Never declare income tax before

TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 12:41 PM, updated 5y ago

5,564 posts

I start working in 2018. That year, no PCB tax deduction as my income just below the threshold to need pay tax.

In 2019, after increment, PCB deduction start. But I never filed returns for 2018 thinking I didn’t need to as I didn’t need to pay taxes.

In 2020, PCB deductions increase Liao. I wanted to file returns for YA 2019, but then I realised even if I file and claim some relief, I will get a couple of hundred only refund and was not worth the hassle.

In 2021, this year, I will definitely file returns for YA 2020. I have my efiling pin all sorted.

Question is, can I only start filing for 2020 and ignore previous years? It is not a case of cheating or anything. If anything LHDN would owe me money for refund due to relief claimed.

I didn’t have malicious intent, just the system seem too complicated in my initial years of working and I took things lightly.

Pls advise guys.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 25 2021, 12:42 PM
TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 01:09 PM

5,564 posts

What is my penalty?

And seriously I am such a small fish. Earn also barely. And I want to make things right. Not like I hiding also
TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 01:23 PM

5,564 posts

My question is, can I file for YA2020?

Will system force me to fill for previous years?

If I get questioned I will answer honestly. That I’m not worried.
TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 01:49 PM

5,564 posts

If I file for 2019 now, will they provide me a refund for the relief?

TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 01:57 PM

5,564 posts

What’s the current penalty like? Any idea?

And if I file for 2019 now, how long before I get my refund and pay my penalty?
TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 01:58 PM

5,564 posts

QUOTE(jyll92 @ Jan 25 2021, 01:56 PM)
Its troublesome later on when u want to purchase home, credit cards or get loans for business. u have no track of records
I’m salaried. So far no issue. Got cc and house loan. Car loan also will be approved soon. Usually they need payslip, epf, bank statement is enough.
TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 03:10 PM

5,564 posts

How can be avoiding tax? I have legally paid my tax. I have not legally filed my tax returns. Is different If I never pay at all. That is bad
TScontestchris
post Jan 25 2021, 03:55 PM

5,564 posts

Why everyone say different number for penalty?
TScontestchris
post Jan 26 2021, 01:29 PM

5,564 posts

In my case, what difference does it make if I file or don’t file previous years?

Either way, I kena penalty right? Doesn’t look I can escape that.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jan 26 2021, 01:29 PM
TScontestchris
post Jan 26 2021, 08:33 PM

5,564 posts

Guys, I have just filed in my first ever tax return!

I filed for 2017. That year I didn't pay PCB tax and memang pun when input in the system, zero tax. Didn't get bonus also. So was just my basic pay.

For 2018 and 2019, I need to check EA form for the exact income (with bonus) and tax paid. So will file tomorrow for that.

So far, I can submit without issue. Was not asked about penalty.

For 2018, I have filled in the form provisionally. The system records that I had paid around RMxxx in taxes. But after my pelepasan, memang zero tax. Yet to submit as I need to verify the details.

For 2019 curiously, the system DOES NOT CAPTURE my PCB tax payment. It says zero tax paid.

How come yeah?
TScontestchris
post Jan 26 2021, 09:05 PM

5,564 posts

QUOTE(Noryume @ Jan 26 2021, 08:57 PM)
Either human/system error or your company didn't pay to LHDN.
Actually LHDN eLejar did capture my PCB payments.

But somehow in the e-BE doesn't capture.

I've now submitted all from 2017 to 2019 tax returns. Feels like a proper grown up.

And best part is, I will get RM600+ tax refund.

Government is paying me to file my tax! rclxm9.gif

How long before I get my refund?
TScontestchris
post Jan 26 2021, 11:18 PM

5,564 posts

Guys, do I need to pay penalty or not?

Paragraph 103 of the ITA 1967 says as such:

(3) Where any tax due and payable under subsection (1) has not been paid by the due date, so much of the tax as is unpaid upon the expiration of that date shall without any further notice being served be increased by a sum equal to ten per cent of the tax so unpaid, and that sum shall be recoverable as if it were tax due and payable under this Act.

(4) Where the tax due and payable has been increased under subsection (3), any balance remaining unpaid upon the expiration of sixty days from the due date shall without any further notice being served be further increased by a sum equal to five per cent of the balance unpaid, and that sum shall be recoverable as if it were tax due and payable under this Act.

http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...equ=11&bt_lgv=2

http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...sequ=7&bt_lgv=2

Since in my case I actually paid my taxes, simply did not file the returns (which I have now done on my own volition without them chasing after me), does this mean no fine for me?
TScontestchris
post Jan 27 2021, 01:20 AM

5,564 posts

QUOTE(borgeouisbella @ Jan 27 2021, 12:35 AM)
Had a few friends with the same issue. Mainly because they didnt know need to declare income tax. And mind you, these ppl are earning 15-20k+ monthly. I think our schools failed us by not even educating on such basic stuff doh.gif

Good news is, LHDN wont bother you. As long as you pay quite a sum of income tax and you never declare, means they get to keep your tax refund. In these cases, it’s almost a win-win situation for them.

Anyway, these friends of mine managed to find someone to help them out. This lady helped them declare all the previous years income tax, as long as you kept a record of all your ea forms or salary slips (from when you started working). Once she files for you, lhdn will start processing your tax refunds (starting from previous years till to date). Most of the time, the penalty will be taken out of your final tax refund. If your income tax is not enough, then you’d have to pay.

One of them was earning about 20k+ a month and working for 10 years+, never filed once. No issues there because lhdn gets to keep all his tax refunds. Once he started filling, he managed to get a tax refund of almost rm13k+ back (after deducting penalties).

Edit: cause i didnt read all the comments. No, you will not get fined. Good job though!
Will they penalise if you merely filed late, but the tax was indeed paid? That is my question. The Income Tax Act 1967 is worded in a way where the penalty is for late tax payment, not for late tax filing.

Can someone pls confirm?
TScontestchris
post Jul 4 2021, 02:54 PM

5,564 posts

Can please close this thread. My issue settled earlier this year.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Jul 4 2021, 02:54 PM

0.0140sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:24 PM