Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

gengstapo
post Feb 3 2009, 10:05 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(CPURanger @ Feb 1 2009, 10:24 AM)
Get Intel CPU, especially Core 2 Duo, don't waste time with AMD (Macs currently use Intel only). At the moment there are many motherboards & variants, I would not name type/model. IMO Gigabyte is the best choice. As for graphic card, Apple seems to favour Nvidia for new generations of Mac. Do research at insanelymac.com .

Added on February 1, 2009, 11:43 am

Gengstapo, in my early experience, changing SATA ports may work sometimes. In the end I found compatible kext (IOATAFamily.kext & JMicronATA.kext) and replace it, my rig works happily ever since, upgrade to 10.5.6 with no problem. As for JMicronATA.kext, I am still using PATA DVD drive.

I have been following your threads for quite sometime. If your rig can run Kalyway and skitZo` mention motherboard similarity, in theory your system should work quite nicely. If you are familiar with command line, you have a spare hard disk and retail DVD or disk image, I suggest you try Retail DVD Guide method. Install Kalyway and copy retail iso/dmg in spare hard disk. From there boot up Kalyway & install retail to your main hard disk (follow guide). It is quick to install, much faster than DVD since the files in hard disk. This allows you to experiment with different kexts and hacks, if screw up, you can format and reinstall quickly to try again. You will have to find out which kext suitable for your motherboard, since guide is for GA-P35-DS3P motherboard.

Since Kalyway is working, you can try copy kext from Kalyway to make it work. Highly recommended to do retail install instead of various distros, distros tend leave out some leopard files and comes instead with some 3rd apps. You may have to sweat out a little though  sweat.gif . On my PC, I have seven kexts replaced and running vanilla kernel, games like C & C 3 and apps like Adobe CS3 works pretty well.
hmm could u show me the thread to update 10.5.x into 10.5.5/6?
ive try almost yet i cannot succes.. damn this is getting challenging sweat.gif sweat.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 3 2009, 07:18 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

demm after trying hard, atlast manage to update into 10.5.5
sighh.. this is FUN!!

next destination would be the 10.5.6 ftw tongue.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 3 2009, 07:54 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Feb 3 2009, 07:49 PM)
Nice! btw what kernel and bootloader are u on now? Which distro u use to install your hack?

Good luck in yr 10.5.6 update!

cheers!
thanks mate, u are the sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

btw, im on 9.5.0 voodoo darwin
distro used were leo4allv3 sweat.gif sweat.gif very much left behind & need a lot trial n' error before get the success doh.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 4 2009, 08:25 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

this is even fun, but seems the system info(s) not really correct sweat.gif sweat.gif

gengstapo
post Feb 5 2009, 02:40 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Feb 5 2009, 02:35 PM)
Ahaha..where are you staying? Im just a kid, cant really go far  sweat.gif
funny, is that really?
maybe u could post him a copy of ur ideneb smile.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 5 2009, 03:47 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(bllizard19 @ Feb 5 2009, 03:33 PM)
damansara working lorr. home shah alam. dont laugh at kid. kid nowadays different from my ultraman taro vs maero attack days. those good ol'days. no need to think which pc specs to choose, what distro to download. haha.
maybe u could list what ur pc rig here so we could see the suitable distro tongue.gif

@ ReaperOfSoul
have u try osx86tools?
maybe got luck with ur video
gengstapo
post Feb 5 2009, 08:54 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

some references for ATi & NVidia kext, Click smile.gif

@ digswell sifu
how ur 10.5.6? does the "About This Mac" working fine?
my System Profiler seems half working, it cant display the ram info same goes to About This mac
How yours?

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Feb 5 2009, 08:59 PM
gengstapo
post Feb 5 2009, 10:52 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Feb 5 2009, 10:50 PM)
I using iPC 10.5.6.....and i add/install some extral kext ......everything work . i can see my PCI slot hardware and Ram info got serial number and part number 

what the extra kext u install?
can work with intel platform ka?
gengstapo
post Feb 5 2009, 11:18 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

ahh fixed the "About This Mac" error
it need the previous 10.5.5 kext, im lucky i still have the backup

thanks sifu digswell thumbup.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 6 2009, 12:10 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(ReaperOfSoul @ Feb 5 2009, 11:48 PM)
I hope someone could post the command on how to delete the file using terminal here. Help is really needed. Ill call it a day . Tomorrow got school  doh.gif . Thanks
even goto safe mode also kenot meh?
at darwin press F8 insert, use option -v -f -x to boot?
gengstapo
post Feb 6 2009, 12:40 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(NaShRiCk @ Feb 6 2009, 12:26 AM)
can it work on amd athlon x2 5000 rig
shouldnt a problem.. as long u willing to try n' error
also put some effort upon it
gengstapo
post Feb 6 2009, 11:59 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Feb 5 2009, 11:29 PM)
Y dont u try download iPC 10.5.6..and install it.....inside da iso got many patch and some addition fix kext for usb..iopci another
this iPC only got problem to boot ...no sure can boot on rig or not...u can try to this iPC stock patch or with PPF 1 to 5.....for my rig it only can boot with PPF3 patch
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php...pic=142502&st=0
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=142661
its not that im not willing to try, but afaraid later same goes to iatkos, ideneb kalyway.. i d/load their latest release & burn into dvd but in the end, seems not working. so i just stick to leo4all, further i success update to 10.5.6.

the next plan is to get retailed 10.5.x dmg & try the chameleon method so no hassle to update direct from apple official releases thumbup.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 6 2009, 02:36 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Feb 6 2009, 12:41 PM)
ur rig spec should be no problem to run retail mac (intel proc C2D can use mac default vanilla kernel)
Boot132 can use to boot retail mac--->here
i hope so.. left 10 part of files to be download to complete the retailed 10.5.0 dmg
dvd install around 6gb++ i guess doh.gif blush.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 6 2009, 03:28 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Feb 6 2009, 03:06 PM)
For me i not burn dvd iso on dvd-r ......i using external hdd . using disk utility .. restore to the ext hdd and install chameleon bootloader on to it to make it bootable.....eazy and fast . i can install iPC ,leo4all .. etc in 10 to 20minit
yepp, ive been thinking the same also
i saw this tutorial also.. hehehee
gengstapo
post Feb 12 2009, 01:49 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

hmm i will attempt with 10.5.4 after go home
lastnite not success.. sigh
gengstapo
post Feb 13 2009, 12:42 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

lolzz.. been very happy today
manage to install OEM Leopard 10.5.4 & update to 10.5.6 w/out hassle

really, the performance much different. can feel it much much smoother than previously(leo4all)

credit to skitZo` for helping me a lot, thanks a lot pals.. i owe u 1 tongue.gif notworthy.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 17 2009, 08:49 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

im thinking getting msi wind as i find its the best lappie around for hacintoshes. all the hardware working out the box. no need to do extra effort laugh.gif what say u guys?
gengstapo
post Feb 19 2009, 05:07 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

nice! perhaps u could list down ur personal thought regarding the installation of osx upon s10. might help the community, atleast for sharing info

gud luck bro smile.gif

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Feb 19 2009, 05:07 PM
gengstapo
post Feb 19 2009, 10:19 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

ghezzz.. that awesome "macbook" u go there
nice works, btw, what the temp. monitor dya use?
seems working pretty well smile.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 19 2009, 11:40 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(chipun @ Feb 19 2009, 11:11 PM)
i use istat for temp monitor. look much better.
ive try just now, seems it cant detect cpu temp. but only hdd temp.
correct me if im wrong

17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1539sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:18 AM