Samsung Samsung Galaxy S21 | S21+ | S21 Ultra 5G - V2, 1 month anniversary
touristking
Mar 6 2021, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(Turnip @ Mar 6 2021, 06:53 AM) Really jelly with your SOT, I still can't point where the problem lies, rogue apps? Faulty battery? What's your configuration, All maxed out perhaps? I'm on QHD + 120hz 5g turned off(4g/3g/2g mode) uninstalled smart things Pixel AOSP theme with Hex app(to look more like Pixel) Nova launcher prime with Google feed (left swipe) These are what I did on my N20 1. Dark mode 2. As many apps to sleep as possible. 3. Adaptive battery 4. No 5G 5. Location OFF. Use Bixby routine to auto-on and auto-off Location when opening/closing certain apps that requires Location. 6. Power Saving mode
touristking
Mar 6 2021, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(leongsem @ Mar 6 2021, 11:25 AM) Can you share how to enable or disable location service? I don know how to set, tq Go to Advanced Feature. Switch on Bixby Routine. Select the list of apps that requires Location like Camera or Waze. When using these apps, get Bixby to auto-on Location for you Once exit these apps, get Bixby to auto-off Location for you So your Location will never be on 24/7 thus saving battery OR If you have Location on 24/7, then you can get Bixby to auto-off scanning for Wifi when you are away from house. Save battery also.
touristking
Mar 7 2021, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(chkhoo76 @ Mar 7 2021, 02:02 AM) Are you happy using this phone? If Yes! Why you care about SOT? 😜 Phone vs Brick
touristking
Mar 7 2021, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(leongsem @ Mar 7 2021, 08:23 AM) Mine one so far so good I noticed, Samsung camera seems to use lots of battery. Try that and see.
touristking
Mar 8 2021, 06:36 AM
QUOTE(off_shore @ Mar 7 2021, 06:02 PM) Try using Samsung launcher for a day or two. Uninstall those third party launchers. If can't, try resetting your phone to factory. I came from s20p and I'm so far very happy with the battery. Easily 1.5 days with lotsa youtube and I don't game. I read Samsung does well on Youtube. I have tried on N20, 7% battery gives 1 hour SOT playing youtube.
touristking
Mar 8 2021, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(spaceman @ Mar 8 2021, 05:34 AM) I wonder why AOD battery consumption still high on S21 with Exynos2100, compared to Huawei phones. I noticed it's at least around 5-7% overnight. How long did you have the phone? Bluetooth & Location on? I thought my N20 with Exynos 990 overnight 5% is already bad (no Bluetooth). Exynos2100 also?
touristking
Mar 9 2021, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(PJng @ Mar 9 2021, 11:19 AM) Server access failure (1, -1). Please check your network or try again later That is wechat How to resolve this? Does it impact battery life?
touristking
Mar 10 2021, 06:26 AM
QUOTE(solaris22 @ Mar 9 2021, 06:03 PM) I tried every methods to get into recovery mode but without success, plug cable to computer, or plug into charger, press volume up + power button, it always bring me into lock screen no matter what, any sifu here can explain? I have the exact same problem. what works for me is, plug in the supplied type C headphone to the phone. Press VolumeUp and Power simultaneously and hold until something happens wish you luck.
touristking
Mar 11 2021, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(Ernest90 @ Mar 11 2021, 07:10 AM) Planning to get Note 20 for gift but seeing now most of the telco stop offering note 20(not sure why) and samsung website always out of stock. If rumors are real note will be ceased then will go for S series. Would like get you guys experience/feedback that previously using note 9/10 and now using S21 ultra with S pen. thanks advance for your sharing. Having the N20 and have regular access to a N10 (not the +) for comparison. IMO, not much of an upgrade. I would even go as far as to say, don't bother.
touristking
Mar 14 2021, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(kernel123 @ Mar 14 2021, 12:15 AM) Yup. I agree with this The sad truth, this even happens even on the most expensive one. S21U And yeah. Dual sim does affect the battery life. I was wondering. Only a tiny part of the screen are lighted up with AOD. So why would it use much power?
touristking
Mar 14 2021, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(joeblow @ Mar 14 2021, 11:06 AM) I think the problem is not dual sim. Or rather Samsung S21 needs more battery to search for the optimum network when you compare to other phone. Samsung assumes our network strength is as good Korea. Unfortunately not the case. I am comparing it with Huawei of course. I have a N20 and I would concur. I have been playing around and think Samsung's screen is pretty efficient. For example, it only takes about 5 - 7% battery to get an hour of youtube or surfing. But the standby time is bad and that's likely due to the network reception. The signal bars strength is poor.
touristking
Mar 15 2021, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(leongsem @ Mar 15 2021, 03:55 AM) I have few question/ help on camera, all sifu are welcome to comment 1) How to take sunrise photo? the auto mode seem like not working, cannot capture the egg yolk 2) any sport mode there? want to take my kids jump photo, but don know which mode to switch to...thank you very much! Those with 108MP main camera lens tend not to be the best for fast moving objects. Focusing slower. Time between shot longer. Have been the case for S20 and Note 20U. May be the S21Ultra has improved.
touristking
Mar 15 2021, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(dawho @ Mar 15 2021, 09:46 AM) guys need some help.....really getting annoyed with the google play services....last time it took 29% battery usage...im not even doing anything....alredy search youtube how to decrease its number....but still taking up battery...so how do you guys manage this problem? or do u guys just factory reset the phone back Read some where. Many apps request things through Google Play Services and should use about 1% battery. In other words, the problem is with some apps gone rogue and keep making requests to Google Play Services Did you just updated the OS? If yes, try clear the cache for a start.
touristking
Mar 16 2021, 06:54 AM
QUOTE(sparrowed @ Mar 15 2021, 05:20 PM) not sure how you guys experienced on the phone, but i am selling it now. A pretty serious camera lag issues and Samsung does not care (went to the service center multiple times) https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...#entry100305534Is yours the S21Ultra with 108MP lens? If yes, then I am not at all surprised because that is one the main reason why I got the N20 with 12MP lens instead of the N20U with 108MP lens. I don't take zoom photos so I don't need the 108MP anyway. Some Youtube reviewers did mention about the 108MP lens being slower to focus and time between shots. But some reviewers probably sucking up to Samsung and everything good. BTW, having the N20 and I compared it to a Note10. And guess what? The N10 can record a shot FASTER than the N20. Go figure.... And personally find the N10 takes better photos than the N20. So those with N10, don't bother upgrading. This post has been edited by touristking: Mar 16 2021, 08:39 AM
touristking
Mar 16 2021, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(kyxxx @ Mar 16 2021, 01:52 AM) unlike other devices sensor, samsung one is considered high security type, meaning you gotta be precise to unlock it (to prevent duplication or theft easily, but in the expense of user friendly i guess) so, instead of us registering our fingerprint in many different ways of unlocking the phone (which make the registration less accurate due to too many conditions of fingerprint), we can register our fingerprint as how we normally hold our phone and just adjust slightly on the angle, somehow it reduces the error in detecting our fingerprint 2ndly, its related to UV glue, regardless of any brand, the UV glue will be a factor that affect the sensitivity fingerprint sensing, hence if you wan less issue, we try to minimize the thickness of the UV glue at the fingerprint sensor portion during Uv curing According to Kaspersky: And last but not least, the easiest of all to fool were ultrasonic fingerprint scanners. https://www.kaspersky.com/blog/sas2020-fing...-cloning/34929/
touristking
Mar 16 2021, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(spaceman @ Mar 16 2021, 02:33 AM) I can concur that, my N10 is everything nice except for the battery (because using old Exynos), the form factor is the sweetest of all smartphones, just nice to hold in hands and surfing net when lying on bed. Too bad they increase the size for N20 and don't think they will return to N10 size. If you think N20 is big, wait till you hold the N20U. From the spec sheet, S21Ultra even more so.
touristking
Mar 16 2021, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(spaceman @ Mar 16 2021, 02:37 AM) Can buy from shopee or lazada, am also considering buying extra 1 year, can be done within 6 months so no hurry lol There are several seller or several different companies providing cover. Any recommendation?
touristking
Mar 16 2021, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(kyxxx @ Mar 16 2021, 03:33 AM) haha, well this was taught to me by sakurazz, so kudos to him but yes, i do have to agree the sensor is annoyingly hard to adjust but the face recognition is top notch I used to forward to front fingerprint sensor but now I miss the days of older Note's backside capacitive sensor that is far more sensitive.
touristking
Mar 17 2021, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(lyfeature @ Mar 16 2021, 11:53 PM) If the S21U pricing same as S21 , I no worry no complains loh. But at rm5299....oh well nevermind  At 5299, I would expect the heat generated to make me hot coffee
touristking
Mar 17 2021, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(hanny562 @ Mar 16 2021, 03:22 PM) Tbh, I have used this for 2 weeks, I don't feel its hotter than my s10plus. with case on, not even feel hot when holding it to game or normal browsing on insta/fb/browser. Hot is subjective. Better to install apps like GSam battery app to give temperature reading.