Yes, you can.
Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, Share your joy and your pain here
Mar 9 2008, 02:42 AM
1,479 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Yes, you can.
Mar 9 2008, 01:24 PM
If you get it yourself at Lowyat, it is approx RM410 for 250GB 2.5" SATA.
Mar 14 2008, 10:08 PM
Your MB/MBP won't support RAM clocked at 800. The only RAM speed that will work is 667.
Mar 16 2008, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(easypeasy @ Mar 16 2008, 11:10 AM) Has anyone got issues with the Macbook fan? Mine is speeding up quite frequently, plus the noise it makes are so irritating. I prefer to have a quieter Mac. Anybody got a solution, please? The reason is that your MacBook is heating up. Is usually goes to 70 degrees before the fan kicks in at full speed.You could avoid this by:- (a) Doing less intensive apps (no games, no flash, no photoshop) (b) Work in a cool air-con room. © Get a notebook cooler (doesn't do magic either, at best lowers 3-4 degrees) QUOTE(LeoDaVinci @ Mar 16 2008, 02:44 PM) When you guys run Onyx, do you usually backup your data? I am not sure whether I should be saving a copy of all my files or not coz I heard some users experience data lost after using Onyx... I don't. I usually run the maintenance scripts and nothing more. I don't the automated cleaning of caches. You should do a full backup though before embarking on a all out cleaning/tune-up of your Mac. You'll never know what will happen. |
Mar 16 2008, 09:59 PM
If you absolutely hate the loud fan, here's an idea.
I once tried using ice cubes on the base of my MacBook. |
Mar 17 2008, 04:04 PM
Yea, that's one of the hazards you have watch out for. Haven't done it anymore. I doubt they will cover it under warranty
Mar 28 2008, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(antnine @ Mar 27 2008, 11:25 PM) Hi there all Macbook and Macbook Pro users. Is it possible to install and use the pirated version of Mac Office 2008 and iWork 08 into Macbook? Just want to know. Thanks. Yes, you can. I'm not sure bout Office 08 but the previous edition installed fine. So did the iWork '08. Heck, even the the retail Leopard DVD will work.In short, it is possible |
Apr 2 2008, 09:31 PM
Try playing from maybe some other mp3 or music source. Lower the volume. If you still get the same sound, you might have broken you speaker driver.
Apr 5 2008, 01:57 PM
What bout internet connection speed? A slow streaming causes poor quality conferencing.
Apr 8 2008, 06:50 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Please resize the image - yongkailoon This post has been edited by yongkailoon: Apr 8 2008, 01:48 PM |
Apr 21 2008, 02:11 PM
Those are RAMs which are made specifically for Macs. However, I think there isn't any difference since Macs moved to the intel platform.
I went for the normal Value RAM since it's cheaper and easier available. OWC sells "Mac RAM" at a reasonable price, however, shipping tends to be quite a bit. Have a look.. www.macsales.com |
Apr 21 2008, 07:32 PM
Well, I've been using Corsair for almost a year now and I never had any of those issues. I crashed a few times but that was due to Leopard. Back in Tiger, it was really stable
It comes down to your personal preference really! |
Apr 26 2008, 10:06 PM
The absolute cheapest place to source for AppleCare is eBay.
I got ACPP for my MacBook for RM510 only! I just got the activation key since shipping itself would cost a bit. You don't really need the box. |
Apr 27 2008, 03:04 AM
Some documentations and a diagnostics DVD. Both of that can be downloaded directly from Apple's website.
Apr 27 2008, 07:51 PM
You go to Apple's website and key in the activation code given to you by the seller. Kinda like topping up mobile phone prepaid!
Apr 29 2008, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(IvanKang @ Apr 29 2008, 12:31 PM) My AppleCare Protection Plan warranty, suddenly got expired. But it was supposed to be expiring on april 2010.. Anyone can help me out? I'm using a MacBook, Bought it early Feb 2007 If you bought your Mac at Feb 2007, 3 years later, it should end at Feb 2010. Why would it be in April 2010 in the 1st place?Did you key in your Serial number correctly? |
May 13 2008, 08:01 PM
You're talking bout the Zalman NC1000? I have the cooler. I'm pretty satisfied with it. It doesn't really lower your temperature but prevents fluctuations.
Eg. If your idle temp is 52 degrees, you can get approximately 50 degrees with the cooler at full blast. However, when visiting flash sites, the jump in temp will be smaller compared to not having a cooler. It prevents the internal MB fans from kicking in. |
May 13 2008, 10:35 PM
Excellent choice
Jun 4 2008, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ May 31 2008, 11:49 AM) hi all, You can get them online for a reasonable price..Does anyone know where to get an Optical cable to use the MBP's digital audio output ? Need that Toslink to mini-stereo plug fibre-optic cable. Been looking high & low for one but none to be found so far! 1. www.eBay.com 2. www.monoprice.com 3. www.sysconcept.ca QUOTE(uSeLeSs @ Jun 3 2008, 11:31 PM) need an advice from sifu... Let's try to troubleshoot the problem. Firstly, remove the battery from the MacBook and keep the power cable plugged in. Then see if it powers on. If it does, this means that your charger is working properly and the culprit is most likely your battery.the 1st time i charge my mb is ok (till 100%), however when the batt. almost finish and i plug the cable to charge, it doesn't work & no matter after few hours is still can't charge. But after 1 day later i try to plug the cable again and is work to charge. i'm still confuse is it my batt charger prob or is my mb batter cell prob. This keep frustrating me few days already :'( |
Jun 4 2008, 08:16 PM
RM349, try getting them from eBay, it might be a little bit cheaper