4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 22 2008, 05:19 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 22 2008, 03:52 PM)
2100.. nice.. ill try to swing by singapore somehow.. haha

first time i todl taxi to go adelphi, he go bring me to delphi.. and he ask me 'wah so early oso want ka?' brows.gif
Wow! I wander how it is like 876 + ur awesome sub!!!??? Shack the whole house down! ohmy.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 24 2008, 09:14 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 24 2008, 06:32 PM)
I'm from Penang and ask my KL friend to carry the previously 805 bulk all the way to Penang. We both feel this is the best buy of the year.
Oh Yes! I agree with u! Worth every kilo of it!!! rclxms.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 26 2008, 02:13 PM

801 posts

Hi! Has anyone try using 4 ohm car spk on onky avr? I am interested to know as on manual say 4 to 8 ohm can use. Tq in advance for the advice! Have a nice day!
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 26 2008, 03:12 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Sep 26 2008, 03:03 PM)
yap im using, so far so good.
Oh! What car spk u r using? Sound good?
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Sep 26 2008, 04:25 PM

801 posts

OIC. Ur old htib spk is 4 ohm? hmm.gif I am actually thinking of using car spk which is all 4 ohm. Don't know if it will damage the onky avr or not? Any advice is most wellcum! smile.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 1 2008, 04:25 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Oct 1 2008, 03:02 PM)
those they had were black....price displayed were equivalent to RM8,500 for 876 and RM11,000 for 906.

saw these at an exhibition over the weekend.
Onkyo 876 for Rm8.5K shocking.gif !!! What is the different between 875 & 876??? hmm.gif Price so much different??? 875 selling for Rm6,499 at SengQ
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 4 2008, 11:17 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(Blastomuss @ Oct 4 2008, 10:10 PM)
Just managed to bring home 805 today. Still reading through the manual...
Wellcum to the 'dark side'!!! rclxms.gif He! He! I hope u enjoy reading all the 118 pg of the manual! tongue.gif BTW what spk r u using with ur 805???
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 5 2008, 05:40 PM

801 posts

Money not enough! That is the problem! I am now looking around for sub. My sub really not strong 'enough'. sad.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 5 2008, 06:53 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 5 2008, 06:47 PM)
I guess you are looking for sub mainly for movie.
Yes! U r right! I am looking around for a big sub for movie. Big enough to shack the whole house. hmm.gif 15" or bigger? Or any sub more powerful then 10" Roger? U got any 'kan-tow'??? New or second hand all can do! As long as 'cheap'!!! biggrin.gif tongue.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 5 2008, 10:43 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 5 2008, 10:36 PM)
If you are looking for a good sub, then please forget abt the Roger 'whoompa, whoompa' sub. CHT-12R would be ideal with enough oomph for movies.
How much for CHT-12R??? Actually what brand is that? U got sell? Can PM me. Tq for the infor. biggrin.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 5 2008, 11:21 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 5 2008, 11:09 PM)
If not mistaken, it is abt RM7.5K.

CHT-12R is abt RM2.6K+
OIC! How about Jamo Sub 650? Also 12"??? U know the price? Where got sell? I intended to match onkyo with Jamo 606 full set plus two extra sur spk & Jamo sub 650 so that it is 7.1. What is ur advice on this spk & sub? Tq very much for ur advice. smile.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 11 2008, 08:41 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Oct 11 2008, 08:22 PM)
thanks anfieldude  thumbup.gif

frankly,i dun really care 876 come with WBT spk terminal ( of course i'll be more happy if it does tongue.gif ).Read reviews from avsforum and most buyer satisfy with their purchase.  biggrin.gif I havent really tested the 876 but sad to say for those who complaint about the heat on 875,it still happen in 876,maybe not as hot but not much diff.I heard it produce more heat when using its Reon chips for upscalling,not sure how true.

i notice some different and i love the " Newly Designed GUI for System Set-up ",the words seem much sharper tongue.gif i oso love the " THX Ultra2 Plus Certified"," THX Loudness Plus", " THX Ultra2 Music / Game" ,i dun really heard how "WOW" are those but the words looks quite "class" tongue.gif

I'm still using manual set up so no comment on Audyssey mic and its features yet.
Wow! drool.gif That's ur 876!!!! How much!!! Check out with SenQ yesterday! All Jamo spk price up & certain Onkyo amp also up! cry.gif Crazy time to increase price! Money not enough already! cry.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 12 2008, 02:54 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(Jediknight8820 @ Oct 12 2008, 02:04 PM)
any owner of 875 & 805 fixed an 'external' fan on top of thier amp. where can i get one of this and the good brand?  sad.gif
Hi I did! I DIY two cpu 5" cooling fan. For power supply I use 3volt DC current from any old rc charger ( any type will do 3v, 6v or 12v). I don't use 12v as it made the two fans turn very fast & very noisy. Just 3v will do & it is silent. Attached the power supply to the onkyo switch power supply, so when u on the onkyo the fan will be on too. So far with the two fans cooling the amp the heat problem is solved! biggrin.gif If fact it is warm only with my onkyo amp at 45 click! rclxms.gif Hope this help all onkyo owner! biggrin.gif

Oh BTW this is my DIY. U can buy the 5" cpu casing cooling fan at any cpu shop. If u can also use household cooling fan using 240v but it will be noisy.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 12 2008, 04:04 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Oct 12 2008, 03:38 PM)
thanks HornyAngMoh for sharing,the tips making the fan silence is very useful  thumbup.gif

Added on October 12, 2008, 3:41 pm

Tried this method with 876,it doesnt work,any idea how to check the tempreature on 876?
I try on 875 also don't work. sad.gif So how to check?
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 12 2008, 11:06 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 12 2008, 06:59 PM)
The method should work. Make sure you are pressing at the receiver and not the remote.

Switch on the receiver.

Keep pressing the display button on the receiver. Then while pressing the display button, press standby button once and release. Then release display button. Then press the "tone" button on the receiver. Should work. Just confirmed. Sometimes if the sequence is off, it shows the firmware...

Added on October 12, 2008, 7:01 pm

If after doing this, you see the words "bass" then the sequence is wrong. Bear in mind you will only see the temperature on the receiver display and it will not appear on the TV.
Tq very much for this infor! Give it a try now & it work........but timing of pokeing button has to be right biggrin.gif He! He! Ok my Onkyo with DIY cooling.........just switch on reading is T:33/32 Fan:- V:0.00 SECH ( The Fan I assume is the two internal rpm V:0.00 don't know blink.gif ). After one hour of using ( watching troy ) at 45 click reading is T:43/41 Fan:- V:0.00 SECH..........So with cooling fan onkyo fan can be consider cool!!! rclxms.gif He! He! In fact it is much cooler then my pervious Pioneer SX917V ( Non cooling fan )!!! rclxms.gif

So I hope my DIY cooling help! No need to worry about setting ur Onkyo on fire! icon_idea.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 13 2008, 02:32 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Oct 13 2008, 12:24 PM)
i saw one,Nippon Brand,normal type with 240V 0.13A,like mentioned,a bit noisy smile.gif

anfieldude,ya,some hi-end audio amp need warm up 1st for better sound,i had some valve amp last time Sonic Frontier (valve Pre amp) which perform good only after half an hour switch on.For this 876,even at 40+ degree after pasang the fan like Horny,should be "warm" enuf for better sound ? Or we require Horny to test for us with/without fan sound,haha.Honestly,i bet not much different la,but cooler should be better la,at least feel safer smile.gif
That wan using 240v very noisy wan. U can just buy two 5" cpu case cooling at any cpu shop. Cost around Rm36 per fan got 'bling bling' led somemore tongue.gif No light same price! Oh btw u can use old handporn charger (3.6v) also.
Oh! I don't actually lived in Sibu but almost everyweek I go to Sibu to buy 'ahem ahem' PRC 'bulu d***'! blush.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 13 2008, 10:07 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(kevi_on @ Oct 13 2008, 09:01 PM)
My cooler is similar to the above,  blink.gif but not so expensive. Here's how it looks on top of my receiver.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Wow! This look real cool! Much better looking then my DIY! Sadly over here the biggest fan is only 5". I am looking around for a 12" cpu casing fan, got any where to find in KL???

Added on October 13, 2008, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(fyl @ Oct 13 2008, 08:26 PM)
Guys, I am looking to get a Onkyo AVR and some speakers ... One of my main criteria is that it must have clear audio for dialogue and still clear during at night .... when overall volume is low.

Just wondering if anyone with the following setup or other similar setup can share their thoughts.

Onkyo TXSR505B/605B + Jamo S606HCS3

Listened to some demo in Senq and the speakers sounds awesome when loud but couldn't test low volume as the place was too noisy.

Cheers

fyl
For clear dialogs u can increase the center volume & for night listening u can use 'mid-night' mode. BTW how much is the package now? I heard got increase in price.

This post has been edited by HornyAngMoh: Oct 13 2008, 10:12 PM
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 28 2008, 09:54 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(Jediknight8820 @ Oct 28 2008, 09:31 AM)
hv u considered trying the Wharfy Diamond series? i'm pairing my 875 with Diamond 9.4 - front, CS - centre, 9.1 surround and SW150 - subwoofer. i guess u can get all this within the budget, depend on how u nego. with my rrom size of 11 x 9, no issue at all. just my 2 cents smile.gif
I am considering Diamond 9.6...........how much it is selling over in the west??? The rest still haven't decided yet??? Center maybe Diamond 9.cm, back sur Diamond 9DFS & sur Diamond 9. So this set up good???
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 28 2008, 12:24 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(Jediknight8820 @ Oct 28 2008, 10:48 AM)
not sure abt the price for 9.6, might need to check with Desa HT - Kepong. but i'm sure this is very big spkr, with 4 driver. unless ur room is big, if not 9.5 is good enough. the wharfy sound is warmth.  smile.gif
My living room is 20'X20'X12.5' ( WXLXH ) so small spk sound weak!!! sad.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 28 2008, 09:14 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(maxovista @ Oct 28 2008, 08:37 PM)
fan is noisy no matter what! But big massive heatsinks need air and space to work properly...

For most onkyo, you can effectively cool the thing using fans...but onkyo's engineer claimed that the AVR was designed that way without the need of external fan...have you ever heard anyone AVR failed due to overheat??

For those who stack anything above the AVR, you better find ways not to block the airflow above the unit...give the thing to breath! Go get an open rack system..

Anyway, the thing will cut off itself.. if temp is unbearably hot!

p/s dont even think of supercool it as your music wont go any faster this way...[leave it to those overclocker enthusiast from the PC forum]
Actually it depend on what sort of fan u r using. The fan I use very quite & I don't have air-con in my living room. so far with fan the onky is just warm. But without fan it is HOT!!! blink.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.5834sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:14 AM