161 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

[2020]iPhone 12/12 Mini Discussion Thread | V1, Blast past fast.

sramesh
post Oct 17 2020, 04:25 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 17 2020, 12:25 PM)
Dolby Atmos on a phone is a joke and a stupid marketing gimmick. There is no way in hell you can get Atmos effect from a bloody phone speaker.

Dolby Vision is more plausible, though I'd be hard press to find anyone noticing the difference on a small screen.
Video recording DV however is anther story. Might make a bit of difference during playback on a DV enabled TV, but again recording done on a small sensor camera phone, don't expect a big difference either...
Apple mentioned in future, their homepod mini will be able to simulate Dolby Atmos surround sound when paired with other homepod minis. This would be interesting.

This post has been edited by sramesh: Oct 17 2020, 04:26 PM
marfccy
post Oct 17 2020, 04:48 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 17 2020, 12:25 PM)
Dolby Atmos on a phone is a joke and a stupid marketing gimmick. There is no way in hell you can get Atmos effect from a bloody phone speaker.

Dolby Vision is more plausible, though I'd be hard press to find anyone noticing the difference on a small screen.
Video recording DV however is anther story. Might make a bit of difference during playback on a DV enabled TV, but again recording done on a small sensor camera phone, don't expect a big difference either...
it is, i remember last time LG released a speaker bar for TV and markets it with Dolby Atmos "surround". but the speakers are all coming from a single speaker bar. how is that surround? proper surround sound multiple speakers setup be like

anyway as for the screen wise, it mostly matters to the ones who uses it that way. i know lots of peeps would enjoy the dynamic contrast of apple's new HDR10 screens since they watch alot content on them

for us who uses phones for err.. instant messaging mostly then its moot lol, even LCD works
Lego Warfare
post Oct 17 2020, 05:38 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(sramesh @ Oct 17 2020, 04:25 PM)
Apple mentioned in future, their homepod mini will be able to simulate Dolby Atmos surround sound when paired with other homepod minis. This would be interesting.
That’s another marketing bullshit lol... you can get stereo speakers or even surround if you can pair up to 4 homepods but Atmos definitely not...

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 17 2020, 04:48 PM)
it is, i remember last time LG released a speaker bar for TV and markets it with Dolby Atmos "surround". but the speakers are all coming from a single speaker bar. how is that surround? proper surround sound multiple speakers setup be like

anyway as for the screen wise, it mostly matters to the ones who uses it that way. i know lots of peeps would enjoy the dynamic contrast of apple's new HDR10 screens since they watch alot content on them

for us who uses phones for err.. instant messaging mostly then its moot lol, even LCD works
It’s possible if the soundbar has upfiring speakers, but it will never give the same realistic sound from ceiling speakers. But Samsung’s Atmos soundbar has really come a long way, does Atmos very well for a soundbar.
Sony’s soundbar uses digital sound processing to simulate Atmos, still no where as close to even upfiring speakers soundbar. For Apple to simulate Atmos on their mini HomePod speaker they will need to pray to God to defy physics...
marfccy
post Oct 17 2020, 05:51 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 17 2020, 05:38 PM)
That’s another marketing bullshit lol... you can get stereo speakers or even surround if you can pair up to 4 homepods but Atmos definitely not...
It’s possible if the soundbar has upfiring speakers, but it will never give the same realistic sound from ceiling speakers. But Samsung’s Atmos soundbar has really come a long way, does Atmos very well for a soundbar.
Sony’s soundbar uses digital sound processing to simulate Atmos, still no where as close to even upfiring speakers soundbar. For Apple to simulate Atmos on their mini HomePod speaker they will need to pray to God to defy physics...
it should be the same like ori homepod

8 speakers in one module. problem is its drivers are tiny, how does it emulate the more powerful dolby speakers?

dolby has been lenient in approving haha
moosset
post Oct 17 2020, 06:04 PM

1,917 posts

that 64GB mini enough kah?

I feel like nowadays, every business wants you to download their app. Starbucks, bonuslink, all the banks etc etc ....
Lego Warfare
post Oct 17 2020, 06:48 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 17 2020, 05:51 PM)
it should be the same like ori homepod

8 speakers in one module. problem is its drivers are tiny, how does it emulate the more powerful dolby speakers?

dolby has been lenient in approving haha
Lol money is king. The universal language tongue.gif
marfccy
post Oct 17 2020, 06:55 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 17 2020, 06:04 PM)

I feel like nowadays, every business wants you to download their app. Starbucks, bonuslink, all the banks etc etc ....
for me enough since most apps are pretty lightweight. not to mention thats why apple introduced AppClips smile.gif

but if you those kind that keeps and stores everything locally on phone instead of cloud then its def not enough. im usually running 49GB/64GB free on my XR even with 9GB songs, 5GB pics/vids

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 17 2020, 06:48 PM)
Lol money is king. The universal language tongue.gif
ikr? sighs we cant trust certifications anymore
attw
post Oct 17 2020, 08:35 PM

32,468 posts

If you're not a gamer and you have the discipline to constantly transfer photos and videos from your phone to the laptop or subscribe to a larger iCloud storage option, then yes, 64GB will be OK.
moosset
post Oct 17 2020, 08:38 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Oct 17 2020, 06:55 PM)
for me enough since most apps are pretty lightweight. not to mention thats why apple introduced AppClips smile.gif

but if you those kind that keeps and stores everything locally on phone instead of cloud then its def not enough. im usually running 49GB/64GB free on my XR even with 9GB songs, 5GB pics/vids
ikr? sighs we cant trust certifications anymore
QUOTE(attw @ Oct 17 2020, 08:35 PM)
If you're not a gamer and you have the discipline to constantly transfer photos and videos from your phone to the laptop or subscribe to a larger iCloud storage option, then yes, 64GB will be OK.
I'm currently on 64GB. I don't have that discipline to transfer photos and videos. sad.gif

that way, my phone was running out space. I checked all the apps, everything also important, especially there are certain apps required for identity verification. Then I transferred all the videos to my computer, now I've about 12GB left. laugh.gif
attw
post Oct 17 2020, 08:42 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 17 2020, 08:38 PM)
I'm currently on 64GB. I don't have that discipline to transfer photos and videos. sad.gif

that way, my phone was running out space. I checked all the apps, everything also important, especially there are certain apps required for identity verification. Then I transferred all the videos to my computer, now I've about 12GB left.  laugh.gif
Oh, I forgot to mention how long you keep your phone is also a factor in determining how much storage you should get. If it's 3 years or more, advisable to go for the larger storage options. Besides, the difference from 64GB to 128GB for the 12 series is only RM200 difference.
marfccy
post Oct 17 2020, 08:45 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

that way, my phone was running out space. I checked all the apps, everything also important, especially there are certain apps required for identity verification. Then I transferred all the videos to my computer, now I've about 12GB left.  laugh.gif
yeah then better buy 128/256GB. most of my friends who consume alot like you def need more and even 128GB isnt enough for them

i need more for my PC haha not phone
TSwestlife
post Oct 17 2020, 08:45 PM

14,230 posts

dun waste time with 64gb, it just simply limits the capability of your new iphone. go BIG or go HOME. tongue.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 17 2020, 09:08 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

You may subscribe to Apple One later this year
then can upload your photos / video to iCloud whistling.gif
coolman82
post Oct 17 2020, 09:53 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Oct 17 2020, 08:45 PM)
dun waste time with 64gb, it just simply limits the capability of your new iphone. go BIG or go HOME.  tongue.gif
i think it depends on individual's usage.
I never utilised my storage more than 30gb, all photos and videos and synced to google photos.
And I don't play mobile games so 64gb is pretty much sufficient for me though.
moosset
post Oct 18 2020, 12:18 AM

1,917 posts

Are we expecting to get 5G soon?
marfccy
post Oct 18 2020, 01:10 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 18 2020, 12:18 AM)
MY gov said 2022 they plan to release to all consumer market

so...
attw
post Oct 18 2020, 08:29 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Oct 17 2020, 09:08 PM)
You may subscribe to Apple One later this year
then can upload your photos / video to iCloud whistling.gif
I'm aiming for that too smile.gif

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 18 2020, 12:18 AM)
We're at least 2-3 years away from 5G adoption so that shouldn't factor in your choice for buying a new phone now, unless you plan to keep the phone for 5 years. smile.gif
moosset
post Oct 18 2020, 02:09 PM

1,917 posts

hopefully big cities get 5G earlier than 2022. cry.gif
ychwang
post Oct 18 2020, 02:47 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

if you're using icloud for storing your photo, 64gb is enough
because 20GB photo in icloud and your phone is just only keep the lower resolution type until u go to view it.
Ur phone will auto load from icloud full resolution on the fly.

TSwestlife
post Oct 18 2020, 03:49 PM

14,230 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 18 2020, 02:09 PM)
hopefully big cities get 5G earlier than 2022. cry.gif
very difficult.... tongue.gif

161 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled