4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Never declare income tax before

Noryume
post Jan 26 2021, 01:40 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 26 2021, 01:29 PM)
In my case, what difference does it make if I file or don’t file previous years?

Either way, I kena penalty right? Doesn’t look I can escape that.
Better settle it now then later. 2019 and 2020 documents needed for now. If later years LHDN inquiry, 2025 maybe. All document from 2025 to 2019 will be asked.
SUSCmyong88
post Jan 26 2021, 01:57 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(yycclin @ Jan 26 2021, 12:22 PM)
If i perform an e filling this year,  will LHDN backcharge me or penalty me ?

Do i need to update my account back to normal ?

Any idea ? Tks..
Back charge automatically happens when you try to file on any year but the current.
Sammie7
post Jan 26 2021, 02:52 PM

333 posts

many ppl have this wrong impression:

"oh my income is not enough to be taxed, so I don't need to file income tax."

you are supposed to file as long as you have a source of income.
TScontestchris
post Jan 26 2021, 08:33 PM

5,564 posts

Guys, I have just filed in my first ever tax return!

I filed for 2017. That year I didn't pay PCB tax and memang pun when input in the system, zero tax. Didn't get bonus also. So was just my basic pay.

For 2018 and 2019, I need to check EA form for the exact income (with bonus) and tax paid. So will file tomorrow for that.

So far, I can submit without issue. Was not asked about penalty.

For 2018, I have filled in the form provisionally. The system records that I had paid around RMxxx in taxes. But after my pelepasan, memang zero tax. Yet to submit as I need to verify the details.

For 2019 curiously, the system DOES NOT CAPTURE my PCB tax payment. It says zero tax paid.

How come yeah?
Noryume
post Jan 26 2021, 08:57 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 26 2021, 08:33 PM)
Guys, I have just filed in my first ever tax return!

I filed for 2017. That year I didn't pay PCB tax and memang pun when input in the system, zero tax. Didn't get bonus also. So was just my basic pay.

For 2018 and 2019, I need to check EA form for the exact income (with bonus) and tax paid. So will file tomorrow for that.

So far, I can submit without issue. Was not asked about penalty.

For 2018, I have filled in the form provisionally. The system records that I had paid around RMxxx in taxes. But after my pelepasan, memang zero tax. Yet to submit as I need to verify the details.

For 2019 curiously, the system DOES NOT CAPTURE my PCB tax payment. It says zero tax paid.

How come yeah?
Either human/system error or your company didn't pay to LHDN.
TScontestchris
post Jan 26 2021, 09:05 PM

5,564 posts

QUOTE(Noryume @ Jan 26 2021, 08:57 PM)
Either human/system error or your company didn't pay to LHDN.
Actually LHDN eLejar did capture my PCB payments.

But somehow in the e-BE doesn't capture.

I've now submitted all from 2017 to 2019 tax returns. Feels like a proper grown up.

And best part is, I will get RM600+ tax refund.

Government is paying me to file my tax! rclxm9.gif

How long before I get my refund?
ClessRV
post Jan 26 2021, 09:08 PM

702 posts

You are young and single, we all know that feeling, all mls nak bt if its too complicated, have the same exp but only for the year when i started to work, year after that and beyond, i file all my taxes even if i can't claimed it back, since if you got audited and fined, you will pay even more.

so please contact lhdn and file all your taxes after this, if you are a gov servant, they will look into your account starting from your lapor diri year, so be prepare for that too, you will be fined if they found out the missing tax filing.
Noryume
post Jan 26 2021, 09:09 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 26 2021, 09:05 PM)

I've now submitted all from 2017 to 2019 tax returns. Feels like a proper grown up.

Government is paying me to file my tax!  rclxm9.gif

Lucky in their system got proof payment came in if not really headache, have to proof to them you pay and company pay.

Before covid era should be around 2 weeks to 1 month for refund. Now don't know la. Congrate, my friend declare from 2007 until 2018, even though got tax refund every years still have to pay LHDN because of fine. Hahahaa. Lucky you no need to pay anything and get money.

This post has been edited by Noryume: Jan 26 2021, 09:11 PM
ClessRV
post Jan 26 2021, 09:10 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 26 2021, 09:05 PM)

Government is paying me to file my tax!  rclxm9.gif

Good to hear that, was posting my reply same time as you, so please ignore that 1, refund should take around 2-4 weeks? if i remember correctly
TScontestchris
post Jan 26 2021, 11:18 PM

5,564 posts

Guys, do I need to pay penalty or not?

Paragraph 103 of the ITA 1967 says as such:

(3) Where any tax due and payable under subsection (1) has not been paid by the due date, so much of the tax as is unpaid upon the expiration of that date shall without any further notice being served be increased by a sum equal to ten per cent of the tax so unpaid, and that sum shall be recoverable as if it were tax due and payable under this Act.

(4) Where the tax due and payable has been increased under subsection (3), any balance remaining unpaid upon the expiration of sixty days from the due date shall without any further notice being served be further increased by a sum equal to five per cent of the balance unpaid, and that sum shall be recoverable as if it were tax due and payable under this Act.

http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...equ=11&bt_lgv=2

http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...sequ=7&bt_lgv=2

Since in my case I actually paid my taxes, simply did not file the returns (which I have now done on my own volition without them chasing after me), does this mean no fine for me?
borgeouisbella
post Jan 27 2021, 12:35 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 25 2021, 12:41 PM)
I start working in 2018. That year, no PCB tax deduction as my income just below the threshold to need pay tax.

In 2019, after increment, PCB deduction start. But I never filed returns for 2018 thinking I didn’t need to as I didn’t need to pay taxes.

In 2020, PCB deductions increase Liao. I wanted to file returns for YA 2019, but then I realised even if I file and claim some relief, I will get a couple of hundred only refund and was not worth the hassle.

In 2021, this year, I will definitely file returns for YA 2020. I have my efiling pin all sorted.

Question is, can I only start filing for 2020 and ignore previous years? It is not a case of cheating or anything. If anything LHDN would owe me money for refund due to relief claimed.

I didn’t have malicious intent, just the system seem too complicated in my initial years of working and I took things lightly.

Pls advise guys.
Had a few friends with the same issue. Mainly because they didnt know need to declare income tax. And mind you, these ppl are earning 15-20k+ monthly. I think our schools failed us by not even educating on such basic stuff doh.gif

Good news is, LHDN wont bother you. As long as you pay quite a sum of income tax and you never declare, means they get to keep your tax refund. In these cases, it’s almost a win-win situation for them.

Anyway, these friends of mine managed to find someone to help them out. This lady helped them declare all the previous years income tax, as long as you kept a record of all your ea forms or salary slips (from when you started working). Once she files for you, lhdn will start processing your tax refunds (starting from previous years till to date). Most of the time, the penalty will be taken out of your final tax refund. If your income tax is not enough, then you’d have to pay.

One of them was earning about 20k+ a month and working for 10 years+, never filed once. No issues there because lhdn gets to keep all his tax refunds. Once he started filling, he managed to get a tax refund of almost rm13k+ back (after deducting penalties).

Edit: cause i didnt read all the comments. No, you will not get fined. Good job though!

This post has been edited by borgeouisbella: Jan 27 2021, 12:37 AM
WinkyJr
post Jan 27 2021, 12:57 AM

433 posts

my friend kena almost 10k for not declaring income tax. cannot remember for how many years. small fish only.

don't be so happy with tax return. make sure u fill up the form CORRECTLY. i kena penalty almost 1.5k in 2018 for a mistake i did in YA2014 & YA2016 tax filing.
TScontestchris
post Jan 27 2021, 01:20 AM

5,564 posts

QUOTE(borgeouisbella @ Jan 27 2021, 12:35 AM)
Had a few friends with the same issue. Mainly because they didnt know need to declare income tax. And mind you, these ppl are earning 15-20k+ monthly. I think our schools failed us by not even educating on such basic stuff doh.gif

Good news is, LHDN wont bother you. As long as you pay quite a sum of income tax and you never declare, means they get to keep your tax refund. In these cases, it’s almost a win-win situation for them.

Anyway, these friends of mine managed to find someone to help them out. This lady helped them declare all the previous years income tax, as long as you kept a record of all your ea forms or salary slips (from when you started working). Once she files for you, lhdn will start processing your tax refunds (starting from previous years till to date). Most of the time, the penalty will be taken out of your final tax refund. If your income tax is not enough, then you’d have to pay.

One of them was earning about 20k+ a month and working for 10 years+, never filed once. No issues there because lhdn gets to keep all his tax refunds. Once he started filling, he managed to get a tax refund of almost rm13k+ back (after deducting penalties).

Edit: cause i didnt read all the comments. No, you will not get fined. Good job though!
Will they penalise if you merely filed late, but the tax was indeed paid? That is my question. The Income Tax Act 1967 is worded in a way where the penalty is for late tax payment, not for late tax filing.

Can someone pls confirm?
FauxHawk
post Jan 27 2021, 02:17 AM

<3
1,340 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 26 2021, 01:29 PM)
In my case, what difference does it make if I file or don’t file previous years?

Either way, I kena penalty right? Doesn’t look I can escape that.
Have you considered the "MTD as final tax" option?
borgeouisbella
post Jan 27 2021, 07:31 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 27 2021, 01:20 AM)
Will they penalise if you merely filed late, but the tax was indeed paid? That is my question. The Income Tax Act 1967 is worded in a way where the penalty is for late tax payment, not for late tax filing.

Can someone pls confirm?
Iirc, yes, but the amount is small, they’ll take it out of your already paid tax. Otherwise they’ll just add that sum to your elejar and take it out of your tax refunds next year. No worries.
SUSAccord2018
post Jan 27 2021, 08:08 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jan 27 2021, 01:20 AM)

Can someone pls confirm?
paid already they cant penalty you. just that you no file then you cant apply tax relief only and receive tax refund for overpay. but make sure company reli paid it also. if they late pay also you kena.
ksoon28
post Jun 6 2021, 12:57 PM

14 posts

hi all sifus, hopeful to get an answer for my situation.
i have been working as a seafarer on foreign going ships for the past 10 years.
company is based in Singapore.
haven't declare any income tax since i started working as i was told back dont have to pay income tax when i started.
however now having trouble applying for loans.
was thinking to get a pin number
maybe could ease on loan approval.
how can i explain if LHDN ask where i have been for the past 10 years?
could anyone advice if i should bother creating a pin.
or how should i proceed?
thanks you in advance for your insights.
mini orchard
post Jun 6 2021, 01:22 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ksoon28 @ Jun 6 2021, 12:57 PM)
hi all sifus, hopeful to get an answer for my situation.
i have been working as a seafarer on foreign going ships for the past 10 years.
company is based in Singapore.
haven't declare any income tax since i started working as i was told back dont have to pay income tax when i started.
however now having trouble applying for loans.
was thinking to get a pin number
maybe could ease on loan approval.
how can i explain if LHDN ask where i have been for the past 10 years?
could anyone advice if i should bother creating a pin.
or how should i proceed?
thanks you in advance for your insights.
What is your purpose of buying a property ?

Do you need the property ? Need and want are different.

Is renting not an option ? It could be cheaper and flexible.

Are you still with the current co ?

Sometimes, ownership is false security.
ksoon28
post Jun 6 2021, 01:33 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 6 2021, 01:22 PM)
What is your purpose of buying a property ?

Do you need the property ? Need and want are different.

Is renting not an option ? It could be cheaper and flexible.

Are you still with the current co ?

Sometimes, ownership is false security.
understand that part about property.
probably just to have my own home.
i think that should be in a different thread.

as for company, i would say no.
company is bought over by french co.
but then agency that manage us is singapore co.
hope you can understand the complications.
mini orchard
post Jun 6 2021, 01:44 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ksoon28 @ Jun 6 2021, 01:33 PM)
understand that part about property.
probably just to have my own home.
i think that should be in a different thread.

as for company, i would say no.
company is bought over by french co.
but then agency that manage us is singapore co.
hope you can understand the complications.
Creating a pin doesnt auto you qualify for a loan. Banks now look at epf as well as they know income declaration can be forged.

No credit history is not better than bad credit history..

You might need to work locally for few years to qualify as banks wants to see local income.

Work for year and submit your tax and epf. See how it goes from there.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jun 6 2021, 01:48 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0981sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:04 AM