5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Trading Card Games [TCG] Magic The Gathering | V2, Shadowmoor Pre-release Mania | April 13

camlok
post Aug 17 2007, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(lepakboy @ Aug 17 2007, 04:15 PM)
OMG ! The MTG Pro Tour is coming to KL next year smile.gif You lucky buggers..... smile.gif
Yeap, just saw the announcement in wizards.com..

Yay, and it's limited. Time to try qualifying
camlok
post Aug 18 2007, 12:29 AM

Haiya, never qualify for PT also can go wan... they got side events running all the time.....

Seems like the PTQs will be Lorwyn draft and the PT is Lorwyn/Morningtide draft....

Sounds good.... my constucted skill has gone down the drain due to lack of practice....

And GP San Francisco is next weekend sad.gif not to mention this weekend got PTQ Valencia too, both block consturcted.
camlok
post Aug 18 2007, 05:29 AM

I was referring to those who did not qualify tongue.gif

If you qualify, of course you will attend, though bear in mind that your opponents are higher class than your normal GP players, so it is harder to make day 2.
camlok
post Aug 21 2007, 12:16 AM

I played the G/W/r predator/justice deck in last weekend's PTQ (and GPT after I drop the PTQ, going 1W/1D/2L in the PTQ and 1W/3L in the GPT).

1 thing to note is I really really need more practice in constructed. I suck so bad now.

In the PTQ, my 1 draw came against a R/B Damnation/Void deck, and my 2 losses is against teachings deck, those that plays 3/4 colors with relics and voids. The win was against a W/U blink/pickles deck.

In the GPT, the 1 win is against a mono U pickles, and the 3 losses, one was against U/G/W blink deck. He beat me even with a 4 card/play hand (I was down to 5 myself).

He goes land, land suspend cloudskate, land delay my goyf, land venser, play cloudskate bounce my enforcer, then bounce my enforcer again, then blink and venser my enforcer, then mystic snake my enforcer and I just got pwned. (I had a tiny kavu predator in play, no life gain, and was holding 3 enforcer, 2 of them I drew in the frst 4 turns).

Second loss was against a G/W goyf deck, I took out my anti aggro package and put in anti control for the GPT, as I have not faced any aggro deck and faced a lot of teachings deck, and he pwned me with stone cloaker tricks and thrill of the hunt.

The third loss was against the 4c relic/teachings. In the third game, I was winning, I had 2 Kavu predator in play, a 5/5 and 3/3 (he killed the previous 5/5 predator with teachings/slaughter pact), and he is down to 6 life and no card in hand.

I have 3 lands in play, and holding 2 whirling dervishes (remember the anti control sideboard), 1 serra avenger, 1 temporal isolation, and 1 mystic enforcer. Guess what he top decked? Void! He void for 2, and I failed to draw land for the next 2 games, and his teachings and forsee and careful consideration got him back into the game and match before I can get my 4th land....

Sigh, and next week is the GP San Francisco..... what should I play???

camlok
post Aug 21 2007, 03:50 AM

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Aug 21 2007, 01:09 AM)
knell wouldnt be good due to the mana it need to be casted out makin it dead in oppening hand, and lost of huge tempo if countered...
rise and fall is underrated and i really love the card when u time it right...
High casting cost?? I got hit by a turn 5 Bogardan Hellkite.......
camlok
post Aug 21 2007, 03:39 PM

with relic mana and pact of negation, you can normally beat that remand with a permission of your own, or you can always cast teferi first.
camlok
post Aug 22 2007, 05:10 AM

Playbook, what happen to your wordpress site?
camlok
post Aug 22 2007, 06:40 AM

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Aug 22 2007, 05:57 AM)
The reason of what happen to Playbook site ..
I see. Thanks for letting me know.
camlok
post Aug 27 2007, 11:54 PM

Urgh, GP San Francisco didn't go too well for me. Played a teachings deck (which is very similar to those that played it in top 8, with almost the same land and speel configuration, except their creature choice is superior to mine...)

Sigh, did not play test enough with the deck, I played 4 Finkels, 1 hellkite, 1 venser, and 3 shapeshifter, instead of the more refined one of 4 finkels (or 3), 1 hellkite, 1 detritivore, 1 trisklavus, and 1 teferi.

Results was 4W3L1D....

camlok
post Aug 29 2007, 01:26 AM

Oh, anyone have any plans to go for GP Bangkok?
camlok
post Aug 29 2007, 11:38 PM

I'm thinking of going too. How you all planning to go?
Has everything finalized? Can I still join in?

I can only confirm by end of September though.
camlok
post Sep 5 2007, 07:01 AM

The top players of GP is always invited to the Pro Tour that it is feeding to.

As for the GPT, yeah, in sealed, those 3 byes will make your way to day2 easier especially when the stuff you open is mediocre.

I want to go to the GPT too... but I'm not back in Malaysia yet.
camlok
post Sep 18 2007, 05:29 AM

Well, every set they will sure print a global destruction spell, just that if the set is themed around creature, they make it higher cost or not as effective. Lorwyn's global destruction spell is White Command (see mtg salvation), which cost 6.
camlok
post Sep 18 2007, 11:51 PM

I traded a revise dual land (not sure if it was a tropical island or tundra) for some common cards. That was more than 10 years ago.

That was my first starter, I still remember I got a Serra Angel from that starter.
camlok
post Sep 19 2007, 05:49 AM

Wah you people no need to sleep wan ah? 4am also can post replies.

QUOTE(7chai @ Sep 19 2007, 12:22 AM)
next time careful lor.  laugh.gif
Well, I still remember what the guy's trade pitch was, after I opened up my starter (It was a revise starter if you want to know, it was during the revise/fallen empire era). It was something like "Hey I want this land of yours. You want to trade?"

He then proceed to bring out one binder full of cards, nicely arranged. He then asked what color I liked to play, and I say probably Red and Blue (I've already learnt how to play and tested a few different decks before buying the starter).

So he says, look, since this land acts like 2 basic land of different type, I will trade you 2 cards in this binder for it. Chose any 2 you like. Oh you liked red, why not you take this Hurloon Minotaur, it's a 3 to cast 2/3, which is larger than what you normally get for 3 mana, and another card. So I ended up with Hurloon Minotaur and.... errr a Homarid I think.

Anyone want to venture a guess as to who that guy is? tongue.gif

Added on September 19, 2007, 5:52 am
QUOTE(Fyrekat @ Sep 19 2007, 03:49 AM)
>camlok - I think new Magic players never understand the value of cards like duals, I remember opening a Savannah in revised and going WTF, a stupid land for my rare?!  laugh.gif

ah, the good ol days!
Yeap yeap, that's why can get conned. We got awed by the serra angel, force of nature, and the dreaded channel fireball combo, or to lesser extent, the ritual/hypnotic specter, or ritual/hymn burn, or the ritual/ritual/sengir.

Added on September 19, 2007, 5:53 amsigh, 12 years of magic (on and off), and still got nothing to show for it..... At least Soon Leong manage to make it into the National team......

This post has been edited by camlok: Sep 19 2007, 05:53 AM
camlok
post Sep 19 2007, 04:25 PM

QUOTE(Fyrekat @ Sep 19 2007, 12:30 PM)

> camlok - Wow, that is one hell of a con job, who would have done that?

You really want to know who he was??

I can give you a few hints.
He is still around today in Magic, and still top 75 composite in Malaysia I think.

Oh and that happend during the end 1995/early 1996, the revise/fallen empire, and before Ice Age release I think. I still remember those RM6.50 packs in Games Kastle.
camlok
post Sep 20 2007, 12:19 AM

Yeap, the infamous Michael Toh.

Looking at the planeswalker, I would say they are all limited bomb, the green and white's are insane, as one you can get free creature, and the other one boost your winnie. The green one is a 4 to cast for a 3/3 beast token, with the possibility of getting mana ecceleration next turn.
The white's third ability might not get used that often, as you will cast it and pump up your winnie swarm (note that it is a +1/+1 token, so it stays on the creature), not to mention you can alpha strike and still be back for blocking duty.

The red one is decent, as the moment it comes into play it will normally remove a creature already, so to the minimum it is a removal for a decent size creature. The Blue planeswalker might be able to mill away 40 cards pretty fast as 20 cards, plus the intial 7 you draw, that leaves 13 cards in the library. With the draws for every turn, and her ability, that can be gone pretty fast. It basically forces your opponent to deal with her in 3 turns or he/she will lose the game.

The only weaker one might be the black as you will need to slowly store for the 3rd ability. THe second ability might help if your deck has bombs that says I win.

To the minimum all the planeswalker provide a meat shield, sucking up the damage that might otherwise be dealt to you. That's pretty good.

I believe they are pretty much first pick if you are in color in draft.
camlok
post Sep 20 2007, 06:17 AM

Walls are mostly not worth playing. You have to assume that you will not always have the treefolk in play, and in that case, a 1/8 flying defender will do you no good.

Just play some worth playing big backside creatures, and when you got the treefolk, they become more effective.
One thing you have to watch out is the opponent will get the same thing, so his wall might stop your whole army once you drop the treefolk.

Added on September 20, 2007, 7:19 am
QUOTE(CHa0sTheory @ Sep 19 2007, 12:27 PM)
Wow, this is like a pseudo reanimator! Equip on Mogg Fanatic, sac it and bring down a Hellkite/Akroma.... juicy drool.gif
Well, I was thinking in the line more on Enduring Renewal. Remember those free creatures with goblin bombardment?

Now you just need enduring renewal, the deathrender, and some of the free sac creatures. Mogg fanatic/emberweld augur for unlimited dmg, bottle gnomes/darkheart sliver/augur il-vec for unlimited life, composite golem/basal sliver for unlimited mana, augur of skulls for multiple discards (only on upkeep), aven augur for creature bounce, mindless automaton (2 mana to draw a card). You can make it work even with 1 of the creature, just put the enduring renewal trigger ability on top of deathrender's ability, you can get the creature that you sack back, and play it and equip with death render, rinse and repeat.

Sounds better than dropping an Akroma or hellkite.

Something like this:

4 Enduring renewal

2 Deathrender
4 Coalation Relic

3 Summoner's pact
2 Gaea's Blessing
2 Slaughter Pact
3 Damnation
3 Edge of Autumn

3 Liliana Vess

1 Teferi
1 Mindless Automaton
1 Composite Golem
1 Mogg Fanatic
3 Bottle Gnomes
2 Augur of Skulls
1 Emberweld Augur

3 Urborg
4 Horizon Canopy
4 Brushland
4 Cave of Koilos
3 Flagstones of Trokair
4 Plains
1 Forest
1 Swamp

This is a very very rough deck list, made to be tested to see what is more effective. Early defence are bottle gnomes and Augur of skulls, together with damnation and slaughter pact.

The aim is to drop enduring renewal, then use summoner's pact to fetch the creature combo pieces. and Liliana Vess to fetch the Deathrender. The planeswalker also can be used to remove your opponent's hand so he cannot interrupt you, or can be used to bring back those creatures that was dead or discarded by enduring renewal (gaea's blessing serves similar purpose). Teferi can be casted (relic + composite golem ftw) or drop by death render to prevent your opponent from interrupting you. Teferi also is used so that the augurs can be pact, cast, and use immediately.

One thign to note, always keep one creature in hand unless you need to drop it to block, so that the enduring renewal cycle can start the moment you draw and cast the enchantment.

Please note that this is a very rough list and is used for testing to see which part of the component is worth keeping in the final deck. Sideboard will have maybe the sliver that destroy artifact/enchantment when comes into play (becareful not to destroy your own stuff).

This post has been edited by camlok: Sep 20 2007, 07:19 AM
camlok
post Sep 20 2007, 01:02 PM

ops, drunk already. Forgot about the restriction on summoner's pact. As for the Augurs, once you have one in play with enduring renewal and deathrender equipped, you just sac it in upkeep, stack the 2 triggers so that the augur is back in your hand, then put it into play equipping the deathrender, and repeat. Have to think of another tutor then, since summoner's pact don't work.

So -3 Summoner's Pact, -1 Mindless Automaton, +1 Edge of Autumn, +1 Liliana Vess, and +2 Sarcomite Myr

Added on September 20, 2007, 1:05 pmthen probably take out the Gaea's Blessing and the green, and just use black.

So -2 Gaea's Blessing, -1 Forest, -1 Edge of Autumn, +1 Swamp, +3 Street Wraith

This post has been edited by camlok: Sep 20 2007, 01:05 PM
camlok
post Sep 21 2007, 02:55 AM

My guess is U/B Relic teachings will still be strong. It is one of the most consistent deck from TPS block constructed.

Some of the aggro decks will find good stuff in Lorwyn, but the biggest addition might be the Kitkin Legend. Most other stuff I don't think increases the effectiveness of current decks.

Added on September 21, 2007, 2:58 am
QUOTE(lepakboy @ Sep 21 2007, 02:45 AM)
As someone who doesn't own a single tarmogoyf, i'll be playing black so I can pack 4 deathmark to piss tarmy players off smile.gif
Well, seeing that the coming season is sealed deck and draft (all the way to PT KL), standard might not be playing such a big part other than FNM. I'll wait until after morningtide to decide what deck to play.

This post has been edited by camlok: Sep 21 2007, 02:58 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:22 AM