wcypierre
post Mar 3 2021, 03:16 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Mar 3 2021, 11:27 AM)
Just wanted to say, thank you for all the discussion and review. Ordered a Merrychair Anggun. Can't wait!  rclxm9.gif
what were your choices before this?
ionStorm
post Mar 3 2021, 04:51 PM

*nyan*
3,350 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Mar 3 2021, 03:16 PM)
what were your choices before this?
I was looking at the below 1k range for Alterseat and AM Office because that's all i'm willing to pay.

Came across some good mentions for Merryfair and its customer service. I messaged them on WhatsApp and they were super helpful. After that I was sold.
wcypierre
post Mar 3 2021, 06:08 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(ionStorm @ Mar 3 2021, 04:51 PM)
I was looking at the below 1k range for Alterseat and AM Office because that's all i'm willing to pay.
After chasing alterseat customer support again and again today finally got reply on my delivery date sweat.gif

If my budget is 1k+ likely dah go for Merryfair (and less frustration sweat.gif )

Came across some good mentions for Merryfair and its customer service. I messaged them on WhatsApp and they were super helpful. After that I was sold.
thumbup.gif Waiting your review for anggun biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Mar 3 2021, 06:10 PM
zeronova
post Mar 3 2021, 08:34 PM

597 posts

Just talked to a Steelcase salesperson today. They are having buy 2 Leap V2 with headrest for RM 5.2k promo

So it's only RM 2.6k each. I believe original price is starting from RM 3.7k without headrest.

Anyone wanna share 1 with me?

This post has been edited by zeronova: Mar 3 2021, 08:52 PM
jimbet1337
post Mar 4 2021, 10:24 AM

meh
2,669 posts

Merryfair is good. Been using Velo model since 2014. Not sure whether it's still in production. The leg and wheel are still solid. Mesh and cushioning are still intact. Quality chair.

Too bad this brand is not well exposed to the market. Not many people know them I guess.
TSmiyakochan89
post Mar 4 2021, 10:49 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Mar 4 2021, 10:24 AM)
Merryfair is good. Been using Velo model since 2014. Not sure whether it's still in production. The leg and wheel are still solid. Mesh and cushioning are still intact. Quality chair.

Too bad this brand is not well exposed to the market. Not many people know them I guess.
Yeah how come? I didn't know we have a homegrown brand that seems quite solid and sturdy.. even their designs are pretty original so far.
jimbet1337
post Mar 4 2021, 11:28 AM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Mar 4 2021, 10:49 AM)
Yeah how come? I didn't know we have a homegrown brand that seems quite solid and sturdy.. even their designs are pretty original so far.
They have to improve on marketing I guess. I only discovered it the brand when googling for working chairs. The showroom was near my house & paid a visit.

Ended up with the Velo because my budget was limited back then tongue.gif
louyeh
post Mar 4 2021, 12:22 PM

3,032 posts

Its simply due to these companies focus on being the OEM and do bulk business either for local or export markets.

They would probably prefer their OEM partners/resellers to focus on the consumer end as it involves less CAPEX and profit margin may not be pleasing since there's no 'guaranteed' monthly sales.

Its good that these companies do adept to the market change and is smart enough to take advantage of the Covid-19 WFH / restricted movement. They still don't pay top dollar for online marketing as the volume is not significantly huge, its mainly passive marketing. However, if you do enough online window shopping, Google/Facebook will eventually lead you towards a few brands like Alterseat, Bristol, Merryfair, etc.
Areglator
post Mar 4 2021, 06:31 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Mar 4 2021, 12:22 PM)
Its simply due to these companies focus on being the OEM and do bulk business either for local or export markets.

They would probably prefer their OEM partners/resellers to focus on the consumer end as it involves less CAPEX and profit margin may not be pleasing since there's no 'guaranteed' monthly sales.

Its good that these companies do adept to the market change and is smart enough to take advantage of the Covid-19 WFH / restricted movement. They still don't pay top dollar for online marketing as the volume is not significantly huge, its mainly passive marketing. However, if you do enough online window shopping, Google/Facebook will eventually lead you towards a few brands like Alterseat, Bristol, Merryfair, etc.
Merryfair chairs are known in other markets by different names. The Reya is known as the Autonomous Kinn, and made it to a Forbes magazine article. https://www.forbes.com/sites/curtissilver/2...vel-ergonomics/

Areglator
post Mar 5 2021, 01:53 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy @ Feb 9 2021, 11:29 AM)
i customized a steelcase series II late last year (got them before new year) for ~1.8k, with everything, i.e. 4D adjustable arm rest, adjustable seat depth, live mesh back, head rest and hard floor castor (this thing rolls on smooooooth)
doesnt looks as exciting as the so called gaming chairs but it's very comfortable, the way the armrest is built onto chair allows you to sit cross legged if that's your kind of thing
best of all it's made in puchong, so buy malaysian first tongue.gif

the only down side so far with the series II is that the backrest doesnt lock reclined, it locks only on the straight position, but the quick set (uses a ratchet instead of the old school twist) weight activated reclination is #velinai
and the seat's fabric is abit on the rough side, so if you're wearing shorts, it wont feel as luxurious as softer cloth
another cons is the headrest isnt adjustable, but it's not intrusive so it wont eat into your 'headspace' if you're sitting straight

compared to the likes of :

contessa II
contessa II has a very very comfortable seat cushion, the multi density cushion really does alleviate the pressure off your ass
lumbar support works better on slimmer frames (because it narrows the back seat width instead of using some sort of contraption for support), ive not tried the one with the extra lumbar support
but it feels very supportive as it promotes the back to be in the natural curve and fits be quite well (171cm/66kg frame)
there's option to spec mesh seat cushion at no cost, which is nice if that's what you want
very stylish
this is quite costly though at 6k+
steelcase think
series II feels quite similar to think, but think's lumbar support mechanism is looser so the thing can goes off position after sometime and you'll need to put it up again
very ugly tongue.gif
ikea marcus
i bought the marcus after first MCO1.0 out of desperation, sold to another forumer early this year
the chair is meant for taller frame so if you're a tiny asian the build will overwhelm you and your feet will be left dangling because it can only go down so much
lumbar support is quite low, so it's not really useful, i put a lumbar support pillow bought from muji over it (https://www.muji.com/sg/products/cmdty/detail/4550002564025)
the arm rest is low so may not be that useful and the structure limits your movement on the chair so you cant sit kangkang

the only thing adjustable is the height  and the weight activated reclination is a bonus
but overall it's solidly built and the fabric feels nice on skin, and i've not had any backache sitting on it for > 10 hours in a day, which is cool
AM office ergohuman
on first glance it looks comfortable, but sitting on it for 10mins the lower part of the lumbar support frame starts digging into my back, also the front seat frame also puts pressure on the lower thigh part, so that's a big no no.
didnt bother to test further
herman miller sayl
looks damn good with the striking colours and unique backrest design with decent lumbar support, seat depth and arm rest adjustments
the backrest design allows movement in the shoulder while maintaining support which is great if you tend to sit on it for a looooong time
it's very decent consider that this is considered an entry level HM
cons: no head rest, with all the bells and whistles i think it's close to 5k
herman miller aeron v2
to me it feels slightly more comfortable than contessa II due to the updated lumbar design which feels just right, very solidly built with 12 years warranty, lots of adjustments here and there
get the right size and i think i wont look back
not to mention the classic aeron look makes it the perfect background in any setup
cons: miskin laugh.gif V2 is 7.2k, V1 4.8k, find it hard to justify the V2, maybe in the near future i'll fork out for the new old stock V1 and give my wife the series II
herman miller cosm highback
the way this chair is built cradles you like you're in a hammock, so it's very relaxing to sit on, too bad it doesnt come with an adjustable lumbar and the 'leaf' armrest is more looks than functional
cons: miskin also laugh.gif the high back leaf armrest version is 9.9k
Where did you go to try the HM Aeron ver 1? I went to Trax in Bangsar and all they had for sale were rhe Aeron Remastered (v2). I would definitely be interested in that 4.8k Aeron classic. Even new old stock would be a great value. The prices we get here in KL are crazy. Singapore's got so many Aerons available, both new and second hand, and the pricing is so much better :-(

TSmiyakochan89
post Mar 5 2021, 08:26 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Areglator @ Mar 5 2021, 01:53 AM)
Where did you go to try the HM Aeron ver 1?  I went to Trax in Bangsar and all they had for sale were rhe Aeron Remastered (v2).  I would definitely be interested in that 4.8k Aeron classic.  Even new old stock would be a great value.  The prices we get here in KL are crazy.  Singapore's got so many Aerons available, both new and second hand, and the pricing is so much better :-(
The only reason why the prices are crazy here is because our money is getting smaller and smaller and the value is becoming worthless.
Thus SG people are able to afford better lifestyle in general with the money they have because the value of their currency is so much better.
TSmiyakochan89
post Mar 5 2021, 08:30 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Mar 4 2021, 12:22 PM)

I don't think they are resellers, more like they are manufacturers. They just rebrand these designs for the local markets. These designs are probably commissioned by one of their clients.
iirc Malaysia's furniture makers/manufacturers are quite big here, and they export and supply to other markets, until China comes along.
kluseng
post Mar 5 2021, 10:47 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Mar 5 2021, 08:26 AM)
The only reason why the prices are crazy here is because our money is getting smaller and smaller and the value is becoming worthless.
Thus SG people are able to afford better lifestyle in general with the money they have because the value of their currency is so much better.
When he said prices are crazy here he means it is disproportionate to the SGD to RM conversion. The reason it is priced much higher in Malaysia than in S'pore even accounting for the currency is because it is a luxury item in Malaysia. Since only rich people or rich corporations can afford they may as well whack a high price; it will hardly affect their volume.

wcypierre
post Mar 5 2021, 01:14 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

Alterseat DT 330 Prime Initial Impression
=============================

Seat: ✔️✔️ Pretty comfy, not sure on the effect to the pants/trousers yet though as it feels like it may scratch it.
Didn't feel a lot of differences on the curved seating, but I reckon that someone with a heavier weight would probably not enjoy it.
I think someone who is over 110kg may want to find a bigger chair instead.
So although the spec say can support up to 300kg, but I don't think someone say 150kg could sit on the chair comfortably due to the seat depth.

Recline: ❌❌ The 3 lock is fixed position lock mechanism (could probably worded it better, but no false advertising).
Depending on your preference, you may find the 3 lock position not the most ideal position for your body/height/viewing angle.
For office/work use, probably not too much of a difference as you should work instead laugh.gif
But for wfh setup (work + leisure), it could be a deal breaker for you.

Armrest: ✔️✔️✔️ firm, this armrest is definitely better/as good as some of the 1k+ chairs that I sat at office.

Headrest: ❓ didn't really tried, at my sitting position didn't really use the headrest

Lumbar Support: ❌❌❌ This one kinda a deal breaker, the lumbar support supports like 70-80% of my lower back and I've already pushed it down to the max.

Build Quality: ✔️ Sturdy all around

Build: ❓ Scuffs here and there, although its at the sides or bottom, not really visible so not deal breaker for me. But someone who is nitpick will very likely reject the chair I got.

Additional Notes: depending on how much you recline and your height, you may want to consider looking for leg rest also (not the chair's issue but something extra for comfort)

Customer Service:
Facebook: ✔️✔️ Good

Customer Service (Weekdays): ✔️✔️✔️ Great, helped me to check my order and set a delivery date

Customer Service (Weekend and Public Holiday): ✔️✔️ Good, didn't know that this number only handle weekend until later stage

Order Status and Delivery Inquiries: ❌❌❌ my main source of frustration few posts back on setting a delivery date shakehead.gif . ugh.

Those interested can nudge me for a further x days review laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Mar 7 2021, 10:30 PM
ahbeng_style
post Mar 6 2021, 03:42 PM

23 posts

Anyone bought chairs from the brand "bristol" before?
tvcat
post Mar 6 2021, 04:05 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,892 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Mar 4 2021, 10:24 AM)

Can confirm. Currently using Fulkrum. Overall quality is very good just that the seat is too firm for me.
Good service and deliver on time but not cheap.
louyeh
post Mar 6 2021, 10:48 PM

3,032 posts

QUOTE(ahbeng_style @ Mar 6 2021, 03:42 PM)
Anyone bought chairs from the brand "bristol" before?
Bristol Kaya user here
You'll need to be patient on delivery time for one
Areglator
post Mar 7 2021, 03:17 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kluseng @ Mar 5 2021, 10:47 AM)
When he said prices are crazy here he means it is disproportionate to the SGD to RM conversion. The reason it is priced much higher in Malaysia than in S'pore even accounting for the currency is because it is a luxury item in Malaysia. Since only rich people or rich corporations can afford they may as well whack a high price; it will hardly affect their volume.
You were absolutely right. I was referring to the RM prices accounting for conversion. Newstar sells the brand new Aeron Remastered at SGD1688 = RM5123. Even adding SGD400 shipping to KL, it's still cheaper by almost RM900 compared to the RM7200 that Trax sells it at. I suppose the mindset of selling only to rich corporations or people explains the pricing scheme - and yes, our market here is merely a piss in the ocean for them as far as their volume is concerned. I'm glad that at least regular consumers have some chance to score a good product with ZenPro's promotion on Steelcase chairs when you buy 2 or more. I was lucky enough to hook up with someone who bought two Leap v2s including headrests for RM5250 total including shipping, meaning we each get a terrific chair for RM2625, which, if you compare to an Aeron @ RM7.2k (requiring a 50% deposit btw), Okamura Contessa II @ RM5.5k++, or even an Okamura Sylphy @ RM2.9k+, is pretty much a fantastic value, considering that the Leap v2 is in almost any conversation along with the Aeron when it comes to high-end office chairs. A big bonus is that the Steelcase is manufactured in Malaysia! The chairs are arriving soon, and I'll report here once I've had a chance to work with it for a while - really looking forward to it :-)
ahbeng_style
post Mar 7 2021, 02:54 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Mar 6 2021, 10:48 PM)
Bristol Kaya user here
You'll need to be patient on delivery time for one
Alright thanks. How's the chair so far?
louyeh
post Mar 8 2021, 02:52 PM

3,032 posts

QUOTE(ahbeng_style @ Mar 7 2021, 02:54 PM)
Alright thanks. How's the chair so far?
You can read my previous feedback here. Feel free to ask me more questions.

Post # 52

This post has been edited by louyeh: Mar 8 2021, 02:53 PM

85 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:15 PM