Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed
5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Trading Card Games [TCG] Magic The Gathering | V2, Shadowmoor Pre-release Mania | April 13

views
     
camlok
post Oct 19 2007, 02:35 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


Mark, jumping out of the USD before it goes down somemore? tongue.gif
camlok
post Oct 19 2007, 06:37 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


Cryptic command?? Need UUU wor, even if you can support it. I think I prefer cheaper hard counter, as it is now the meta is fast, and the cryptic command get shut down by Tegg.

Still trying to figure out how to get to manawrex. Maybe can try the wikimapia.
camlok
post Oct 22 2007, 06:49 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


I recalled reading somewhere (Must be MTG website, I think it was Rafeal Levy or Frank Karsten) that it is always the right thing to call the judge on occasions like this. It might be an honest mistake and he might be reconstructing to a better deck after advice from friends and miscalculated his deck size, but he might also be cheating (though in this case it might be highly unlikely).

However, this level of integrity has to be maintained so to deter any cheater to get away with similar offence. If everyone is vigilant against these things, it is harder for a cheater to cheat.

This is also a good way to tell your opponent to always pile shuffle your deck before presenting it to your opponent, and always pile shuffle your opponent's deck and count his deck. This is not to cheat a free win, but more to prevent anyone from cheating.

It is also within your right to request for a deck check if you suspect that your opponent might be adding cards from outside the game. I think we Malaysian are too nice and decide not to call the judge even if we suspect something is amiss (myself guilty of this, though it was a pre-release).

Having saying that, I rarely pile shiffle my deck ( tongue.gif ), but I do count them. I do occasionally count opponent's deck.


Edit: It was Quentin Martin's article
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/qm26

This post has been edited by camlok: Oct 22 2007, 06:54 PM
camlok
post Oct 23 2007, 06:10 AM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(lepakboy @ Oct 23 2007, 12:18 AM)
Top 8 standard results from an SCG Tournaments are

8th - GW Kithkin

7th - RG Big Mana with Hellkites and Spectral Force

6th - BR Goblins with only 1 tarfire in fears of pumping tarmogoyf no less.

5th - BG Elves

4th - Predator Justice typical Block deck build

3rd - Mono U Snow Merfolk with 4x Scrying Sheets

2nd - BG Deck with Tarmogoyf

1st - Mono W control with loads of removal like Oblivion Ring and Condemn and kills with Akroma and Sacred Mesa.


Added on October 23, 2007, 12:20 am

The judge said that because this was a the second offense, 1st being playing troll acestic under blood moon with only 1 basic forest he would get a game lost.
*
I'm not a judge here but will try to put my point of view in.

Well, that sort of explains it. Under both old and new guideline, multiple offence can lead to an upgrade in penalty, However, the case above should only happen in a higher level event (GPT/PTQ or hgher), and only under the old guidelines.

The new guidelines both the player is responsible for maintaining the correct state of the game. If your opponent do call the judge for this, then both of you will recieve a warning (or upgrade to game loss for you if you have done too many mistakes in the duration of the tourney).

It's just simpler to remind your opponent for this, as this is a compulsory effet (of course the pacts are another story, you will be assume that you chose not to pay the upkeep, and lost the game because of the effect of the spell, then it will base on the circumstances on how you forget to pay for it. If it was an honest mistake, you might get away with a warning, but if the judge determine that you are planning to gain some advantage on this, this will be upgraded to "cheating" and the penalty is much more severe, something like a DQ in a high level event). In this case your opponent is not penalized if he immediately highlight this after your upkeep, during your draw phase, as he is still maintaining the correct game state, but if he waited, he might be penalized too, though I'm not sure on this.

Any certified judge here to clarify ths??
camlok
post Oct 30 2007, 08:08 AM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


PTQ is in Ipoh and Singapore. Crashed my car last Monday so at the moment cannot attend any PTQs sad.gif
Was suppose to go Singapore this weekend to visit friends and attend the PTQ. Without a car cannot make it back on Sunday itself.....

Oh, and the rebels searcher that put stuff into play can only search for permanents, it has already been clarified in some of the rules articles.
camlok
post Oct 31 2007, 12:54 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


well, good luck to those that is going to Ipoh. Hope one of you wins it so I don't have to face you in KL the following week tongue.gif
camlok
post Oct 31 2007, 03:15 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


Errr.... I only go 1-dtop in Penang as it is 10 minutes walk from my Grandma's place, so can't help you there.
camlok
post Nov 1 2007, 09:22 AM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


Wah, mono red burn, and targeting the burn to the doll........ very interesting. Will fall apart if opponent have answer for the doll I think (which I guess no one was prepared for, taking care of the doll)
camlok
post Nov 1 2007, 11:56 AM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Nov 1 2007, 11:31 AM)
Hmm...oblivion ring the doll?
*
I think at that time not many people pack that. Stuff Doll's been under the radar for too long for people to prepare against that. Most removal that were used are either mass type (damnation/WoG), damage base (red burn, tendrils) or destruction type (slaughter pact).

Now with the deck around, guess ppl will be using Oblivion Ring/Nameless Inversion.
camlok
post Nov 1 2007, 04:10 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2007, 02:20 PM)
well stuffy doll aint the only win condition for the deck...
it packs quite a number of burn and most answers to doll aint instant speed (except krosan grip and disenchant)...
with enough mana he can play doll into shrek for uber damage...
chandra is scary as well...
i love the interaction of molten disasaster and doll...

btw jz wondering molten disaster affect each player rite...
but i can only target my opponent of his planeswalker???

*
Comprehensive rule book says this:

212.9g If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that
opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls
instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 419.6c) and is subject to the normal rules for
ordering replacement effects (see rule 419.9). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the
damage as the redirection effect is applied.

So yes, you can redirect molten disaster's damage to the planeswalker.


QUOTE(kingmex @ Nov 1 2007 @ 01:19 PM)
For mad auntie's ability, what it's means 'regenerate "ANOTHER" target goblin?

can it regenerate all kind of damage (e.g) combat damage, spell damage, ability damage.
some say only combat damage.
can it regenerate activated abilities damage (e.g) 'tap target creature gets -1/-1'


*
From the comprehensive rule book:

419.6b Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word "instead" doesn't appear on the
card but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. "Regenerate [permanent]" means "The next
time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it, tap it, and (if
it's in combat) remove it from combat." Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still
trigger even if the permanent regenerates.


and

420.5b A creature with toughness 0 or less is put into its owner's graveyard. Regeneration can't
replace this event.

420.5c A creature with lethal damage, but greater than 0 toughness, is destroyed. Lethal damage is
an amount of damage greater than or equal to a creature's toughness. Regeneration can replace
this event.


So, you can't regenerate if your creature have 0 toughness or less, but anything that destroys a creature, including lethal damage, can be saved by regeneration.
Also when it means another goblin, it means it can regenerate any goblin permanent, other than itself. Oh, and -1/-1 is not damage, but a modification to your power/thoughness, which is different from damage.

This post has been edited by camlok: Nov 1 2007, 04:12 PM
camlok
post Nov 1 2007, 07:27 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2007, 05:31 PM)
erm so let say i got a doll and i cast molten for 5 damage...
i can deal 5 to him and 5 to his plainswalker rite...
*
Yes that's right. You can also deal 10 dmg to the planeswalker if you want. (err... I meant the planeswalker card in Lorwyn, not you tongue.gif)


Added on November 1, 2007, 7:38 pm
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2007, 06:00 PM)
damn i forgot bout that =.="
anyways wanna check if in a clash both players have the same converted mana cost wut happened?

i jz won with a guy killing himself from hoaner's greed...
he claims even if we clash the same consider both wins...
so it loops...
i jz put back my land on the top and he died to 12 damage continuous lol...
*
Like the previous poster said, you only win if you got higher. If the same then no one wins.

501.10. Clash
501.10a To clash, a player reveals the top card of his or her library. That player may then put that
card on the bottom of his or her library.
501.10b "Clash with an opponent" means "Choose an opponent. You and that opponent each
clash."
501.10c A player wins a clash if that player revealed a card with a higher converted mana cost than
all other cards revealed in that clash.

Please note that if you reveal a split card, for eg Dead/Gone, then the converted mana cost is 1 and 3, so you will only win the clash if your opponent reveals a converted mana cost of 2 or less.

Oh, and it is a loss of life, not dmg (hehehe, being fussy here)

This post has been edited by camlok: Nov 1 2007, 07:41 PM
camlok
post Nov 1 2007, 08:01 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 1 2007, 07:46 PM)
i tried reasoning but it says that's the way so i jz leave it to him to kil himself...
anyways bout the split card the cmc = 4 rite?
its alwasy confusing as for bob it would deal 4 damage to you and mike said its possible to tutor rise/fall with dimir house guard...

so  if the clash is the same no1 wins and the clash wont resolve rite?
*
Bob deals 4 because the card has 2 converted mana cost, 1 and 3. So you take 1, then take 3, all at the same time when bob's ability resolve, and no, you should not be able to get rise//fall with dimir house guard as the CMC (converted mana cost) of that card is 2 and 2.

As for the clash, yes in that scenario no one wins and the effect if you win the clash won't resolve. Clash has already resolve by that time.


505.5. An effect that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it's in a zone other than the
stack gets two answers (one for each of the split card's two halves).
Example: Infernal Genesis has an ability that reads, "At the beginning of each player's
upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or
she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens into play, where X is that card's converted
mana cost." If the top card of your library is Assault/Battery when this ability resolves, the
game sees its converted mana cost as "1, and 4." You get five creature tokens.
camlok
post Nov 1 2007, 09:43 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


I thouht there were a bunch going this weekend, those from KL?
camlok
post Nov 2 2007, 03:22 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(evofantasy @ Nov 2 2007, 03:08 PM)
i asked mike toh and it says i can...
*
This is the answer from ask the judge in starcity.

http://www.starcitygames.com/pages/judgefi...mir+house+guard

This post has been edited by camlok: Nov 2 2007, 03:23 PM
camlok
post Nov 2 2007, 04:29 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(munyip7 @ Nov 2 2007, 04:12 PM)
ah....i know where is wrong de..... you asked mike.....  sweat.gif
*
Lol..

But yeah, always ask the judges for the correct rulings.
camlok
post Nov 2 2007, 04:49 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(blade825 @ Nov 2 2007, 04:44 PM)
nope if the clash is the same means he did not win.

About the Rise and Fall yes Dimir house guard can tutor it as it searches for one of the 2 cards in the split cards where as for BOB it says total converted mana cost which is u add both the mana cost 2 gather. thats your total mana cost
*
Hari,

Dimir house guard cost 4, it cannot search for rise or fall as both of them cost 2. See posts above.
camlok
post Nov 2 2007, 05:10 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


Going Kuching means 400 to 500 bucks flight ticket wor.... is it worth the trouble?
camlok
post Nov 2 2007, 05:51 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(CHa0sTheory @ Nov 2 2007, 05:28 PM)
I know what you mean. I've had experience 2 games where I clearly knew my ruling but need judge to point it out to my opponent. Obviously, Mike gave a wrong ruling that cost me both of the games.

I forgot which rule already but one of them is when TSP block just went legal & apparently my opponent can respond to me suspend Gargadon, which cost me the game as my opponent manage to tendrils my creature, gaining back the life... thanks mike vmad.gif

On a side note, there was once where I was playing with Sam in a PTQ. After he presented his deck, I did a single cut, then Sam did another cut to the deck. I called the judge (Mike) explaining he can't cut his deck unless I did anything more than a single cut to his deck. Mike say can... nothing serious but just to let you all know since this ruling was given in a PTQ. Thank god I won that game....
*
From the Wizard's Universal Tournament Rules:

21. Shuffling
Shuffling must be done so that the faces of the cards cannot be seen. Regardless of the
method used to shuffle, players' decks must be sufficiently randomized. Each time players
shuffle their deck, they must present their deck to their opponent for additional shuffling
and/or cutting. Players may request to have a Judge shuffle their cards rather than pass that
duty to their opponent, this request will be honored at a Judge's discretion. By presenting
their decks to their opponents, players are stating that their decks are correct, legal, and
sufficiently randomized.

After decks are presented and accepted, any player who does not believe his or her opponent
has made a reasonable effort to sufficiently randomize his or her deck must notify a Judge.
The Head Judge has final authority to determine whether a deck has been sufficiently
randomized. The Head Judge also has the authority to determine if a player has used
reasonable effort to randomize his or her deck. If the Head Judge believes that either the deck
has not been sufficiently randomized or that a player has not made a reasonable effort to
randomize his or her deck, the player will be subject to the appropriate provisions of the DCI
Penalty Guidelines.
At Competitive and Professional level events players must always shuffle their opponents'
decks at the beginning of games. The Head Judge can mandate the shuffling of opponents'
decks at Regular Level Events as long as he or she announces this at the beginning of the
tournament. If a shuffling effect takes place during gameplay, players may shuffle and must
cut their opponents' decks after the shuffling effect is completed.
Once players shuffle and/or cut their opponents' decks, the cards are returned to their original
owners. If the opponent has shuffled the player's deck, that player may make one final cut.

So you are only entitled a final cut if your opponent shuffles your deck.

Also Hari, the game I lost to you on the final round of GPT Bangkok cost me 18 points sad.gif
camlok
post Nov 2 2007, 06:01 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(munyip7 @ Nov 2 2007, 05:59 PM)
Unless I am wrong, yout pponent CAN respond to you suspending a Gargadon.

You are right about the cutting thing.
*
From Comprehensive rule book:

408.1i Special actions don't use the stack. The special actions are playing a land (see rule 408.2d),
turning a face-down creature face up (see rule 408.2h), ending continuous effects or stopping
delayed triggered abilities (see rule 408.2i), ignoring continuous effects (see rule 408.2j), and
removing a card with suspend in your hand from the game (see rule 408.2k).

Suspend is a special action that do not use the stack, and therefore cannot be responded to. Same goes for playing a land.
camlok
post Nov 2 2007, 06:28 PM

New Member
*
Newbie
1 posts

Joined: Mar 2007


QUOTE(CHa0sTheory @ Nov 2 2007, 06:23 PM)
But suspending a card does not use the stack! Just like playing a land I can only play at sorcery speed but it doesn't use the stack.

Anybody can help me verify this? Camlok?
*
I just replied that. It was the last post on previous page.


Suspending a card, like playing a land, is a special action that does not use the stack, so you cannot respond to it.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top
Topic ClosedOptions
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0252sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:57 AM