Q&A Questions on installing Windows on new SSD

zemega
post Nov 13 2020, 10:48 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 10:36 PM)
I don’t know. Some website say if not initialized cannot use la.  Bla bla.
If you install fresh, no need initialize. The installation will auto initialize it for you.

When you add any disk to an existing windows, need to initialize first time only.
TShc7840
post Nov 13 2020, 10:49 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(zemega @ Nov 13 2020, 10:44 PM)
Keep the old drivers backup for now. It's still possible to track down most of the drivers from the component manufacturers website.
You might need to ask other forums or Reddit on how to get the drivers for your particular laptop. What's the model number anyway?
Satellite L850 pskdla 0cc00r
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 13 2020, 10:50 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 10:35 PM)
Ssd smaller. Intend to keep old hdd as it is. If ssd got problem can Pasang balik. Already got two external hdd to backup files.
Other reason I want fresh install is because I don’t have the usb connector adaptor. Lol
I read Can be difficult to fresh install that way also because windows don’t let you install another system when you are using it.
Chebye toshiba no support my 8yo model anymore. Cannot find on their website.
Will try the tape method also
win10 dem flexible one no worries

TShc7840
post Nov 13 2020, 11:24 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Nov 13 2020, 10:50 PM)
win10 dem flexible one no worries

Installing now. Bobi bobi
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 13 2020, 11:27 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 11:24 PM)
Installing now. Bobi bobi
really flexi

PJng
post Nov 13 2020, 11:29 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Nov 13 2020, 11:27 PM)
really flexi

Ts is replace to SSD
Not install to current disk
TShc7840
post Nov 13 2020, 11:48 PM

349 posts

Wohoo! Up and running. Thanks everyone.
PJng
post Nov 13 2020, 11:55 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 11:48 PM)
Time to install back needed program
netmatrix
post Nov 13 2020, 11:58 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 11:48 PM)
My neighbourhood is literally having fireworks war now. laugh.gif laugh.gif
zemega
post Nov 14 2020, 12:00 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 13 2020, 10:49 PM)
Satellite L850 pskdla 0cc00r
Can only find bios drivers. https://support.dynabook.com/support/driver...Text=1200014314. No official support for Windows 10 for this laptop.
You have to use something like DriverView to list out all the driver details. Or HWiNFO. You're going to have to take a leap of faith and hope everything works in Windows 10. Else you really have to hunt the drivers one by one.
TShc7840
post Nov 14 2020, 12:08 AM

349 posts

full I am flying!!

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 13 2020, 11:55 PM)
Time to install back needed program
not many program also
just iTunes, vlc.
thinking to just use the new edge from now on. don't even want to install ram sucker chrome liao.

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 13 2020, 11:58 PM)
My neighbourhood is literally having fireworks war now.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(zemega @ Nov 14 2020, 12:00 AM)
Can only find bios drivers. https://support.dynabook.com/support/driver...Text=1200014314. No official support for Windows 10 for this laptop.
You have to use something like DriverView to list out all the driver details. Or HWiNFO. You're going to have to take a leap of faith and hope everything works in Windows 10. Else you really have to hunt the drivers one by one.
it actually just work leh. no need install any driver.
i think windows is installing in the background. the touchpad couldn't scroll at first, now can scroll liao.
lets hope don't find other issue later
PJng
post Nov 14 2020, 12:10 AM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 14 2020, 12:08 AM)
full I am flying!!
not many program also
just iTunes, vlc.
thinking to just use the new edge from now on. don't even want to install ram sucker chrome liao.
icon_rolleyes.gif
i think windows is installing in the background. the touchpad couldn't scroll at first, now can scroll liao.
Open device manager, see any device with !, maybe need some driver
Mouse touch pad if no windows 10, use windows 7 driver see work or not

Normally see graphic, network/wifi, mouspad, chipset, sound driver
May have more option, function after install driver

This post has been edited by PJng: Nov 14 2020, 12:13 AM
netmatrix
post Nov 14 2020, 12:24 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,723 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 14 2020, 12:08 AM)
full I am flying!!
not many program also
just iTunes, vlc.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Your model has common WHQL hardware la. Very sure 100% of the drivers would be there. Unless they have some proprietary feature like Sony VAIO switch or custom ATK key feature or custom security hardware, then you need to visit the manufacturer for these drivers. Most laptops today would work with Windows Inbox drivers.
TShc7840
post Nov 14 2020, 12:46 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 14 2020, 12:24 AM)
Your model has common WHQL hardware la. Very sure 100% of the drivers would  be there. Unless they have some proprietary feature like Sony VAIO switch or custom ATK key feature or custom security hardware, then you need to visit the manufacturer for these drivers. Most laptops today would work with Windows Inbox drivers.
and your f12=boot override also true
don't know why all those website keep telling people to kacao the boot sequence. haha

just that when I was installing didn't get the option to choose uefi installation, maybe just my laptop too old. don't have this function.
speedy3210
post Nov 14 2020, 08:48 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 14 2020, 12:46 AM)
don't know why all those website keep telling people to kacao the boot sequence. haha

just that when I was installing didn't get the option to choose uefi installation, maybe just my laptop too old. don't have this function.
UEFI option has to be enabled from the BIOS side. But then again, you will have to reinstall.... hahaha

not much of a problem as you hv just finished installing without much app in it.

If using legacy mode, just have to make sure your SATA controller is running in AHCI mode to get the most out of the SSD in terms of performance.

Cheers TS rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TShc7840
post Nov 14 2020, 09:21 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Nov 14 2020, 08:48 AM)
UEFI option has to be enabled from the BIOS side. But then again, you will have to reinstall.... hahaha

not much of a problem as  you hv just finished installing without much app in it.

If using legacy mode, just have to make sure your SATA controller is running in AHCI mode to get the most out of the SSD in terms of performance.

Cheers TS rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I don’t see uefi option in bios setup, no secure boot option but it has option for fast boot.
Samsung magician say is running ahci. So should be good?

I guess it just means my mother board don’t support uefi, and I have been using legacy for years. Should not make too much of a difference?
PJng
post Nov 14 2020, 09:26 AM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Nov 14 2020, 12:46 AM)

My current pc year 2012, no uefi, only bios,
When install windows 10 no show uefi or show secure boot is lock
TShc7840
post Nov 14 2020, 09:46 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 14 2020, 09:26 AM)
My current pc year 2012, no uefi, only bios,
When install windows 10 no show uefi or show secure boot is lock
Mine also year 2012.
Last I checked, my motherboard support uefi leh. Maybe is because I didn’t update the latest bios driver (there is a bios update on toshiba website). But then people say computer no problem don’t anyhow go flash bios, later become brick.
I guess for normal usage, legacy bios or uefi should not make any difference. Plus has been using it for past 8 years also no problem.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0159sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 09:08 PM