13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

CGPA - how to calculate, and why u should dare to fail!

satayboy2003
post Aug 5 2008, 03:44 PM

L.O.V.E
635 posts

there always got one chances .. take it or leave it!

Soulsareworthless
post Sep 18 2008, 02:45 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

How do I convert A level grades into CGPA? For example I took 4 subjects and got AADD.
EquinoX
post Sep 18 2008, 03:25 PM

352 posts

Wow , this thread so useful , thanks smile.gif
I heard about this also from my sis which graduate from UPM in Engineering. Thats what she told me , she said that 1st and 2nd sem is almosy ur future. She said when 2nd and 3th year ur weightage(pemberat) increased , its harder and more harder to improve ur CGPA.
From what is see from previous thread, at 1st i though is like stpm counting, take the average one.

One i want to highlight is , if u score well in first 2years, the 3th years u can easy go on (For 3years graduate)
If u get 3.80 CGPA 2nd year. 5th and 6th sem , even u get 2.5CPA u will still continue get 3.5above or around right? bcz the weightage aready too much , if 5th sem u got 100credit hours, mean u need -100 to -1 CGPA , which mean almost impossible , cause we jus have not more 20credit hours, and not more 80pointers.
Right? Correct me if what i said was wrong thanks smile.gif
TSazarimy
post Sep 18 2008, 06:47 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Sep 18 2008, 06:45 AM)
How do I convert A level grades into CGPA? For example I took 4 subjects and got AADD.
u just average out the values of the grades. that's all. CGPA stands for cumulative grade point average, there's nothing cumulative in a single exam. so ur GPA would be to take A+A+D+D and divide by 4.

assuming A=4.0 and D=1.0, then ur GPA would be (4+4+1+1)/4 = 2.50gpa.

QUOTE(EquinoX @ Sep 18 2008, 07:25 AM)
Wow , this thread so useful , thanks smile.gif
I heard about this also from my sis which graduate from UPM in Engineering. Thats what she told me , she said that 1st and 2nd sem is almosy ur future. She said when 2nd and 3th year ur weightage(pemberat) increased , its harder and more harder to improve ur CGPA.
From what is see from previous thread, at 1st i though is like stpm counting, take the average one.

One i want to highlight is , if u score well in first 2years, the 3th years u can easy go on (For 3years graduate)
If u get 3.80 CGPA 2nd year. 5th and 6th sem , even u get 2.5CPA u will still continue get 3.5above or around right? bcz the weightage aready too much , if 5th sem u got 100credit hours, mean u need -100 to -1 CGPA , which mean almost impossible , cause we jus have not more 20credit hours, and not more 80pointers.
Right? Correct me if what i said was wrong thanks smile.gif
well, it is generally true that scoring earlier would be easier for u to maintain higher grades, however i'm not sure i understand ur explanation in ur calculations biggrin.gif.

basically, the reason why scoring earlier is easier is bcoz the subjects tend to be easier, not the loading. and u live easier knowing that u have higher CGPA - people look up to u, lecturers are more open to u and u can brag with orang2 kampung about how good u are tongue.gif. but if u really look at it, scoring the last 2 years also produces the same average. so it doesnt really matter when u score as long as u score it. however i strongly suggest that u score earlier simply bcoz of the easier subject and the positive psychological effects.
Soulsareworthless
post Sep 18 2008, 08:07 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 18 2008, 06:47 PM)
u just average out the values of the grades. that's all. CGPA stands for cumulative grade point average, there's nothing cumulative in a single exam. so ur GPA would be to take A+A+D+D and divide by 4.

assuming A=4.0 and D=1.0, then ur GPA would be (4+4+1+1)/4 = 2.50gpa.
My class mate told me that there is a CGPA upon 5 and another one upon 4, what is the difference?
cutejams2004
post Sep 19 2008, 08:34 PM

~Not Who U Think I Am~
941 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Sep 18 2008, 08:07 PM)
My class mate told me that there is a CGPA upon 5 and another one upon 4, what is the difference?
depends on ur uni's system...US system goes on a band of 4pointers

my question here is, if just say i passed (barely), cant i retake the subject? cry.gif if i knew this earlier, at least i would f just failed them
TSazarimy
post Sep 19 2008, 11:01 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Sep 19 2008, 12:34 PM)
my question here is, if just say i passed (barely), cant i retake the subject? cry.gif  if i knew this earlier, at least i would f just failed them
typically, u're only required to repeat a subject IF and only IF u fail. some people begged their lecturers to give them minimum pass, but didnt know how bad it would affect their overall CGPA later on. when i wrote the article, it was to educate that sometimes failure is better than pass wink.gif.

but in ur case, talk to ur course supervisor. he may allow u to revert ur earlier pass into a fail and allow u to retake the subject.
SUSrapeace
post Dec 15 2008, 03:55 PM

152 posts

Nice thread at least now i know how to count my CGPA point !!! i am wondering, does attendance effect your CGPA ??
i know not coming for class will get you barred from taking Final but does it affect your CGPA points ?? rclxub.gif

Few people have been complaining that their result should be better but maybe because they ponteng a few class, that why their result is much lower than expected !! tongue.gif

I also ponteng class a few time but does it really matter ??
Nekochan
post Dec 15 2008, 05:57 PM

324 posts

This is a good article.
TSazarimy
post Dec 22 2008, 10:02 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(rapeace @ Dec 15 2008, 07:55 AM)
Nice thread at least now i know how to count my CGPA point !!! i am wondering, does attendance effect your CGPA ??
i know not coming for class will get you barred from taking Final but does it affect your CGPA points ?? rclxub.gif

Few people have been complaining that their result should be better but maybe because they ponteng a few class, that why their result is much lower than expected !! tongue.gif

I also ponteng class a few time but does it really matter ??
sorry for the late reply.

no, attendance or commitment in class does not directly affect ur CGPA. what usually happens is that the lecturer puts 5% attendance marks in ur semester grades. this 5% mark normally is not enough to significantly affect ur overall grade, but a 0 is a definite 1 grade down. meaning if u're supposed to score A-, a 0% attendance is immediately a B+. the GPA difference between an A- and B+ is usually 3.70 and 3.30.

so that's how attendance could affect ur CGPA. but do remember that not all lecturers or subjects have a 5% attendance marks. it is up to the school's discretion to add that. if u're lucky, u might end up in a class that does not emphasis on attendance, so u can ponteng all u want wink.gif
eLL_lAzyPiG
post Dec 26 2008, 09:15 PM

130 posts

this is a great topic~guess that i have to study as hard as possible for my 1st semester in any college or uni
TSazarimy
post Jan 1 2009, 01:37 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(eLL_lAzyPiG @ Dec 26 2008, 01:15 PM)
this is a great topic~guess that i have to study as hard as possible for my 1st semester in any college or uni
u should just study hard all the time tongue.gif
gilagila007
post Jan 11 2009, 01:38 AM

hey, i want to know right, i failed a few subjects inmy college, so im retaking it, so when it adds up my new cgpa, will it replace the credit hours with the credithours that i failed, all will it just keep adding up and then count my cgpa?

OR IT REPLACES THE OLD FAILED CREDITHOURS? PLS. IM DYING HERE
levanter
post Jan 19 2009, 08:02 PM

163 posts

so just wondering, if an employer requires you a minimum of 3.2 cgpa, and you have an australian degree with a cgpa of 4.2, what is your cgpa if converted to uk style?
Josephine_J
post Feb 15 2009, 02:02 PM

17 posts

I'm not gonna fail or anything, just trying to pull my CGPA up, if it's possible!

Thanks for the explanation!
cahayaninety
post Feb 16 2009, 09:37 PM

89 posts

gee. i never really cared about this b4. nw... hmm.. thanx TS.
TSazarimy
post Feb 16 2009, 09:45 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(gilagila007 @ Jan 10 2009, 05:38 PM)
hey, i want to know right, i failed a few subjects inmy college, so im retaking it, so when it adds up my new cgpa, will it replace the credit hours with the credithours that i failed, all will it just keep adding up and then count my cgpa?

OR IT REPLACES THE OLD FAILED CREDITHOURS? PLS. IM DYING HERE
it depends on whether ur college follows the typical UK calculations.

apparently there are colleges in malaysia that doesnt replace the old failed credit hours. this burdens the students greatly and doesnt allow them to improve themselves.

QUOTE(levanter @ Jan 19 2009, 12:02 PM)
so just wondering, if an employer requires you a minimum of 3.2 cgpa, and you have an australian degree with a cgpa of 4.2, what is your cgpa if converted to uk style?
first u gonna have to find a conversion value for the grades. typical UK value would be A=4.0, B=3.0, C=2.0, D=1.0. then u convert ALL ur grades according to this value and add them all up. then take ur credit hours for the subjects, add them all up. finally, take the total grade points and divide them with the total credit hours and u'll get the new converted CGPA.

violin_player84
post Feb 17 2009, 01:30 AM

289 posts

rmit - CGPA 4 = all the results HD's

to graduate with distinction u need at least "3"

however , for us if u pass the paper only u will get CGPA 1 . then follow by credit "2" and distinction "3"

low like mad
MyKy44
post Feb 17 2009, 10:07 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

yeah, sometimes it's better to fail/get lower grades, so can retake nod.gif

but so far i haven't face such situation yet (thankfully.. biggrin.gif)
TSazarimy
post Feb 17 2009, 10:59 AM

10,672 posts

do note that not every college/university allows students to repeat a low graded subjects. most of them only allow a repeat of failed subjects.

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:55 PM