Samsung Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G - V2, 1 month anniversary

touristking
post Feb 17 2021, 11:28 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Feb 15 2021, 07:23 AM)
Let me jump on the bandwagon and give my 2 sen.

But before that, can I implore you people to address the subject matter which only then would be meaningful debates, if you will, instead of addressing the person. When attended in such a manner, the forum would achieve its intention and that is to gather intel and learn about what we are interested in.

Back to subject proper. Samsung phones in our neck of the woods, for whatever reason, have weaker phone signal. I am talking through experience. Having a Note 10+, Note 20Ultra, iPhone 12Pro Max, Huawei P30 Pro and Mate30 Pro simultaneously, the Samsungs’ signal is somehow not on par with the rest. With that said, it is not often that the phones heat up while searching for signal. Only in rare cases. Nonetheless, the other phones don’t struggle as much during those occasions, looking for signal. So, yeah, Samsung phones here in Malaysia with the Exynos SoC is weaker, phone signal wise, comparatively.

However, there will be instances when a certain telco has its tower nearby and you happen to be using a Samsung phone with that telco’s SIM card, obviously signal strength will be stronger compared to another brand’s phone with a different telco card in it. Which means, all such situations must be taken cognisance of.
In my case, I found Samsung's signal strength has gotten weaker over the years.

Right now I have a Note20 and a Note7FE on same telco network and side by side. Both Exynos.

Note7FE will show signal strength of 4 bars. With 86dBM.
Note20 will show 2 bars. With 118dBm.

Ya, I was disappointed.

touristking
post Feb 17 2021, 11:32 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 17 2021, 04:30 AM)
hehe
this morning wake up receive sms
dhl have sent ppl to send parcel
hope is my s21 ultra
will try check the signal bar but ringke fusion x
i remember saw video macam not so easy kena lens la
I was told to check for dBm indicating signal strength.
Go to: Setting/About Phone/Status Information/Sim Card Status/Signal Strength.
touristking
post Feb 17 2021, 11:36 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(arsenalezz @ Feb 17 2021, 03:11 AM)
The 2 first phots are from the S21 ULTRA,
while the next 2 photos are from the 2year old Note10 plus. See the difference.. 😭😭😭😭😭
I was deciding between the Note 20 and Note 20 Ultra. 2 reasons why I didn't get the ultra was, I hardly ever take zoom photos and secondly, I find the focusing slow. Not good taking hyperactive children photos.

1 thing I now do regret is, the phone has poor signal strength compared to previous Samsung.

touristking
post Feb 17 2021, 12:55 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Feb 17 2021, 04:40 AM)
Poor signal is the 'TRADEMARK' of Samsung Phone since Note10....

They never improved and cannot be solved using software update....

Even in house, using UNIFI, also will drop signal...... bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
I decided to try out a Note10 also. Same telco. Same location. Note 10 was -110 dBm. N20 is slightly worst at -114dBm.

Everybody keep improving but Samsung keep moving backward.

touristking
post Feb 17 2021, 03:59 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(selphy @ Feb 17 2021, 07:57 AM)
So far the S21U battery has been pretty satisfying. Here are my stats so far. WQHD mode on Adaptive 120hz screen. Manual display brightness

I am not too concerned about SOT times but easily lasts a day so far, though I am not a heavy user nor a gamer.
Interestingly, I notice wechat using the most battery power yet I hardly uses wechat. Why? How to solve this?
touristking
post Feb 18 2021, 07:37 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(ChaChaZero @ Feb 18 2021, 07:30 AM)
Yes, it really is worth the extra RM 800. You're getting a better screen, much better cameras, S-Pen functionality, slightly better battery life and the sizes are so similar you won't feel a difference holding/using it compared to the S21+.

Your options should really be either the S21 or S21 Ultra only. The Plus feels like a redundant device that offers nothing much when compared with the S21 and S21 ultra.
Personally, one reason I did not go for the N20U is because of the camera. From what I understand, N20U is superior in the zoom department and I hardly ever take zoom photos personally. And again from what I read, the cons for me outweigh the pros.

The cons.
1. Slower to focus. Not good taking photos of hyperactive kids.
2. Time taken for next shot is longer. Too much processing needed?
3. Close up shot has, sometime, too narrow depth of field for me

This post has been edited by touristking: Feb 18 2021, 07:37 PM
touristking
post Feb 18 2021, 09:44 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Feb 18 2021, 01:08 PM)
Similar? I beg to to be differ.

S21 Ultra is definitely heavier than S21+. But it depends on people whether he can or cannot handle the weight. So it's not a big issue.

The only thing we should be concerned here is the dimension.

S21+ = 75.6x161.5x7.8mm

S21 Ultra = 75.6x165.1x8.9mm

Don't overllok this small difference. Many people thought the extra 1mm depth is no big deal. Hell no! When you holding a large phone, that 1mm extra depth will make whole lot of difference when you are holding. Not to mention that when you put on the casing on S21 Ultra, it will make the whole phone much bulkier due to its depth.

if one prefer holding a lighter phone, S21+ is much better for him compared to S21 ultra. This is also the main reason why i chose S21+. Smartphone is a necessity in my life. Comfortable is vital. No matter how good the S21 Ultra. All those goodness are pointless to me if I feel uncomfortable to hold it.

Just my 2 cents.
me too.

I avoid anything thing over 200gm and too big a size. Another reason why I went for the N20 instead of N20U. I can feel the difference in size when holding them.

touristking
post Feb 19 2021, 06:32 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(beckham07 @ Feb 19 2021, 09:48 AM)
If u have the budget i think the display and the camera worth the extra 1k,s21 plus camera is similar with s20u,u don't get much mew with s21plus,u can also get n20 ultra snapdragon version with that price

Just buy the transparent casing,i always get it for my phone so can showoff the back haha
Different people, different preferences. Camera is one of the reason I would avoid the Ultra.

Watch at 6:57. I have seen this focusing issue first hand and I didn't like it.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iowey7BLEdE...b_channel=ViLpi
touristking
post Feb 19 2021, 06:53 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 18 2021, 05:11 PM)
guys
i wonder is it s21 ultra camera lens behind got any plastic???
cause i notice i take photo , it like not clear
a bit blurry feel
did you use zoom? Below 5x?

touristking
post Feb 22 2021, 06:19 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 18 2021, 01:22 PM)
hmm so far
now i try redo all the thing and try check on the camera
is it the camera got any screen protector or plastic?
why i feel like the photo i taken is not so nice > <
You using flash? Using a clear case? If yes, take off the case and try again.
touristking
post Feb 22 2021, 01:59 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(soundguy @ Feb 22 2021, 06:36 AM)
Like you, pulled the trigger from P20pro. Some observations...(since saturday)

1. Size (naked) abt same as P20pro. a bit heavy. but build quality feels nice.
2. default apps i also think P20pro better. Samsung more options to choose tho.
3. battery life kinda sucks...i dun watch video or games...juz surfing and light stuff (no calls) also will drop to 40% by nightfall.
4. Heat is a factor.
5. Still, it is a good phone considering Huawei out of the picture.
i actually like the LED lighting sides...until i upgraded the software and it disappeared! i spent a looooooong time searching for it....then search this forum found out abt AODNotify. does the job but 3rd party. spent RM19.90 to buy coffee for developer..lol

Cheers!
I came from a Note 8 to Note 20 and battery life aren't much better, in fact, in some instances I think might be worst. So why are there so many reviews saying Samsung's batteries are great? All paid by Samsung to write good stuff?

Apologize to say this but in a sense, you make me feel better because yours is 5000 and mine is only 4300 and you are also complaining

touristking
post Feb 22 2021, 07:19 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Feb 22 2021, 09:07 AM)
Note 20 with exynos 990? Yeah battery life sucks on that bro. Exynos 990 really is a failure of a chip.
Anyways I changed from Note20U to S21U, not sure about in comparison to Huawei but in comparison to Note20U/S20U, the battery life of S21U with Exynos 2100 is much better in terms of standby time + SOT. My prev Note20U barely hit 4 1/2 hours of SOT and would definitely not last a 12 hour shift at work before needing to plug in.
With the S21U my average SOT would be around 6 hours and standby drain much better.
I find what you do with the phone has big impact on SOT. With the N20, I have tried playing youtube and I can get 1+hour with 10% battery so theoretically, STO 10 hours drool.gif

But normally daily use, probably 4+ hours SOT with 20% battery left.

touristking
post Feb 23 2021, 06:01 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(colinevan @ Feb 22 2021, 02:07 PM)
New case - Ringke Fusion Matte

Want to ask. I see there are raised edges around the flash light module. Did you take any photos in the dark with flash light? How do they turn out?

I am asking because with some casing, the flash light will bounce off the reflective edges impairing the photos quality.

This post has been edited by touristking: Feb 23 2021, 06:03 AM
touristking
post Feb 23 2021, 09:36 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(colinevan @ Feb 23 2021, 02:11 PM)
Here is the picture taken inside dark room with flash on...

Thanks. Looks good. Is the case got good tight fitting? How's the grip?

touristking
post Feb 28 2021, 03:31 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Feb 28 2021, 07:39 AM)
I'm probably the first person to crack the S21 screen sweat.gif

Was working, phone on top of the table, didn't noticed it and accidentally pushed it off.
Usually would be fine as table only around 1m height but screen hit the edge of the table feet which
was metal.

Thankfully, phone was covered with screen crack warranty, this wasn't the Samsung
Screen Crack warranty though. 3rd party one that my SES gave out under Etiqa if I'm not wrong.
Claimed the warranty. Had to wait 2 days before sending to SC as they didn't have the parts.

Great experience with the Samsung SC as usual. Kudos to them, only took 2 hours
to change the screen. Apparently the screen and the aluminium sides come in a set so
my sides were changed too even though it wasn't damaged.
Hi. I am interested to know more about this Etiqa warranty. They seems cheap at about RM80 only. How do you claim? Where can you claim? At original Samsung service center? Thanks

touristking
post Feb 28 2021, 04:36 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Feb 28 2021, 09:25 AM)
Don't really know the details of it actually. Seems like it was a promo the SES is doing to encourage people to buy from their store.
Yeap claimed from original Samsung SC. Have to get the claim approved first, which was done by the SES guy who helped me with my phone when I picked it up then proceeded to do the repair at the SC. I think Samsung's own screen crack warranty around rm100+/- too might be less hassle since no need to go through 3rd party approval.
What is SES?

I couldn't find Samsung's own insurance. Those I Google are 3rd parties like Etiqa etc.

https://shopee.com.my/product/181541737/5957259087
https://www.lazada.com.my//products/i142529...l2&urlFlag=true
touristking
post Feb 28 2021, 06:18 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 28 2021, 10:48 AM)
SES = Samsung Experienced Store
Which selling all samsung tablet / smartphone and their accessories
thanks.

touristking
post Mar 3 2021, 06:46 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Mar 3 2021, 10:50 AM)
Pic, I saw 169 for pen only

Need to charge the pen? If yes how to charge?

Tq
Are you referring to the bluetooth function of Note's S Pen like waving the pen to control the camera? If yes, I read the pen for S21 doesn't have that function. So there is no charging. Correct me if i am wrong

touristking
post Mar 6 2021, 02:58 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Mar 6 2021, 06:38 AM)
This is true.

Anyway, does anyway have bad battery problems?
As soon as I got the phone off from full charge, it drops to 99% in few secs.

And the fast battery drain starts. We paid top notch dollar to get the best and still not get the Ultra feeling,

SOT of the battery is bad. 4-5 hours SOT, my previous Pixel 5 can reach 8-9 SOT no problem. Really 5000mah?

I ain't experiencing Ultra feeling with this phone. It's already 6 days in, and ain't seeing any battery optimization or adapative battery kicking in.

I'm on the latest updates.

Something is hitting the battery hard. I'm seeing many get outstanding battery life on Reddit some 1 day plus until next charge, with QHD + 120hz , mine need to charge twice a day.

If need to step down to 60hz refresh rate - turn off this and that, that's not the reason to buy an 'Ultra' phone. Better just go for the A series.

Wonder if we can return this phone, bought at Samsung Ioi city mall
I have found SOT comparison not reliable. Because different people use phone differently so will have different SOT.

Try this. Play Youtube continuously and nothing else. I am pretty sure you will get 10 hours SOT on your phone.

touristking
post Mar 6 2021, 03:03 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Mar 6 2021, 07:55 AM)
What to do. Samsung phone is like that. It powerful and dont know what background processes keep running until it drains fast. I upgraded from n20u to s21u .. thoughts will have big improvement of battery but not the case... Maybe SOT from 3.5 hours improved to 4 hours only.
I am on N20 and was unhappy as hell with short battery life. Unbelievably bad standby battery drain. I tried everything I know of and I believe it's Bixby Routine setting that finally giving me 4 hours SOT with 40% battery left. I think that is the best I can get so I will let it rest now.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1019sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:25 PM