I guess it will work like this :

Cash deposit machine -> MYR savings/current -> FCA via Internet banking

A lot better than faxing letters smile.gif
Yes. Something like that smile.gif

nokia2003
post Apr 1 2010, 07:39 PM

5,786 posts

but UK interest rates are (quite) pathetic.

i'm only getting a few pences per month as interest for an online saver of mine (which used to boost the best rates amongst its competitor)
Syd G
post Apr 1 2010, 07:52 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 1 2010, 07:39 PM)
but UK interest rates are (quite) pathetic.

i'm only getting a few pences per month as interest for an online saver of mine (which used to boost the best rates amongst its competitor)
Not doing it for interest. Just buying GBP while they're @ 4.9 smile.gif
nokia2003
post Apr 1 2010, 08:01 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 1 2010, 07:52 PM)
Not doing it for interest. Just buying GBP while they're @ 4.9 smile.gif
fair enough.

i have about a few hundred quids there. not sure when i should withdraw it out though

the interest earned cannot outrun the annual inflationary rates hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 1 2010, 08:05 PM
Syd G
post Apr 1 2010, 08:06 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 1 2010, 08:01 PM)
fair enough.

i have about a few hundred quids there. not sure when i should withdraw it out though 

the interest earned cannot outrun the annual inflationary rates hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Exchange rate is quite bad now so you'll lose more than inflation rates smile.gif
nokia2003
post Apr 1 2010, 08:16 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 1 2010, 08:06 PM)
Exchange rate is quite bad now so you'll lose more than inflation rates smile.gif
LOL. i have been contemplating that like, i reckon since three years ago?

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 1 2010, 08:17 PM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 2 2010, 12:01 AM

52,874 posts

With RM get strengthen, GBP and EUR are dropping.

I think it's not a good investment tool to play with as of now.
nokia2003
post Apr 2 2010, 12:04 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 2 2010, 12:01 AM)

if you need it for education, despite it being high or low, you will still need to purchase the said currency

such a great burden on our parents =[
MilesAndMore
post Apr 2 2010, 12:15 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 2 2010, 12:01 AM)

It kind of is a good time to buy GBP and EUR now as it's cheap. Outlook for RM is good for the short-term but not so encouraging for the long-term.

SUSDavid83
post Apr 3 2010, 12:00 AM

52,874 posts

I agree on that statement since both of them are cheap. If you have extra money to spare, why not especially if you're planning for education or Europe trip.

For investment of FCFD wise, one needs to be extra careful. Unless you're good forex trader.
Syd G
post Apr 3 2010, 09:13 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I'm leaning towards HSBC now. Any experience with CIMB, Citibank, RHB, EONbank and the rest guys? smile.gif
dARKaNGEl
post Apr 25 2010, 08:59 PM

Just another helping hand
1,368 posts

I have done a simple comparison between a few banks myself.
I compared among public bank, cimb, uob, hong leong, and ocbc.

among all, hong leong seems to give the highest FCFD rates but UOB forex rates is the best in terms of them selling and buying.
however the difference between UOB and HL forex rate is just 0.3% different for both selling and buying.
From this, I think i will go for HL. But they need u to deposit at least RM8K
wodenus
post Apr 25 2010, 09:17 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 21 2010, 04:18 PM)
And yes, just like private banking, you'll get a personal banker guarding your account.

More likely trying to sell you investment plans.

Any queries related to your account you can just ring up your personal banker.

Who's really just a salesperson.

The problem with AUD is that when anything goes wrong with the global economy, investors will all be dumping AUD and buy more USD.

Why?

Added on April 25, 2010, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Apr 25 2010, 08:59 PM)
I have done a simple comparison between a few banks myself.
I compared among public bank, cimb, uob, hong leong, and ocbc.

among all, hong leong seems to give the highest FCFD rates but UOB forex rates is the best in terms of them selling and buying.
however the difference between UOB and HL forex rate is just 0.3% different for both selling and buying.
From this, I think i will go for HL. But they need u to deposit at least RM8K
Be careful of forced conversion.

This post has been edited by wodenus: Apr 25 2010, 09:21 PM
MilesAndMore
post Apr 25 2010, 09:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 25 2010, 09:17 PM)
More likely trying to sell you investment plans.

Not really. One of the best things of becoming a mass affluent customer of a bank is to get many bank fees waived. There will always be this and that new investments from time to time and it is up to the individual whether or not he or she wants to invest in it. Some RM will not even call you because they know you are not interested in any investment products.

wodenus
post Apr 25 2010, 09:58 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 25 2010, 09:39 PM)
Not really. One of the best things of becoming a mass affluent customer of a bank is to get many bank fees waived.

Are there really that many bank fees?

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 25 2010, 09:39 PM)
There will always be this and that new investments from time to time and it is up to the individual whether or not he or she wants to invest in it. Some RM will not even call you because they know you are not interested in any investment products.

Ever tried to get an RM to actually do any work? Suppose I were to say, "please write a summary (including recommendations and justifications) of any current and future investment plans and email them to me" do you think that would be done? I think you won't have a personal RM regardless of the amount of money you have, it would be like having your own OC-3 line in a data center wouldn't it?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Apr 25 2010, 10:16 PM
niel
post Apr 25 2010, 10:05 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 25 2010, 09:58 PM)
Ever tried to get an RM to actually do any work? Suppose I were to say, "please write a summary (including recomendations and justifications) of any current and future investment plans and email them to me" do you think that would be done? I think you won't have a personal RM regardless of the amount of money you have, it would be like having your own OC-3 line in a data center wouldn't it?
OT : True enough. I recently opted for HSBC Premier and the RM causes additional troubles to me due to wrong info provided. I end up had to make 2 separate trip to the bank and yet they couldn't get it right. I am going to make another trip there tomorrow, if the RM still screws thing up, I will say bye bye to HSBC.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 26 2010, 12:05 AM

9,301 posts

No minimum balance fee in our current account, free ATM card with unlimited withdrawal. Standard Chartered Priority Banking VISA debit card even offers free unlimited cash withdrawals via any House ATM network. Offshore banking services are provided free too without having to meet the minimum balance criteria just to name a few.

Ever tried to get an RM to actually do any work? Suppose I were to say, "please write a summary (including recommendations and justifications) of any current and future investment plans and email them to me" do you think that would be done? I think you won't have a personal RM regardless of the amount of money you have, it would be like having your own OC-3 line in a data center wouldn't it?
There are good apples and bad apples ... Depends on your luck i guess. As mentioned, Premier/Citigold/Priority Banking services are the ultra-light version of Private Banking. The main perks are to get some banks fees waived, no need to fill in your own forms, no need to take number etc.

wodenus
post Apr 26 2010, 12:10 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 26 2010, 12:05 AM)
No minimum balance fee in our current account

If you had 150mil, there probably wouldn't be a min balance fee in the first place.

free ATM card with unlimited withdrawal.

Already have that.

Standard Chartered Priority Banking VISA debit card even offers free unlimited cash withdrawals via any House ATM network.

There can't be that many ATMs in that network.

Offshore banking services are provided free too without having to meet the minimum balance criteria just to name a few.

He would have met the minimum criteria anyway. Besides, what's so attractive about offshore banking?

The main perks are to get some banks fees waived

Not that there are a whole lot of fees.

no need to fill in your own forms

Can't remember the last time I filled in a form at the bank.

no need to take number etc.

Can't remember the last time I took a number at the bank either. Most of the time all our transactions are online or through a machine. If there's a form to be filled, most of the time it's filled in by the staff.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 26 2010, 12:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 26 2010, 12:10 PM)
If you had 150mil, there probably wouldn't be a min balance fee in the first place.

Then that person is qualified for Citi Private Banking, JP Morgan Chase etc. He/she won't even look at this ultra-light private banking services. And these extremely wealthy people can be very stingy too. Just look at the complaints US Trusts received when a rumor started to circulate last year that they are going to charge their customers for using non-Bank of America ATM in the United States.

By the way, i believe many businessmen have millions of Ringgit in local banks current accounts and the minimum balance fee still apply.

There can't be that many ATMs in that network.

Still, it's something that their customers can take advantage of. There will soon be more HSBC Amanah offsite ATM ...

He would have met the minimum criteria anyway. Besides, what's so attractive about offshore banking?

Plenty ! Else why do you think many Malaysians have offshore bank accounts ? Malaysians make up a big number of Citi IPB London clients and in order not to pay any relationship fee, one will have to maintain a daily balance of at least US$100,000 in their Citi IPB London account.

US$100,000 might seems like a tiny number to some of you but not everyone have that kind of cash flow all the time. HSBC Premier can help those people seeking for offshore banking services and all relationship fees will be waived !

Not that there are a whole lot of fees.

Still, one will want to save as much as possible. Just like the case with US Trusts extremely wealthy clients.

Can't remember the last time I filled in a form at the bank.
Can't remember the last time I took a number at the bank either.

You have not been into the branch in a very long time i suppose ? Maybank, CIMB Bank and RHB Bank practically force you to fill up the forms first before allowing you to take a number. Public Bank suggests you to fill in the forms first before taking a number but then it's just a suggestion and they are not enforcing it. AmBank on the other hand, no longer requires its customers to fill in any forms since last year.

Other forms that you may not have to fill in yourself are the loan application forms, credit card application forms etc as your RM will help you.

Most of the time all our transactions are online or through a machine. If there's a form to be filled, most of the time it's filled in by the staff.
Not everyone relies on automated banking machines only. Many still actually go into the branch to do whatever they need to do.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 26 2010, 12:34 PM
wodenus
post Apr 26 2010, 02:20 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 26 2010, 12:33 PM)
By the way, i believe many businessmen have millions of Ringgit in local banks current accounts and the minimum balance fee still apply.

True, but doesn't change the fact that they're offering to waive a fee that wouldn't have to be paid in the first place smile.gif

Still, it's something that their customers can take advantage of.

For what it's worth smile.gif

There will soon be more HSBC Amanah offsite ATM ...

Ok.

Plenty ! Else why do you think many Malaysians have offshore bank accounts ?

I don't know, you tell me smile.gif

You have not been into the branch in a very long time i suppose ? Maybank, CIMB Bank and RHB Bank practically force you to fill up the forms first before allowing you to take a number. Public Bank suggests you to fill in the forms first before taking a number but then it's just a suggestion and they are not enforcing it. AmBank on the other hand, no longer requires its customers to fill in any forms since last year.

So it follows that you should bank with AmBank.

Other forms that you may not have to fill in yourself are the loan application forms

It's better that way, you're going to have to check them anyway.

credit card application forms

If you qualify you'll have one sent to you.

Not everyone relies on automated banking machines only. Many still actually go into the branch to do whatever they need to do.

I can't imagine why anyone would do that.

53 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:19 AM