7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Anyone know about foreign FD?

SUSTOS
post Jan 26 2023, 09:20 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 26 2023, 07:22 AM)
What kind of risks? I am am not planning to take back these money. It's main purpose is to hedge with a high interest rate as bonus.
QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jan 26 2023, 07:55 AM)
Default and counter party risks
Ya as what xander says, the same reason why RHB, MBSB, Affin bank in MY offers better rates than the big and larger ones like Public/Maybank.

The difference is more pronounced in the Singapore side since the local banks are "really" safe. Kiasu kiasi Sporeans won't easily move money into MY banks after their 1998 AFC lesson. tongue.gif

Of course one can always argue the deposits are insured anyway (the smaller banks like CIMB SG will pay higher premium for their bank deposits insurance than DBS/UOB/OCBC). But the market prices them as riskier still.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jan 26 2023, 09:23 AM
SUSTOS
post Jan 27 2023, 09:36 AM

8,667 posts

RHB SG Cecil Branch opening special SGD FD promo:

https://rhbgroup.com.sg/rhb/personal/cecilopening

4.28% p.a. 12 month, 20k SGD minimum, "free" 1 RHB Ang Pao Pouch for FD placement S$50,000 and above. Limited to 1 Ang Bao Pouch per customer.

(While stocks last)
SUSTOS
post Jan 27 2023, 01:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 25 2023, 07:53 PM)
If you mean RHB MCA in Malaysia, then you need to be aware of FX spread charged by RHB. There are 2 options I recall. One is without debit card, and the spread is somewhere around 5% and you don't need to pay any annual card fee. The second option comes with debit card, annual fee RM 20, but spread from interbank rate is lower at 0.5-0.6%.

As for potenial risks. The 2 biggest risks are FX risk and regulatory risk. FX risk is obvious as USD may depreciate against MYR during your deposit tenure, even though the rates paid are higher. (The forward currency market already shows this is the case). The second risk is less obvious because we aren't close to depleting FX reserve anytime soon. But your USD FD is considered part of BNM's foreign reserve and is at the mercy of BNM's foreign exchange rules. If Malaysia runs out of USD to pay importers, your USD FD is obviously the first in line to be "sacrificed". Singaporeans learnt that the hard way during the CLOB saga which happened in the midst of the Asian Financial Crisis. https://www.singaporememory.sg/contents/SMA...98-35b268e0ab4d

The only funny thing about foreign currency FD in Malaysia is that is it protected under PIDM, which is very unusual for Eurocurrency markets. In Singapore, USD, CHF etc deposits at Singapore banks are not insured as is the case in London and New York etc.   
Surely have to be higher since it's riskier. tongue.gif
An example happening in real life right now in Pakistan: https://www.sinchew.com.my/20230127/%e5%b7%...b4%a9%e6%bd%b0/

Foreign enterprises and airlines have difficulties bring USD out of Pakistan. Goods pile up in ports as importers run out of USD to pay them.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jan 27 2023, 01:35 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 4 2023, 08:51 AM

8,667 posts

OCBC SGD FD 8 month 4.08%, min 20k SGD.

Source: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-146109305
SUSTOS
post Feb 4 2023, 10:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 4 2023, 11:37 AM)
I just had an idea. Foreign FDs in Malaysia generally have high interest rates, but not really favourable to us because we need to exchange MYR to foreign currency at bad FX rate. Eg right now USD 12 month FD rate at CIMB MY is 5.3%.

However I just noticed that CIMB MY foreign deposit account does allow deposit via TT/Swift

Also, it is possible to send USD or EUR direct to Malaysian bank account from Wise, via TT/Swift. It won't be instant, takes several days. (Only these two currencies available to send to Malaysia this way). In the app, Wise told me that it would cost USD2.90 extra.

As far as I understand, the only MYR to USD conversion using CIMB rate, that is required as per cimb website is the initial deposit of RM10,000.

If cimb can accept directly USD from Wise via TT/Swift, then I think it's really worthwhile to do it. Inward remittance fee at CIMB MY is also 0, just like CIMB SG. Other costs would probably the other additional TT costs charged by intermediaries etc.

What about transferring out? Say to Wise USD cash balance. Any charges?

Banks usually advertise 0 fees for receiving TT monies, but they usually don't tell you the intermediary correspondent banks will charge 10-35 USD per transfer. tongue.gif

Your SG friends learnt that the hard way and is now grumbling. https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-146097120

I also learnt that the hard way too... a few months back... Can anyone confirm that Wise will cover the correspondent bank charges? (I don't think so personally.)

SUSTOS
post Feb 4 2023, 10:41 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Feb 4 2023, 10:32 PM)
Here you go and fyi, wise MY account can only do Ringgit transfer ... So if someone sent you USD, you need yo convert into ringgit ...

If you converted USD into your wise USD account, you cannot transfer out to someone abroad except yourself
So assume I placed Eurodollar deposits at say, CIMB MY, following Gray's advice earlier. After maturity, I withdraw to Wise (via TT? -> which would mean 10-30 USD charge per transfer). Then when USD reach Wise, forced to convert to MYR (lose another 0.5-0.6% compared to interbank rate).

Assuming from here, I would like to continue with my journey to IBKR to buy US shares. That means from the forced MYR, I need to convert back to USD again (lose yet another 0.5-0.6% vs interbank rate), then direct ACH to IBKR (free of charge, USD appear in IBKR cash balance 1 day later).

That sounds like a lot of friction costs...
SUSTOS
post Feb 4 2023, 11:51 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Feb 4 2023, 11:48 PM)
According to Wise. It will only charge USD2.90 for transferring USD to countries outside US. I tried input the transfer inside my wise app, and it shows only USD2.90 additional cost.

https://wise.com/help/articles/2946451/send...-outside-the-us
If you read further down the page with the link you posted:

When we predict that no correspondent fees will be charged, we only charge a sending fee of 2.90 USD. When we predict that some fees will be charged, we charge 14 USD.

tongue.gif

Just FYI. Maybe the actual amount is lesser.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 4 2023, 11:51 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 11 2023, 04:11 PM

8,667 posts

Business Time Singapore: Singaporeans flock to foreign currency to lock in top interest rates

FRI, FEB 10, 2023 - 06:07 PM UPDATED FRI, FEB 10, 2023 - 7:25 PM

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-...-interest-rates

(No paywall)
SUSTOS
post Feb 13 2023, 01:59 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Feb 13 2023, 01:48 PM)
Anyone knows whether one can uplift/withdraw DBS (SG) eFD on the maturity date itself (like local Malaysian eFD)?
I have my first DBS eFD maturing today and the interests credited to my saving account today but the principal is still intact in the FD account (showing same maturity date).
Unfortunately I don't remember which of the following maturity instructions I opted for when I placed the eFD:
1) Credit interests and principal to saving account
2) Credit interests to saving account and renew the principal at the same tenor
3) Renew the interests+principal at the same tenor.

Do I have to wait until tomorrow, i.e. maturity+1 day to see the update?
You can change or check maturity settings prior to maturity date.

If the maturity date is today you should be able to see the money credited back to your designated account by now, otherwise check if the money is still in the FD account. In your case, most likely the principal is auto-renewed.

You can try to uplift today, check the penalty fees (it should show up before you actually uplift) and share with us, if any. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 13 2023, 04:21 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 13 2023, 04:25 PM

8,667 posts

DBS still have a "secret" onshore SGD FD ongoing.

4.88% P.A. 3-MTH S$FD ($20K - $1M) (not a typo, it's 4.88)

Promo code SR1B

Source: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-146257720

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 13 2023, 04:44 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 18 2023, 02:32 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Nutbeater69 @ Feb 18 2023, 02:31 AM)
Possible for Malaysian to have DBS?
Definitely yes, if you have work/study passes (no need to be permanent, 6 month valid work holiday pass is more than sufficient, for instance) or willing to cough up 10-50k SGD for bancassurance or mutual fund products locked up for 5-8 years.

Depends on luck if you just want to keep your money in saving accounts/fixed deposits as these are low-margin business lines for Spore banks.

You can consult and discuss further here with other members who recently had experience with attempts of opening DBS account in SG: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1440794/+4500

The most recent experiences shared are that you will be contacted with RMs hungry to sell you bancassurance or mutual fund products...

SUSTOS
post Feb 18 2023, 06:26 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Nutbeater69 @ Feb 18 2023, 06:19 PM)
I'm only interested with FD and im not a worker in SG. still possible?
Tough.

You can try. But most recently, 2 trials below yielded nothing.

1. This is from 8th Feb 2023.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=106547497

OP ran across 3 branches but was pushed for bancassurance products/mutual funds

-------------------------

2. Another earlier trial on Dec 8 2022 morning from another member in this forum. (He PMed me about his experience in the afternoon around 2pm) , his experience was similar.

Hi.

I went to MBFC today. They denied me account opening as they no longer open account for ppl without EP. Then I received a call from DBS call centre telling me that it’s possible if I talk to the investment and wealth planning manager. I went back and talked to them, they referred me to a relationship manager who then tried to sell me unit trusts and savings plans. If I bought any of these, he’s willing to open a normal savings acc for me. 😞

He didn’t give me any brochures but when I asked what amount he’s talking about, he said 30k to 50k.

The regular savings plan means you have to save like 30k every year for 5 years. No withdrawal is allowed. It’s like savings plan offered by insurance companies. Return is like 3.42% according to him.

This post has been edited by TOS: Feb 18 2023, 06:26 PM
SUSTOS
post Feb 20 2023, 12:59 PM

8,667 posts

HKD onshore promo FD, from 香港明报 Money Monday 200223:

SUSTOS
post Feb 24 2023, 12:53 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Feb 24 2023, 12:31 AM)
Promo tactic. Check the markup on the SGD.MYR FX rates first. laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Mar 3 2023, 11:22 AM

8,667 posts

Article on onshore HKD FD by 香港明报 030323. (No paywall)

https://finance.mingpao.com/fin/daily/20230...%88%a9%e7%8e%87

SUSTOS
post Mar 3 2023, 12:56 PM

8,667 posts

To halt asset outflow, Credit Suisse is offering HNWIs 6.5% p.a. 3-month USD FD and 7% p.a. 1-year USD FD.

Minimum deposit 5 million USD. The rates are about 100-200 bps (1-2% p.a.) higher than Asian regional competitors like JP Morgan, UBS and Citi.

https://www.sinchew.com.my/20230303/%e7%91%...87%ba%e8%b5%b0/

SUSTOS
post Mar 5 2023, 01:28 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 4 2023, 01:02 PM)
CS is having lots of problems,.. I wouldn't put into their FD.
https://www.reuters.com/business/finance/cr...ces-2023-03-02/

The new deposit rates are higher than Credit Suisse's lending rates in Asia, one of the two sources said, adding that it raises concerns about how the business can sustain such a funding gap.

The third source said the offers are valid until the end of this quarter and only apply to new cash deposits, not to existing portfolios.

First time I hear banks offer deposit rates higher than lending rates lol
SUSTOS
post Mar 8 2023, 09:45 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 13 2023, 04:25 PM)
DBS still have a "secret" onshore SGD FD ongoing.

4.88% P.A. 3-MTH S$FD ($20K - $1M) (not a typo, it's 4.88)

Promo code SR1B

Source: https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-146257720
So, DBS honors the 4.88% FD. Congrats to those lucky guys! biggrin.gif

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/...#post-146595210

SUSTOS
post Mar 11 2023, 02:54 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(cutepony @ Mar 11 2023, 02:52 PM)
Does Singapore bank still use SMS for online verifications or has they switched over to app?
DBS, CIMB SG and Maybank SG all use app although Maybank SG has SMS TAC option available as well.
SUSTOS
post Mar 16 2023, 03:15 PM

8,667 posts

All SG bank rates going down.

RHB: https://rhbgroup.com.sg/rhb/personal/fixed-deposit-campaign

HLB: https://www.hlbank.com.sg/en/personal-banki...it-account.html

SC: https://www.sc.com/sg/save/time-deposits/si...r-time-deposit/

UOB even secretly removed their 12-month offer lol

https://www.uob.com.sg/personal/save/fixed-...ed-deposit.page

Or you may consider "short-term endowment" by DBS:

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/insurance/e.../savvyendowment