Public Mutual, PM/PB series fund

kingkong81
post Jan 3 2008, 06:42 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 3 2008, 12:48 PM)
No official announment has been made regarding this lower service charge thing?
Sadly, there is none yet.

QUOTE(Law @ Jan 3 2008, 04:36 PM)
i think tomorrow will drop more....
Today HSI dropped 2.44%, Taiwan oso drop 1.67%...supprisingly Shanghai is up 0.89%
2mr the price wont look too nice sad.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 4 2008, 10:10 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(hocklai8 @ Jan 4 2008, 12:33 AM)
I do agree the buy low and sell high concept applies to unit trust too.

Now I'm waiting for PM to officially lower their service charge. Other unit trust are already in the 5% range. All the PM Consultants/Agents here made me happy knowing there is a lower service charge coming soon... Would now consider on-hold my purchases while wait n see the market condition.

Seems like a "red" CNY... Market don't look so optimistic as before already.
The lower service charge of PM funds is officially started since 1st Jan 2008. Just that no official announcement made yet.

Here is the service charge breakdown for PM:

Normal Equity : 5.5%
Promo Equity : 5.0%
DDI campaign during promo : 5.25%
kingkong81
post Jan 5 2008, 12:17 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Jan 4 2008, 11:49 AM)
King Kong,

do you have the price for PM Ittikal, PM Smallcap price as of 1st January 07? if you have can you please PM me. i wanna do some checking...thanks...
My database dun have 1st Jan 07 price...lousy database tongue.gif

Added on January 5, 2008, 12:27 am
QUOTE(hocklai8 @ Jan 4 2008, 11:18 AM)
kingkong81, thanks for the info.
After the recent distribution, PSF and PFSF price seems attractive to get some (I don't have any local funds yet, all are recent Far-East ones), but I only have enough funds for one, which have better upside potential? Or maybe PGF?
Both PSF & PFSF are not local funds as both has some offshore market exposure.

Its bit hard to select which is better...coz both oso have been performing well in their own risk category.

PSF is a moderate fund...oldest fund in PM, fundamentally very strong and yet every year still give considerable growth.

PFSF is high risk...so the return will be potentially higher...invest in medium sized companies. Lot more room to grow in coming future as more companies r booming along with the growth of economy. Relatively new compared to PSF, juz started in 2005, but chalk up quite impressive return there.

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Jan 5 2008, 12:27 AM
kingkong81
post Jan 8 2008, 09:55 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(KChooz @ Jan 8 2008, 07:17 PM)
hi...can anyone confirm what are the funds available for EPF investors now? especially with the recent opening of the old funds now...thanks... smile.gif
The funds available for EPF investment:

PRSF, PIX, PIDF, PIBF, PSBF, PMMF, PIMMF, PSSF (closed), PISSF (closed)

The newly reopen funds, namely PITTIKAL, PBONB, PEBF, PIBOND are not available for EPF investment, only cash. So it will still only be the 9 funds stated above.
kingkong81
post Jan 17 2008, 09:17 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 17 2008, 07:44 AM)
You're not the only one who is crying for this.

Should I perform any topup?
I would wait till Friday before deciding to top up....might go down some more

2nite Merril Lynch will post their 4Q result.

I have ady expected 1st Quarter of 2008 to be like this.... sweat.gif Just keep alert on wat happening, and do the necessary if needed...hopefully things wont be too bad
kingkong81
post Jan 17 2008, 10:16 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(shinyu @ Jan 17 2008, 09:59 PM)
which is the best fund to buy right now? public bank?
I would say those moderate-risk income fund looks good...PDSF, PFEDF, PIDF

kingkong81
post Jan 21 2008, 10:25 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jan 21 2008, 12:15 PM)
Need some recommendations as i plan to invest in some funds since prices has dropped significantly.

Aiming for the 'older' funds.
PDSF? PIDF? PRSEC? PFEDF?

Currently i've invested in
PCSF, PSEASF, PIADF & PFEPRF.
PDSF, PIDF & PFEDF all these 3 funds performance have been good, difficult to choose between them.
If I were to choose, I'll get PDSF or PFEDF. PIDF is 100% local fund, while PDSF has about 85% or more in Malaysia. PFEDF has about 40% in M'sia others in regional. So, u can weigh up a bit on the market they go into. Generally, the investment strategy is almost the same.

PRSEC, have not been a fan of it. But it invest in sectorial way...not my favourite. Mayb bcoz they are too confined with the type of sectors... Oil & Gas has been up this time, next time will be another sector. Guess, the potential is still there.
kingkong81
post Jan 23 2008, 11:08 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jan 23 2008, 01:37 PM)
to all PM user, may i know how can i check my PM profolio online? Can i topup my PCIF(minium RM100) without gone through agent? because its troublesome to call him and submit the form.
U cant check your portfolio online. Telemutual is one of the way, 2nd way is to go Public Mutual branches n ask for a print out of the statement, 3rd for sure will be your agent lor.

For topup...u can head directly to any of the Public Bank, else, the easiest, fastest, hassle-free method is to get Public Bank online account. U can do top up from your computer at your office or your home, no need to wait for ur agent. easy nod.gif

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Jan 23 2008, 07:22 PM)
Just want to check with you guys

This is related to regional funds. So as an example PCSF

*The % is assumption
Tues HangSeng -10%
Wed HangSeng +10% (but Malaysia public holiday)
Thurs HangSeng +10%

So what would be Thurs's closing for PCSF. Is it +10% or +20% (inclusive of Wed)
Tomoro (thursday) will show tuesday NAV price...friday will show Wednesday+Thursday NAV

Too bad KLSE closed today, if not can benefit from the rebound cry.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 24 2008, 02:15 PM

1,351 posts

If Fri will show Wed+Thur NAV, why would we not benefit from the rebound?

Wat i mean is, if KLSE is open on Wednesday, then we can join in the Bull run together with regional market, and this will surely benefit the funds with big % in domestic investment. Then thursday we will continue to benefit the bull run.

But due to KLSE closed on wednesday, we missed out the fun lor...see today (thursday), KLSE only up 26points+ only. While most regional market shoot up more than 3% on wednesday and another 1 - 2% today

Added on January 24, 2008, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(dzi921 @ Jan 24 2008, 01:58 PM)
As of Tues, Lost of RM15k+ liao
I guess your loss on Tuesday will be compensated by wed+thurs Bull run.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Jan 24 2008, 02:17 PM
kingkong81
post Jan 27 2008, 03:44 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Philip @ Jan 27 2008, 02:50 PM)
thanks alot Jordy for your kind advise...and yeah..my agent is hopeless..

the moment i signed off the form and paid the cash...he/she(yeah..they're husband and wife) could not even bother giving me a call after that..even till now..(so much of a friend's recommendation..*sigh*)

so I have to do my own self learning..or is there such a thing as switching agent?hehe..

thanks again!
There is an option to switch your account to be managed by another agent. But this needs 3 parties agreement, account holder (i.e. you), original agent, and the new agent you wanted to switch to.

Most of the time, the agents will not be willingly agree on that, but it depends on wat basis the request for change is to be made. But, you are the account holders and you have the rights, not the agent.
kingkong81
post Jan 28 2008, 01:32 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jan 27 2008, 11:08 PM)
Hi, this is done because of some obvious reasons.
I think the management had enough of complaints, so they have scrapped the agent switching.
KingKong, I think you should get confirmation from your branch manager.
As far as I'm concerned, there is no news/notification given to UTC at my branch regarding scrapping off the Agent switching things. Which I think they won't as the Unit Holders must have their rights in choosing their agents. Well, will better get some confirmation as well.

I wonder why the original agent's agreement is required? It's just like buying from the shops - if you don't like what a shop is selling you, you can go to another shop anytime.

If it is becoz the agent is not servicing their clients, the problem is easier to solve.

But there are some problems where one agent (A) trying to "grab/steal" the other agents (B) clients with bad tactics, and this would cost the agent B earnings as well as reputation. So, it is oso to look after the agent benefit as well, besides protecting the unitholders.

Besides, there will be some instances like new agent who haven't manage to get their code yet, but have started to do some sales, they will have to use their upline agent code. Later, when the agent get their own code, the upline will transfer back the account to them.

To me, if my client is happy with me & wish for me to handle his portfolio, I would either suggest him to sell off the fund fr his old agent to join me fully, else, I would encourage him to continue watever old fund he got with the old agent, and any new funds he wanted to invest, can do it under me. The old agent did not lose his client, I'm getting new client, and the best of all, the unit holders does not need to incur losses by selling & buying again...win win win thumbup.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 31 2008, 10:25 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jan 31 2008, 10:07 PM)
Yes, I have been waiting for this moment since the start of the year tongue.gif
Let us watch the performance of Brother DJ tonight and we'll decide, shall we? brows.gif
Tonite DJIA will be red all over...currently FTSE already down more than 2%

Tough ride....

---------------

PIX 20cents dividend shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

one of the highest i seen so far....one way PM to attract investor/new investor to invest more.
But for annual income terms, this is really good liao...if i'm old ady, and the fund still giving me such a good dividend rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
kingkong81
post Jan 31 2008, 10:44 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 31 2008, 10:34 PM)
PIX tracks KLCI very heavily. Any upset to KLCI will greatly impact its NAV. I should classify this fund as an aggressive one. Unless our KLCI is stable and has more upward trend in long term, but judging from current situation, it's like roller coaster ride now. GE is not confirmed too.
Yes, this is high risk fund for aggressive investor. It mainly go into stocks that tracks the KLCI...i.e. those companies that can affect the index.
kingkong81
post Feb 6 2008, 04:37 PM

1,351 posts

DJIA drop 300+ pts yesterday....Asia all drop...KLCI today oso drop..all taking back their money for CNY...

Really volatile...while DJIA seems to b in recovery mood, suddenly it went down again.

Anyway...now CNY, dun wan to think too much, just celebrate!!!

Happy Chinese New Year to everyone. May you all have a prosperous year of Tikus...Gong Xi Gong Xi!!
kingkong81
post Feb 20 2008, 11:26 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Feb 20 2008, 11:17 PM)
I was advised by my agent today to sell back my PFES funds with over 40 - 60% Net profit. Had a few funds of PFES since 2005. The market is too volatile, time to take the profits and come back later...

How much do Unit Trust agents make when they sell for you ?
There is no service charge / exit charge being imposed by Public Mutual for selling/redemption of Unit Trust fund.

So, your agent is not making any commission by selling it for you. But she might make commission if she later ask you to go back in n buy again...which is the 5.5% service charge.

If she ask you to switch instead, you need to pay rm25 transaction fees only and there is no extra service charge, and agent will not make commission from this as well.

SO, it might be better to switch into Bond fund instead of taking the $ out and go back in later to be charge 5.5% service charge again. If you do plan to take out d $ & not reinvesting it in PM Unit Trust later, then it is ok to sell
kingkong81
post Feb 20 2008, 11:41 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Feb 20 2008, 11:30 PM)

Thanks for the valuable info...How did you know it was a SHE  tongue.gif

Switching may be a better option like you said but a bit worried with the current trends...I'm looking at close to 22k - 25k accumulated gain from the last 3 years  hmm.gif
I juz simply type only...dunno ur agent is a she oso laugh.gif

Your concerns are not unfounded...in these kind of market everyone is worried...Anyway, Bond Fund generally are quite safe, instead, it has move quite fast during the market downturn as people will turn their money to keep in Bond...a safer investment.

Else, you can consider taking it out and keep in FD...more safe. But just have to pay another round of service charge when you re-enter. But if you think this way is more comfortable and can preserve your profit better...go ahead.
Judge your own... smile.gif

kingkong81
post Feb 21 2008, 08:08 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Feb 21 2008, 12:11 AM)
I kinda set my mind on reaping the profits first...never actually sold before, always just pumped in more $...Thanks again for the info and advise. I will still have some PFES, PIEF PIDF invests in, only taking out which shows more than 40% above Net profits so far. I eventually will invest again. Ironicaly just got my Gold member card yeterday tongue.gif , hehe now looking at pulling back some.
If you are a Mutual Gold member ady, switching is free...smile.gif

Good to hear you get a considerably very good return in your investment thumbup.gif
kingkong81
post Feb 21 2008, 10:25 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Feb 21 2008, 07:09 PM)
As far as I can tell, all the Bond funds are low-load units with a service charge of 0.25%. According to the prospectus, if you switch from low-load units to Equity/Balanced funds you pay "At NAV + Service Charge".

On the other hand, if you switch from loaded units Bond funds, you don't pay service charge. But what are loaded units Bond funds? Because  every fund that is >0.25% sc belong to the moderate or higher risk categories so they are not really bond funds. Can you clarify?
If you started off investing in Bond Fund...which u only pay 0.25% service charge, then it is consider low load units and when you switch into Equity/Balanced Fund, you are subject to pay the service charge of euity/bal fund, i.e NAV+Service Charge (5.5%).

If you first invest in Equity/Bal fund, paying 5.5% service charge, it is already consider Loaded-units. So, when you switch from Equity/Bal --> Bond Fund, you are subjected to pay transaction fee of RM25 & the units in the bond fund you switched to, is consider LOADED, as you already paid 5.5% service charge at 1st.

Vice versa, when you switch your loaded units from a Bond fund into Equity/Bal, you just need to pay transaction fee of RM25, and not another round of extra 5.5% service charge.

So, as conclusion, LOADED UNITS is to described units that has been paid full service charge of 5.5%. LOW LOAD units is to described those units that has not been paid the 5.5%, but instead, pay 0.25% like Bond Fund.

Basically all high risk & moderate risk fund in PM is in Equity fund category...as their major % of NAV is being invested in equity.

If you sell off your funds, take out the $$, then later invest again into an equity/bal fund, you r subject to 5.5% service charge, if u buy bond fund, it will be 0.25%.
kingkong81
post Mar 5 2008, 12:43 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 3 2008, 08:03 PM)
Seems like KLCI and local funds do not get any boost from general election especially on GLC counters.
From what been reported, foreign fund manager have been selling off especially on the big counters awaiting for the coming GE. Hence the tumbling of KLCI.

If the result of GE is unfavourable (i.e. BN did not have landslide or 2/3 majority...) the drop might continue.
Some analyst said usually after GE, KLCI will have some rally up....judge your own smile.gif
kingkong81
post Mar 5 2008, 01:12 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 5 2008, 01:08 PM)
I bleed like crazy over PCSF... haha
Haha...i just diligently doing my monthly top-up on this fund...n let it be for now smile.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:28 AM