32 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V4<<, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 11:40 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Check ur card. As if the clock & memory is pre-OCed by the factory, then not much hope u can get by OC it again. pre-OCed card is not for OC as it had been OCed by the factory.

As for ur processor, its depend on ur as well. wink.gif If u think that its enough juice for ur current task. Save the money to get other thing. One more thing, since u had ur mind for OC. What for upgrade it? OC the system instead upgrade the system. Anyways, this my 2 cent. Final decision still on ur hand.

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 8 2007, 11:42 AM
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 01:15 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@kevinwcw
Yea. No point to upgrade the processor if ur on ur mind to OC. Squeeze til the last drop of ur proc!! laugh.gif

@Pengster

Seems like both of us are having back card then. biggrin.gif Pre-OCed card cant clocked much. As it had been push to almost to the limit of the components already. sad.gif

@herojack41

It means the efficiency of the PSU. The higher the efficiency means the better power output of the PSU. Correct me if im wrong.

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 8 2007, 01:18 PM
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 01:31 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Read THIS if u wanna know more about PSU power efficiency.

As for ur case, invest more and get a higher Watt power supply. Atleast 500W. It will be enough to serve u for u current rigs. icon_rolleyes.gif
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 03:18 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

500W will be enough for P4 system. Get a pure or true power type. It will be enough.
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 03:38 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(mgxbox @ Nov 8 2007, 03:21 PM)
blink.gif 500W is more than enough for P4. doh.gif
Haha.. Bro, this guys is going to OC his system. 500W with >76% efficiency should be ok. Otherwise, gota think twice.

QUOTE(Deerc @ Nov 8 2007, 03:29 PM)
i m new here.. can i ask about what type of cooling system should i get for my hot and noisy intel HSF (478)
Hm.. If ur aiming for cheap and durable HSF, maybe u can have look on Gigabyte G-Power Lite?

Added on November 8, 2007, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(Ezonizs @ Nov 8 2007, 03:36 PM)
hi, anyone here using socket 478 motherbaord with PCIE X16 here ?
Guess no. I was once looking for this kind of board. But not available @ local here.

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 8 2007, 03:40 PM
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 04:38 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@kevinwcw

Since ur going into OC, then just crash ur proc to the limit to help draw near the bottlenecking gap. doh.gif

@Ezonizs

Its quit impossible to get 478 board with pure 16x pcie slot. Even got, it will just like what ur owning now. Not full speed. Even got, it will be alot of bottlenecking on GC. Especially the high end type. S478 is just an old school, nothing much it can perform on this platform.

@herojack41

Is notmal actually. Last time before i sell off my Maxtor 80GB hdd. It shown 82GB in bios as well. Maybe is just factory defect. laugh.gif

As for the psu.. Try google for it. Im lazy to search dy. Learn from googling!! whistling.gif

Edit: Typo

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 8 2007, 04:48 PM
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 04:48 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Urs is 2.66G rght? FSB533 support HT? If dont come with HT then i suggest u find a 2.8E. With HT it will helps abit. There some many 2.8E on sales on garage section. Try yer luck over there.
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 05:58 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@kevinwcw

I agreed with raymond's word. Ya current cooling system cannot cool down ya proc? Hm.. If can then better grab a high speed proc then cooler.

@Pengster

Lol.. Urs better then mine alot in term of speed. Mine only 375/1050. Maximum is 395/1070.. sweat.gif
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 06:22 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Ezonizs

Lol.. X850XT still ok. What i mean is something like 7950GT or the 8Series / ATI HD series. Pairing with 478... sweat.gif Even the proc clock til the maximum, i dont think the bottlenecking gap can be draw any nearer.
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 06:48 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

8800GTS on S478? drool.gif drool.gif Haha.. Atleast can slot in a high end card.. laugh.gif Not bad.. By then, on 3dMark06, this card should be able to score 8k > ?
fylon
post Nov 8 2007, 07:22 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Ezonizs

Yea.. Can see the bottlenecking gap on 8800GTS with S478. sweat.gif By then, atleast S478 can pair with this monster card. laugh.gif

@herojack41

If ur looking for cooler or PSU. PC fair will be a good time for u to survey those item.
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 12:17 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@kevinwcw

Overclocking is a patient game. laugh.gif Is not something that can be done in a click. Just like Raymond says, locked ur AGP:PCI ratio to 66:33 1st, and also change all ur bios setting to default (include vCore, vDimm, vAGP, DRAM timing & etcs all set to default). If u duno whats the default setting was, CLEAR ur bios by taking out the battery for 15sec and replug into back. Everything will be go back to normal / default setting. Ofcause u gotta set back ur time and date.

After that increase ur FSB bit by bit. Maybe 1-3mhz per time, save the setting on ur bios. Then restart PC. If ur system can load into windows flawless without problem, redo the step again. Until ur system face the problem below:

1. unstable, keep restart when get into windows
2. cannot boot
3. restart half way before get into windows
4. hang in bios POST (Power On Self Test or the word is hang in bios)

If problem above occurred, record down maximum speed ur system can go in default setting. And then, clear bios again (as if ur system cannot boot, or hang in POST), and decrease the 1-3mhz FSB (usually for me, i will decrease by 3mhz from the maximum that i can go before my system get hanged/restart) from the maximum and then try again. After decrease the FSB, and u found that ur system can get back to normal, can load into windows without restart or any strange & weird problem.. TADA~ U had OCed ur system. cool.gif

Bear in mind that, by doing all these step, ur doing it on ur own risk. No body and no one will give u warranty if u burnt any of ur hardware. And also, prepare a good PSU before do this. Otherwise u will cause ur current cap-palang PSU go exploded. Like what i had did before. U will see some FIREWORK on ur casing inside. biggrin.gif

**Do point out my wrong part if any sinior here found that i had miss leading the newbie on OC! icon_rolleyes.gif By then,

P/s: Oh yea.. Im kinda lucky on getting my 3.2E with low price. And its a gem.. drool.gif Can hit 3.76Ghz with all stock setting. drool.gif

@likito

The E on the 2.8E is means, that processor in running on Prescott core. The later version of P4 core. Only EE then it means Extreme Edition. the E procs usually come with D0, D1, M0 stepping .Depend on the batch.

@pengster

Lol.. Hm.. If ur using my proc, i think ur GC can score higher score in 3Dmark03.. Mine maximum on 12.9k! Gosh! Low..
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 09:20 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@kevinwcw

As for this question, i'm afraid i cant give u the exact answer. If u know the fundamental of OC, no matter in which platform OC is just like a piece of card. cool.gif Ofcause, provided u make it in the correct way.

@likito

AFAIK, M0 will be the best P4 stepping for OC. Cause its believe that, the M0 platform were a cut down of EE. The proc was actually born as P4 EE, but during it fail some of the factory test, thus they disable the L3 cache and make it as normal P4. If im not mistaken, M0 proc usually is 30 cap. drool.gif

@herojack41

Hm.. I dont think so pal. OC is not that EASY as u just choose the % of OCing actually. I know there is such option in the bios. But if u really wanna step into OC world, that option will just be useless for u. As its just using the pre-setting. Nothing much u can expect or tweak from there.

Manual OC then is the best thing. As u can increase the FSB, tighten up the ram timing, set the vCore & vDimm and etcs. Thats the fun part on OC instead just using the pre setting by choosing the % to OC.

@Sang

doh.gif Duh.. Sang, the ur P4P800SE bios got that setting la, if im not mistaken, u set the OC option to Auto then u will see the option already. Can increase by 5%, 10%, 20% and max 30%. But well.. Its useless. If u check the setting of OC 30%, u will found that the bios automatically set ur vAGP to 1.8v, max vDimm and vCore will be set til 1.5v... Thats dangerous! sweat.gif
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 10:23 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@herojack41

Dude.. Did u read the previous post? I had write down the beginner step of doing OC. Just few post above urs. Next time read the whole post k? HERE.

OC? Make ur pc run faster, boost up the overall performance.

@sang_karim

Yea. There were such option in the bios. If im not mistaken, is call as Ai OC or something like that.
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 10:31 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. Sang.. OC never been easy before even for S478 actually. Many thing u had to take into ur concern. PSU, RAM, mobo & proc. Lack any of the 4 main component above, OC cant be done. Even it can, nothing much can be expected also.
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 10:58 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. But anyways, if comparing between Intel & AMD. Intel will be much more easier to OC. AMD will be harder due to the HTT. Gotta lower down the HTT divider when running on hi speed.

@herojack41

Dude, do homework before u start the OC job. If u dun read the fundamental of OC. U will never understand what we are talking about. No spoon feeding over here. biggrin.gif
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 11:06 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Barton 2500 is AMD processor running @ 1.83Gh speed. biggrin.gif Ya dont know about that? sweat.gif
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 11:09 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Hm.. kevinwcw if u wanna make sure about ur GC. Go google for GPU-Z. Its something like CPU-Z but its use to detect GC.
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 11:15 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@herojack41

I suggest u read all the fundamental topic on Overlocking Section 1st before u have any move. Get know about all the steps, the pro's & con's, the consequences of OC. Remember, u will do all this with ur own risk. No warranty given. biggrin.gif As for my self experience, i had burnt a 3.0E Proc, a pair or XMS performance ram, a PSU, an high end P4P800 Deluxe mobo. wink.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Nov 9 2007, 11:17 AM
fylon
post Nov 9 2007, 11:25 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@kevinwcw
Ofcause.. U may ask the senior over here. I was once an extreme OCer. But after my previous rigs is burnt. I turn down my extreme OC interest! Can says that i had burnt a set of P4 system due of OC. biggrin.gif So if u guys, wanna play this kind of game, think before u do. Its fun when u see ur system run better and faster then old time, but the risk of burning all the hardware also increase.

32 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0460sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:47 PM