Anyone know about foreign FD?

nokia2003
post Mar 14 2010, 07:18 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Mar 12 2010, 07:20 PM)
I'm thinking of hedging against the ringgit too but I have no knowledge about this. Still haven't got time to read through this thread.

May I know how you're going to do that? Through local banks?  hmm.gif
erm you have siblings/relatives, who is currently studying in the australia (and you do trust them), you can entrust them with your money.

some perks to that:

1. you have the full liberty to choose the local australian bank, preferred. for example, citibank australia is currently offering a whopping, massive 5.88% p.a. for the first 6 months (and bear in mind, that this is not a term deposit/FD). oh another example, bankwest at 5.51% and so forth.

2. students typically do not work, exceeding AUD6000 per financial year and hence your interest earned will not be taxed.

3. related to (2) above, each resident (including students) hold a tax file number (TFN). without this TFN, your interest earned will automatically be taxed at 50%. hence using this scenario, if you open a bank account from malaysia, using the HSBC premier service for instance, you will be taxed at this rate.

4. the reserve bank of australia (RBA) is committed to keep annual inflation rate at 2-3% and hence your money doesn't depreciate as quick as you would like it too. in malaysia, any announcements by the governmental to increase fuel price or reduce food subsidy et cetera, will send our inflation rates up the roof

5. the commonwealth (central) government guarantees your savings up to AUD1million per bank (however i have read that, the government is beginning to remove it away due to the fact that the economy is beginning to recover)

okay whilst that sounds all well and rosy, there are of course some obvious disadvantages to that.

1. the money is held under your sibling's/relative's name and hence there is a huge flight risk; you will not have much of a case if brought to court.

2. difficulties in bringing your MYR out of the country.

3. difficulties accessing your cash if you do need it. however with the visa/mastercard/maestro et cetera network, things can be quite easy (but with a cost)

4. the risk of exchange rate fluctuation (but you are exposed to such, if you open a local foreign account anyway)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 14 2010, 08:28 PM
nokia2003
post Mar 14 2010, 09:39 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 14 2010, 09:08 PM)
Another alternative is opening a time deposit account with an offshore bank such as HSBC International in Singapore/Hong Kong or Citi International Personal Bank also in Singapore/Hong Kong.

HSBC International Premier rates (1-year tenure) :
A$25,000 - A$59,999 > 3.31%
A$60,000 - A$119,999 > 3.37%
A$120,000 - A$239,999 > 3.56%
A$240,000 - A$599,999 > 3.87%
A$600,000 - A$1,399,999 > 3.87%
A$1,400,000 and above > 4.06%

Citi International Personal Bank Citigold rates (1-year tenure) :
A$26,000 - A$129,999 > 4.54%
A$130,000 - A$326,999 > 4.64%
A$327,000 - A$649,999 > 4.79%
A$650,000 - A$1,299,999 > 4.89%
A$1,300,000 and above > 4.94%

great information, MilesAndMore.

realistically, only a handful of malaysians can afford to allocate such an amount of money for the sole purpose of 'hedging'.

besides their rates aren't precisely attractive, even compared side by side with the local australian citibank and HSBC and worse the need of being locked down for a year tenancy.

however the great thing about these two options is, you don't have to physically leave the country.

Added on March 14, 2010, 9:47 pmif my memory hasn't failed me, my housemate (who on the HSBC premier) has conveyed to me, that there isn't any minimum amount required to maintain the australian HSBC premier account, provided the one in malaysia is kept at the allocated threshold.

he opened his account before arriving in melbourne and it has seems to be going well for him at the moment and still gets to enjoy the perks from the australian HSBC.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 14 2010, 09:47 PM
nokia2003
post Mar 14 2010, 10:30 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 14 2010, 10:02 PM)
I remember this had been ages ago.
Like you open Premier Malaysia, HK & you can open another in Australia with little rain check if not mistaken.
They only care about the relation with your premier in Msia... tat`s far I know.

Dude, you been good ground info for me. Just about to do some homework for future.
Hate the previous GFC, didnt kill much of Aus market(carry trade+stimulus package= thats why 3.3 ), else will be a bargain time being.
alright, just got a few more information from my housemate.

basically, if you want to open HSBC premier account in australia (as in independent holder without a foreign HSBC premier account for example from malaysia and you satisfied their australian perquisite requirement eligibility), you actually have pay about AUD35 (figure uncertain, but in between the range of AUD30 or AUD40).

however if your HSBC premier account in australia is of a foreign HSBC premier account origin, then you are waived from this monthly transaction charge.

and i can quote a relatively old article from theage.com.au,
What it costs Premier customers must open an HSBC cash management account, which has a $35 a month charge. Transaction account fees vary from country to country.

for this instance, only your HSBC premier origin matters here and hence relevant to most of LYN users, the malaysian one. in a nutshell, so long you can maintain the requirement in malaysia, you are exempted from this monthly transaction charge.

however, my housemate has also added, if your balance in the HSBC premier malaysia drops below RM200000 (intentionally or not), you not only have to pay the penalty fees in malaysia, but in australia as well. sounds fair to me IMHO, since it was free for you to maintain the australian HSBC premier account.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 14 2010, 10:40 PM
nokia2003
post Mar 14 2010, 10:57 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 14 2010, 10:42 PM)
perks sound good actually for offshore account & does this effected by the ex rate changes?

like right now you see it at 3.0, sooner will reach about 3.4...
does it allow you to hedge in this matter? like hold at this rate of 3?

RM200000, quite a figure but its good against as long the bank dont run away with your money.
erm, the way i see it.

this account is not (really) meant to hedge your risks IMHO. because at the end of the day, opening a foreign current account (with CIMB for example) will also expose you to exchange rate fluctuations.

that is because you are aiming to earn one of best interest rates available to consumer market globally and yet well established financially i.e. australia. coupled with the fact, that RBA is able to regulate its financial institutions well (your money is in safer hand) and control the inflationary rates (your money doesn't lose its value faster than it is suppose to)

and i quote this from CIMB's website

Deposits and withdrawals will only be through foreign telegraphic transfers, cheques, demand drafts or transfers from / to Ringgit Account.

hence if i construe the quote above correctly, you will still be exposed to exchange rate fluctuations.

from the HSBC premier point of view, i can pinpoint out three distinct advantages:

1. you can link and integrate the malaysian and australian (we will use both of these countries as an example, in this instance) accounts into one viewable account. this means that you are free to move your cash from/to one account to another at your convenience, 24/7 (both internet and telephone) and at your discretion.

2. you are free to withdraw money, at the local currency, without incurring any fees or costs, IF you are extremely desperate for physical cash.

3. you are free to select the products offered by the australian HSBC side; investments, savings, day-to-day accounts et cetera.

Added on March 14, 2010, 11:22 pmLOL, i didn't realise that i have typed so much until i took a minute to scroll up.

i sounded like i'm an HSBC agent trying to sell their products to LYN users laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

my most sincere apologies!

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 14 2010, 11:22 PM
nokia2003
post Mar 15 2010, 12:40 AM

5,786 posts

@ MilesAndMore

thanks a lot for filing up the gaps for me there. appreciate it!

my knowledge is scarce because i don't actually own/use a HSBC premier or citigold account; mine is based on listening and reading,
nokia2003
post Mar 15 2010, 10:37 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 15 2010, 10:24 AM)
Savers' sorrow: Term deposit rates fall despite RBA hikes

LOL. sorrow or not, your funds (including mine and most of the peeps in LYN) originate from malaysia. hence even with the allegedly lower interest rates, you are still better off than the local market.

Added on March 15, 2010, 10:51 amcurrent rates as of 15/03/2010; taken from theage.com.au

savings accounts

term/fixed deposits

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 15 2010, 10:51 AM
nokia2003
post Mar 20 2010, 03:35 PM

5,786 posts

AUD has been steadily dropping from 3.08 to 3.065 (based on money exchanger rates and not bank's)

investors, filling up education funds et cetera, should really keep their eyes steady for next few weeks.
nokia2003
post Mar 20 2010, 11:27 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(heliora @ Mar 20 2010, 08:09 PM)
one thing that's not mentioned but is crucial in opening a foreign currency deposit is the exchange rate spread, i wanna ask, for Citigold and HSBC Premier, when you open an AUD deposit, what's the forex rate that they quote? is it the same as other banks' published board rate or do they offer you a better rate?

because if you exchange at say for example Maybank's forex counter rates, the spread is about 8 AUD cents, so if you buy at 3.08 AUD100k, as opposed to a more favourable 3.05, you're spending RM3000 more to buy the same amount of AUD
for starters, it is hard to find banks offering the same exchange rates.

number two, for the HSBC premier account, we have been discussing a completely different 'maneuver' for the last few posts, in which we are opening a malaysian HSBC premier account and then opening an australian equivalent thereafter (and hence another set of BSB and account number) and not via foreign currency deposit.

and with the australian HSBC premier (alongside the BSB and account number), you can then opt for your preferred method to transfer your funds; purchasing a bank draft or requesting a TT from your favourite local bank or if you are keen to obtain better rates from your local money exchanger booth; physical cash.

i did ask my housemate with regard to withdrawals on his australian HSBC premier whilst he was in malaysia for his summer vacation recently. he used his australian debit card to withdraw MYR from a local HSBC ATM and he was not charged for using the facility and the rate quoted was pretty competitive (according to him, of course)

QUOTE(heliora @ Mar 20 2010, 08:09 PM)
by the way the information provided by theage.com.au is kinda misleading because most are introductory rates where they only last for the first few months upon the opening of accounts and thereupon which rolls back to the lower standard variable rate

a fairer comparison would be here http://www.raboplus.com.au/savings/high_in...gs/compare.aspx for standard variable interest rates
erm, come on. it is just another way to conduct business.

as the term 'introductory' actually implies, it is an introductory perk to entice you to open a new account with the respective banks. same concept with credit card providers (with their zero interest balance transfer for a few months et cetera). surely that is crystal clear?

besides, there are actually tabs, for clarity purposes on the said website.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 20 2010, 11:28 PM
nokia2003
post Mar 21 2010, 01:58 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(heliora @ Mar 21 2010, 01:32 AM)
the forex rates offered by banks wouldn't differ much

and of course i understand the manoeuvre that's been discussed earlier, i however was talking about my experience of having bank accounts in Australia

as to obtaining better rates from money changer, i'm not sure about other banks but i've enquired before, Maybank requires you to convert with them and not bring your own physical foreign currencies, correct me if i'm wrong

LOL!

of course, if you are gonna buy a draft or TT from a bank, you will have to succumb to their rates. no questions asked

when i was suggesting your next door, friendly money exchanger, you will, actually have to 'ferry' the cash (hence i used the term 'physical cash' earlier) by yourself or via a proxy (for example your friend)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 21 2010, 02:02 AM
nokia2003
post Apr 1 2010, 07:39 PM

5,786 posts

but UK interest rates are (quite) pathetic.

i'm only getting a few pences per month as interest for an online saver of mine (which used to boost the best rates amongst its competitor)
nokia2003
post Apr 1 2010, 08:01 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 1 2010, 07:52 PM)
Not doing it for interest. Just buying GBP while they're @ 4.9 smile.gif
fair enough.

i have about a few hundred quids there. not sure when i should withdraw it out though

the interest earned cannot outrun the annual inflationary rates hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 1 2010, 08:05 PM
nokia2003
post Apr 1 2010, 08:16 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Apr 1 2010, 08:06 PM)
Exchange rate is quite bad now so you'll lose more than inflation rates smile.gif
LOL. i have been contemplating that like, i reckon since three years ago?

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 1 2010, 08:17 PM
nokia2003
post Apr 2 2010, 12:04 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 2 2010, 12:01 AM)
With RM get strengthen, GBP and EUR are dropping.

I think it's not a good investment tool to play with as of now.
if you need it for education, despite it being high or low, you will still need to purchase the said currency

such a great burden on our parents =[
nokia2003
post Apr 27 2010, 11:25 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Apr 27 2010, 10:54 AM)
I heard that if we transfer any amount more than rm200k we will be question by BNM? I have HSBC acc but never use it to transfer to overseas as their rates are always higher than PBB.
AFAIK the exchange rate to transfer between your own accounts (but from differrent countries) is pretty good according to my friend.

I will get my housemate to print screen the rates later, when he gets back home from lecture
nokia2003
post Apr 27 2010, 08:11 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Apr 27 2010, 11:31 AM)
Arghh.. HSBC temp suspended my online banking cos i never use it for many months. Yes it would be nice if you can get a print screen. Btw i mostly do MYR-AUD transaction.
sorry for the late reply as my housemate just got back home.

anyway this is the MYR/AUD rate as of today (and now)

so the rate is about 2.994011976047904?

Added on April 27, 2010, 8:12 pmwawasan sentosa (the famous money changer in midvalley) is doing 3.0000 for cash to cash basis for today.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 27 2010, 08:23 PM
nokia2003
post Apr 28 2010, 12:41 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Apr 28 2010, 08:13 AM)
thats 2.994 not too bad. If i were to change yesterday most prolly PBB will give me 2-3cents lower than their standard board rate (2.995). So it would be 2.96-2.97. anyways thx for the print screen.

Added on April 28, 2010, 8:19 am
Its the special rates too for PBB. Last time they will have to call PBB HQ to check for their special rates. U can even negotiate with them which is quite fun is like you buy fish in the market. LOL but now they have their special rates fixed in their branch computer. The special rates is not for special customers. Im no premier customer in PBB maybe because i've been with the branch for more than 10yrs and each time i transfer would be at least AUD40-50k n above so they give me the special rates.

Added on April 28, 2010, 8:22 am
Hmm.. i thought the last time like few mths back they set the rules at USD10k? anyone heard of this?
but do bear in mind that for global transfer between your HSBC premier accounts (different countries) will not incur any TT fees for sending and receiving.

so if you need to make frequent transfers, this might be a plus point.
nokia2003
post Apr 28 2010, 06:18 PM

5,786 posts

according to hsbc australia's site, it is AUD10 to receive.
nokia2003
post Apr 29 2010, 03:08 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Apr 29 2010, 12:54 PM)
I'm not sure about Westpac and NAB. I normally use PBB(RM30) TT to ANZ(AUD8) and from ANZ to HSBC Australia(FOC)
most intra-transfers betweeen local banks are free to begin with.

only with exceptional cases that they will incur charges.
nokia2003
post May 4 2010, 01:09 PM

5,786 posts

RBA raises interest rates 25 basis points to 4.5% | Reserve Bank:
nokia2003
post May 4 2010, 01:55 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ May 4 2010, 01:13 PM)
this is bad man.. especially for those who just bought properties thinking that interest are low. mad.gif
oh come on.

for any residents of australia to have such a mentality is just plain naive IMHO (not in any attempt to direct this at you)

the interest rates for loans in australia have always been astronomically high and the reason they got to such a low level was attributed to the recent GFC.

now that, things are beginning to simmer down, it is about time for RBA to raise it up to their 'normal' range again.

even a measly student like myself could have 'predicted' this coming soon.

inflationary rates down south is just getting too hot for the economy to handle.

hence any sane property buyers would have thought of that even before contemplating a purchase.

Added on May 4, 2010, 1:57 pmon an unrelated note, i suppose now that i can begin daydreaming that the USD and AUD will soon (yet again after so many months) reach parity laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 4 2010, 02:00 PM

0.0197sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:57 PM