Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)
sunauto
Sep 26 2007, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(iman_210 @ Sep 26 2007, 04:04 PM) i thought 100hz has no correlation with ghosting? can clarify? ghosting is correlated to response time right? and uhm...dun think below rm3k we can watch 32 inch full hd? so on that persona i might be far from acquiring full hd ones... but at the moment m interested to know whether a 50hz and 100hzz does make a lots of difference... I would say higher refresh rates will mean smoother motion and less eye fatigue. The refresh rates for most pc gaming rigs are around 85HZ (the higher the better) so for LCD tvs sporting 100HZ or 120HZ (PAL) refresh rates, it is a breakthrough and I do feel ghosting is related to response time.
iman_210
Sep 26 2007, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 26 2007, 04:16 PM) I would say higher refresh rates will mean smoother motion and less eye fatigue. The refresh rates for most pc gaming rigs are around 85HZ (the higher the better) so for LCD tvs sporting 100HZ or 120HZ (PAL) refresh rates, it is a breakthrough and I do feel ghosting is related to response time. yup less eye fatigue...thats is correct, smoother and motion...but do we c any difference as to 50hz and 100hz to our naked eye? i dun c it while i was in best denki...
sunauto
Sep 26 2007, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(iman_210 @ Sep 26 2007, 04:26 PM) yup less eye fatigue...thats is correct, smoother and motion...but do we c any difference as to 50hz and 100hz to our naked eye? i dun c it while i was in best denki... Well, for action packed movies, like when King Kong swings and jumps while fighting the dinosaurs, it's smoother with 100hz. I have done A-B comparisons with Sony Bravia D & V series. That is what I feel. You can bring your own disc to test it. Of course, games will benefit the most with 100hz especially Gears Of War, FEAR and GRAW 2.
BuFung
Sep 26 2007, 04:39 PM
when u see 100Hz n 50Hz in CRT.. u can instantly see the different.. the price gap are also huge... 100Hz CRT work like a line doubler... make the big screen(29" above) without the horizontal line which u can see in 50Hz CRT... but in LCD... really significant??
Drian
Sep 26 2007, 04:51 PM
I find it very hard to find reviews on 32 inch lcd (all together in one review benchmarking one another). Do you have links to any site?
This post has been edited by Drian: Sep 26 2007, 04:51 PM
iman_210
Sep 26 2007, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Sep 26 2007, 04:38 PM) Well, for action packed movies, like when King Kong swings and jumps while fighting the dinosaurs, it's smoother with 100hz. I have done A-B comparisons with Sony Bravia D & V series. That is what I feel. You can bring your own disc to test it. Of course, games will benefit the most with 100hz especially Gears Of War, FEAR and GRAW 2. i cant tell its difference... Added on September 26, 2007, 6:41 pmQUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 26 2007, 04:39 PM) when u see 100Hz n 50Hz in CRT.. u can instantly see the different.. the price gap are also huge... 100Hz CRT work like a line doubler... make the big screen(29" above) without the horizontal line which u can see in 50Hz CRT... but in LCD... really significant??  yup i know in a crt dude...but on a lcd? thought response time would double up as less eye fatigue... This post has been edited by iman_210: Sep 26 2007, 06:41 PM
sunauto
Sep 27 2007, 02:40 AM
QUOTE(iman_210 @ Sep 26 2007, 06:39 PM) i cant tell its difference... Added on September 26, 2007, 6:41 pmyup i know in a crt dude...but on a lcd? thought response time would double up as less eye fatigue... Well, you can tell the difference between a normal LCD running at 50 HZ / 60 HZ to one running at 100 HZ / 120 HZ. It's not too hard to spot the differences. Even my mum could spot the difference when we were at a Sony Centre looking at the Bravia S, V & D series. The increased refresh rates do help in reducing motion juddering, most noticeable in a sports game, when the camera pans and zooms. Try again, I'm sure you'll spot the difference. If not, just get a basic LCD will do if you're happy with what you see but for me, I'm aware that it's not the same.
iman_210
Sep 27 2007, 08:27 AM
sweet...will try and check it out with the panning and zooming with sports game bro...tq for the heads up...
jazzy939
Sep 27 2007, 06:06 PM
Just received Jusco pamphlet. What caught my attention is the PANASONIC TX-32LX70MK, with 'free 5 year warranty, free HDMI cable+ 'watch' is going for RM2,999.00. Is this a good deal?
zhuan97
Sep 27 2007, 06:10 PM

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 27 2007, 06:06 PM) Just received Jusco pamphlet. What caught my attention is the PANASONIC TX-32LX70MK, with 'free 5 year warranty, free HDMI cable+ 'watch' is going for RM2,999.00. Is this a good deal? suggest u wait for Panasonic TX-32LX75MK @ RM2999, will be arriving soon (as i heard from Pana sales person) - IPS-alpha LCD Panel - 7,000:1 Contrast I went to Panasonic Dealer Shop yesterady to have a look on Panasonic TX-32LX700MK, picture and sound quality quite impressive. the boss sell this model for RM3880 cash, and RM4075 instalment. anyone have experience to compare both Panasonic TX-32LX700MK & Sharp LC32A53M side by side? This post has been edited by zhuan97: Sep 28 2007, 10:34 AM
vex
Oct 2 2007, 09:30 PM
http://www.mbfxtremedeals.com/CNSCustomer/Home.dombf sell on Panasonic TX-32LX70MK for just rm 1999, good deal ? I thinking to buy 1, but i guess this is old model, right ?
sunauto
Oct 3 2007, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(zhuan97 @ Sep 27 2007, 06:10 PM) suggest u wait for Panasonic TX-32LX75MK @ RM2999, will be arriving soon (as i heard from Pana sales person) - IPS-alpha LCD Panel - 7,000:1 Contrast I went to Panasonic Dealer Shop yesterady to have a look on Panasonic TX-32LX700MK, picture and sound quality quite impressive. the boss sell this model for RM3880 cash, and RM4075 instalment. anyone have experience to compare both Panasonic TX-32LX700MK & Sharp LC32A53M side by side? The Panasonic TX-32LX700MK doesn't have very deep blacks, dark scenes looked greyish and colours are not as vivid as Samsung R8 or Sony Brave V / D series but if you like a panel which is more neutral and tonned down, this might be the one for you but for myself, I prefer something bright with strong colours.
w_arifsh
Oct 6 2007, 01:06 PM

i vote for toshiba.hehe
vex
Oct 6 2007, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Oct 3 2007, 10:31 AM) The Panasonic TX-32LX700MK doesn't have very deep blacks, dark scenes looked greyish and colours are not as vivid as Samsung R8 or Sony Brave V / D series but if you like a panel which is more neutral and tonned down, this might be the one for you but for myself, I prefer something bright with strong colours. i think becos of IPS panel, the dark is not so great compare to PVA panel. this is common disadvantage of IPS panel, but the color reproduction for IPS is better than PVA alot.
sunauto
Oct 7 2007, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(vex @ Oct 6 2007, 01:19 PM) i think becos of IPS panel, the dark is not so great compare to PVA panel. this is common disadvantage of IPS panel, but the color reproduction for IPS is better than PVA alot. IPS has better viewing angles and richer colours but for deeper blacks, S-PVA panels will win by a bigger margin. Both panels have their pros and cons.
alvincks
Oct 9 2007, 10:21 PM
how to we know if the panel is IPS or S-PVA ? what are the model and brand fall into respective panel ?
myKent
Oct 10 2007, 03:20 PM

Philips 32TA2800, RM2399 @ carrefour sri petaling. Commonly knowing that the best quality for astro so far compared to other LCD TV. Even though the spec is not as good as Sony KLV-32S310, but it's cheaper and look nice in astro. U can check out with the sales promoter..it's famous.
Drian
Oct 10 2007, 03:26 PM
I'm using the R7 samsung and it looks good.
sunauto
Oct 11 2007, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(alvincks @ Oct 9 2007, 10:21 PM) how to we know if the panel is IPS or S-PVA ? what are the model and brand fall into respective panel ? IPS panels normally used by LG, Philips, Panasonic and Hitachi (not all models lah, the higher end models use IPS panels). S-PVA mostly used by Sony or Samsung (selected models only).
hspace
Oct 13 2007, 01:32 PM
I've been looking at 32" LCDs too for a few days, only chanced upon this thread.
If it helps, trustedreviews.com has reviews of the 100Hz 32-inchers from Panasonic (the 700MK), JVC (don't think available in Malaysia yet) and Sharp (the A53 Aquos).
The Sharp's 100Mhz processor is too aggressive, resulting in "shimmering edge" effects. The Panasonic's 100Mhz processor, even though it's older, produces better results and is highly rated by trustedreviews.com.
PS I just found out there is a both 70MK and 700MK.. just one digit difference but very difference in price and performance!