119 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)

xterminator
post Sep 8 2007, 07:55 AM

=What a small box in here=
793 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Sep 7 2007, 10:43 PM)
Still OK, quite good.

But it also depends on the signal of the DVD  player itself. If you  have DVD player with component output, make sure it's connected via component output. Set it to 480P if possible. The signal will output at 480P and your LCD TV will do the upscale it to it's native resolution.

Don't use the composite AV type connection. It won't be as good.

But better still (assuming you have a 720P LCD TV), buy a HDMI player which can upscale to 720P/1080i. Don't forget to buy a HDMI cable as well. It will be better than component.
Thanks for reply....if I need normal dvd with 5.1, any recommend brand.. rclxms.gif
sunauto
post Sep 8 2007, 09:20 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 7 2007, 06:40 PM)
Want to ask something guys.....If using LCD Tv combine normal dvd player isit ok or blur? Seems many ppl like use hd player
Use an upscaling dvd player with HDMI output for best picture quality.
gsdev
post Sep 8 2007, 09:25 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Sep 7 2007, 03:31 PM)
u should choose sharp when u think to pay RM4000 for it... Im just see the new sharp 100hz in genting yesterday.. Text appear sharper and clearer in 100hz model..
Any more new info on this new sharp 100hz LCD. My projection Philips 43 just broke down again sad.gif . Its the 4th time now since 3 + years.

Thinking of getting the 37 inch LCD... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by gsdev: Sep 8 2007, 09:26 PM
Ngto
post Sep 8 2007, 11:00 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 07:55 AM)
Thanks for reply....if I need normal dvd with 5.1, any recommend brand.. rclxms.gif
I can't recommend normal DVD player because I am currently using Sony HDMI 76H which cost RM560/-. Sorry.

But I have played normal DVD using Sony PS2 connected via Component (480i) to my LG 37" LCD TV. I must say I find it pretty decent. Maybe the upscale by my LG was quite good.

Added on September 8, 2007, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(gsdev @ Sep 8 2007, 09:25 PM)
Any more new info on this new sharp 100hz LCD. My projection Philips 43 just broke down again  sad.gif . Its the 4th time now since 3 + years.

Thinking of getting the 37 inch LCD... hmm.gif
My guess is new things like this will cost a lot initially.

Added on September 8, 2007, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(brabus55 @ Sep 8 2007, 04:23 AM)
new sony D series looks good..but i can't wait to c the new sharp 100hz..theres one 37 inch philips full HD (1920 x 1080) selling for 5499...37PFL7422...
Are you sure about the Philips? How come so cheap for 1080P.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Sep 8 2007, 11:05 PM
xterminator
post Sep 8 2007, 11:09 PM

=What a small box in here=
793 posts

Thanks for replying rclxms.gif
Most Lcd tv, between philips and sharp....which one is better and cheaper? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by xterminator: Sep 8 2007, 11:12 PM
SUSHaiXuan
post Sep 8 2007, 11:18 PM

141 posts

samsung gua..
Ngto
post Sep 8 2007, 11:30 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(xterminator @ Sep 8 2007, 11:09 PM)
Thanks for replying rclxms.gif
Most Lcd tv, between philips and sharp....which one is better and cheaper? icon_question.gif
I don't dare recommend because I don't own them smile.gif

Quite often, when I go to the shops, the displays of the various brands are not evenly connected. One brand might look better than another in one shop, but in another the opposite might happen. It all depends on what sort of demo they are playing and also what type of connection they are using etc. Also depends on the adjustments on the LCD TV itself.

See if any of the sifus here can provide you with better feedback.
brabus55
post Sep 9 2007, 12:29 AM

Validating
205 posts

m very sure bout that..my fren snapped a pic of it..it's 37 inch,that's y it's cheap..
Ngto
post Sep 9 2007, 03:13 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(brabus55 @ Sep 9 2007, 12:29 AM)
m very sure bout that..my fren snapped a pic of it..it's 37 inch,that's y it's cheap..
Then it's really cheap. Some Normal 720P 37" costs close to the price of the Philips 1080P. Other 1080P (above 40") costs RM10,000/- and above.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Sep 9 2007, 03:34 AM
TSgeniuz
post Sep 10 2007, 03:06 PM

402 posts

yesterday I saw new LG Plasma TV at Senq, usual price RM4999 now they got promotion down to RM4299.......

Now the only things is that... which one do i have to choose, Sony LCD 32D300A at RM4499 or LG Plasma 42PC7R at RM4299???
accs_centre
post Sep 10 2007, 03:51 PM

4,840 posts

LG one is not HD ready.. so u maybe can choose 37" at its price
Diademz
post Sep 10 2007, 04:16 PM

Folding@Malaysia needs you!
1,246 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 8 2007, 09:20 PM)
Use an upscaling dvd player with HDMI output for best picture quality.
On my untrained AV eye, even good quality SD DVDs look darn good, tried it on an old Philips and a newer upscaling Pio player with a 40" LCD both on composite video.
apisgogo
post Sep 10 2007, 04:16 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

i use Samsung 32" HD ready LCD TV(1080i) paired with Samsung DVD player (with upscaling capabilities up to 1080i) and the output quality is not much there.

So, im using my laptop connect it to my LCD tv via VGA cable and set it to the TV's native resolution (1366x768) to get 1:1 pixel mapping. I play the dvd or media files thru media player classic and do a heavy ffdshow tweaking. The results is much much far better than using my samsung upscaling dvd player. ver impressive. you need a powerful pc/laptop to tweak ffdshow to the max.

happy 'HD'ing smile.gif

rx330
post Sep 11 2007, 01:45 PM

11,809 posts

phillips full hd 42 incher, 6999
MadZiZ
post Sep 11 2007, 03:11 PM

727 posts

Better get the Pioneer 50" now on sale at Harvey Norman =RM20,000 i think. Damn clear and very much on my WISHlist tongue.gif LOL But cannot afford sad.gif LOL
eye
post Sep 11 2007, 03:22 PM

1,166 posts

get those lcd tvs with 100mhz refresh rate ... they are supposedly the bestest at this stage.
sunauto
post Sep 11 2007, 03:45 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Sep 11 2007, 03:22 PM)
get those lcd tvs with 100mhz refresh rate ... they are supposedly the bestest at this stage.
I guess you're referring to Panasonic's 700 series, Sony Bravia D series and the latest Sharp LCD, all have this double refresh rates. Honestly, it does improve the motion flow of movies and games.
SUSgogo2
post Sep 11 2007, 04:14 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 11 2007, 01:45 PM)
phillips full hd 42 incher, 6999
wow, damn cheap la Philips. Sony is trying to cheat customer by saying Full HD for something that can output 720p/1080i.
htkaki
post Sep 11 2007, 04:35 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

gogo2, is it? I believe there is a mistake since Sony clearly promotes X series as full HD LCD TV. It was also clearly stated in its website.
SUSgogo2
post Sep 11 2007, 05:17 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 11 2007, 04:35 PM)
gogo2, is it? I believe there is a mistake since Sony clearly promotes X series as full HD LCD TV. It was also clearly stated in its website.
For X series I assume the logo is Full HD 1080 gua. For Sony, you need to look out for Full HD 1080 logo instead of just Full HD logo which
I think is very misleading.

Added on September 11, 2007, 5:24 pmAnyway, I go back and read again the Sony Style magazine. It confuse me yesterday.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Sep 11 2007, 05:24 PM

119 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0149sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:49 AM