4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Q&A Questions on installing Windows on new SSD

acbc
post Nov 13 2020, 07:07 PM

9,034 posts

For Thinkpad (or most Lenovo models), just press F12 for Boot Menu.

For Latitude (or most Dell models), press F12 for Boot Menu.
TShc7840
post Nov 13 2020, 07:22 PM

349 posts

Just realize the 2.5inch ssd is 7mm thickness and my old hdd is 9.5mm. Looks like might need spacer? My old hdd is not secured by screws, just the cover to hold it in place, 2 mm thinner might make new ssd wobbly inside?
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 13 2020, 06:42 PM)
1. Now laptops will boot to USB if you plug in USB Drive contain the installation media file.

2. After you install the Windows. Download the Samsung Magician Software to check the details.

I am also using this SSD. You can increase the Write and Speed aka the Turbo Mode.
They do have secure erase in which that you factory reset the SSD.
Everyone say ssd is a lot faster then hdd, don’t think need turbo mode? Lol

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Nov 13 2020, 07:01 PM)
use win10, then install on SSD boot drive.

drivers can auto download later once windows installation completed.. that's how I install on my old 2012 lenovo z430
Did you have problem with different thickness?
Doomsday
post Nov 13 2020, 07:23 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 07:22 PM)
Just realize the 2.5inch ssd is 7mm thickness and my old hdd is 9.5mm. Looks like might need spacer? My old hdd is not secured by screws, just the cover to hold it in place, 2 mm thinner might make new ssd wobbly inside?

yes, ssd slightly less thick.. u can just screw in only the ssd.. it's just a plastic case anyway
fantasy1989
post Nov 13 2020, 07:25 PM

4,705 posts

make sure your usb is bootable and some old laptop ..you cant get it bootable with usb 3 port

since your ssd is brand new ...therefore, no need prioritize your boot drive also should fine
FusionXY
post Nov 13 2020, 07:38 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

Yup, it depends on people using Turbo.
With and Without Turbo almost the same speed but can't really tell.

Wish to use but until my old ASUS Laptop the screen got problem.
When I try to tap on the keyboard and move the screen forward immediately force the computer to sleep mode.

I suspected mine the hinge not tight. Like suddenly sleep halfway when using.
Now my SSD store as storage as I try to use until it auto sleep by itself.

netmatrix
post Nov 13 2020, 08:24 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

Obviously pressing F12 is over ride boot sequence. No need to bother going into BIOS to set sequence. Boot once install, take out USB and then it will boot from SSD. Why over think it by changing boot sequence?

And from your model range seems there is capable to do UEFI boot. Even better as you do not need to key in product key.
netmatrix
post Nov 13 2020, 08:27 PM

6,723 posts

Just fold 2 pieces of paper and slide it to support the corners. If you afraid it might come off, then tape the sides to the paper. Its not difficult. Done it many times.
acbc
post Nov 13 2020, 08:28 PM

9,034 posts

U can order a 9.5mm SSD spacer from Shopee. I ordered some for my Thinkpads as many using 9.5mm HDD previously. With the newer 7mm SSD, the spacer helped to make the SSD fit snugly.
azam_halim
post Nov 13 2020, 08:39 PM

451 posts

can just clone kan?
TShc7840
post Nov 13 2020, 09:01 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 13 2020, 07:38 PM)
Yup, it depends on people using Turbo.
With and Without Turbo almost the same speed but can't really tell.

Wish to use but until my old ASUS Laptop the screen got problem.
When I try to tap on the keyboard and move the screen forward immediately force the computer to sleep mode.

I suspected mine the hinge not tight. Like suddenly sleep halfway when using.
Now my SSD store as storage as I try to use until it auto sleep by itself.
Maybe can disable the function where it go into sleep if you cover screen?

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 13 2020, 08:24 PM)
Obviously pressing F12 is over ride boot sequence. No need to bother going into BIOS to set sequence. Boot once install, take out USB and then it will boot from SSD. Why over think it by changing boot sequence?

And from your model range seems there is capable to do UEFI boot. Even better as you do not need to key in product key.
Because everywhere I read seems to have the instruction that tell me to change the boot sequence. Haha
Ei I tot product key is related to windows part liao? Uefi or legacy, either one should auto detect my activated windows.

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 13 2020, 08:27 PM)
Just fold 2 pieces of paper and slide it to support the corners. If you afraid it might come off, then tape the sides to the paper. Its not difficult. Done it many times.
This sounds like a good idea to do it. Haaha. I will try.

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 13 2020, 08:28 PM)
U can order a 9.5mm SSD spacer from Shopee. I ordered some for my Thinkpads as many using 9.5mm HDD previously. With the newer 7mm SSD, the spacer helped to make the SSD fit snugly.
I will try the cheapo method first.

QUOTE(azam_halim @ Nov 13 2020, 08:39 PM)
can just clone kan?
Can clone but fresh install no need to clone the bloat ware.
Ashadiya
post Nov 13 2020, 09:02 PM

215 posts

Welcome to SSD world
PJng
post Nov 13 2020, 09:03 PM

12,039 posts

if installed windows 10 before, when setup just skip product key, windows will auto activate
netmatrix
post Nov 13 2020, 09:05 PM

6,723 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 09:01 PM)
Maybe can disable the function where it go into sleep if you cover screen?
Because everywhere I read seems to have the instruction that tell me to change the boot sequence. Haha
Ei I tot product key is related to windows part liao? Uefi or legacy, either one should auto detect my activated windows.
This sounds like a good idea to do it. Haaha. I will try.
I will try the cheapo method first.
Can clone but fresh install no need to clone the bloat ware.
Because a lot of ppl does not know there is a boot override key on their desktop & laptops! laugh.gif laugh.gif The last few years have the capability to detect MBR type installation (key in product key manually) or UEFI (Retrieve product key from BIOS). It is so easy!!

If you create a bootable installation from Microsoft, it will auto assign UEFI or MBR. If you create installation with RUFUS, you could create MBR or UEFI only installation.

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Nov 13 2020, 09:06 PM
FusionXY
post Nov 13 2020, 09:21 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,831 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 09:01 PM)

Sounds a good idea. I research online and found the same method to disable sleep mode when close the lid...

Will try out one day. Too many laptops on my table already. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
Now I have 2 printers + 1 laptop. Need to find a solution to put 2/3 Laptops and 2 printers together.
ktek
post Nov 13 2020, 09:27 PM

小喇叭
13,182 posts

sudah tutup secure boot tak
Skylinestar
post Nov 13 2020, 09:29 PM

Mega Duck
10,466 posts

1. I just installed win10 3 weeks ago. I set my USB as primary boot drive. Installed win10. When it restarted, I'm surprised the bios bootup screen didn't show "press any key to boot from USB", which I used to see on older machines. The installation was painless.

2. You setup your SSD when you wanna install win10. You still get the typical drive partition setup page.
yolo1990
post Nov 13 2020, 09:31 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ Nov 13 2020, 06:30 PM)
Later tak jadi.... Other problem arise... Padan muka... Lol.
kesian this kinda attitude.
all the best in life buddy. you will need it.
ry8128
post Nov 13 2020, 09:33 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 13 2020, 09:29 PM)
1. I just installed win10 3 weeks ago. I set my USB as primary boot drive. Installed win10. When it restarted, I'm surprised the bios bootup screen didn't show "press any key to boot from USB", which I used to see on older machines. The installation was painless.

2. You setup your SSD when you wanna install win10. You still get the typical drive partition setup page.
+1. Its just as simple as this. Very easy.
TShc7840
post Nov 13 2020, 09:45 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 13 2020, 09:03 PM)
if installed windows 10 before, when setup just skip product key, windows will auto activate
Yeah. This I know. Many places mention it.

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 13 2020, 09:27 PM)
sudah tutup secure boot tak
I check at system information, it says unsupported. Does that means my mother board no support uefi?
But last I check with part number, it says my motherboard can do uefi.
Anyway the disabling secure boot is so that I can boot from the usb drive?

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 13 2020, 09:29 PM)

Your second statement means the partitions setup page equal to initialization of ssd?

TShc7840
post Nov 13 2020, 09:47 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(yolo1990 @ Nov 13 2020, 09:31 PM)
kesian this kinda attitude.
all the best in life buddy. you will need it.
Kasi chance la. Some people just not so tech savy.
It like hair can cut yourself why pay people to cut for you. Haha

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0162sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 09:05 PM