Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread
n8210
Dec 7 2009, 09:09 AM
Hi, first time user of mac os x. I have snow leopard running on an old core 2 duo laptop. Have been to system profiler but it does not show what sort of hardware that has conflict or does not have a driver yet. (1)How do I find out? Like in windows I can view via Device Manager. What do I do in mac? (2)How do I find out which USB driver I need to install because right now when I plug in flash drive or usb mouse it does not work.
Thank you in advance.
n8210
Jul 3 2010, 07:54 PM
I have recently added 4GB ram to an existing 4GB ram system. Activity Monitor is still showing only 4GB ram. Where to check or how to rectify this? Using 10.6.4, 64-bit.
n8210
Jul 3 2010, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(skitZo` @ Jul 3 2010, 08:13 PM) Weird, should show 8gb ram, how bout in system profiler>Memory? I have 4 of these: BANK0/DIMM0: Size: 2 GB Type: DDR3 Speed: 1338 MHz Status: OK Manufacturer: Kingston Part Number: 9905403-011.A03LF Serial Number: 0x4f274065 And that spells 8GB from system profiler > memory. Some ppl have slightly less memory as to what they should have, but that is because they don't have a dedicated graphics card. I have an Asus card. No one else is missing 4Gb of ram in Activity Monitor. I've googled almost every where, but couldn't find any solution or to understand why it is so. My parallel Win7 has only 1GB ram now. I go to preference, I can see 8GB as well, but selecting manual configuration to increase from 1GB to 2GB is also not possible. I can type in 2048 but when I check at System Properties, it still says 1GB ram. So am I using just 4GB or 8GB? I'm confused.
n8210
Jul 4 2010, 01:01 AM
Running at 64 bit for both win7 and SL.
n8210
Sep 20 2010, 11:28 AM
I have a 1TB drive and I put into 3 partition under GUID format. The 3 partition were put under use as:- -SL -TimeMachine -Data Storage
After the first action of doing the partition, I see all 3 partitions were under HFS+ sign. However, recently.. I have upgraded just my Mobo and all other parts remained the same, and thus redo the whole installation again.
But after this second action of doing the GUID partition or I should say resize:- -SL (reduced the size) -TimeMachine (reduced the size) -Data Storage (didn't touch this) -Windows Backup (added one more partition)
I noticed the sign HFS+ remains for Data Storage, but the rest are different. Here is what they look like now:- -SL (HFSJ) -TimeMachine (HFSJ) -Data Storage (HFS+) -Windows Backup (HFSJ)
And I keep getting notice that Data Storage is damaged when I boot into Win7 (installed with MacDrive). I tried to run repair with MacDrive but it says Access Denied.
Anyone seen such problems before? How to fix this? And yesterday, suddenly a section of my drive, or a lot of files went missing. They "reappear" after I restart my pc and boot into windows.
I have tried Repair under Disk Utilities but no problems there.
n8210
Oct 2 2010, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(win20679 @ Oct 1 2010, 11:53 AM) guys, can you help me how to install the Mac OS in my computer? or can provide any useful link thanks Sure, just insert dvd and install.
n8210
Oct 20 2010, 08:32 AM
look in www.kexts.com for ur gc
n8210
Nov 10 2010, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(G_KeN @ Nov 8 2010, 08:41 PM) I was wondering if there's any shops or any individuals here do provide hackintosh service for a price.  When i saw all the steps to hackintosh my HP Envy 14 makes me wanna think twice.. Well, certainly is not easy like installing windows. Takes a lot of time and deep interest. I can try and help you if you like. But please PM me. I seldom check this site/forum these days.
n8210
Nov 16 2010, 01:19 PM
Hackintosh means you install mac operating system in machines not sold by Apple and therefore the machines does not carry the Apple brand.
n8210
Dec 1 2010, 08:06 PM
I paid rm105. Where to get rm95?
n8210
Jan 18 2011, 05:55 PM
Anyone attempted hackintosh on socket 1155 yet?
n8210
Mar 2 2011, 10:50 PM
Better play around to learn see if you like it... after S.Leopard, the Lion is coming. Rarrgggg!!!
n8210
Mar 6 2011, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(adrianteddy @ Mar 5 2011, 09:11 PM) Anyone can provide me any good guide to run Snow Leopard on my Dell Inspiron 1525 ? www.google.com/good-guide-to-run-snow-leopard-on-my-dell-inspiron-1525.htm/
n8210
Mar 23 2011, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(hasif63 @ Mar 22 2011, 11:34 PM) hi, first time posting here. can my pc run hackintosh? here's my specs Intel Core2Quad Q6600 Asus P5G41C-M LX Corsair 2GB DDR3 gaming ram Asus EN8800GT 1GB DDR3 320GB dedicated hdd CM real power pro 550w wanna try since i had some extra space gained from scavenging my notebook and is it hard to find drivers for these hardwares? Can, not easy but can. I tried one with the same spec before but chipset G43. Now it is attached to a big LCD and it is extremely nice.
n8210
Mar 23 2011, 07:30 PM
Oh... I had my research papers. I started with one piece and ended up with 6 pieces of papers. There is no one software to click to install everything. And I've been to all sort of hackintosh sites to gather the necessary kexts and etc... No DSDT help that I could find, but maybe there is one for your chipset? Gd luck.
Added on March 23, 2011, 7:31 pmI did until 10.6.4... not to 10.6.6 cos the pc already give back to owner.
This post has been edited by n8210: Mar 23 2011, 07:31 PM
n8210
Mar 24 2011, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(hasif63 @ Mar 23 2011, 08:41 PM) looks like i'll have to spend quite a time to find these drivers... anyway thanks for the input will my pc support up to the latest mac os? Time Machine does work, so if you go until 10.6.4, backup first. Then only try 10.6.6. You can PM me if you are stucked some where. But often, it is hard when you can't see the screen or know what went out before the problem. Well, the experience is worth it. Gd luck.
n8210
Mar 25 2011, 03:39 PM
I started with iAtkos, iDeneb, and alike... back then apa pun tak tau. Wah, mmg susah. But it is great experience. After a while, you don't use those any more. You start to use boot up cd and the mac os cd, dsdt etc. I had a lousy combo drive before my Pioneer, and I installed so many times using that stupid thing that I had to go buy another mac os cd because the first one was scratched while using. I have never scratched any other cd while using. That's cos I've never used a cd so many times before!! I've installed at least a few hundred times from Leopard to Snow Leopard. So imagine that... but like i've said, it's great experience!! It makes you learn and think. Added on March 25, 2011, 3:43 pmQUOTE(eveready @ Mar 25 2011, 10:21 AM) I mean you do not need those distros version mac e.g. iAtkos etc. What you need is boot cd or you can make yourself boot usb (requires other mac machine to create one) try google tonymac for a start. then try to create dsdt using dsdt autopatcher (by Mald0n). Your MB is supported/available in the dsdt autopatcher Basically search around for hackintosh based on your motherboard + cpu spec, for the method(s) used by others. Then only search for info on graphic cards. If your card is not the very latest, should be able to get it going easily. Or swap or buy cards that you know mac can support. Best is to have 2 pc (or gadgets) that you can use together: one to install and try mac, the other to find answers when you get stuck. This post has been edited by n8210: Mar 25 2011, 03:43 PM
n8210
Jun 29 2011, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(hamswat @ Jun 29 2011, 01:49 PM) ok.thank you very much. btw, can i use the mac os x which i have downloaded ? i've accidentally downloaded snow leopard 10.6.3 but its ok right ? Coz i can update to newer version later on.. Please buy original SL cd.