123 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

mtxx
post May 2 2021, 02:44 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ May 1 2021, 08:30 PM)
Hi , just asking for some insight .
Is the Macbook Air M1 really worth the hype ? Currently using a surface pro7 as my portable device . So far the pro7 has been OK , but definitely didn't reach my expectations and the battery life is quite abysmal as far as 2in1 laptops go. Not to mention how bad tablet mode is for windows10. Intel portable chips just suck , It throttles way too much as soon as I open heavy programs like resolve and adobe apps.

A part of me had me thinking of just selling the pro7 to get the MB Air .

So can I ask from current owners , how is it? Has the display been good for you so far ? How's the performance ? Seeing the videos of M1s performance definitely got me hyped.

Do you think its really worth it to drop the stylus support and tablet mode as well as x64 and windows exe. programs for it? Might consider just getting the usual 'conservative' laptop experience if the m1 is truly as exceptional as what people deem it to be.
Thanks in advance!
Definetely worth it. rclxms.gif
loonsave
post May 2 2021, 03:32 PM

1,494 posts

Anyone has problem to update Microsoft Edge in Macbook Air? I do not sure is this only happen to Macbook Air or Big Sur.

When I run update for Microsoft Edge, I will never launch again after the app closed. I have to force close it to complete the process, every time.
The~Joker
post May 2 2021, 10:16 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ May 1 2021, 08:30 PM)
Hi , just asking for some insight .
Is the Macbook Air M1 really worth the hype ? Currently using a surface pro7 as my portable device . So far the pro7 has been OK , but definitely didn't reach my expectations and the battery life is quite abysmal as far as 2in1 laptops go. Not to mention how bad tablet mode is for windows10. Intel portable chips just suck , It throttles way too much as soon as I open heavy programs like resolve and adobe apps.

A part of me had me thinking of just selling the pro7 to get the MB Air .

So can I ask from current owners , how is it? Has the display been good for you so far ? How's the performance ? Seeing the videos of M1s performance definitely got me hyped.

Do you think its really worth it to drop the stylus support and tablet mode as well as x64 and windows exe. programs for it? Might consider just getting the usual 'conservative' laptop experience if the m1 is truly as exceptional as what people deem it to be.
Thanks in advance!
I am a Surface Pro 7 (1 year old) user who has just purchased a MBP M1. I am keeping both for now as I think they are different beasts, if u cannot live without the pen support then keep the SP7, or at least sell the SP7 and get the MBA + used ipad

SP7 is a decent laptop but a terrible tablet. but it is a usable tablet, that can also run full windows apps which can come in handy. I mostly use for taking down notes or just watching movies on bed/couch. I do agree with the part about battery life. its dog shit.

M1 MBP/MBA is an excellent laptop and has has a much better battery life, but obviously cannot do tablet things. In terms of performance of productivity apps such as adobe, xcode etc will handle most tasks like a piece of cake i guess.

WHITE APPLE
post May 2 2021, 10:21 PM

113 posts

If I want to use internet explorer with m1 mba, what method is the most economic ?
soonwai
post May 2 2021, 10:31 PM

9,989 posts

QUOTE(WHITE APPLE @ May 2 2021, 10:21 PM)
If I want to use internet explorer with m1 mba, what method is the most economic ?
You can try WINE (free). I use that with my router's config software which is Windows only.
Leong Kok Leong
post May 2 2021, 11:46 PM

111 posts

can any users share their TBW?
am considering buying one, but is afraid of the ssd lifespan since its solder on
soonwai
post May 3 2021, 01:34 AM

9,989 posts

QUOTE(Leong Kok Leong @ May 2 2021, 11:46 PM)
can any users share their TBW?
am considering buying one, but is afraid of the ssd lifespan since its solder on
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=100340906

This is mine but for Mac mini M1 16/256.
Leong Kok Leong
post May 3 2021, 03:29 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 3 2021, 01:34 AM)
Thanks man those numbers look good compared to other sources I found online.
WHITE APPLE
post May 3 2021, 11:08 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 2 2021, 10:31 PM)
You can try WINE (free). I use that with my router's config software which is Windows only.
Do you mean wine bottler? I saw the YouTube tutorial many comments that can’t use with m1 / big surr?
hshern95
post May 4 2021, 02:17 PM

81 posts

my MBA is running hot when using Facetime..

Anyone got this issue?
soonwai
post May 4 2021, 04:31 PM

9,989 posts

QUOTE(WHITE APPLE @ May 3 2021, 11:08 PM)
Do you mean wine bottler? I saw the YouTube tutorial many comments that can’t use with m1 / big surr?
Winebottler long time no update already. Haven't used that in awhile.

I use the wine from winehq but they haven't been releasing macOS builds for Catalina and above but can see here https://github.com/Gcenx/wine-on-mac for the latest builds. You'll need 6.2 devel for compatibility with M1 and Big Sur.

Another option is Crossover which is not free. It works pretty well too.
sonicbull
post May 4 2021, 04:56 PM

503 posts

Where to buy this MacBook, sifu? Lazada is ok?

Usage for excel, browser, Google docs, Google drive and normal office work is alright?

Currently using windows
kevinpss
post May 4 2021, 06:14 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ May 4 2021, 04:56 PM)
Where to buy this MacBook, sifu? Lazada is ok?

Usage for excel, browser, Google docs, Google drive and normal office work is alright?

Currently using windows
buy from apple.com/my lah
MacBook Air is good enough
sonicbull
post May 4 2021, 06:48 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ May 4 2021, 06:14 PM)
buy from apple.com/my lah
MacBook Air is good enough
Thanks. Why I ask is because I'm not familiar with Mac.

Like is there any promo in stores like switch or machine for iPhone 12. Another is to wait for wwdc June announce new MacBook and then maybe a price drop for M1?
kevinpss
post May 4 2021, 07:07 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ May 4 2021, 06:48 PM)

Like is there any promo in stores like switch or machine for iPhone 12. Another is to wait for wwdc June announce new MacBook and then maybe a price drop for M1?
Buy with education price, RM3959 only
kevinpss
post May 4 2021, 07:08 PM

464 posts

I don’t think will that fast. Also, Malaysia market usually wait quite long. So no point to wait the next cycle for MBA.
sonicbull
post May 4 2021, 07:37 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ May 4 2021, 07:07 PM)
Buy with education price, RM3959 only
At the store or website?
I'm not qualified though

QUOTE(kevinpss @ May 4 2021, 07:08 PM)
I don’t think will that fast. Also, Malaysia market usually wait quite long. So no point to wait the next cycle for MBA.
Okay. Thanks again
kevinpss
post May 4 2021, 08:08 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ May 4 2021, 07:37 PM)
At the store or website?
I'm not qualified though
Okay. Thanks again
no problem de. just use it and buy.
I think the MBA M1 reach Malaysia only by Jan 2021.
Maybe will have chip shortage soon.
eugenemah7
post May 4 2021, 08:30 PM

My experience w M1 MacBook Air’s battery usage:
- Started off by charging to full 100%
- Left idle for the night
- Main app: Zoom (total 11-hour classes)
- Other apps used: Firefox, Mail, Whatsapp
- Using WiFi
- Brightness level:(medium) 8 boxes
- Audio: Headphone jack
Left w 24%
williamlee_1985
post May 4 2021, 09:18 PM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,004 posts

Depends whether you are urgent or not. If still can wait then wait, I think another few more months will launch, then by Oct or Nov will reach to Malaysia.

123 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:36 PM