++@@DOPOD 838 Pro Official Thread V3@@++, Discussion for current and future users
genkis3
Sep 1 2007, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(stevechrysler @ Aug 31 2007, 02:34 PM) guys..is is possible to downgrade the radio rom to 1.38.00.10? cos i found out tat tis radio rely battery consuming compare to 1.38.00.10.currently im using .ryan. v3.57.2 with HTC with 1.47.00.10 radio rom..  i also feel that 1.47.00.10 receiving is not that good.. compare to very old 1.19 when im using wm5 wish to change radio, but mine flash wm6 from dopod, so dont have hardspl installed.... still can to change to lower version radio without hardspl?
prasys
Sep 1 2007, 08:03 AM
Heros Never Die
Its possible to change RADIO without HardSPL. I've tried it on my DoPod D810. The so-called flasher tool does it for you. You can upgrade/downgrade the radio ROM. If you want to play safe and downgrade it, you may have to flash WM5 back
ajay67
Sep 1 2007, 08:24 AM
QUOTE(ajay67 @ Aug 31 2007, 08:49 PM) guys... i saw a very good price for SOFTBANK X01HT at lelong which is suppose to be the same as 838pro but for japan market. are they really identical in hardware & software? said to be already upgraded to WM6. i hope someone can comment on this coz my hand really itchy le...
tinkerfy
Sep 1 2007, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(ajay67 @ Sep 1 2007, 08:24 AM) i hope someone can comment on this coz my hand really itchy le...  warranty wise, gonna be a big headache. I'd definitely not get it, unless the price is below 1k and I've got some spare cash...
yoong
Sep 1 2007, 12:29 PM

Greetings,
I've got a question. My set cant seem to connect using the bluetooth. Other phones can see my phone but cant connect, and my phone cant even search for other phones.
Any ideas? Yes I did on the bluetooth option, ticked the make my device discoverable to others box.
shymx
Sep 1 2007, 04:16 PM
I check all the shop and the new set doesn`t come with memory card , do u all have it included ?
porkchop
Sep 1 2007, 06:09 PM
any new roms ?????
terencetoo
Sep 1 2007, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(dzi921 @ Aug 31 2007, 09:10 AM) I tried downloading the file and test from my side The attached file is OK. Can extract without problem Make sure the download file is 384k Good luck  brother, how do i ensure the download file is 384k? i still cant get the rongtines. my error message is same as previoly post. hmm... ========= Brand new 838pro i saw a tthe curve last night was rm2599...  so sad... free 1 gig, SP,Car charger + 2 months mobisure insurance.
bububang
Sep 1 2007, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Sep 1 2007, 09:24 AM) warranty wise, gonna be a big headache. I'd definitely not get it, unless the price is below 1k and I've got some spare cash... Then its worth if buy a 2nd set for 1.4k? Warranty by local distributor left about 7-8 month
shymx
Sep 2 2007, 12:25 AM
I saw this phone at RM 2499 with NO memory card wadsover jsut basic set not sure got SP o not . Can u find this price at Low Yat ? I`m at Kuching right now and i`m heading to KL coming weekends . So i need to noe which is cheaper .
Added on September 2, 2007, 1:02 pmAnyone noe the answer ?
This post has been edited by shymx: Sep 2 2007, 01:02 PM
dzi921
Sep 2 2007, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Sep 1 2007, 08:36 PM) brother, how do i ensure the download file is 384k? i still cant get the rongtines. my error message is same as previoly post. hmm... You can try use FlashGet to download the link File size: 383.93KB
tinkerfy
Sep 3 2007, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(bububang @ Sep 1 2007, 10:19 PM) Then its worth if buy a 2nd set for 1.4k? Warranty by local distributor left about 7-8 month 1.4k with 7-8 months SiS warranty would be good...
porkchop
Sep 3 2007, 10:57 AM
might as well go curve as mentioned earleir...add 100 got more things and insurance worrr
ErZresG2
Sep 3 2007, 05:21 PM
erm...interupt a bit.... htc kaiser already released? htc official website already lauched this product... is it released in mslaysia?
dzi921
Sep 3 2007, 06:12 PM
I'm using official WM6. Can I DUN using Bluetooth instead of USB?
derlin
Sep 3 2007, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(ErZresG2 @ Sep 3 2007, 05:21 PM) erm...interupt a bit.... htc kaiser already released? htc official website already lauched this product... is it released in mslaysia? erm... i think most of the websites stated as COMING OUT SOON... so i don't think the product is actually out in the market yet. QUOTE(dzi921) I'm using official WM6. Can I DUN using Bluetooth instead of USB? I don't get u. Wat's the connection of WM6 and Bluetooth and USB? Unless your tryin to say u donwan to use bluetooth to listen to music and u rather use USB instead, Then i have an answer to that. There's this Adapter for Dopod 838 pro that converts the 11pin USB to 3.5mm jack + mini USB. U can google some info on that. I've just got mine from a fellow lowyat member selling in Bulk Order. Hope i answered ur question. Thanks.
shymx
Sep 3 2007, 10:57 PM
My dopod 838 will arrive on Wednesday .I heard from Cnet asia regarding the phone has hang issues , allignment issues and the touchscreen just dun work out of a sudden , the keyboard issues i heard many times already and other negatives issues . So far anyone got these problems ? RM 2500 is a big sum dun wanna waste it on something that is not worth the price . Thanks
kanno_miho
Sep 3 2007, 11:47 PM

how to avoid auto save for mobile excel and office ?? does anyone know it ?
terencetoo
Sep 3 2007, 11:50 PM
bro shymx check your device version before u buy..older version may have screen alignment... for the sum of 2.5k is still worth it brother, most of us bought it at rm3288 without 1gig or other freebies..
derlin
Sep 3 2007, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(shymx @ Sep 3 2007, 10:57 PM) My dopod 838 will arrive on Wednesday .I heard from Cnet asia regarding the phone has hang issues , allignment issues and the touchscreen just dun work out of a sudden , the keyboard issues i heard many times already and other negatives issues . So far anyone got these problems ? RM 2500 is a big sum dun wanna waste it on something that is not worth the price . Thanks I think most of the things u'd mention can be solved.. most of the later batch of Dopods don't have this kind of issues anymore. Regarding Hang issues, its mainly due to the type of applications installed, not becoz of the phone.. imaging ur phone installed with tons of application and u expect it not to hang or lag when u launch all of them at the same time.. lol... My advice? Keep ur device clean of unwanted or unused applications..