. Ordering it together with Hornet however is a different ball game. But that kind of desperation likely mean US ain't going to give the hornet without ordering T7 or at the very least FA50. They wanted total control of a country avionics afterall. Which kinda explain ID decline the free radar and ordering rafales i suppose.

That's why I say m346 is what politikus would want. also reason why sinki & Jew get them. It's not a great jet in performance but it's allowed a wee bit of leeway in freedom of action. And that leeway is more than enough to satisfied China & Russia. They all kinda use derivatives of that jet. Buying everything american for AF would be intrepid by other as we moving into the US camp. And they are right to thinks so. What can a country do without their air superiority?

Our politikus won't get easy access to Beijing as before. you know how much money they stand to lose buying T7 or even FA50? The likelihood that china going to throw some temper tantrums is also quite high.

darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 01:52 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Oct 5 2021, 01:00 PM)
Uae launch Gowind 2500 built in UAE

Sabarlah.

Kan tengah dalam details design phase until end of 2022.

Some equipment would then be removed & some would be add on.

So overall 2024- 2025 kot for the 1st ship to complete

This post has been edited by darth5zaft: Oct 5 2021, 01:53 PM
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 04:51 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 5 2021, 04:04 PM)
Japan finally has an operational aircraft carrier capable of hosting fighters, the first time since WW2.

Ironically the first fighter flying off JS Izumo is a USMC fighter jet!

Ahh i wish we have one regardless of how useless it actually is.

What more when It's really within reach, just a flat top MRSS + squadron of F35B
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 04:55 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Oct 5 2021, 04:52 PM)
keh3!
design eh?
Ismail Sabri bahek orenya
Dia tak suka tipu🤣😂

darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 05:39 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Oct 5 2021, 05:31 PM)
keh3! dia x pandai menipu kaaan?  innocent.gif  innocent.gif
Biasalah amek designers Perancis. Kerja 4 hari seminggu, lunch break 3 jam tu Sbb 4% design makan 2 tahun.

Australia order submarine,lepas 5 tahun PON design tsk siap lagi🤣

Barang baik so kena tunggu lama sikit lah🤣😂
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 05:47 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Oct 5 2021, 05:41 PM)
tapiiii... UAE da launch da kapal dia kan? cmne tuuu? ahahahaha
Rafale pun dorg bole speed up deliveries. banyaaak order masyuk lak tu.
raihaaaaaan
Nak lajut kena beli Express pass MCM kat Disneyland 😆

Kita bukan gagal.
Kita cuma belum berjaya 🤣
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 07:35 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Oct 5 2021, 07:13 PM)
Not about the type 31.

But am wondering is the EC725 is locally assemble in ID or the customization is done in ID?
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 08:46 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Oct 5 2021, 08:05 PM)
125 fuselages and 125 tailbooms of EC725 are being built by PTDI up to 2025 and sent to Airbus.

https://www.indonesian-aerospace.com/berita...gar+ke+perancis
There's some news stating that after the assembly, it's is converted in ID?

What kind of conversion is it?
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 08:52 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 5 2021, 08:27 PM)
basically all EC725, EC225 fuselage and tailboom is from PTDI.

Similarly malaysia exports more than 1 billion dollars worth of components for Airbus and Boeing every year. Malaysia is also one of the largest aerospace composite components manufacturer in the world.
I see UMW had gone beyond composite and are making turbine casing as well.

I say that AF purchase tradeoff with us being components manufacturer really pays off.
darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 09:23 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 5 2021, 08:59 PM)
UMW aerospace never did composites. It was established specifically to supply metallic jet engine components to RR.

Even though we don't export whole completed aircraft like Indonesia, our aerospace export value is like 10x of indonesia.

indonesian aerospace export value is only around 100 million dollars annually.

malaysian aerospace export value is more than 1 billion dollars annually.
Different country different needs.

They are going for self sufficiency similar to Korea & turkey while we are going to embedded ourselves deeper in the global supplies chain.

darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 09:55 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Oct 5 2021, 08:59 PM)
US$720 million  or RM$3.03 billion for 2 multi purpose frigate (AAW and ASW capability) at between 5700 tons to 6,000 tons each. Let say add another RM$1 billion for cost over run , the total is only RM$4.03 billion for for two units of 5700 tons to 6000 tons boats capable of AAW and ASW. Means one boat highest price RM$2.015 billion.

Lets see Gowind 3100 ton a boat after completion cost how much a boat. It was priced at RM$9.12 billion for 6 boat or RM$1.52 billion a boat.

We would see at the end after paying RM$9.12 billion how many Gowind 3100 TLDM will get😁😁 and we know the price per boat.

Do your maths later😁
Nah. Won't be cheap anymore if we get it🤣

ID had a long history of getting equipment as it is off the shelf.
MY had a long proud history of gold plating everything.

What you think the likelihood of
1)MY get the type 31 as it is like ID & pay RM1.5 bil a ship
2) MY get type 31 then try to make it a MRCV mothership with UUV, UAV & USV on top of adding Absalon ASW equipment?

darth5zaft
post Oct 5 2021, 10:36 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 5 2021, 09:53 PM)
If they want to be self sufficient, they need to make the N219 like we build buses. Creating something like prasarana in malaysia to buy hundreds of N219 to be used all over Indonesia. Giving subsidised flying service to rural indonesians. If not it will not be a self sufficiency drive.

On the other hand, Indonesia also wants to embed themselves into the global supply chain.

But currently what they do is mostly low tech metal fuselage and wing components. also those components are for low volume products like EC225/EC225M that sells like 2 dozen per year.

malaysia supplies components for almost all airbus and boeing aircraft that is being built annually.

Indonesia are now trying to get ToT for aerospace composite manufacturing, something malaysia has done for around 30 years now, and among the largest aerospace composite manufacturer in the world.

https://www.indonesian-aerospace.com/news/d...omponen+pesawat
You mean like we did proton? Hahahaha.

To be fair, if Mahathir was nicer to the west and get us a preferential access to rich western market then maybe proton could be at least quarter as successful as Kia. Unfortunately he just go full on erdagon instead.

No lah, not for whole economy just in term of defense, we accept manufacturing contract as tradeoff for weapon purchase while ID is more interested in buying weapon making knowhow with their purchased.

If not mistaken, France offer local assembly of rafales to us before. Which probably explains why ID are interested in KFX & Rafale despite it being twice the price of an American jet.

Overtime they would acquired IP for last gen weapon like Korea acquisition of KFX(which basically a nice looking super hornet), M11a1, 30mm dual aircraft gun, reverse engineered the s400 and so on.
darth5zaft
post Oct 6 2021, 10:58 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Oct 6 2021, 10:45 AM)
local shipbuilders can do the same job at a much cheaper price, and has more extensive experience.
they wanted to prop up bns, MMHE lost most of the skill needed building warships.
even hong leong lurssen tutup kedai. because of preferential treatment to bns.
back in 2016 or 2017 they declared profit, just because one of their law team found discrepancies in contract wording. not because of they are making real profit.
it's just to show the team in MoD who drew up the contracts are sh*t!
It's not shit. It's them being force to do stuff by politicians things they didn't want to do. The moment said politicians are out of sight they reverted back, then another politicians force them back.

Like you already give an example for in aerospace industry. Self sufficiency create mediocrity. Not to mention having something like deftech & BNS for the military is
1) a total waste of their money, gempita is double the cost of other IFV
2) really detrimental towards national security. Having self sufficiency create a situation where politicians think it's ok to ditch MY traditional security providers, have a very independent foreign policy like sucking up to DaGe.

SG is very successful because they draw up their minister from the civil service. There's no such thing as political interference in SG planning, policy & acquisition. There's no such thing as politicians in SG just birokrat.
darth5zaft
post Oct 6 2021, 11:26 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Oct 6 2021, 08:51 AM)
As we all know ID orientation is know how and self sufficient. Boramae and KFX is 2 side of a coin. Buying rafale will open ID access to new tech in fighter jet weapon system, because US will not give any ToT. Although recently US give ID a capability MLU to upgrade their old F16 A/B locally but that will not help ID much.
Self sufficiency does create a mediocrity situation.

Look at SK. Their KFX & surion is basically a rebadged of stuff from the 70s being procure at way higher cost than this gen stuff like F35 & EC725.

TOT to acquired final assembly tech comes at the cost of far more profitable components contract trade off. Which lead to a situation where MY aerospace industry is 1000% higher than ID.

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Oct 6 2021, 10:08 AM)
And you still failed to understand when comparing ID and MY Aero indusrtry.
Even Honda uses subcon to build parts. Subcon can work if there is order from the parent company, all spesification and dimension parts are given. Even the parent company can set how much gain you can have if not they can find other to build for them.
Even Boeing and Airbus have subcon. Not all part are made by Boeing/airbus

Why you try so hard to compare? You must compare apple to apple then we can talk.
You can compare Boeing and Airbus or Embraer, Fokker, CASA and PT DI.

Sad thing is most major MY defence industries are failing.
Defrech, SMEO, BNS, are failling
Well for every $1 of Chinese export to US. $0.60 is components made in US send to china to do a final assembly point. Then resend back to US

China can banggalah make end product like Xiaomi or geely. But Chinese profit margin are tiny . US being the manufacturer of components & IP owner get high profit margin instead.

Major MY defense contractors are failing because they fail to provide value to our military other than sucking them dry and charge high price for a mediocre product.

TNI acquisition of EC725 is really interesting. Rather then stupidly build a custom heli plant for low yield production that increase the cost substantially. Just build the components domestically & send it to be assembled in France.
darth5zaft
post Oct 6 2021, 11:29 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(TechSuper @ Oct 6 2021, 11:03 AM)
politaik in malaysia tamak. everything also want to line their pocket.
QUOTE(junkyman @ Oct 6 2021, 11:05 AM)
With All Politikus and SONGLAP here, all those plans and talks are but - NATO / Empty talks only !!!!!!!!!!
It was the rakyat own fault really.

Keep voting the same guy into office, for sure that what they would do.
darth5zaft
post Oct 6 2021, 11:52 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(alexz23 @ Oct 6 2021, 11:02 AM)
Our local shipbuilding plan is bad.

we need
1. long term plan.

2. proper watertight contract with no mid way changes.

3. involvement of multiple shipyards, not just BNS.
PT PAL is an example where local shipbuilding was done right.

Even then, hard decisions was made even if it is not publicly mentioned.

For example in 2019-2021 they have planned empty slots for the build of SSV for Philippines and MRSS for Malaysia. But the orders did not materialize.

Indonesian government, rather than leave PT PAL idle, at last minute paid for 2 LPD to be designated as hospital ships. That is what it takes to have ingenious local shipbuilding capability.
Unfortunately, you are getting our priorities wrong in our shipyards strategy.

We are not far off place like china or Korea that need to work hard to survive. They either build ship or they won't be in the maritime sector at all.We live in the middle of trade routes. Most shipyards in MY, Batam & SG specialized in refit, refurbishment & renovations because that's where the money is. PT PAL is far enough away from major trading route that buildings ship is the only way for them to ensure their survival.

Look at RSN acquisition, they are not really learning to design ship from scratch. They want to learn how to retrofitted. The LMV is basically a heavily modified Visby, the JMMV look like a flat top Damen enforcer while their MRCV look like a modification of their current LPD

ST engineering unlike deftech & BNS are not a dick that suck their military dry. They do provide value added service to RSN. The LMV is somewhere in the middle between Visby & arafura. It's give RSN an advantage compared to other off the shelf ship. Does a slightly bigger gowind but weapon are similar & custom weapon on pars give ATM any advantage? Nope! It's just money down the drain.

While BNS is pulling, i want to learn this, this & this and i can build this ,this & this for you. Now give me money RMN then buy my piece of shit that you don't want. ST engineering learn this or that to advance their commercial ship building while BNS doesn't really have any kinds of commercial customers.

darth5zaft
post Oct 6 2021, 08:27 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Oct 6 2021, 11:50 AM)
Looks like Jokowi recently to follow Prabowo's master plan for Indonesia defense as an investment.
Read more: https://m.medcom.id/english/national/Wb74Pg...-defense-policy

Prabowo plan from a January article:
https://en.tempo.co/read/1298981/prabowo-co...m-as-investment
I don't get it?..

Is he's talking about creating domestic military industrial complex or to seek timbang balas from foreign purchase?

18 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.1145sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:42 PM