5,830 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Mar 17 2021, 02:42 AM)
i see

i dont game or heavy usage of videos anyway

most to most also lunch time 20-30 mins of video and thats it

most of the time will be in AC environment nod.gif

should be fine nod.gif
What I noticed with my N20 and I don't game. The phone heats up to 42 degree when taking a few minutes of photos under the sun.

touristking
post Mar 18 2021, 03:48 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Mar 18 2021, 08:33 AM)
bro... playing game... i play 120hz game ... it heating like hell. And some reddit/xda from cold country. 40deg celcius to us is ok, to them is hot like hell.
On my N20, it has reached 42 deg C using camera for 10 minutes under the sun.
touristking
post Mar 24 2021, 08:17 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Mar 24 2021, 09:44 AM)
to get the warranty

safest is to go to samsung service center nod.gif

im thinking if i want to get mine as well

tho since note 8/note9/note10+ days i've never cracked the screen before

so... not sure if i want to invest RM168 (i think) for the s21U screen protection.
I did called up Samsung asking about the insurance. They don't seem to know anything and when asked for estimate, they say 400 or 500 for screen + 1 extra year warranty. I told them to fly kite.

Because I remember last time only about 300++

touristking
post Mar 25 2021, 07:52 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(kumhoo @ Mar 25 2021, 12:43 AM)
Previously I bought tempered glass type and after install the fingerprint not working at all so I inform them and they replace me new one with different type..
I would like to ask. Why not just keep the original screen protector that comes with the phone? I don't see any problem with that? Why need to replace with potential FP problem?
touristking
post Mar 25 2021, 11:12 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Mar 25 2021, 02:02 AM)
that one is plastic only and can get scratch easily
so to protect my phone, no choice put casing, put screen protector lor
I have no problem. I don't put my phone with the keys. As it is, I don't find the fingerprint sensor good and TG may make it worst.

touristking
post Mar 28 2021, 11:39 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Mar 28 2021, 02:19 AM)
I think it's imported set, not refurbished.

Doesn't make sense such new phone has refurbished set.
used/refurbished/opened or whatever. It is not brand new/untouched

touristking
post Mar 28 2021, 07:17 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Mar 28 2021, 07:27 AM)
that is just another layer which you must peel it off..
not a screen protector for long term use, more like a new sealed box packaging
Have Samsung gone so low as to do such thing? My Note 20 has a soft screen protector that I find perfectly usable.
touristking
post Mar 29 2021, 08:09 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Mar 28 2021, 03:42 PM)
The screen protector is more expensive than you think. For the S10+ model, the cost of making it is $5.70 USD. Yes, it is only the cost of making it, not the final selling price. I guess its material works well with ultrasonic fingerprint scanner and it has an oleophobic layer which makes its price higher.
this is why I previously asked, why people take off this original SP and go for others and having headache with fingerprint scanner. I find the original SP perfectly useable.
touristking
post Mar 30 2021, 02:24 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(spicyfooty @ Mar 30 2021, 07:18 AM)
Hi all, how do you guys enter recovery mode in S21U? I followed the YT instructions, but it always boot up to full operating mode.

1. Plug in USB C to PC
2. Turn off S21U
3. Press and hold POWER + UP buttons

After few seconds, the phone boots up to full operating mode. I'm on latest April's patch.

I tried another method on YT

1. Press and hold POWER + DOWN until phone shuts down.
2. While holding POWER, release DOWN and press UP (and hold both buttons).
3. Still boots to full mode.

Please help.....thanks.
Use the supplied USB C headphone instead and try.

touristking
post Mar 30 2021, 06:41 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(defendsor @ Mar 30 2021, 10:56 AM)

My S21 could not last through the day despite mild usage. If I don't charge my phone overnight, the next morning it will run out of juice. The phone will often overheat with a popup message "Your phone is too hot. Let it cool down before using Multi window again" during video call (not even game). Ironically, my current S10 never experienced this issue.

I have been to the service center 3 times, first time they updated the software and that solved nothing. The second time they replaced the motherboard + battery and the problem returns after a week. The third time they updated the software again  doh.gif saying is a different update. Spoke to a customer support and she told me they received a "few" units with similar issues.

I already formatted my phone 3 times in less than a month for a brand new phone. Not sure If I'm the unlucky one. Anyone here experienced battery drop and overheating issues?

You basically have a totally new phone already.

How much battery does your Google Play Services use after battery run down? Should be below 5%. If higher, most likely some apps/setting problem.
https://www.maketecheasier.com/fix-google-p...-drain-android/

What I would do as last resort is, remove ALL self installed apps and only use those that comes with the phone for a day and see what happens.
touristking
post Apr 1 2021, 03:53 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(spaceman @ Apr 1 2021, 08:33 AM)
My S21U is always warm to the touch (front & back) compared to my N10 with Exynos, not sure if this is normal. Just normal browsing.
Also with Exynos 2100 chip? I thought my N20 taking just 1 or 2 photos in daylight and temp went up to 35 deg C is bad.

touristking
post Apr 1 2021, 06:58 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(spaceman @ Apr 1 2021, 09:22 AM)
yeah exynos, starting temperature from 1 hour screenoff is already at 37'C lol wtf
Talking about N20.

In room not using the phone, around 30 deg.

Outside in bright sunlight taking 5 or 10 minutes photos, can go as high as 42 deg

I thought 2100 chip better already

This post has been edited by touristking: Apr 1 2021, 06:58 PM
touristking
post Apr 2 2021, 05:13 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Apr 1 2021, 11:52 PM)
I don't understand why so many people bragging about exynos chip  getting hot when in normal usage.  Just got the phone set it up.  Come on la,  the phone also need to learn your usage pattern la.

Im s21 ultra user myself.  I don't have such heat issue at all.
How about this.

Some have used many older Samsung and don't recall heating issue before. At least the N20 that I have now is the "hottest" so far among the several I used before and those are all high end in their times.

That is why there are people complaining why latest Samsung is hotter than older Samsung. I would say their complain is genuine.

touristking
post Apr 3 2021, 08:39 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Apr 2 2021, 03:08 PM)
New Samsung with new more powerful process,  hence more heat.

Old generation people don't complaint hot. But instead complaint performance not enough, battery life sucks la.    Lower performance equal lower heat generation.

Is like comparing. V8 engine in super car with 1.3L myvi engine.  Which one generate more heat at high performance rpm??

This is just law of thermodynamics physics.  Average people don't understand. 

More performance equal more heat.  In this case s21  needed to desipate those excess heat.  So hence phone hotter lo.

Simple as that.
May be but I think there is other unexplained issues.

For example. I notice the overnight standby time for the newer N20 far worst than the older N8 with smaller battery in percentage term, even with similar apps. The phone signal bar is worst than the N7FE

touristking
post Apr 4 2021, 05:15 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(kokweng1 @ Apr 3 2021, 04:56 PM)
ioi puchong

but for color option only left purple , white and pink (no more black)
For the free gift, must join member but ok la RM12 for extra 1 year warranty plus freebie
(you need ask them for the online price and free gift)
Use Citibank and I was told it's 2 year extra warranty. I reckon that is almost RM300 worth

touristking
post Apr 5 2021, 06:44 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(kokweng1 @ Apr 4 2021, 10:34 AM)
Already bought , too late sad.gif
At first I tot is citi senheng card so I don't bother
Look like can join as long got citi card (but rm24 instead of 12)
I actually went out to get a basic Citi card with no annual fees for such a purpose. Just in case I want to buy anything from Senheng. Normal time, never use it and just keep in drawer.
touristking
post Apr 9 2021, 05:26 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 9 2021, 07:04 AM)

4. camera = on par with Apple iphones, but with a Samsung, im always confident with my point and shoot that occurs from time to time.
Rivals are catching up. I have never given Vivo a look but recently their X60 pro plus with Zeiss lens catching my eyes.

touristking
post Apr 9 2021, 05:27 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Apr 9 2021, 07:17 AM)
only 1 question for you. 

what are the battery capacity  of these phones.   

when you know this answer  only you make comparison.
Another way to look at this is, iphone are more power efficient.

touristking
post Apr 9 2021, 05:29 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(kukukakikukaku @ Apr 9 2021, 07:53 AM)
Aight thank you. Will check it out
Alternatively you just get from official shop of reputable brands like Anker or Aukey or Baesus or Ugreen etc

touristking
post Apr 9 2021, 05:33 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Apr 9 2021, 08:13 AM)
I think optical will work regardless. Thats the benefit

But ultrasonic will be more secure nod.gif

Though i wish samsung will update their face unlock feature to be similar to oneplus.. considering we will still be wearing masks for quite a while

Oneplus face unlock works well by pinpointing your face and eye shape/biometrics

So even with mask on. Can use face unlock  laugh.gif

As long as your eye biometrics matches
Kaspersky has a recent article saying Ultrasonic is easiest to fool.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1122sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:40 PM