Cat Lovers V8 ^_^, Fabulous Cats & People

IpohGuyz
post Mar 22 2021, 11:02 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(Amzach @ Mar 22 2021, 10:28 PM)
Need help.
My cat, was found in my drain laying on its back with all feet up, bleeding nose and mouth.
He's breathing heavily when I found him around 7:00pm. (now the breathing already slow down & I think he's sleeping). He can still walk a bit just now and pick up his head.
Hopefully he's not being knock by cars.

What can I do to help him tonight... tomorrow morning I will go to veterinary for checkup.
Hope he is fine. I also dunno how. Perhaps spend more time accompany him
TSspunkberry
post Mar 23 2021, 07:28 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(IpohGuyz @ Mar 21 2021, 04:43 PM)
Hehe. I don't agree cage too. Free roam inside house. No go outside. House is their cage. But your house, your choice, so no comment.

Feel pity leh put in cage, like 90% of time in prison only. I had 2 fcov cats isolated in a room. I also feel pity their roaming space so limited and trying find adopter who can give them bigger space to roam.
lol yeah my two cats are never caged unless we're taking them to the vet. They aren't allowed outside either - average outside cat lifespan is 5 years, average inside cat lifespan is 15 years.
basilisk
post Mar 23 2021, 09:49 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Amzach @ Mar 22 2021, 10:28 PM)
Need help.
My cat, was found in my drain laying on its back with all feet up, bleeding nose and mouth.
He's breathing heavily when I found him around 7:00pm. (now the breathing already slow down & I think he's sleeping). He can still walk a bit just now and pick up his head.
Hopefully he's not being knock by cars.

What can I do to help him tonight... tomorrow morning I will go to veterinary for checkup.
hope he is ok. pls update.
neome
post Mar 23 2021, 12:26 PM

446 posts

Yeah pls update us, I pray that he is ok but if he doesnt survive at least u hav found him and spent the last night with him, that will comfort and make him feel at ease sad.gif
IpohGuyz
post Mar 23 2021, 08:05 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Mar 23 2021, 07:28 AM)
lol yeah my two cats are never caged unless we're taking them to the vet. They aren't allowed outside either - average outside cat lifespan is 5 years, average inside cat lifespan is 15 years.
If outside cat lifespan 5 years i will be glad. From my experience it's 6months to 1 year.

Outside my house got alot of strays. I do put some buffet food for them at my porch. The rate is 9/12 cats are dead or missing within 1 year. Still got 3 cats roaming outside for 1 year+.

Dead reasons usually roll by car, bitten by stray dog. Some just goes missing. I assume they are dead too cause sometimes neighbour say they clean up corpse at garden few times d. Or kill by snake cause got snake incident in neighbourhood too.
TSspunkberry
post Mar 24 2021, 07:12 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(IpohGuyz @ Mar 23 2021, 08:05 PM)
If outside cat lifespan 5 years i will be glad. From my experience it's 6months to 1 year.

Outside my house got alot of strays. I do put some buffet food for them at my porch. The rate is 9/12 cats are dead or missing within 1 year. Still got 3 cats roaming outside for 1 year+.

Dead reasons usually roll by car, bitten by stray dog. Some just goes missing. I assume they are dead too cause sometimes neighbour say they clean up corpse at garden few times d. Or kill by snake cause got snake incident in neighbourhood too.
It's an average number. That means that in a range of outside cats' lifespans added together and divided by number of cats, it's 5 years.
Compared to the average of 15 years for an indoor cat, which is three times an outdoor cat.

This post has been edited by spunkberry: Mar 24 2021, 07:12 AM
Amzach
post Mar 24 2021, 12:49 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(neome @ Mar 23 2021, 12:26 PM)
Yeah pls update us, I pray that he is ok but if he doesnt survive at least u hav found him and spent the last night with him, that will comfort and make him feel at ease  sad.gif
Sent him to veterinary for check up, they say nothing, just give me antibiotic and inflamation medicine.
Need to force feed last night. Today morning he's eating a little bit on its own. Can walk around slowly. No limping.
Hopefully he will recover in 2 - 3 days.

Most patient cat I have met.
My 4 year old son always carry it around like a teddy bear, but never before seen the cat clawed at my son.
The cat even become restless when it heard my son crying.

I'll be damn glad if it's nothing serious.
Thank you all for your concern.
basilisk
post Mar 24 2021, 02:22 PM

30 posts

it is 'expensive' to check properly, which includes xray, blood test etc.
visual check frm the outside = ok
where the blood comes frm = ???
what happened to the cat? = no one knows
got whack /kick/throw by ppl, hit by bicycle/vehicle/moving object, fell frm tree, bitten by snake / dog...
neome
post Mar 24 2021, 02:39 PM

446 posts

The fact that the cat is still alive after almost 48hours after the incident is a very good sign, if he had internal bleeding he would have been dead by now, I think he is recovering well after the trauma just keep giving him the meds n sufficient food/water, I’ll keep my prayers for him ☺️
Seager
post Apr 1 2021, 09:25 PM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

Anyone around selayang wants 1.5 boxes of pottycats tofu aid litter? My cat completely reject so back to bentonite. Might as well give away for free than throw it away.

Can self pickup.
KamisF
post Apr 7 2021, 01:58 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(jukoh @ Mar 11 2021, 03:13 PM)
Just saw this message.  I hope your kitten survived.  My cat delivered 6 kittens and 2 were stillborn.  The last one is the runt of the litter and we were worried it would not survive (bald headed and very weak).  It was back in November during CMCO and we called nearby pharmacies to find out whether they sell milk powder and feeding bottle/syringe for baby kittens.  After that we had to help the runt get enough milk from mother cat during every feeding then supplement by bottle feeding every 2 hours.  By the time he's 1 month old he slowly grew stronger and growing more hair.  By 2nd month old, he's starting to look handsome.  Now he's the fattest/heaviest and most handsome out of the litter and is well loved by everyone.  We're really thankful we managed to save him.
any tips to give milk for 2 days old newborn kitten?

this one smallest one among the others and he seems like dont know how to get milk from the mother, always sesat to other places even after i help to put it near to the mother nipple

tried to bottle feed also he dont know how to drink and mouth seems so small to try force the teats in 😓
IpohGuyz
post Apr 7 2021, 02:59 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Apr 7 2021, 01:58 PM)
any tips to give milk for 2 days old newborn kitten?

this one smallest one among the others and he seems like dont know how to get milk from the mother, always sesat to other places even after i help to put it near to the mother nipple

tried to bottle feed also he dont know how to drink and mouth seems so small to try force the teats in  😓
If got mum. Lock them inside room. Mum should take care child naturally I guess. I raised 2 families before. Don't even need bother the child until month 3, cause mum is there.
KamisF
post Apr 7 2021, 03:27 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(IpohGuyz @ Apr 7 2021, 02:59 PM)
If got mum. Lock them inside room. Mum should take care child naturally I guess. I raised 2 families before. Don't even need bother the child until month 3, cause mum is there.
got mom, but its first time mother cat,
see this 3 other bro/sis is thriving while 1 is very skinny and out of place, im worried about the skinny one 😓

they are all locked in a room and inside small cat house.

This post has been edited by KamisF: Apr 7 2021, 03:29 PM
neome
post Apr 7 2021, 04:57 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Apr 7 2021, 03:27 PM)
got mom, but its first time mother cat,
see this 3 other bro/sis is thriving while 1 is very skinny and out of place, im worried about the skinny one 😓

they are all locked in a room and inside small cat house.

maybe need a little help by force feeding wit a 1 ml syringe every 2 hours? looks like too small n maybe no energy to compete with the others for mum's milk if dont force feed sad.gif for all we know the little guy might be born premature therefore will need some help

This post has been edited by neome: Apr 7 2021, 04:59 PM
KamisF
post Apr 7 2021, 05:12 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(neome @ Apr 7 2021, 04:57 PM)
maybe need a little help by force feeding wit a 1 ml syringe every 2 hours? looks like too small n maybe no energy to compete with the others for mum's milk if dont force feed  sad.gif for all we know the little guy might be born premature therefore will need some help
will try to get a 1ml syringe, i bought milk bottle for kitten but seems too big for it, the smallest one was the last one to come out 😓
jukoh
post Apr 8 2021, 05:36 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Apr 7 2021, 05:12 PM)
will try to get a 1ml syringe, i bought milk bottle for kitten but seems too big for it, the smallest one was the last one to come out 😓
Just read your message. FYI, we use 1ml syringe and slowly 'shoot' in the mouth (careful not to choke the kitten or hurt the mouth). Kitten powder milk is only as supplement (preferably every 2 hours if it's not drinking mother cat's milk) because most important is the mother cat's own milk. We also help the kitten to find and latch on to the mother cat's nipple and take other kittens to put on another nipple if they try to 'fight' with the runt because the runt is too weak to fight on its own. It will drink milk a while then sleep so we have to wake it up gently and put it to the nipple again. Sometimes need to tell mother cat to stay still and pet/encourage her to take care of the runt.
You can observe if mother cat totally don't care about the kitten which means survival rate of the kitten is slim unless you help it. We noticed cos mother cat has other kittens fighting over her nipples and is too tired to really care about the runt who's not latching on so we keep bringing it to her to lick/clean. If mother cat did not clean the kitten, you need to take cloth (wet with warm water) to gently stimulate the kitten's bottom so that it will poop/pee. Try to google 'how to care for runt kitten' and read/watch videos.
We are so thankful ours survive and is now the 2nd biggest size out of its siblings.
Best of luck.
KamisF
post Apr 8 2021, 05:48 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(jukoh @ Apr 8 2021, 05:36 PM)
Just read your message.  FYI, we use 1ml syringe and slowly 'shoot' in the mouth (careful not to choke the kitten or hurt the mouth). Kitten powder milk is only as supplement (preferably every 2 hours if it's not drinking mother cat's milk) because most important is the mother cat's own milk. We also help the kitten to find and latch on to the mother cat's nipple and take other kittens to put on another nipple if they try to 'fight' with the runt because the runt is too weak to fight on its own.  It will drink milk a while then sleep so we have to wake it up gently and put it to the nipple again.  Sometimes need to tell mother cat to stay still and pet/encourage her to take care of the runt.
You can observe if mother cat totally don't care about the kitten which means survival rate of the kitten is slim unless you help it.  We noticed cos mother cat has other kittens fighting over her nipples and is too tired to really care about the runt who's not latching on so we keep bringing it to her to lick/clean.  If mother cat did not clean the kitten, you need to take cloth (wet with warm water) to gently stimulate the kitten's bottom so that it will poop/pee.  Try to google 'how to care for runt kitten' and read/watch videos.
We are so thankful ours survive and is now the 2nd biggest size out of its siblings.
Best of luck.
my one little runt has passed away this evening when i got back from work, i did give it milk every 2 hour with the 1ml syringe when im at home but no one to look after it when im at work, it really cant get any milk from the mommy.

now going to bury it, 😭

neome
post Apr 8 2021, 06:54 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Apr 8 2021, 05:48 PM)
my one little runt has passed away this evening when i got back from work, i did give it milk every 2 hour with the 1ml syringe when im at home but no one to look after it when im at work, it really cant get any milk from the mommy.

now going to bury it, 😭
I know the feeling really sad 😥 I had the same prob once but not able to strictly follow the 2 hour feeding rule n the kitten ended up dying too, oh well at least u hav tried ur best.
IpohGuyz
post Apr 9 2021, 05:22 PM

160 posts

now going to bury it, 😭
oh shit. so sad. i saw that type of skinny kitten before too. but still can walk around after 1 month. he passed away due to car rollover cry.gif

jukoh
post Apr 9 2021, 09:50 PM

34 posts

now going to bury it, 😭
I'm so sorry for your loss. Its heartbreaking when you tried your best and still cannot save it. My runt was lucky cos it was during MCO/CMCO and I was in between working from home and my children study online. So all of us took turns to take care day and night for 1-2 weeks.

35 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:12 PM