Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

gengstapo
post Feb 21 2009, 11:17 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Feb 21 2009, 10:56 AM)
hmm with the efi-x or hackintoshing using retail dvd...can we actually dl the dvd from somewhere and burn it into dvd to use it rather than buying it? just curious ><
efi-x should be the same as efi emulator i believe
hackintosh & boot with retail dvd are same, BUT the hackintosh easily break when installing official apple update while retail installation dvd never, at least for time being smile.gif

if u could get the retail un-modified osx image/iso/dmg u can do the retail dvd install
u can burn em' into double layer dvd+r
gengstapo
post Feb 22 2009, 01:43 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Benny-T @ Feb 22 2009, 01:14 PM)
sorry for the noob question but i dont really wanna spoil my workstation
i wonder is the rig compatible for leopard?

Intel Xeon X3220 2.40GHz Kentsfield
MMX,SSE,SSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,EM64T
motherboard:DG35EC
Chipset:G35
physical Memory:2048MB(2X1024MB)
if u wanna most compatible, should get the imac or mac pro then tongue.gif

& the given spec above able to run leopard
gengstapo
post Feb 22 2009, 10:35 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Benny-T @ Feb 22 2009, 04:34 PM)
retail with boot123?
my whole thing is good enough except i'm missing the GC here
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
u could get mid-range GPU such 8600GT/ 8800GT
the work around is a lot easier than using ATi's GPU
gengstapo
post Feb 23 2009, 02:04 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Benny-T @ Feb 23 2009, 02:02 AM)
not really a big fan of ATi
well..saving money for nvidia FX570
thats cool then
you would find it FUN when leopard able to run on generic pc tongue.gif
gengstapo
post Feb 25 2009, 04:20 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

hmm seems the DB were crash
the mini 9 tread lost? -.-
gengstapo
post Mar 2 2009, 12:48 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 2 2009, 12:06 PM)
All hackintosh sifus, do I have to read all 51 pages to find out which mobo & graphic card that can be bought locally, best suitable for OSX86?
Ya I visited http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/HCL_10.5.6 and found GA-EP45-DS3L is most compatible but have other people complaint about it also. So right now I am confused.
So far what is the best graphic card, source locally, do you guys recommend?
gigabyte seems the best bet for hackintosh
u can easily config it coz alot hackintosher use this board model & shared the same driver

gengstapo
post Mar 4 2009, 09:41 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Mar 3 2009, 08:04 PM)
Interesting to read the 50+ pages. I am on EFi-X for the last 3 weeks and have not run into a single problem and now planning to build another Generic PC for my friend who is dying for a Mac.
well, you should try stress the hackintosh there
get vmware/ parallels & install winxp/ vista
run convertion any kind movies

see if it got pass
gengstapo
post Mar 4 2009, 09:53 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Mar 4 2009, 08:24 PM)
I am using VMWare right now with Vista Ultimate 64Bit on EFi-X....
so, how its gone?
any probs. when running heavy application?
gengstapo
post Mar 5 2009, 04:25 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Mar 5 2009, 03:40 PM)
Looks like EFI-X is pretty stable......outdoorxplorer, have u update yr efi-x after u bought it? i mean is there any firmware update? or how frequent is the firmware update interval for the EFI-X.
yo bro, how bout yours?
any probs. when running heavy application? brows.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 8 2009, 12:25 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

^ another EFiX user? seems interesting, but really, i would spend on EFiX unless i could not configure osx to be install & running on my machine.

however, i got one thing that bother me until now. can we modified those cheap ass normal usb to act like EFiX?
gengstapo
post Mar 8 2009, 12:52 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(bizkutrai @ Mar 8 2009, 12:40 PM)
Do we really need EFI-X? I can modify a normal USB drive to boot OSX using Chameleon...  hmm.gif
well, if u got the bullets to be spend, why not? or u kinda lazy to figure out the chameleon method, then this EFiX suit u much, but u also need the hardware that official support by them tongue.gif

there is many way to proper install retail OS X, just select your favor smile.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 9 2009, 06:29 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Draconian Paladin @ Mar 9 2009, 05:40 PM)
Greetings, people!

I am a Windows user all these while and did not receive(and find out) much information regarding Mac OS(and hackintosh variants). Recently, I am expose to OS X86/Hackintosh due to something that happen.

I initially plan on trying it out on my old desktop, but that old rig probably are not that supported, not to mention it does not have a DVD drive.

So, I am now with no choice but to install it on my laptop (Asus F3SV). I am planning to dual boot it along with my Windows 7 beta. As of yet, I haven't grab any copy of the install DVD yet, but will probably getting it soon.

Anyone who have any suggestion for this project? Leopard and Windows 7 beta on Asus F3SV. Any pointer will be appreciated. Thanks.
hmm i havent try win.7 yet, so i dont know how things will
but currently im on dual boot; vista x64 & hacintosh 10.5.2 updated to 10.5.4
its been very easy to config since u can modified the vista bootloader to handle booting menus

but before you goin' thru, i suggest you to do some readin' upon what is exactly this hacintosh, hardware compatibility etc.
this to forbidden you being lost in somewhere later..

good luck & welcome to the beauty of OSx86 smile.gif rclxms.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 10 2009, 04:26 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Andiboi @ Mar 10 2009, 04:17 PM)
Anyone tried install osx with biostar i45 mobo?
failed to found the compatibility info from insanelymac.

i was thinking to sell my rig off and bought the new imac. but from the spec given, seem like i'm actually downgrading which hold me back from buying it.
because of that, i feel like building a hackintosh (retail osx) and try out 1st.
hmm i think u have to do more surfin & read about hackintosh. some them(insanelymac) able to install os x on intel 45 chipset boards. its matter of time smile.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 10 2009, 04:55 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Andiboi @ Mar 10 2009, 04:27 PM)
*gengstapo
okay, thanks.
hehee
i also same as u before
it took me almost few month to understand the hackintosh
welcome to the club & really, i find hackintosh stable compare to retail install dvd on my machine smile.gif

QUOTE(Draconian Paladin @ Mar 10 2009, 04:45 PM)
Thanks gengstapo. I had been doing some reading lately, but the more I read, the more confused I get. There are so many different way to install it, yet I didn't find specifically what I am looking for.

I am under impression that dual booting it with Windows 7 will be almost similar with Windows Vista. Windows 7 created a 200MB partition to store some system files, though. Hope it doesn't interfere with dual booting.

It will take very long time for the torrent to finish (~1 month) ... So, I ot plenty of time to sniff around..

Oh, and one question. Do I necessary need DVD Dual Layer to burn image?
yes, there are plenty way of installing hacintosh into generic intel pc
for amd, u might need to use some of modified os x such ideneb, iATKOS, kalyway or leo4all
the retail install can be done on amd but need more tweaking compared to intel which is a lot easier
my torrent for retail 10.5.4 finish almost a month coz of the size much larger(7gb plus) than the modified sources(roughly around 4gb or less)
its not necessary to have dual layer dvd coz u can still install via restored os x image on external drive which is much faster.

gengstapo
post Mar 10 2009, 10:31 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Mar 10 2009, 09:51 PM)
I see plenty of you going through a tough moment to run Mac OSX on Intel rig. Perhaps should consider a EFi-X which make life much easier.
sure thing, but it still have hardware limitation right?
by doing some reading & trying plus effort, almost no limitation to install on any hardware coz we can customize kext or efi string
gengstapo
post Mar 10 2009, 11:25 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Andiboi @ Mar 10 2009, 11:02 PM)
my case here similar to paladin.
the more i read, the more i confuse.
i thought everyone in insanelymac using a 'retail disc install', then ended up reading all those modified osx guide and information. lolz.
so genstapo, u're using a modified osx?.
lolzzz.. read & try
its the only way to understand better
currently im on modified os x, been using the retail lastime(boot132), but i cant overclock my rig
with this modded distro, i can clock my rig as usual tongue.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 13 2009, 12:55 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Mar 13 2009, 12:25 AM)
@gengstapo

Maybe i know did u got problem with ur hackintosh rig using Apple Alum Keyboard ??

Mine got problem kb hang when enabled usb ehci(usb 2.0) in bios.....ohci (usb 1.1) no problem
nope, its workin' fine
i enable usb 2.0 in my bios

i only have major problem when running retail dvd setup.. seems its very sensitive & quite not stable or my installation not correct. im revert to leo4all again & i must say i like it smile.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 14 2009, 06:47 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(bola @ Mar 14 2009, 06:25 PM)
for those looking at purchasing a netbook for OSX, maybe you all can consider this chart.
[attachmentid=846846]

i got it from boingboing
hmm darn the mini 9 seems the best yet the most expensive when it comes to upgrade storage
solid ssd is !@#$ sweat.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 21 2009, 12:07 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

heh, easyBCD would make u life easier when u do dual booting between vista & osx smile.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 22 2009, 01:10 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

im runnin' with generic pc
but all the hardware compatible with osx
so, no prob at all laugh.gif

17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top