Koi Pond, Any Koi Lover here??

moe81
post Jan 31 2012, 03:35 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Jan 31 2012, 02:27 PM)
bro moe, what a fantastic house u got, btw regarding the pond.. have you soak your pond for a month before you start cycling.. ? just remember to check your ph before u add in new fish.. normally new concrete/cement pond will have high ph.. then it will gradually decrease after some time with water change. you should have made your pond bigger haha, since your temperature there should be lower and its ideal for keepng japanese koi. and just a precaution, those stone/gravels on the bottom of the pond.. it will be troublesome in future if u decide to keep fish. they have a forum at (koianswers . com ) malaysian & singaporean base , alot koi kichis can help you out and give you suggestions
Thanks Heng.

the pond has been soaked, washed with pineapple, soaked and washed again several times. will definately do the ph test. but so far there's 3 tester tilapia(hardy) in the big pond, some swordtails and guppies and mollies in the fountain. they all seem to be doin fine.

made the pond bigger? hmm, it's a bit tricky. if u see carefully, the fountain and the river is directly above my basement carpark. we have about almost one feet of soil there just for the grass. The pond just clears the carpark. and beside the pond there another tank underground measuring 8 by 8 feet by depth 3 feet. this tank is a reservoir for mountain water for the sprinkler system.

Well, here's the thing. though i'm into fish keeping but i didn't quite intend that for this pond. the idea is, the pond is the main thing, not the fish. the fish is only to accesorise the pond. i'm probably gonna put 3 kois and 2 kelahs maybe. that's the max i would go. so u get the idea. smile.gif

i'll definately look into the forum. and besides, what's kichis? unsure.gif
ShadowR1
post Jan 31 2012, 06:05 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,880 posts

Hi ppl,

I have just acquired a batch of imported mix a little of local kois, all in there are 60 pcs and I am letting some of them below market price, they range from 12" to more than 2 feet long.

http://youtu.be/9S399TMl4zs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvoJPfxViQY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkuvmEkHHBM

I can be contacted @
017-3386080
mikepkw@gmail.com
lily64my
post Feb 4 2012, 09:06 PM

132 posts

nice koi fish you may try to find at taman desa....they are gorgeous! big koi ponds there
ChingChong
post Feb 12 2012, 12:19 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Jan 31 2012, 06:05 PM)
Hi ppl,

I have just acquired a batch of imported mix a little of local kois, all in there are 60 pcs and I am letting some of them below market price, they range from 12" to more than 2 feet long.

http://youtu.be/9S399TMl4zs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvoJPfxViQY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkuvmEkHHBM

I can be contacted @
017-3386080
mikepkw@gmail.com
price on fish plz
scorps
post Aug 31 2013, 12:58 PM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

anyone please shared your story on koi fish and koi pond or something related to koi ..
please biggrin.gif
dezs8818
post Sep 4 2013, 09:53 AM

15 posts

introducing our new product to help in water maintenance and fish health

King of Soils are among the highest and richest natural form of mineral elements on earth. Imperial earth contains of no less than 67 minerals and these minerals are essential to the functions of organs and reproduction of enzymes in the body.

Benefits
•Improves water quality and clarity, thus reducing the need for water change
•Re-mineralize water as minerals are slowly dissolved into the water through ION exchange
•Neutralize harmful bacteria
•Aids fish digestion, improving overall health condition of fish if mix with food.
•Improves skin/scale luster and color of fishes

kensoO0
post Sep 5 2013, 06:19 PM

44 posts

Kois are nice. But I do not understand why some shops priced them super high. So far with zebra danios, they seem to co exist quite well. Unlike guppies which disappear eventually.
Atarikoi
post Nov 1 2014, 09:49 PM

hey guys, if you looking for japanese koi fish, you may visit us , new koi fish coming in next sat, you can book and reserve your feng shui koi @ https://www.facebook.com/atarikoitropicana or log on to our website for more information www.atarikoi.com.my
kesbe
post Feb 11 2015, 03:08 PM

hi guys,
i very new here need to ask few question urgently. i have few koi fish, one of them scale drop, then i ask some shop they recommend s1. so is good??
after i put in tank the fish become inactive, small fish halfdead.
pls help.
TSmamril
post Feb 11 2015, 04:19 PM

128 posts

better isolate your sick one and treat it first, the release it back to your pond
thahirah
post Mar 23 2015, 11:42 AM

276 posts

Hi Guys,
I'm a koi pond lover here. My pond has a dozen of local koi, 2 gold fish, one albino Oscar, two dozen small guppies…yeah it’s a jungle 
I had a problem with a badly designed pond which made the filter unmaintainable as per picture below, the water just splash down in the middle of the space before falling out of two waterfall hole.

As any aquarist would know, filter system and filter maintenance is the first thing to think about when having a pond. I didn’t do any calculation or whatsoever regarding the filter requirement per gallon of my pond.
But after some brain storming, I came up with a fiber sump filter to put in the space behind the pond. You can get this fiber sump filter at aquarium shops in jalan pasar or eng hin aquatics in Taman Bolton. I did a custom fiber job from kedah because I stumbled on the readily available fiber sump after I already paid for the order tongue.gif lol but no regrets as the custom job is way sturdier then the one I saw in shops and the size fits the space behind my pond nicely. The size is 3.5ft, 1ft, 1ft.

See self-explanatory pictures below, I put k1 in the first compartment as it floats and a standing sponge filter, this is to trap all the dirt and waste, it will then flow through downwards on typical coral, bio ring and some rocks. In the last compartment I put carbon bags just to absorb all the ammonia and smell from water. There is also a UV light to kill all those floating algae, as my pond receive direct sunlight, most area in pond is covered by algae, that type of algae is no problem, the problem is with floating algae that makes your water green and murky. UV light is a must for direct sunlight pond unless you don’t have too much fish.

I gave a lot of thought to this design, as the sump will be submerged by 19cm or water depth to the waterfall outlet, hence there will be some backflow water to think about, so there is two (2 in) outlet in last compartment, and I raised the sump filter by putting some brick under it. This is to make sure the pressure in the sump higher than the one outside. So water can easily flow out.
Sometimes to repair a faulty pond is way harder than to design one properly before start. I have encountered so many ponds that have green, murky water..it all usually boils down to filtering system.
Water is very clear now smile.gif
Feel free to comment 

This post has been edited by thahirah: Mar 23 2015, 12:58 PM
TSmamril
post Mar 23 2015, 01:55 PM

128 posts

nice one rclxms.gif rclxms.gif , hope to have more picture being shared here icon_idea.gif
thahirah
post Mar 23 2015, 02:11 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(mamril @ Mar 23 2015, 01:55 PM)
nice one  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif , hope to have more picture being shared here  icon_idea.gif
Hows your pond now?

After filter installation my water is crystal clear lol...at night when bukak lampu can see all fish smile.gif

Some reading on the net says at first it will be clear, after 2 weeks cloudy, then clear back.
TSmamril
post Mar 23 2015, 04:10 PM

128 posts

mine after i seek proper "know-how" guru, Alhamdulillah much better. My only problem now is that my water pump is getting older already, so happens that sometimes when there's a power shortage or blackout, the water pump cannot start itself. Need some manual intervention sad.gif

lost a few of my fish due to this during festive season.
zgtern
post Jan 19 2016, 06:28 PM

84 posts

are those small fishes that feeding arowana koi fish?
TSmamril
post Jan 20 2016, 10:27 AM

128 posts

yup, baby koi, low grade one
jingwen07
post Jan 22 2016, 12:39 AM

Hi, any of you using automatic food dispenser for your kois? Leaving for CNY soon and need to find a way to feed my babies!
zgtern
post Feb 26 2016, 04:29 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(jingwen07 @ Jan 22 2016, 12:39 AM)
Hi, any of you using automatic food dispenser for your kois? Leaving for CNY soon and need to find a way to feed my babies!
Aquatic plants
zgtern
post Feb 26 2016, 04:32 PM

84 posts

Let's talk about Koi crossbreed goldfish.
I'm concern that those RM5 Koi are cross breed with goldfish (those goldfish that feed Arowana)

Why is RM5 koi so cheap? I'm comparing with some A4 or AAA grade RM15-30
To me, i bought both, it looks the same. & some of my RM5 even looks prettier than those RM20++
thahirah
post Feb 26 2016, 04:56 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(zgtern @ Feb 26 2016, 04:32 PM)
Let's talk about Koi crossbreed goldfish.
I'm concern that those RM5 Koi are cross breed with goldfish (those goldfish that feed Arowana)

Why is RM5 koi so cheap? I'm comparing with some A4 or AAA grade RM15-30
To me, i bought both, it looks the same. & some of my RM5 even looks prettier than those RM20++
Regarding animal always like that bruh....
If your pond is small, normal pudu breed good enough

Japanese kois makes a real difference when they are big, well taken care off.
they are also more "jinak" local koi can also be trained but not as easy.
Same with cats, overseas cat act cuter/smarter then kampung cats, probability speaking lah

Biggest mistake as an pond owner, is having itchy fingers in adding fish...cant stop buying stuff to "experiment"
it the end your pond filter cant handle the bio load.

This does not happen with cats for me...as taking care of one is a big commitment itself hahaha

choose depend on your wallet.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:20 PM